Theatre Research Guide
indicates Top-pick
Note: Off-campus access to some online sources is restricted to current UCF students, faculty,
and staff via the
Proxy connection
Books and Multimedia
provides links to some encyclopedias, dictionaries, directories,
handbooks, texts, video documentaries, and other resources for which
the UCF Libraries provide online access.
collection of selected recordings which may be listened to online;
includes performances from musicals composed by Irving Berlin, Leonard
Bernstein, Noel Coward, George Gershwin, Richard Kapp, Jerome Kern,
Frederick Loewe, Cole Porter, Richard Rodgers, John Philip Sousa,
and more.
"contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work
printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North
America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700,"
including over 600 works with the subject keyword of "drama" or
"theater".
Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 - "Books,
pamphlets, broadsides and other imprints listed in the renowned
bibliography by Charles Evans," including over 300 plays.
International Phonetic Alphabet Transcriptions and Literal
Translations of Songs & Arias "with over 3500 texts including
500 opera-aria texts"
"a major initiative to provide detailed reference information for
every theatrical figure, every play, every theatre, every major
production, and every production company, from Colonial times to the
present, in both Canada and the United States."
contains more than 100 definitive performances of the world's
leading plays and more than 130 documentaries, online in streaming
video.
See also:
- Working in the Theatre - "Bringing together performers,
directors, playwrights, designers, choreographers, producers and
behind-the-scenes personnel from the American and international
theatre, the program offers a rare opportunity for students and
audiences to see the people who create theatre engaged in thoughtful
conversation with one another."
- Downstage Center - "a weekly theatrical interview program that
spotlights the creative talents on Broadway, Off-Broadway, across
the country and around the world"
- Career Guides - "a series of one-on-one video interviews with
the theatre's leading artists and professionals, explaining each
specific discipline in the theatre and what it takes to pursue that
specialty and make a career in the theatre."
Use the online catalog to locate books and multimedia on theatre in
the UCF Libraries. You can search by author, title, keyword, or subject.
- To search for a person, as AUTHOR or SUBJECT, search
by last name, first name without punctuation; for example:
- Hagen Uta
Stanislavsky Konstantin
- To limit by FORMAT in order to find multimedia and scores, go to the
Advanced Search in the Library Catalog and use the Limit
Your Search Further
By option.
- SUBJECT searching requires use of Library of Congress subject headings. Here
are some sample subject headings:
- Acting
- Actors
- Actresses
- Costume
- Costume--History
- Costume design
- Drama--History and criticism
- Ethnic theater
- Mime
- Monologues
- Musicals
- Playwriting
- Puppet theater
- Stage lighting
- Stage management
- Stage props
- Theater
- Theater--History
- Theater--Production and direction
- Theater audiences
- Theaters
- Theaters--Sound effects
- Theaters--Stage-setting and scenery
- Theatrical makeup
- If you are unsure of the exact title or unsure of the correct Library of Congress subject
heading, try a KEYWORD search using two or three of the most significant
words from the title or subject you are trying to find.
return to top
Periodical Articles - Key Resources
Use the following sources to find periodical articles about theatre topics. In some instances
books or essays in books also may be found in these sources. Once you have identified the articles
you want, in some instances you will need to check
Online
Journals (SFX) or the
UCF Library Catalog to determine if we own the
periodicals you need.
See also Periodical Articles and
Essays - Other Resources, Reviews and
Key Journals.
Art Index (1929+)
Online version
(indexing 1929+; abstracting 1994+; "select" full text 1997+)
Index NX 1.A1 A88 (1929-2003/04)
Databases covering leading art publications from around the
world; useful for locating articles on set design and costume
topics.

Cumulated Dramatic Index, 1909-1949
Reference PN 1620 .A1 C95
"a cumulation of the forty-one annual volumes of the Dramatic
Index...for articles and illustrations concerning the stage and
its players that have appeared in American and British
periodicals.... More than 150 quarterly, monthly and weekly
periodicals are indexed.... The critical, historical and
biographical articles cited cover information about dramatists,
librettists, performers, notices of production, scenes, synopses
and reviews of plays, and stage portraits that include costumes
from Shakespearean productions, grand opera and famous
characters."
Appendices:
- Author List of Books about the Drama - over 6,500 books
- Title List of Published Play Texts - about 24,000 entries
- Author List of Published Play Texts - approximately 20,000
entries

International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance (1982+)
"a fully indexed, cross-referenced and annotated databank of
over 60,000 journal articles, books, book articles and
dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance
in 126 countries....contains more than 400 full-text titles,
including more than 130 full-text journals...and more than 270
full-text books & monographs."
Reference PN 1561 .I53 (1982-1998)
International Bibliography of Theatre -
A bibliography of books, articles, dissertations, and miscellaneous materials dealing
with theatrical performance worldwide. Book and performance reviews are excluded, as
are most literary studies of plays without a substantial discussion of performance.
Entries are arranged in nine genres (e.g., drama, dance, music-drama, puppetry) and
have brief annotations. Subject, geographical, and scholar indexes.
return to top
Periodical Articles and Essays - Other Resources
See also Periodical Articles - Key
Resources.
See also the list of article resources in the research guide for
Literary Criticism: Plays.
"a multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text
for more than 4,500 journals, including more than 3,700
peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full text, this
database offers indexing and abstracts for all 8,250 journals in
the collection."
"a multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the
arts and humanities. It fully covers 1,160 of the world's
leading arts and humanities journals, and it indexes
individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major
science and social science journals."
Essay and General Literature Index (1900+)
Index to collections of essays in books, with emphasis on the humanities. In the print
edition, arrangement is by authors, subjects, and some titles in one alphabet, with
full titles of books indexed listed in the back of each volume.
