University of Central Florida Libraries
5/24/2013
http://library.ucf.edu/
UCF Website University of Central Florida Libraries
Log in now

Accessing Named Collections in the UCF Library

Special Collections University Archives

The webpages for Special Collections and University Archives are the best place to start searches for the most popular Named Collections.

The primary purpose of this webpage is to provide ready access to commands used in less common searches.

Command Language Search Form
Command Language Search Help

Command language searching allows a user to formulate a complex search query by using search codes and Boolean operators.
To display the Command search form, select Advanced Search and scroll down to the bottom.

The technique for searching the library's online catalog to identify materials that are part of a named collection varies by collection. Those collections that are treated as series in the catalog are prefaced below with an asterisk * and can be searched by the title of the collection. Some materials are housed in Special Collections or University Archives, but many items are shelved in the library's general collection. This list generally does not include named collections for which there is a single bibliographic record in the catalog (e.g. manuscript collections in Special Collections). Instead it focuses on those collections with dozens, hundreds or even thousands of separately titled items. Sometimes the items within a collection are separated by specific subject matter and not shelved together.

Some of the collections have items in both the library's general collection and in Special Collections (e.g., Donnelly, Finney, Hartman, Mickler, West Indies). To separately identify those items by location, add the following commands to the search:

Location Command
limit to items in Special Collections AND+wsc=cfmsc
exclude items in Special Collections NOT+wsc=cfmsc
Example: wti="west+indies+collection"+NOT+wsc=cfmsc
NOTE: Using the command to exclude items in Special Collections will also exclude all records for items which have copies in Special Collections AND in the General Collection. Instead of excluding Special Collections, try limiting to the General Collection, which will still display items with additional copies elsewhere, e.g.,
wti="west+indies+collection"+AND+wsc="cfmgc+gc"
Command Mode Search Help
Collection How to Retrieve in Command Searching
*Archimedes L. A. Patti Collection (Vietnam) wti="archimedes+l+a+patti"
Archives, University wsc=cfmar
Atlases wsc=atlas
Book Arts & Typography Collection wsc=bkart
Browsing Collection
(NOTE: titles are only temporarily in collection)
wsc="cfmgc+brow" (Main Library)
wsc="cfros+brow" (Rosen Library)
*Bryant West Indies Collection wsc=brynt
or
wti="west+indies+collection"
Carey Hand Funeral Home
Special Collections finding aid & exhibit page

wau="carey+hand+funeral+home"
CMC Professional Collection
Other CMC collections and search tips

wsc="cfcmc+pc"
Dissertations and Theses
Research Guide
shelved in General Collection at LD1772.F96...
Ask at Reference Desk for search assistance
*Donnelly Collection
(see Walter and Dorothy Donnelly Collection)
wti=walter+dorothy+donnelly
*Elgar Reference Collection wti="elgar+reference"
Engineering Collection wsc="cfmsc+engn"
*Finney Accounting Collection
(see Harry Anson Finney Collection)
wti="finney+collection"
Florida Documents wsc=fdoc*+OR+fmf*+OR+fref*
Floridiana wsc="cfmsc+flor"
Gould Family Law Library for Criminal Justice & Legal Studies shelved in General Collection at KFA through KFZ
*Harry Anson Finney Collection (accounting books) wti="finney+collection"
Holocaust Collection (neither named collection nor location) wsu=holocaust+1939
Horror-Fantasy Collection wsc=hrft
*Howard Eves Mathematics Collection wti="howard+eves+mathematics"
*Institute for Simulation and Training Collection wti=institute+for+simulation+training
*J. Paul Hartman Collection (engineering books) wti="j+paul+hartman"
*Judaic Studies Collection wti="judaic+studies+collection"
Limited Editions (no longer a location code)
*Malkoff Book Arts Collection
(see Sol and Sadie Malkoff Book Arts Collection)

wti=sol+sadie+malkoff
Manuscripts in Special Collections wsc="cfmsc+manu"
*Mickler Collection
(see Thomas and Georgine Mickler Collection)

