University of Central Florida Libraries 8/29/2008 http://library.ucf.edu/
Pegasus Logo
University Of Central Florida Libraries
Need help? Ask a Librarian Articles & Databases Online Journals Off-campus Access Interlibrary Loan
UCF Home UCF Home UCF Home

Catalog Search

Search

Website Search


Libraries UCF Web
Site Index

Medicine

Section Headings List

See also: Nursing

Books- Books. Brief Information- Brief Information. Citations or Abstracts- Citations or Abstracts. Full Text- Full Text. Government Resources- Government Resources. Images- Images. Journals- Journals. Top-pick- Top-pick. Webpage- Webpage.

*Best Resources

MEDLINE - EBSCOhost 1966-Current Citations or Abstracts Full Text

Subject content includes anatomy; communication disorders; microbiology; paramedical professions; pathology; physiology; psychiatry; toxicology; dentistry; parasitology; reproductive biology; epidemiology; gene therapy; surgical and pharmaceutical intervention; nursing practice; ethical and legal issues; institutional operations; laboratory techniques and procedures; diagnosis and management; clinical research trials and experimental treatment protocols; legislation and regulation; allied health specialties; continuing education; investigational drugs and new drug uses, and some veterinary medicine.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost
Web of Science 1965-current Citations or Abstracts

Citation Indexes for finding articles that cite a given author or citation.

New Search Interface.

  • Science Citation Index Expanded (1965-present)
  • Social Sciences Citation Index (1965-present)
  • Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present)

Access: Proxy Vendor: ISI

AIDS and Cancer Research

AIDS and Cancer Research Abstracts 1982-Current Citations or Abstracts

Bibliographic data from the worldwide scientific literature as related to AIDS, immunology, virology and cancer genetics.

Access: Proxy Vendor: CSA
CancerLIT 1975-Current Citations or Abstracts Government Resources

Citations and abstracts pertaining to all aspects of cancer. A subset of PubMed.

Access: Free Vendor: PubMed
CancerNet Citations or Abstracts Full Text

Access to information on all aspects of cancer.

Access: Free Vendor: NCI
Oncogenes and Growth Factors Abstracts Citations or Abstracts

Oncogenes and Growth Factors Abstracts covers every aspect of oncogene research into the molecular basis of malignant transformations.

Access: Proxy Vendor: CSA
Oncolink Full Text

Comprehensive information about specific types of cancer, updates on cancer treatments and news about research advances.

Access: Free Vendor: U Penn
Virology and AIDS Abstracts Citations or Abstracts

Comprehensive coverage of the world literature on every aspect of virology in humans, animals, and plants is featured, with topics ranging from replication cycles to oncology.

Access: Proxy Vendor: CSA

Drugs & Pharmaceuticals

Alt-HealthWatch 1990-Current Citations or Abstracts Full Text

Focusing on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCO
ClinicalTrials.gov Full Text

provides patients, family members, health care professionals, and members of the public easy access to information on clinical trials for a wide range of diseases and conditions

Access: Free Vendor: NLM-NIH
Health Reference Center 1980-Current Full Text Journals

This multi-source database provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources in InfoTrac's award-winning Health Reference Center™ plus 40 full-text nursing and allied health journals.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale
MEDLINE - CSA 1997-Current Citations or Abstracts

The database contains a broad range of medical topics relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services.

Subject content includes anatomy; communication disorders; microbiology; paramedical professions; pathology; physiology; psychiatry; toxicology; dentistry; parasitology; reproductive biology; epidemiology; gene therapy; surgical and pharmaceutical intervention; nursing practice; ethical and legal issues; institutional operations; laboratory techniques and procedures; diagnosis and management; clinical research trials and experimental treatment protocols; legislation and regulation; allied health specialties; continuing education; investigational drugs and new drug uses, and some veterinary medicine.

Access: Proxy Vendor: CSA
Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database Full Text

Information about herbs, supplements and other "natural" medicines.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Therapeutic Research

Other Resources

Abstracts in Social Gerontology Citations or Abstracts

Indexes social gerontology journals, including the psychology of aging, elder abuse, society and the elderly.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost
AgeLine 1978-Current Citations or Abstracts

Detailed summaries of more than 90,000 publications about aging and the 50+ population. See also the AgeLine Thesaurus.

Indexes journal content related to social, psychological, health-related, and economic aspects of aging. Produced by the American Association of Retired Persons. Abstracts, 1978+ with selected coverage back to 1966. Indexes the SCAN Microfiche Collection (1966-1982) in UCF Government Documents, which provides approximately 4,000 microfiche documents distributed by the U.S. Administration on Aging in the late 1970s and early 1980s.