"is comprised of more than 3,500 indexed and full-text titles —
of which 2,100 are peer-reviewed — in all disciplines with more
than 20 years of backfile coverage."
International Index to Periodicals (1802+)
Poole's Index to Periodical Literature
Index AI 3 .P7 (1802-1906)
International Index to Periodicals
Index AI 3 .R49 (1907-1965)
Social Sciences & Humanities Index
Index AI 3 .R49 (1965-1974)
Humanities Index
Index AI 3 .R493 (1974+)
Online version (indexing 1983+, abstracting 1984+,
"select" full text 1994+)
"feature articles, interviews, obituaries,
bibliographies, original works of fiction,
drama, and poetry, book reviews, and reviews of
ballets, dance programs, motion pictures,
musicals, operas, plays, radio and television
programs, and more."
provides full-text backfiles to the first volumes for over 1,000
journal titles across 47 disciplines, with the earliest content
published in 1665.
MLA International Bibliography
Online version (1963+)
Index PB 6 M6222 (1970+)
General Collection PB 6 M6 (1921-69, bound with
PMLA)
Both a print index and an electronic database referred to variously as the MLA or MLAIB;
sometimes called the PMLA Bibliography, but it should not be confused with the journal
PMLA. In the print version Part 1 is arranged first geographically (e.g., American
literature), then chronologically by century (e.g., 1900-1999) with authors listed alphabetically;
Part 2, commencing in 1981, is a subject index to Part 1.
provides full-text "online access to over 380 high quality
humanities and social sciences journals from over 60 scholarly
publishers."
return to top
Reviews
A Guide to Critical Reviews (1909-1977)
General Collection PN 1707 .S34
A selective list of citations to reviews of New York stage productions. Excludes productions
of plays written before the late nineteenth century. Plays are listed alphabetically
by author; musicals, by title. Under each work, reviews are organized alphabetically
by periodical title.
Part 1: American Drama, 1909-1969
Part 2: The Musical, 1909-1974
Part 3: Foreign Drama, 1909-1977
Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature (1890+)
Online version (indexing 1983+; abstracting 1984+; "select"
full text 1994+)
Index AI 3 .R48 (1890+)
Useful for locating reviews of plays in popular periodicals such as Time and
Newsweek.
return to top
Literary Criticism
See the related research guide for
Literary Criticism: Plays
return to top
Key Journals
The following selected periodicals are devoted exclusively to theatre topics. Please note,
however, that many other periodicals not listed here will contain articles about some aspect
of theatre studies; thus, the need to consult a periodical
database or index. Current print issues of
periodicals to which the Libraries subscribe are arranged by title on the third floor; print
back issues are shelved in the general collection by call number, while microform back issues
are arranged by call number on the third floor.
American Theatre: The Monthly Forum for News, Features and Opinion
Gives a good overview of trends and happenings in the non-profit
American theatre.
Live Design
"creative and technical journal for live entertainment
professionals in lighting, staging, and projection. Each issue
provides designers, programmers, and technicians with tips and
trends, news and reviews of the latest gear, reports from the
field, and industry viewpoint and commentary."
Quarterly supplement
TQ: Theatre
Quarterly "will focus on all the design disciplines
of the stage--sets, lights, sound, costumes, wigs and makeup,
and projection."
Formed by
the merger of several publications:
Entertainment Design
TCI: Theatre Crafts International
Lighting Dimensions
General Collection PN 2091 .E4 L54 (1987-1992,
1998-2005)
SRO: Staging, Rental, Operations
New Theatre Quarterly:
NTQ
Online version (1999,
2002+)
General Collection PN 2001 .T435 (1989-2003)
Microfilm PN 2001 .T435 (1987-88)
Usually contains eight to ten scholarly articles covering issues of modern performance
and dramaturgy Includes book reviews.
PAJ: Performing Arts
Journal
Covers contemporary international performance: theatre, dance, and performance art.
Often contains performance reviews and, occasionally, book reviews.
The magazine of the New York commercial theatre scene, although there is some non-New
York coverage. Has links to news, tickets/listings, cast calls, features, and "celebrity
buzz."
TDR: The Drama Review
A serious journal devoted to performance. Most issues contain 10 to 20 articles organized
around a central theme. Extensive performance reviews and descriptions of contemporary
and avant-garde performances, frequently with photographs.
Theater
A journal devoted to contemporary theater. Issues have published pathbreaking plays from writers as diverse
as Athol Fugard, August Wilson, and Adrienne Kennedy. Contributors include a roster
of distinguished critics, including Eric Bentley and Stanley Kaufmann. It has printed
writings on theater by dramatists from Heiner Müller to Dario Fo. Special issues have
covered a range of topics: Soviet theater, theater and photography, and theater and
the revolution.
Theatre Journal
Features refereed social and historical studies, production reviews, and theoretical
inquiries that analyze dramatic texts and production. Includes book reviews.
Theatre Research International
Online version (2001+)
Online version (indexing
1989+; full-text 1993-1998)
General Collection PN 2001 .T436 (1975-2003)
General Collection PN 2000 .A1 T5 (1958-1974,
Theatre
Research)
Publishes articles on the dramaturgy of a particular country and technical and historical
studies of plays and performances. Extensive book reviews.
Theatre Topics
Contains articles dealing with dramaturgy, performance and theatre pedagogy. The target
audience is the theatre practitioner; consequently, the articles are practical in scope
rather than historical or analytical.
Variety
Contains extensive information on the entertainment business, especially film, television,
and theatre. Many reviews of theatre, film, and television.
return to top
Handbooks, Dictionaries, and Encyclopedias
Handbooks, dictionaries, and encyclopedias are excellent sources to find introductions and
overviews of topics or to begin a literature search. They often will
contain bibliographies.
