Statistics and Actuarial Sciences Research Guide
indicates Top-pick
indicates some full text
Note: Off-campus access to some online sources is restricted to current UCF students, faculty,
and staff via Pegasus or
Proxy connection
Books and Multimedia
UCF Library Catalog
http://library.ucf.edu
Use the online catalog to locate books and multimedia in the UCF Libraries. You can search
by author, title, keyword, or subject.
- To search for a person, as AUTHOR or SUBJECT, search by last name, first
name without punctuation; for example:
Cox Gertrude
Gauss Carl
- SUBJECT searching requires use of Library of Congress subject headings. Here are
some example subject headings:
Analysis of variance
Axiomatic set theory
Cluster analysis
Discriminant analysis
Distribution (Probability theory)
Experimental design
Extreme value theory
Functional analysis
Functional equations
Information theory
Insurance, Life
Insurance--Mathematics
Linear models
Mathematical statistics
Multivariate analysis
Probabilities
Quality control--Statistical methods
Random variables
Regression analysis
Sequential analysis
Stochastic processes
- To limit by FORMAT in order to find multimedia and scores, go to the Advanced Search
in the Library Catalog and use the Limit Search By option.
- If you are unsure of the exact title or unsure of the correct Library of Congress subject
heading, try a KEYWORD search using two or three of the most significant words from
the title or subject you are trying to find.
return to top
Periodical Articles
Use the following electronic and print indexes to find articles about statistics and actuarial
science. Once you have found the articles you want, in some instances you will need to check
the UCF Library Catalog to determine if we own
the periodicals you need. In addition to the electronic databases listed below, some full-text
articles pertinent to social work topics may be available through these online services:
Academic Search Premier, Kluwer Online,
Science Direct, and
Wiley InterScience.
Contains many full-text magazine and journal articles on topics relating to business
and management topics. Good source for articles on organizational and business communication
and on the mass media industry.
Publishes journals focusing on research dealing with high quality and significance in
all areas of pure and applied mathematics. For journals that appear in dual electronic
and print formats, articles are posted individually on the Web soon after the proof
is returned from authors and before appearing in issues for the print product. Items
in article bibliographies are linked to their reviews on MathSciNet when available.
Covers every area of science, engineering, and technology. Provides citations to trade
and industrial publications, journals issued by professional and technical societies,
and specialized subject periodicals.
Company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories,
chronologies, and periodicals articles covering company and industry news. Reports and
forecasts prepared by top Wall Street and international brokerage firms. More than 11,000
U.S. and international companies and 53 industries are covered. Includes PROMT, Newsletters,
and Investext Plus.
Business information focusing on facts, figures, events and market information about
companies, industries, products and markets. Draws content from over 1,000 trade and
industry publications, regional, national and international newspapers, business dailies,
and newsletters. Also includes: Business & Management Practices and Tablebase.
Regional business news from local newspapers and magazines.
Index HF 5001 .B86 (1958+)
Indexes by subject, selected author, and corporate name about 350 journals in all fields
of business. Useful for locating historical information about an industry or company.
Continued by
Wilson Business Full Text
(below).
Indexes and abstracts over 1,500 publications in business, economics, management, and
related areas. Full text for many articles published since 1990.
Citations and abstracts to articles covering capital markets, econometrics, economic
forecasting, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, urban economics
and more.
Indexes over 800 journal titles including business, management, and trade journals;
some 80 regional and local journals and newspapers. Provides access to full text of
some articles. Updated daily.
News, business, legal and medical information. Sources include newspapers, wire services,
magazines, SEC filings, law cases, state and federal codes, law review journals, and
reference works.
Provides timely reviews or summaries of articles and books that contain new contributions
to mathematical research. The Mathematical Reviews Database is the database of bibliographic
information and reviews, created and maintained by the American Mathematical Society.
Journals, conference proceedings, and books of mathematical research are covered.
Incorporates 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires covering all metropolitan
and rural areas within the United States.
A database to 345 English-language business magazines. Topics include accounting, personnel,
and small business. Continues
Business Periodicals
Index (above).
return to top
Key Journals
The following journals are devoted exclusively or in part to statistics and actuarial science.
Please note, however, that many other journals not listed here may contain articles about these
subjects; thus, the need to consult a periodical database
or index. Current print issues of periodicals to which the
Library subscribes are arranged by title on the third floor; print back issues are shelved in
the general collection by call number, while microform back issues are arranged by call number
on the third floor.

