
Universal Orlando
Foundation Library
9907 Universal Blvd.
Orlando, FL 32819
Ph.: 407-903-8100
Fax: 407-903-8101
MICE (Meeting, Incentive, Convention,
and Exposition) Industry
DATABASES
To locate appropriate articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers, you can use one of the UCF Libraries' many databases.
To learn about searching the Library Databases, we recommend watching the following short VIDEO with
SOUND narration. (If you are in the Rosen Library, headphones are available for checkout
at the front desk.)
Or, if you prefer, or are unable to watch the video with sound, you can read
through the TEXT version below instead.
To find databases that are typically most useful for the study of hospitality, start at the Rosen Library homepage and then click on the Databases tab.
1 Search by subject to
find databases grouped by area of study. For this example
we'll choose Hospitality in order to locate the best databases for
hospitality and related fields.
2 Search by database name.
After choosing the Hospitality subject area, you will see a listing of databases that are related to the hospitality field.
In general, some useful databases for finding articles (from magazines, newspapers, and journals) about hospitality topics include:
Note: If you are accessing library databases off-campus, you will be
prompted to log in using your library number, which is located on
the bottom of your UCF ID
card. Our
Off-Campus Access page has some additional instructions and suggestions if
you have any difficulty in logging in from off-campus.
Searching for articles on hotel managers' approach to training
Advanced Search Tips
Refining Your Results
You may refine your search to get more precise results. Most databases allow you to refine your results by "peer reviewed," "publication date," "full text," and many other advanced options. Limiting your results to only "full text" articles is usually not recommended, as this will eliminate many potentially helpful articles that may be available in other databases, in the library's print collection, or through Interlibrary Loan. For this example, we will refine our search by applying the options "Peer Reviewed" and a "Publication Date" of 2006-2011.
Hospitality information may be found in both "trade" and "peer reviewed" publications, but each type has different purposes and uses. Your professor may require you to use certain types depending on the assignment. See the Scholarly, Trade, or Popular? guide for more information.
After your initial search, you can refine your result by applying some of the options discussed above. If you need assistance refining your results with advanced search options, ask a librarian for help.
When searching in
a database. . .
Don't forget to use a variety of keywords and concepts, as explained earlier in
the Overview section of this tutorial.

Partial results of a keyword search in
Hospitality & Tourism Complete
The results of a search in a database will provide you with vital information for each item:
1 Refine your results: Choose options to limit your results. "Show More" provides further refining options.
2 Citation: Displays the title, author, date, etc. Click on the hyperlink to go to the full record for the item.
3 Full text link: Click here to read the full text of the article.
4 Get Full Text Link: Click here to see other options for retrieving the text of the article, as follows:
The above section focused on using databases to locate articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers. But there are also special databases for finding information on hospitality companies -- information such as company histories, financials, products, and annual reports. Some useful databases for company research include:
For a more detailed overview of how to find company information, see the Rosen Research Guide titled Finding Company Information.
You can use also use databases to find articles from citations, whether they are assigned course readings or citations you found while doing research. To find detailed instructions for doing so, please see the research guide Finding Full Text from Citations.
You may wish to
practice searching in the
Hospitality & Tourism Complete database
or in one of the
hospitality-related
databases before continuing the tutorial. For more help
using the databases, please
Ask a Rosen Librarian.
Last updated January 11, 2012 8:27:25 AM