Dictionaries
Diccionario Ingles-Espanol, Espanol-Ingles de Terminologia Teatral / English-Spanish, Spanish-English Dictionary of Theatre Terms
Reference PN 2035 .P57 1986
Dictionary of Puppetry
Reference PN 1972 .P47 1969b
The
Drama Dictionary
Reference PN 1625 .H62 1988
Dictionary of the Theatre: Terms, Concepts, and Analysis
Reference PN 2035 .P2913 1998
Arranged alphabetically, the terms are also grouped into eight
categories of the thematic index: dramaturgy, text & discourse,
actor & character, genres & forms, the staging, structural
principles & aesthetic questions, reception of the performance,
semiology

An International Dictionary
of Theatre Language
Reference PN 2035 .I5 1985
Contains some 10,000 English-language and 5,000 foreign-language terms, historical and
current, covering drama and theatre worldwide. Definitions are very brief but do cite
works in the accompanying bibliography that offer fuller definitions or discussions.
The New Penguin
Dictionary of the Theatre
Reference PN 2035 .N49 2001
"its 5000 articles include entries on actors, playwrights,
directors and producers, plays, venues and companies, genres,
technical terms, organizations, and other related topics."
General
American Theatre Companies
Reference PN 2237 .A43 1986
A three-volume set that provides summaries of stock and resident acting companies founded
between 1749 and 1986. Each volume has an index of play titles and personal names.

The Cambridge Guide
to Theatre
An international dictionary of theatre, classical to contemporary, that emphasizes performance,
popular entertainment, and traditions outside Europe and North America. Entries cover
traditions, theories, playwrights, performers, movements, folk drama, types of performance,
and acting companies.
See also:
- The Cambridge Guide to African & Caribbean Theatre
Reference PN 2969.C36 1994
- The Cambridge Guide to American Theatre
Reference PN 2220.C36 1996
- The Cambridge Guide to Asian Theatre
Reference PN 2860.C35 1993
The Encyclopedia of the American Theatre, 1900-1975
Reference PN 2266 .B68
Covers plays written or adapted by British and American authors and produced on and
off Broadway. Entries cite date and place of original production, length of run, cast,
producer, director, screen adaptations, and include a brief synopsis.
Famous American Playhouses
Reference NA 6830 .Y67 (1716-1899)
Reference NA 6830 .Y68 (1900-1971)
Details the physical structure of 199 American theatres of historical, architectural,
and social or cultural importance with both primary and secondary readings culled from
diaries, letters, journals, autobiographies, magazine articles, playbills, and other
sources. Illustrations include architectural drawings, etchings, and photographs.
See also:
Directory of Historic American Theatres
Reference PN 2289 .D57 1987
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Clothing through World History
Reference GT 507 .G74 2008
"The portion of each chapter on clothing begins with a general
introduction to the themes in dress of the age and place. Then
dress is looked at in terms of gender, with men's and women's
clothing separately discussed.... Each chapter is illustrated
with images that reflect what is described--paintings,
decorations, or photographs of the actual clothing, depending on
the time period.... At the end of each chapter, there is a list
of recommended books for further study, along with a few
websites that will help with further research on the topic and
time period. These resources are followed by a [brief] list of
suggestions of films, documentaries, or television shows that do
a good job of depicting the costume history of the time and
place in question."
- Vol. 1 - Prehistory to 1500 CE
- Vol. 2 - 1501-1800
- Vol. 3 - 1801 to the Present
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of World Drama: An International Reference Work in Five Volumes
Reference PN 1625 .M3 1984
While the focus primarily is with dramatists and dramatic literature, there are extensive
articles on national and ethnic theatre traditions in individual countries or areas,
as well as entries for theatre companies, major directors, and selected performance
topics.
provides access to Grove Art Online which includes subject
entries for individual countries describing architecture,
sculpture, textiles, dress, furniture, theatre, puppets, etc.
The Oxford Companion to American Theatre
Entries on actors, directors, playwrights, theatre companies, etc., as well as on individual
plays or musicals. Emphasis is on Broadway and the New York stage.
The Oxford Companion to the Theatre
Reference PN 2035 .O9 1983
Entries on actors, actresses, producers, directors, designers, dramatists, groups, movements,
and theatrical techniques and technology.
The Oxford Dictionary of Plays
Reference PN 1625 .P38 2005
"provides useful information and brief commentaries on the 1,000
most significant plays of the world theatre."
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre & Performance
Reference PN 2035 .O94 2003
"The Encyclopedia pays special attention to non-Western styles
through articles on theatre and performance throughout the many
countries and traditions of Asia and Africa, often written by
practitioners or critics from those areas. Dance, opera,
performance art, radio, film, and television are covered at
length. The Encyclopedia also embraces para-theatrical,
non-dramatic, and popular performance, including ritual,
carnivals, parades, the circus, and public executions.
Biographical entries cover the lives and work of major figures
from the past and present: actors, playwrights, directors,
designers, and critics. Innovative entries on cities and regions
place performance in its local social and political context. A
particular feature of the Encyclopedia is the series of entries
on concepts, theories, and critical approaches to theatre and
performance, from short definitions of terms to lengthy
considerations of genres, and from detailed discussion of
movements such as feminism and psychoanalytic criticism to
discussions of semiotics and post-colonial studies."
Theatre World
Reference PN 2277.N5 A17 (1964+)
An illustrated yearbook of the American theatre, emphasizing the New York scene, but
also including productions of national touring companies, professional regional companies,
and Shakespeare festivals. Gives cast, production credits, dates of run or season. Also
includes brief performer biographies, obituaries, awards, and name/title index.
The World Encyclopedia of Contemporary Theatre
Reference PN 1861 .W67
Aims to document artistic development all over the world, country by country, region
by region, from 1945 to the present day. Coverage includes playwriting, music theatre,
dance theatre, theatre for young audiences, puppet theatre, design, architecture and
developments in theatre technology, theatre training, criticism and scholarship.