wti=thomas+georgine+mickler
Microfiche or microfilm formats
(see guides to general and Florida sets)
wsc=(refmf+OR+docmf+OR+fmfch+OR+micfh)
wsc=(docml+OR+fmflm+OR+micfl)
Music Collection in Special Collections (no longer a location code)
*President Emeritus Dr. H. Trevor Colbourn Collection wti=president+emeritus+trevor+colbourn
Rare Books (no longer a location code)
Reference (in any UCF Library; see below for locations) wsc=ref
*Sol and Sadie Malkoff Book Arts Collection
Special Collections finding aid

wti=sol+sadie+malkoff
Special Collections wsc=cfmsc
*Stephen Danks Lodwick Collection wti="stephen+danks+lodwick"
*Susan King Library (book arts) wti="susan+king+library"
Theses and Dissertations
Research Guide
shelved in General Collection at LD1772.F96...
Ask at Reference Desk for search assistance
*Thomas and Georgine Mickler Collection (Florida history)
Special Collections finding aid and exhibit page

wti=thomas+georgine+mickler
U.S. Documents wsc=(usd*+OR+doc*)
*United Telephone Book Collection (computer communications) wti="united+telephone+book+collection"
*Van Sickle Collection (Leftist pamphlet collection)
Special Collections finding aid
wti="van+sickle+leftist"
Walter and Dorothy Donnelly Collection
Special Collections exhibits page
wti=walter+dorothy+donnelly
*West Indies Collection (books supporting the William L. Bryant Collection) wti="west+indies+collection"
William L. Bryant Foundation (paintings & artifacts of the West Indies) Ask in Special Collections
William S. Gray Research Collection in Reading wti=william+s+gray+research+collection+reading
Library Locations & Formats Command Codes (Command Searching & Search Help)
ALL Campuses
Online Online - U.S. Documents
Online - Other
wsc=cf*
wsc=cfele
wsc="cfele+docs"
wsc="cfele+link"
Main Library
Main Reserve Media Reserve
wsc=cfm*
wsc=cfmrd
wsc=cfmmr
General Collection
General Collection - Oversize
Browsing Collection
Electronic Access (All Campuses)
wsc="cfmgc+gc"
wsc="cfmgc+gco"
wsc="cfmgc+brow"
wsc=cfele
Reference
Atlases
CD-ROM
General Collection - Non Circulating
Indexes
Microfiche
Oversize
Ready Reference
wsc="cfmgc+ref"
wsc="cfmgc+atlas"
wsc="cfmgc+refc"
(no longer a location code)
wsc="cfmgc+index"
wsc="cfmgc+refmf"
wsc="cfmgc+refo"
wsc="cfmgc+rref"
Documents

U.S. Documents
CD-ROM
Electronic Access / Online
Microfiche
Microfilm
Patents
Patents CD-ROM
Reference
Florida Documents
CD-ROM
Reference
wsc=cfmgc+AND+wsc=
(usd*+OR+doc*+OR+pat*+OR+fdoc*+OR+fref)
wsc="cfmgc+usdoc"
wsc="cfmgc+usdcd"
wsc="cfele+docs"
wsc="cfmgc+docmf"
wsc="cfmgc+docml"
wsc="cfmgc+pat"
wsc="cfmgc+patc"
wsc="cfmgc+docr"
wsc="cfmgc+fdoc"
wsc="cfmgc+fdocc"
wsc="cfmgc+fref"
Periodicals & Media
Periodicals
Audio Cassette Collection
Audio Visual Collection
CD Collection
CD-ROM Collection
DVD Collection
DVD Collection & Subject=feature films
Laser Disc Collection
Media - Restricted Access
Media Reserve
Microfiche
Microfilm
Microform (either Microfiche or Microfilm)
Miscellaneous Media Collection
Record Collection
Video Collection