Annals of the Institute
of Statistical Mathematics
Online version (1997+)
General Collection QA 276 .T6 (1972+)
Microfilm QA 276 .T6 (1949-72)
AISM provides an international forum for open communication among statisticians and
researchers working with the common purpose of advancing human knowledge through the
development of science and the technology of statistics.
Formerly known as the Journal of the Australian Mathematical Society, Series B. Publishes
papers on pure mathematics and statistics.
Chance
General Collection QA 276 .A1 C58 (1988+)
Aimed at persons using statistical methods and approaches in market research, demographics,
social sciences, and medicine.

Computational Statistics
& Data Analysis
Provides information for statisticians, software managers and consultants in computer
centers, and researchers in the social, engineering, natural, physical and medical sciences.
Topics covered include pattern recognition, algorithms, graphical presentations and
computer-assisted analyzers.
An international journal which publishes papers concerned with either the theory of
insurance mathematics or the inventive application of it, including empirical or experimental
results. The subject matter of the journal includes the theory, models and computational
methods of life insurance (including pension systems, social insurance, and health insurance),
of non-life insurance, and of reinsurance and other risk-sharing arrangements. It also
includes, under the heading insurance economics, innovative insurance applications of
results from other fields, such as probability and statistics, computer science and
numerical analysis, economics, operations research and management science, and risk
management.

Journal of Applied Statistics
A forum for communication between both applied statisticians and users of applied statistical
techniques across a wide range of disciplines. These areas include business, computing,
economics, ecology, education, management, medicine, operational research and sociology,
but papers from other areas are also considered.

Journal of Statistical
Planning and Inference
Information on statistics, with special emphasis on statistical planning and the related
areas of combinatorial mathematics and probability theory.
Journal of the Australian Mathematical Society
General Collection QA1 .A9 (1970-74)
QA1 .A93 (1975-80) Series A Pure Mathematics
QA1 .A93 (1981-2005) Series A Pure Mathematics and Statistics Check
QA1 .A94 (1975-2000) Series B Applied Mathematics

Metrika
Covers statistical methods and mathematical statistics. Includes statistical quality
control, sampling control, sampling theory, and design of experiments.
North American Actuarial Journal
General Collection HG 8754 .S62 (1997+)
Scientifically addresses the domestic and international problems, interests and concerns
of actuaries, their customers, and public policy decision-makers. Publishes papers from
traditional fields of actuarial practice, such as life and health insurance, pensions,
employee benefits, property and casualty insurance, and finance and investments.

Statistics and Computing
Addresses the use of statistical concepts in computer science and the use of data analysis.
Contains original research reports, authoritative review papers, discussion papers,
and occasional special issues on particular topics or carrying proceedings of relevant
conferences.
Stats
General Collection QA 276 .A1 S747 (2000+)
Advances both the academic understanding and the professional practice of effective
financial management, control, and accountability.

Technometrics
Statistical methods for the physical, chemical, and engineering sciences are the focus
of this quarterly journal. Articles describe new techniques and applications for research,
development, design, and performance improvement.

Scandinavian Actuarial
Journal
A journal for actuarial sciences that deals, in theory and application, with mathematical
methods for insurance and related matters. Also publishes survey articles and includes
a section for empirical studies. All articles are refereed.
return to top
Definitions and Summaries
Sources such as dictionaries and encyclopedias are good starting points for obtaining basic
information about issues, events, and concepts in the field of statistics and actuarial science.
Diccionario bilingüe de seguros = Bilingual Insurance Dictionary
Reference HG 8025 .D478 1999
With 1000 terms and definitions in English and Spanish, offers the reader an accessible
tool to understand the technical terms of the retirement & insurance worlds. Explanations
of annuities, retirement plans, health and life insurance are found in both languages.