Musical Theatre
See also Musical Scores
The American Musical Theatre Song Encyclopedia
Reference ML 102 .M88 H59 1995
Facts on over 1,800 songs from over 500 musicals from 1886 through 1994. Gives information
on the song's author, original performers, and dates and history of recording. Brief
glossary of theatre music terms. Bibliography.
American Song: The Complete Musical Theatre Companion
Reference ML 128 .M78 B6 1996
- Volumes 1 & 2 "focus on 4,863 shows from Broadway musicals to
regional productions, from television musicals to ice shows,
from nightclub scores to foreign shows by American writers, and
many others. Each entry...contains not only more commonly known
information -- such as the name and type of show, the cast list,
composer, librettist, lyricist, director, producer, and
choreographer -- but also lesser-known facts. In addition, each
entry contains a complete list of all the songs in the show --
including those that were cut or written but not performed."
- Volumes 3 & 4, subtitled The Complete Companion to Tin Pan
Alley Song, explore "the work of major pop songwriters from
'Tin Pan Alley' not included either in a Broadway show or film
from the period 1880 to today. This carefully researched
encyclopedia covers 125 composers with hundreds of entries on
each."

Encyclopedia of the
Musical Theatre
Reference ML 102 .M88 G3 2001
Contains over 4,000 entries with production and performance information, characters,
and plot summaries. Does not include information about opera, pantomime, revue, dance
shows, or musical film and television. Covers works in France, Austria, Germany, England,
and America. Lacks an index. Discographies are brief.
Songs of the Theatre
Reference ML 128 .S3 L55
Covers songs, both published and unpublished, from 1891 through 1983. Title listing
with name of composer and lyricist, plus name and date of the show in which the song
appeared. Index of composers, lyricists, and authors; alphabetical list of shows; chronology
of shows.
Shakespeare
UCF Library Catalog
The Annotated Shakespeare
Reference PR 2754 .R67 1978
A Dictionary of Quotations from Shakespeare: A Topical guide to over
3,000 Great Passages from the Plays, Sonnets, and Narrative Poems
Reference PR 2892 .S4177 1992
Dictionary of Shakespeare
A Complete & Systematic Concordance to the Works of Shakespeare
Reference PR 2892 .S6
"The first three volumes contain concordances to the individual
plays, to the characters, tot the poems (singly and together), and
to the complete works.... The last three volumes contain a
concordance to the complete works with cumulative statistical
information, a context for each word, an index of all the words
arranged according to frequency of occurrence, and a complete list
of homographs."
The Quotable Shakespeare: A Topical Dictionary
Reference PR 2892 .D37 1988
Shakespeare A to Z
Reference PR 2892 .B69 1990
"The essential reference to his plays, his poems, his life and
times, and more"
Shakespeare for Students
Reference PR 2897 .S47 1992
Critical Interpretations of As You Like It,
Hamlet, Julius Caesar, Macbeth, The Merchant of Venice,
A Midsummer
Night's Dream, Othello, and Romeo & Juliet
Shakespearean Criticism
"A multiplicity of viewpoints documenting the critical reaction of scholars
and commentators from the seventeenth century to the present day
derives from hundreds of periodicals and books excerpted for the
series." Over 100 volumes. Cumulative indexes: Character Index,
Topic Index, and Topic Index by Play.
Who's Who in Shakespeare
Reference PR 2989 .Q4
Technical Theatre
The ABC of Stage Technology
Reference PN 2091 .M3 .R45 1995
A comprehensive encyclopedia of over 500 terms and words used in stage technology. It
embraces all aspects of the technical operation of the stage including the use of flying
and other machinery.
Backstage Handbook: An Illustrated Almanac of Technical Information
Reference PN 2091.S8 C32 1988
Describes a wide range of tools, hardware, materials, electrical devices, mathematical
formulas, architectural elements, and stage machinery through line drawings, charts,
and tables. Also has a separate table of standard conversions.
Costume Language: A Dictionary of Dress Terms
Reference GT 507 .D38 1994
Costumes and Settings for Staging Historical Plays
General Collection PN 2067 .C33 1979
Each volume includes a general introduction to the period, followed by illustrated descriptions
of the costume of specific cultures and smaller time divisions, discussions and illustrations
of stage properties, and stage setting and lighting considerations.
Volume 1: The Classical Period
Volume 2: Medieval
Volume 3: The Elizabethan and Restoration Periods
Volume 4: The The Georgia Period
Volume 5: The Nineteenth Century
Theatre Backstage from A to Z
Reference PN 2035 .L68 1989
A dictionary-style arrangement of entries on technical aspects of stage production.
Includes an historical essay on scenery and lighting practices in the United States.
What People Wore: A Visual History of Dress from Ancient Times
to Twentieth-Century America (1951)
Reference GT 513 .G6
return to top
Chronologies
American Musical Theatre: A Chronicle
Covers more than 250 years of Broadway musical theatre, encompassing all musical entertainment
from plays, revues, opera bouffe and operettas to one-man and one-woman shows. Includes
mini-biographies and detailed song, show, and people indexes. Provides summaries of
the creative trends during each season.
American Theatre: A Chronicle of Comedy and Drama
Chronicles, in order by opening, every Broadway comedy and drama, show by show, season
by season, offering a plot synopsis, principal players, and important statistics. Scenery
and costumes are described where they might be of interest, and comments of the plays'
contemporary critics are quoted. Useful for tracking trends in theatre production in
the United States.
A Chronological Outline
of World Theatre
General Collection PN 2101 .M47 1992
Shows developments in various countries and cultures, arranged by time periods, from
3000 BCE in Egypt to the early 1980s.
return to top
Biographies
There are countless sources for biographical information. In addition to the sources cited
below, also check the sources listed under "Handbooks,
Dictionaries, and Encyclopedias."