wsc="cfmgc+per"
wsc="cfmgc+aud"
wsc="cfmgc+av"
wsc="cfmgc+medcd"
wsc="cfmgc+cdr"
wsc="cfmgc+dvd"
wsc="cfmgc+dvd"+AND+wsu="feature+films"
wsc="cfmgc+las"
(no longer a location code)
wsc=cfmmr
wsc="cfmgc+micfh"
wsc="cfmgc+micfl"
wsc="cfmgc+micf*"
wsc="cfmgc+med"
wsc="cfmgc+recol"
wsc="cfmgc+video"
Special Collections
Archives, University
Archives, University - Records
Book Arts & Typography
Bryant
Engineering
Floridiana
Horror, Fantasy
Limited Editions - Ask in Special Collections
Malkoff
Manuscripts
Mickler
Music - Ask in Special Collections
Patti
Rare - Ask in Special Collections
Reference
wsc=cfmsc
wsc=cfmar
wsc="cfmsc+archr"
wsc="cfmsc+bkart"
wsc="cfmsc+brynt"
wsc="cfmsc+engn"
wsc="cfmsc+flor"
wsc="cfmsc+hrft"
(no longer a location code)
(no longer a location code - see above)
wsc="cfmsc+manu"
(no longer a location code - see above)
(no longer a location code)
(no longer a location code - see above)
(no longer a location code)
wsc="cfmsc+ref"
CMC (Curriculum Materials Center)
General Collection
Reference
DVD Collection
Fiction
KDP
Multimedia
Periodicals
Picture Book Collection
Professional Collection
Reserve
Test
Textbook
wsc=cfc*
wsc="cfcmc+gc"
wsc="cfcmc+ref"
wsc="cfcmc+dvd"
wsc="cfcmc+fic"
wsc="cfcmc+kdp"
wsc="cfcmc+media"
wsc="cfcmc+per"
wsc="cfcmc+pb"
wsc="cfcmc+pc"
wsc=cfcrc
wsc="cfcmc+test"
wsc="cfcmc+txtbk"
Locations Other than Main Campus NOT+wsc=(cfm*+OR+cfc*)
FSEC (Florida Solar Energy Center, Cocoa)
General Collection
Reference
Tech Documents
wsc=cfsec
wsc="cfsec+gc"
wsc="cfsec+ref"
wsc="cfsec+thdo"
Rosen (Universal Orlando Library at the Rosen College for Hospitality Management)
General Collection
Reference
Audiovisual
Browsing
General Collection - Oversize
Periodicals
Ready Reference
Reference - Oversize
Reserve

wsc=cfro*
wsc="cfros+gc"
wsc="cfros+ref"
wsc="cfros+av"
wsc="cfros+brow"
wsc="cfros+gco"
wsc="cfros+per"
wsc="cfros+refr"
wsc="cfros+refo"
wsc=cfrror
UCF at Cocoa
General Collection
Reference
BEST Center
CLC
Grants
Media
Periodicals
wsc=cfbcc
wsc="cfbcc+gc"
wsc="cfbcc+ref"
wsc="cfbcc+best"
wsc="cfbcc+clc"
wsc="cfbcc+grant"
wsc="cfbcc+med"
wsc="cfbcc+per"
UCF at Daytona Beach
General Collection
Reference
Periodicals
DBCC Library
wsc=cfdbg
wsc="cfdbg+gc"
wsc="cfdbg+ref"
wsc="cfdbg+per"
UCF at Melbourne
General Collection
Reference
wsc=cfbmc
wsc="cfbmc+gc"
wsc="cfbmc+ref"
UCF at Metro West
General Collection
Reference
wsc=cfmtw
wsc="cfmtw+gc"
wsc="cfmtw+ref"
UCF at Ocala
General Collection
Reference
wsc=cfoca
wsc="cfoca+gc"
wsc="cfoca+ref"
UCF at Osceola
General Collection
Reference
wsc=cfosc
wsc="cfosc+gc"
wsc="cfosc+ref"
UCF at Palm Bay
General Collection
Reference
Media
wsc=cfbpc
wsc="cfbpc+gc"
wsc="cfbpc+ref"
wsc="cfbpc+med"
UCF at Sanford/Lake Mary
General Collection
Reference
wsc=cfslm
wsc="cfslm+gc"
wsc="cfslm+ref"
UCF at South Lake
General Collection
Reference
Periodicals
wsc=cfslg
wsc="cfslg+gc"
wsc="cfslg+ref"
wsc="cfslg+per"
UCF at Titusville
General Collection
Reference
wsc=cfbtc
wsc="cfbtc+gc"
wsc="cfbtc+ref"
Looking for something else? Ask for assistance at the UCF Library's Reference Desk.

Prepared by: Rich Gause, Government Documents Librarian in consultation with Kim Montgomery, Cataloging Librarian
URL of this page: http://library.ucf.edu/Reference/Guides/NamedCollections.asp

Last update:07/19/10 11:39:33 AM