Dictionary of Insurance
Terms
Reference HG 8025 .R83 1995
Lists more than 4,200 specialized terms with concise definitions. Terminology covers
life, health, property, and casualty insurance, as well as retirement plans.
A Dictionary of Statistical, Scientific, and Technical Terms = Un diccionario de términos
estadísticos, cientificos y tecnicos: English-Spanish, Spanish-English
Reference QA 276.14 .S23
Coverage includes theoretical and applied statistics, the calculus of probability and
many other terms employed in operation research, experimental science and other related
fields.
A Dictionary of Statistics
Reference QA 276.14 .U67 2002
Provides concise definitions of all the terms likely to be encountered by students of
Statistics and of disciplines featuring statistical material such as politics, medicine,
and mathematics.

Encyclopedia of Statistical
Sciences
Reference QA 276.14 .E5 + Update
Provides information on an extensive selection of topics concerned with statistical
theory and the applications of statistical methods in various scientific fields of activity.
Glossary of Insurance Policy Terms
Reference HG 8025 .G56 1999
A glossary of insurance policy terms for government insurance officials, and academic
and business communities worldwide. The selected topics range from insurance policy
regulation/supervision to general trade issues and include technical terms related to
issues such as claims, premiums and provisions.
International Dictionary of Insurance and Finance
General Collection HG 8025 .C58 1999
Lists thousands of key words, terms, acronyms and proper names. Coverage includes investments,
finance, commercial and mortgage banking, exporting, business structure, and a host
of other broad business categories. Terms and concepts from around the world are included.
http://insource.nils.com/gloss/glossarysearchterms.asp
Gives definitions for common insurance industry terms.
http://www.statsoftinc.com/textbook/glosfra.html
Entries in the glossary are taken from the electronic manual of STATISTICA®, a commercial
statistical software package.
http://www.cas.lancs.ac.uk/glossary_v1.1/main.html
Provides an alphabetical index of statistical terms with many illustrative examples.
A Topical Dictionary of Statistics
General Collection QA 276.14 .T54 1986
Contains 15 chapters of in-depth information on statistical terminology.
return to top
Handbooks and Tables
There are a number of important handbooks and manuals dealing with specific areas or functions
in statistics. Handbooks are excellent sources to use for an overview of a topic, to begin a
literature search, and to find discussions about schools of thought, theoretical approaches,
and landmark research studies. They provide a more in-depth and comprehensive treatment than
encyclopedias or dictionaries on a specific topic in the field.
Computational Statistics Handbook with MATLAB
General Collection QA 276.4 .M272 2002
Includes MATLAB functions for common probability distributions and features MATLAB interfaces
for algorithms and demos.
CRC Handbook of Tables for Order Statistics from Inverse Gaussian Distributions with
Applications
Reference QA 278.7 .B34 1997
General Collection QA 278.7 .B34 1997
Describes the models, their properties, shapes, and applications in different fields.
Explains how to fit or apply these models to data from different experiments.

CRC Handbook of Tables
for Probability and Statistics
Reference QA 276 .B44 1968
Brings together in an extensive collection of relatively standard statistical tables.
CRC Handbook of Tables for the Use of Order Statistics in Estimation
Reference QA 278.7 .H36 1996
Brings together tables relating to order statistics from many important distributions
and provides maximum likelihood estimations of their parameters based on complete as
well as Type-II censored samples. Describes in detail the method of computation used
to construct the tables and illustrates their usefulness with practical examples.