Biography & Genealogy Master Index
"indexes current, readily available reference sources, as well as the
most important retrospective works that cover individuals, both
living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all
areas of the world.... BGMI indexes only reference works containing multiple biographies;
it does not index periodical articles or books of biography
about a single individual. Sources...are of several types:
- Biographical dictionaries and who's whos, which supply
information on a number of individuals.
- Subject encyclopedias, which include some biographical
entries.
- Volumes of literary criticism, which may contain only a
limited amount of biographical information but give critical
surveys of a writer's works.
- Indexes, which refer the user to a body of information found
elsewhere."
Biography Index
"cites biographical articles appearing in any of more than 3,000
periodicals indexed in other Wilson databases, plus select other
titles. What’s more, some 2,000 current books of individual and
collective biography are cited each year, as well as
biographical material in otherwise non-biographical books.
Besides biographies and autobiographies, you’ll find citations
to interviews, obituaries, collections of letters, diaries,
memoirs, juvenile literature, book reviews, bibliographies and
exhibition reviews. People covered range from antiquity to the
present and represent all fields and nationalities."
Biography & Genealogy Master Index
identifies entries in
Biography Index from the first
print volume in 1946 forward.
Contains biographical information on over one million individuals from all time periods,
geographical locations, and fields of endeavor. The "Biographical Facts Search" allows
searching for people based on one or more personal facts, such as occupation.
Provides online access to:
Contemporary Theatre, Film and Television
An ongoing biographical reference series providing brief
biographical information and credits of performers, directors,
writers, producers, designers, technicians, composers,
executives, and critics in the United States and Great Britain.
Who's Who in the Theatre: A Biographical Record of the Contemporary Stage
Gives biographical sketches of actors, actresses, directors, dramatists, composers,
scenic designers, critics, and theatre historians.
Who Was Who in the Theatre, 1912-1976: A Biographical Dictionary of Actors,
Actresses, Directors, Playwrights, and Producers of the English-Speaking Theatre
Reference PN 2597.W52
reproduces the sketches of the first 15 editions of Who's Who in the Theatre
Contemporary American Theater Critics: A Directory & Anthology of Their
Works
Reference PN 1707.9 C6 (1977)
Focus is on "regional" critics. Provides biographical
information and sample pieces of criticism.
International Dictionary of Theatre
"The scope...is historical (ranging from the theatre of Ancient
Greece to that of the present day) and international, covering
plays of some 20 languages, and playwrights, actors, directors,
and designers of many nationalities."
- Volume 1: Plays - over 620 notable plays. "Every entry
contains, where known, the date and location of first
publication and first production; a chronological list of books
and articles about the play; and a critical essay on the play."
- Volume 2: Playwrights - 485 writers for the stage. "Each
entry contains: a summary of the writer's life and career; a
list of works by the entrant; a list of publications
(bibliographies and critical studies) about the entrant; a
signed critical overview of the entrant's work for the stage by
one of the Dictionary's contributors. If any of an entrant's
plays has an entry of its own in Volume 1 (Plays), a
cross-reference makes this explicit at the end of the entry."
- Volume 3: Actors, Directors & Designers - 300 actors,
directors, & designers for the stage. "Each entry contains: a
summary of the subject's life and career; a list of relevant
productions and roles, including film, television, and radio
credits; a list of publications by the subject; a list of
publications about the entrant; a signed critical overview of
the entrant's work for the stage by one of the Dictionary's
contributors."
Notable Women in the American Theatre: A Biographical Dictionary
Lengthy articles on approximately 350 actresses, directors, scholars, and designers.
Appendix lists names by professional category. Cross-references and topical index.
Theatrical Designers: An International Biographical Dictionary
Gives articles on approximately 270 set, costume, and lighting designers of drama, opera,
dance, and film productions, as well as theatre architects and theoreticians. Index
of personal names and titles of stage works.
Theatrical Directors: A Biographical Dictionary
Reference PN 2205 .T54 1994
Articles on about 300 prominent nineteenth- and twentieth-century directors. Indexes
of personal names and play, film, and television title.
Variety Obituaries, 1905-1986: An Eleven-Volume Set, Including a Comprehensive Index
Reference PN 1583 .V35 1988
Reprints in chronological order from Variety news stories, editorials, and
obituary columns the death notices of individuals connected with the entertainment industry.
Who's Who in Entertainment
Reference PN 1583 .W47
Contains approximately 20,000 biographical sketches of prominent individuals in the
entertainment industry.
return to top
Monologues and Scene Indexes
The following sources are useful for locating monologues and scenes
published in anthologies, collections, or periodicals.
UCF Library Catalog
Actors Guide to Monologues: An index of 700 Monologues from Classical & Modern Plays
for Auditions & Classwork
Reference PN 4321.A3
Indexes monologues from published plays. Arranged by sex and approximate age. Each entry
lists the title and author of the play, name and age of character, approximate time
of performance, the first line of the speech, and the act and scene in which it appears.
Nationalities are given when an accent is required. Lists publisher or journal location
of the play and the page number where the monologue begins.
Actors Guide to Scenes
Reference PN 2054 .G784
A listing of two-character scenes classified by the gender of the characters and the
style of the play (comic, serious, etc.). Running time and beginning line are indicated.
Search for plays, characters or scenes by various criteria.
Provides full text of plays from:
Smith and Kraus Monologue Index
Reference PN 2080 .S6 1999
Indexes 2,610 monologues from 1,420 plays. Entries describe the
source play, character, scene, setting, & length in minutes of
the monologue. The indexing identifies gender, contemporary/classic,
dramatic/seriocomic/comic, ethnic/nationality/religious
affiliation, time periods, geographic area, occupations, and
character types/situations.
Identifies a specific Smith & Kraus
anthology containing the monologue, e.g.
- The Best Men's Stage Monologues of 1990-1997
- The Best Women's Stage Monologues of 1990-1997
- 100 Great Monologues from the Neo-Classical Theater
- A Brave & Violent Theatre: Monologues, Scenes, & Critical
Context from 20th-Century Irish Drama
- etc.
The Ultimate Scene & Monologue Sourcebook: An Actor's Guide to Over 1,000 Monologues
& Scenes from More than 300 Contemporary Plays
Reference PN 2080 .H66 1994
In addition to basic information about each play listed (author and publisher), entries
give a brief synopsis, brief critical comments, and the number of "audition-worthy"
monologues and scenes in the play.
return to top
Plays and Play Indexes - Key Resources
The following sources are useful for locating the texts of plays,
including screenplays, published in anthologies,
collections, or periodicals. See also
Plays and Play Indexes - Other Resources.
Full text of hundreds of scripts by writers together with
detailed, fielded information on the scenes, characters and
people related to the scripts.
Search for plays, characters or scenes by various criteria.
Provides full text of plays from:

Ottemiller's Index to Plays in Collections: An Author and Title Index to Plays Appearing
in Collections Published between 1900 and 1985
Reference PN 1631 .O8 1988
An author index to over 6,500 plays in various languages, including translations, in
1,350 collections published primarily in the United States and Britain. Plays are keyed
by symbol to the list of anthologies.

Play Index
Reference PN 1620 .A1 P53 (1949+)
A selective author, title, and subject index to English-language plays and translations
-- classical through contemporary -- published separately or in collections. Entries
usually include a brief plot summary and production specifications, and are keyed to
a list of collections in the back of each volume.
The
Cast Analysis section "is designed to
locate plays by type and number of players or readers. It is
divided into these six sections: (1) all male cast (2) all
female cast (3) mixed cast (4) puppet plays (5) unidentified
cast (6) variable cast. Unidentified cast is used for non-human
characters. Variable cast is used when roles can be acted by
either male or female characters, or when an actor can take
several parts.... Under each type of cast the arrangement is by
total number of characters in ascending order.... The symbol "c"
denotes a play intended for children through grade six. A "y"
indicates material for grades seven through twelve
approximately."
See also:
Cumulated Dramatic Index, 1909-1949
Reference PN 1620 .A1 C95
Appendices:
- Title List of Published Play Texts - about 24,000 entries
- Author List of Published Play Texts - approximately 20,000
entries
"Over 1,000 complete plays covering the range of dramatic
expression: including one-act plays, puppet plays,
Harlinquinades, tragedies, gothic, children's, religious,
romantic, historical, children's and comedic plays. The
collection includes many nationalities, all in English or
English translations. Plays are analyzed for subjects, and also
list all characters."
return to top
Plays and Play Indexes - Other Resources
See also Plays and Play Indexes - Key Resources
The Drama Scholars' Index to Plays and Filmscripts: A Guide to Plays and Filmscripts
in Selected Anthologies, Series, and Periodicals
Reference PN 1657 .S2
A selective author and title index to plays, and scripts or radio, television, and film
productions in a variety of languages. Coverage extends from eighteenth-century collections
through the early 1980s.
Drury's Guide to Best Plays
Reference 1655 .D8 1978
Includes Cast Index, Index of Selected Subjects (The Black
Experience, The Woman Experience, Plays Requiring No Scenery),
Prize Plays, Long Running Plays on the New York Stage, Popular
Plays for High School Production (1974-1975), Frequently
Produced Plays (High School Theater), Most Popular Plays for
Amateur Groups, Plays Recommended for "All Groups"
provides the scripts of plays, organized by historical period:
Classical, Medieval, Renaissance/Early Modern, Seventeenth
Century, Eighteenth Century, Nineteenth Century, Modern Drama,
Contemporary Drama.
Guide to Play Selection: A Selective Bibliography for Production
& Study of Modern Plays
Reference PN 1721 .N3 1975
Arranged by playwright's name, the entries include:
- general classification, e.g., drama, melodrama, tragedy, comedy,
fantasy, farce, verse play, morality play, documentary
- the number of acts or scenes, or in the case of short plays,
the approximate playing time
- information about set requirements
- information about costumes
- number & sex of the players
Indexes: Number of players, topical, author, and title
Index to Characters in the Performing Arts
Reference PN 1579.S45
- Part I - Non-Musical Plays - approximately 30,000 major &
minor characters appearing in some 3600 plays by 1400 authors,
from the late 5th century B.C. to the 1964-1965 Broadway season.
- Part II - Operas, and Musical Productions - approximately
20,000 major & minor characters appearing in 2542 musical
productions from folk plays of the 13th century to the 1965-1966
Broadway season.
- Part III - Ballets - approximately 3000 major & minor
characters appearing in 818 ballets from the late 16th century
to those of the present day.
- Part IV - Radio & Television - approximately 20,000
characters, actors & actresses appearing in approximately 2500
programs from the inception of these broadcasting media to about
1955 for radio and to the Fall 1972 season for television.
Index to Full-Length Plays
Reference PN 1655 .T5 (1895-1944)
Reference PN 1655 .T52 (1944-1964)
The 1895 to 1944 volumes have a title index giving author, translator, number
of acts, and other production specifics, followed by author and subject indexes referring
to the title index. The 1944 to 1964 volume combines author, title, and subject
indexes in one alphabetical list.
An Index to One-Act Plays
Reference PN 1655 .L6
Title, author, and subject indexes to English-language one-act plays in collections
and also to separately-published scripts. Five supplements have been published, indexing
collections published between 1900 and 1964. The third supplement includes radio plays;
the fourth and fifth, radio and television plays.