CRC Standard Probability
and Statistics Tables and Formulae
Reference QA 273.3 .Z95 2000
General Collection QA 273.3 .Z95 2000
Contains all of the standardized statistical tables and formulas typically needed plus
material on basic statistics topics such as probability theory and distributions, regression,
analysis of variance, nonparametric statistics, and statistical quality control. For
each type of distribution are supplied definitions, tables, relationships with other
distributions, including limiting forms, statistical parameters, and a list of common
problems.
Handbook of Applied Multivariate Statistics and Mathematical Modeling
General Collection QA 278 .H3453 2000
Explains the appropriate uses of multivariate procedures and mathematical modeling techniques,
and prescribes practices that enable applied researchers to use these procedures effectively
without needing to concern themselves with the mathematical basis.
A Handbook of Introductory Statistical Methods
General Collection QA 276.12 .C69 1987
A concise text and reference that combines a logical development of statistical procedures
with the presentation of methods for analyzing data from commonly occurring experimental
situations. Essential formulas are clearly displayed, and each procedure is illustrated
by a simple numerical example. No calculus is used. Topics include Gaussian, binomial,
and Poisson distributions, hypothesis testing, linear regression, linear correlation,
completely randomized experiments, contrasts for comparing linear combinations of group
means, multiple comparisons, experiments using randomized block and Latin square designs,
and matrix operations.
Handbook of nonlinear regression models
General Collection QA 278.2 .R369 1990
Introductory chapters give necessary background information on nonlinear regression.
Other chapters provide working guides and examples to many nonlinear model forms.
Handbook of Parametric and Nonparametric Statistical Procedures
General Collection QA 276.25 .S54 2000
Presents some 100 statistical procedures and tests and shows how to pick the best test,
interpret results, and evaluate the research of others.
Handbook of Probability and Statistics with Tables
Reference QA 273 .B925 1970
General Collection QA 273 .B925 1970
Provides a convenient summary of theory, working rules, and tabular material useful
in the study and solution of practical problems involving probability and statistics.
Handbook of Sequential Analysis
General Collection QA 279.7 .H36 1991
Presents a broad spectrum of sequential analysis and its applications in diverse fields
in a cohesive and integrated form.
Handbook of Stochastic Analysis and Applications
General Collection QA 274.2 .H36 2002
Introduces general theories of stochastic processes and modern martingale theory. Focuses
on consistency, stability, and contractivity under geometric invariance in numerical
analysis, discussing problems related to implementation, simulation, variable step size
algorithms, and random number generation.
Handbook of Tables for Order Statistics from Lognormal Distributions with Applications
General Collection QA 278.7 .B344 1999
Presents tables of moments of order statistics as well as BLUES based on complete and
censored samples for lognormal distributions. It also has various illustrative examples
for different uses of these tables pertaining to inference and prediction.
Handbook of the Logistic Distribution
General Collection QA 273.6 .H35 1992
Discusses in detail the mathematical and statistical properties of the function as applied
to linear observations.
Handbook of the Normal Distribution
General Collection QA 273.6 .P373 1996
Provides the most current estimation procedures for normal distribution samples for
researchers and students in theoretical and applied statistics. Topics include expanded
treatments of: bivariate normal distribution, normal integrals, Mills' ratio, asymptotic
normality, point estimation, and statistical intervals.
New Cambridge Statistical Tables
General Collection QA 276.25 .L56 1995
Contains all the tables likely to be required for elementary statistical methods in
the social, business and natural sciences. Gives Bayesian confidence limits for the
binomial and Poisson distributions, and for the square of the multiple correlation coefficient,
which have not been previously available.