Index to Plays, 1800-1926
Reference PN 1620 .A1 P554 1971
Indexes 7,800 plays by over 2,200 authors that have been published in collections. Includes
only plays written or translated into English. Title and subject index.
Index to Plays in Periodicals
Index to Plays in Periodicals, 1977-1987
Reference PN 1721 .K43
Both are an author list with title index. Helpful in locating many plays not separately
published or anthologized. Many of the entries in the 1977-1987 volume come
from pre-1977 issues of periodicals.
An online index to plays in collections, maintained by Portland State University. Searchable
by author, play title, and source (collection) title.
Masterplots II: Drama Series
"Examines 327 works of twentieth century drama from 148
playwrights from around the world...arranged alphabetically by
the title best known to an English-speaking audience. Each essay
is divided into six sections:
- The author and his or her birth and death dates, the time and place of the work's first performance, the setting, and the principal characters.
- 'The Play' presents an overview of the action and plot.
- 'Themes and Meanings' gives insight into the issues with
which the playwright is concerned.
- The 'Dramatic Devices' section describes such elements of
the theatrical presentation as plot devices, staging techniques,
and characterization.
- In 'Critical Context,' the work is analyzed in relation to
its place in the playwright's canon, its genre, and its social
and historical background.
- 'Sources for Further Study' offers a listing of readily
available secondary reference material on the work and its
author."
Play Publishers - Online Catalogs
Some of the publishing companies provide online indexes
return to top
Musical Scores and Sheet Music
See also Musical Theatre and the
Music Research Guide
Musical Scores in the UCF Library
The UCF Library has many scores included in the collection; some
dramatic music publications are shelved on the 3rd floor in the
General Collection at M 1500 through M 1527.8, but search the
UCF library catalog
for specific pieces. Examples:
- M1507.B76 1995 - Broadway Deluxe - over 125 of
Broadway's Best Loved Melodies
- M1507.B761 1991 - Broadway Musicals: Show by Show,
1891-1916
- M1507.B762 1991 - Broadway Musicals: Show by Show,
1917-1929
- M1507.B763 1991 - Broadway Musicals: Show by Show,
1930-1939
- M1507.B764 1991 - Broadway Musicals: Show by Show,
1940-1949
- M1507.B765 1991 - Broadway Musicals: Show by Show,
1950-1959
- M1507.B766 1991 - Broadway Musicals: Show by Show,
1960-1971
- M1507.B767 1991 - Broadway Musicals: Show by Show,
1972-1988
- M1630.18.A57 - The All-American Song Book: The Big Hits
of the 20's, 30's, 40's, 50's & 60's
- M1630.18.A647 - American Rock & Roll: The Biggest Hits
of the Late 50's and Early 60's
- M1630.18.B226.M7 1970 - Bacharach and David Song Book
- M1630.18.B4757 1988 - The Best of Rock & Roll: The
Complete Original Sheet Music Editions (12 volumes)
Popular Music Book Indexes
- Orlando Public Library has a card file index by song title
of the popular music books in their collection.
-
Sheet Music Database Search (Clearwater Public Library)
identifies which source contains a particular song title.
- Popular Song
Index is an index to selected books of popular songs in the
collection of the Patchogue-Medford Public Library in New York. There are
approximately 102,786 entries from 1,118 books which have been
indexed.
"a group of libraries working toward the goal of building an open
collection of digitized sheet music" provides an online index with
links to full text sheet music.
"offers sheet music editions of classical music for free download.
These are based on editions in the public domain, and include works
by Bach, Beethoven, Chopin, Handel, Mozart, and many others."
"contains more than 62,500 pieces of historical sheet music
registered for copyright: more than 15,000 registered during the
years 1820-1860 and more than 47,000 registered during the years
1870-1885. Included are popular songs, operatic arias, piano music,
sacred and secular choral music, solo instrumental music, method
books and instructional materials, and music for band and orchestra.
The collection documents the attitudes and tastes of a bygone era
with music of many varieties and sources, all of it published in the
United States."
The Duke University Library maintains a web directory of sheet music
collections available at other institutions.
return to top
Directories
The Directory of Theatre Training Programs: Profiles of College &
Conservatory Programs throughout the United States
Reference PN 2078 .U6 D56
"Information on admissions, degrees offered, faculties, courses,
facilities, productions and philosophy of training."
Dramatists Sourcebook
Reference PN 2289 .D73
"Complete opportunities for playwrights, translators, composers,
lyricists and librettists," including:
- Script Opportunities - not-for-profit professional theatres,
playwriting contests, play publishers, literary magazines, small
presses, conferences, festivals, workshops, programs, playwright
groups, play development organizations
- Career Opportunities - agents, fellowships & grants, emergency
funds, state arts agencies, colonies & residencies, membership &
service organizations
- Resources - useful publications, online resources, submission
calendar
- Special Interest Index - adaptations, African American theatre,
Asian-American theatre, comedy, disabilities (theatre for & by
people with disabilities), experimental theatre, gay & lesbian
theatre, Hispanic/Latin American theatre, Jewish theatre, Media
(film, radio, television), multicultural theatre, multimedia,
musical theatre, Native American theatre, one-acts & short plays,
performance art, religious/spiritual theatre, senior citizens,
social-political theatre, solo performance, student/college
submissions, translations, women's theatre, young audiences, young
playwrights programs
- General Index
Performing Arts Yearbook for Europe
Reference PN 2570 .P44
Directory of ministries of culture & funding agencies,
supra-national organisations & networks, national organisation &
resource centres, opera companies, orchestras, early music groups,
choirs, drama, festivals, competitions, ballet & dance companies,
venues, puppets, promoters, agents & producers, radio, television,
recorded media, publications, arts administration & management
courses, products & services, conferences & trade shows, further
education
Regional Theatre Directory
Reference PN 2289 .R44
"A national guide to employment in regional & dinner theatres for
performers (Equity & Non-Equity), designers, technicians &
management, with internship opportunities for students. Including:
hiring & casting procedures, seasons. Plus appendices of useful
resources: union information, book reviews, guide to looking for
work."