Statistical Tables,
Explained and Applied
General Collection QA 276.25 .L3813 2002
Contains several new or unpublished tables, such as one on the significance of the correlation
coefficient r, one giving the percentiles of the statistic for monotonic variation (with
two structural models of variation), an extensive table for the number-of-runs test,
three tables for the binomial sum of probabilities, and a table of coefficients for
the re-conversion of orthogonal polynomials. In the case of the more familiar tables,
all values have been re-computed. An appendix contains supplementary examples that pertain
to the various tables. Also includes a glossary of often-used concepts and methods,
statistical as well as mathematical.
Tables for the Use of Range and Studentized Range in Tests of Hypotheses
Reference QA 278.7 .H375 1998
Discusses testing whether a hypothesis is true or false. Also includes numerous tables
that facilitate the methods of hypothesis testing using order statistics.
return to top
Statistical Testing
100 Statistical Tests
Reference QA 277 .K35
Covers the most commonly used tests with information on how to calculate and interpret
results with sample datasets. The information on the limitations of tests has been expanded.
All of the most commonly used tests are clarified for researchers in social sciences.
Information on how to calculate and interpret results is given with sample datasets
and expanded information on the limitations of tests.
Permutation Tests: A Practical Guide to Resampling Methods for Testing Hypotheses
General Collection QA 277 .G643 2000
Provides a step-by-step manual on the application of permutation tests in biology, business,
medicine, science, and engineering.
return to top
Quotations
Statistically Speaking: A Dictionary of Quotations
Reference QA 273 .S742 1996
Provides the largest collection of quotations pertaining to probability and statistics
yet published. Some quotes are profound, others are wise, some are witty but none are
frivolous.
Mathematically Speaking: A Dictionary of Quotations
Reference QA 99 .M363 1998
Collects quotes about math from mathematicians and non-mathematicians alike. The quotes
are divided among topics such as calculation, analogy, deduction, circle, discovery,
pi, reasoning, map, parabola, and topology.
return to top
History
Counting for Something: Statistical Principles and Personalities
General Collection QA 276.15 .P47 1987
Contains 22 chapters on practical, theoretical and historical information regarding
statistics. Also has a wealth of information on the individuals who contributed to the
development of statistics, and numerous examples of statistics and its application in
a wide range of areas.
From Actuarius to Actuary: The Growth of a Dynamic Profession in Canada and the United
States
General Collection HG 8782 .M58 1974
Discusses the history and personalities involved in the growth of actuarial science
in Canada and the United States.
Games, Gods and Gambling: The Origins and History of Probability and Statistical Ideas
from the Earliest Times to the Newtonian Era
General Collection QA 273 .D29 1962
Traces the history of probability and chance back to the origins of counting, the decimal
scale and games played with the dice.
History of Actuarial Science
General Collection HG 8781 .H57 1995
A ten-volume set treating such topics as life tables and survival models, life insurance
mathematics, life insurance, pensions, investment risk theory, non-life insurance, multiple
decrement and multiple state models, health and sickness insurance, and experience studies
and estimation of rates graduation of decremented rates.
The History of Statistics: The Measurement of Uncertainty before 1900
General Collection QA 276.15 .S72 1986
Provides information on the early developments of statistics and also covers the famous
mathematicians and statisticians who developed the foundation on which probability and
statistics blossomed in the twentieth century.
Leading Personalities in Statistical Sciences: From the 17th Century to the Present
General Collection QA 276.156 .L43 1997
Spanning almost four centuries, chronicles the lives and achievements of more than 110
of the most prominent names in theoretical and applied statistics, and in probability.
Our Yesterdays: The History of the Actuarial Profession in North America, 1809-1979
General Collection HG 8782 .M66 1989
A descriptive book on the pioneers in actuarial science. Breaks the development of the
profession into different time periods.
Statistics on the Table: The History of Statistical Concepts and Methods
General Collection QA 276.15 .S755 1999
A collection of essays that examines in witty detail the history of some concepts involved
in bringing statistical argument "to the table" and some of the pitfalls encountered.
return to top
Internet Sources
Below are listed some useful Internet (or World Wide Web) sites pertinent to statistics.
These are essentially "meta-sites," starting places for finding and linking to a wide variety
of information online.
http://mathforum.org/library/view/10930.html
A metasite with many links to glossaries, statistical tables, software, societies and
organizations, and online journals. Maintained by a professor of decision sciences at
the University of Baltimore.
http://www.math.yorku.ca/SCS/StatResource.html
Provides an annotated, topic-based collection of available resources for statistics,
statistical graphics, and computation related to research, data analysis and teaching,
now containing over 580 links.
http://my.execpc.com/~helberg/statistics.html
An annotated list of links, arranged under such categories as professional organizations,
institutes and consulting groups, educational resources, Web courses, online textbooks
and publications, and mailing lists and discussion groups.
http://www.statsci.org/
Similar to Yahoo! in its presentation of a rich set of links to Internet sites, with
its own search engine. Maintained by the Centre for Statistics at the University of
Queensland, Australia.
http://www.stat.ufl.edu/vlib/statistics.html
Provides a long list of links on a variety of topics: data souces, academic departments,
government statistics institutes, research groups, educational resources, statistical
services, etc. The site is maintained by the Department of Statistics at the University
of Florida.
return to top
Ask a Librarian
If you have questions or need additional assistance, Ask
a Librarian, call the Reference Department at (407) 823-2562, or e-mail the Department
at askalibrarian@mail.ucf.edu. The library liaison
for Statistics and Actuarial Sciences is Hal Mendelsohn, Assistant University Librarian,
hmendels@mail.ucf.edu.
Last Updated:July 19, 2010