Summer Theatre Directory
Reference PN 2289 .S8
"A national guide to summer employment, combined auditions
information, summer opportunity at over 350 summer theatres & 80
training programs; also theme parks, Renaissance Faires, outdoor
drama, cruise lines. Hiring & casting procedures for
apprenticeships, conservatory programs & internships. Plus: guidance
in preparing for your summer audition & choosing the right summer
theatre."
Theatre Directory
Reference PN 2289 .T54
"Personnel information, including artistic directors, managing
directors & board chairpersons for 466 theatres; complete personnel
index; theatre addresses/business/FAX & box office phone numbers;
email & website addresses; performance seasons; Actors' Equity
Association contract information; Special Interests listing for all
theatres; regional index listing by state, theatre index listing by
budget size, listings for 71 arts resource organizations, including
descriptions of their programs & services."
return to top
Internet Sources
The following selected Internet "meta-sites" provide useful information in the field of theatre.
Provides a wide range of Internet links. Categories include general resources, digital libraries, databases
& archives, Shakespeare, costumes, and organizations.
"provides records of productions from the beginnings of New York
theatre until today. Details include pertinent people involved
as well as interesting facts and production statistics. Get a
list of every production of Hamlet on Broadway or a list of your
favorite actor's credits. Find out what played at a particular
theatre or what shows opened in a specified Broadway season."
Performing arts libraries & research aids, periodical indexes,
doctoral dissertations, obituaries & necrologies, dance sites,
theater sites, opera, film music, church music, music
organizations, music industry sites, music publishers' sites,
copyright information, sheet music sites (databases with music),
sheet music sites (databases only), song lyrics sites
Indexes to Internet theatre resources, play indexes, full text
play sources, journals & e-zines, history, Shakespeare, Broadway
& Off-Broadway, musical theatre, theatre companies, libraries,
archives & museums, associations & organizations, vaudeville,
circus, comedy & improv, playwriting & dramaturgy, design &
stagecraft, international theatre
"pointers to resources in more than
50 countries around the world, for professionals, amateurs,
academics and students of all ages" including: theatre
auditions, academic/training institutions worldwide, book
dealers, conferences for theatre scholars, electronic text
archives & plays online, general organizations & resources,
journals online, mailing lists, monologues in print, news
groups, plays in print, scholarly books selection, theatre books
in print, theatre companies worldwide, theatre image collections
online, theatre studies, articles & resources, theatre syllabus
bank, theatre on film
See also other WWW Virtual Library guides for
The Arts
return to top
UCF Theatre Department
See the
UCF Theatre Department website for information
about the current performance season, academic programs, faculty &
staff, and other news.
return to top
Style Manuals and Citation Management Tools
The style manual listed below offers assistance with the mechanics of paper presentation,
such as preparing bibliographies, footnoting, underlining, and using quotation marks.
The three major citation styles are MLA, APA, and Turabian/Chicago;
check with your instructor as to which citation style you should use. In
addition to the source cited below, brief
online
guides with examples are available; the UCF Libraries also
provide several
citation management tools, e.g., RefWorks, EndNote,
Reference Manager, and ProCite.
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
Reference Desk LB 2369 .G53 2003 (6th edition)
A standard guide to research, writing, and the mechanics of paper presentation in literary
studies, including some examples for citing electronic publications (Internet sites,
electronic journals, online books, etc.). See also the MLA Style Manual and Guide
to Scholarly Publishing (Reference PN 147 .G444 1998).
return to top
Other Resources
The Actor's Picture/Resume Book: An Actor's Guide to Creating a Picture/Resume for Theatre,
Film & Commercials
Reference PN 2055 .C43 1998
The Free Southern Theater Records, 1963-1978
Microfilm PN 2277.N4 F76
Reference PN 2277 .N4 F76 register
"In 1963, the Free Southern Theater was organized by John O'Neal
and Gilbert Moses to act as a cultural and educational extension
for the Civil Rights Movement in the South. The Free Southern
Theater provided presentations for numerous community groups in
Louisiana, Mississippi, Alabama, Texas, Tennessee, Georgia, and
Florida." Arranged by four major series with subseries:
Administrative Series, Theater Production Series, General
Correspondence Series, Financial Records Series.
Modern Drama Scholarship and Criticism, 1966-1980: An International Bibliography
Reference PN 1851 .C37 1997
A bibliography of studies of the drama worldwide since Ibsen. Excludes publications
in non-Latin alphabets, discussions of theatre not related to a dramatic text, most
production reviews, and most popular journalism. The entries are classified in divisions
for general studies and national literatures or languages. Under each dramatist are
separate lists of primary works, reference works, collections of essays, and critical
studies.
Performing Arts Career Directory: A Practical, One-Stop Guide to
Getting a Job in Performing Arts
Reference PN 1580 .P47
Seats New York: 150 Seating Plans to New York Metro Area
Theatres, Concert Halls and Sports Stadiums
Reference PN 2277 .N5 M44 2002
The Tony Award: A Complete Listing, with a History of the
American Theatre Wing
Reference PN 2270 .A93 T6 1994
See also:
TonyAwards.com - the official website of the
American Theatre Wing's Tony Awards
return to top
Ask a Librarian
If you have questions or need additional assistance,
Ask a Librarian, call the Reference Department
at (407) 823-2562, or e-mail the Department at askalibrarian@mail.ucf.edu.
The library liaison for Theatre is Rich Gause, Associate Librarian,
rgause@mail.ucf.edu.
Last Updated:August 14, 2009