Access: Proxy Vendor: AARP
Annual Reviews 1984-1996 Citations or Abstracts Full Text

Annual Reviews publishes authoritative, analytic reviews in 34 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Annual Reviews
Biological Abstracts 1980-Current Citations or Abstracts

Indexing of life science and biomedical research literature.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCO
Biological Sciences 1982-Current Citations or Abstracts Journals

Database offers abstracts and citations to a wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science.

Access: Proxy Vendor: CSA
BioMed Central Full Text Journals

BioMed Central is an independent publishing house committed to providing immediate open access to peer-reviewed biomedical research.

Access: Free Vendor: OpenAccess Central
BioOne 2000-Current Citations or Abstracts

Full-texts of high-impact bioscience research journals, an innovative collaboration between scientific societies, libraries, academe and the private sector.

Access: Proxy Vendor: BioOne
Biotechnology and Bioengineering Abstracts 1982-Current Citations or Abstracts Journals

Provides coverage of research across all areas of biotechnology and bioengineering, including medical, pharmaceutical, agricultural, environmental and marine biology.

Access: Proxy Vendor: CSA
Biotechnology Research Abstracts Citations or Abstracts

Provides bibliographic coverage of ground-breaking research, applications, regulatory developments and new patents across all areas of biotechnology and bioengineering, including medical, pharmaceutical, agricultural, environmental and marine biology.

Access: Proxy Vendor: CSA
Top-pick CINAHL 1982-Current Citations or Abstracts Full Text

Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature. Indexes 1,175 nursing, allied health, biomedical, and consumer health journals.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCO
Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials 1955-Current Citations or Abstracts

A bibliography of controlled trials providing an unbiased source of data for systematic reviews.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews 1991-Current Citations or Abstracts Full Text

Full text articles and protocols focusing on the effects of healthcare.

Data is evidence-based medicine and is often combined statistically (with meta-analysis) to increase the power of the findings of numerous studies, each too small to produce reliable results individually.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost
Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE) 1996-Current Citations or Abstracts

Abstracts of published systematic reviews on the effects of health care from around the world.

This database provides access to quality reviews in subjects for which a Cochrane review may not yet exist.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost
eMedicine Citations or Abstracts Full Text Journals

the largest and most current Clinical Knowledge Base available to physicians and other healthcare professionals.

Nearly 10,000 physician authors and editors contribute to the eMedicine Clinical Knowledge Base, which contains articles on 7,000 diseases and disorders. The evidence-based content, updated regularly, provides the latest practice guidelines in 59 medical specialties. eMedicine's professional content undergoes 4 levels of physician peer review plus an additional review by a PharmD prior to publication.

Access: Proxy Vendor: eMedicine
Endocrinology Abstracts Citations or Abstracts

This interdisciplinary database offers abstracts and citations to a wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science.

Access: Proxy Vendor: CSA
Evidence Based Medicine Reviews 1991-Current Citations or Abstracts Full Text

database of medical journals from Wolters Kluwer via Ovid interface.

Access: Proxy Vendor: OVID
Genetics Abstracts Citations or Abstracts

An essential resource for scientists across the life sciences, Genetics Abstracts will prove particularly useful to researchers and institutions directly and indirectly involved in the Human Genome Project.

Access: Proxy Vendor: CSA
Health and Psychosocial Instruments 1985-Current Brief Information Citations or Abstracts

Information on behavioral measurement instruments gathered from hundreds of journals covering health sciences and psychosocial sciences.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost
Health and Wellness Resource Center and Alternative Health Module 1980-Current Full Text Journals

Topics in health and medicine, medications, and wellness. Includes encyclopedias, directories, medical dictionary, magazines, journals, and newspapers.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale
Health Sciences: A SAGE Full-Text Collection Citations or Abstracts

covers such subjects as nursing, social studies of health, nursing research, health services & administration, community / public health nursing, qualitative research, cultural studies, child psychiatry, transcultural psychiatry, adult health nursing, public health, public policy & public administration, health psychology, aging and gerontology, health communication, family studies, physiology, physical medicine & rehabilitation, pediatrics, holistic nursing, nursing theory, pediatric nursing, autism, mental disorders & learning disability, health education & health promotion, clinical psychology, developmental psychology, psychopathology, health evaluation, research methods & evaluation, dementia, and sociology of the family.

Access: Proxy Vendor: CSA
Health Source: Nursing and Consumer Editions 1984-Current Citations or Abstracts Full Text

Provides full text for nearly 540 scholarly health journals, and over 190 consumer journals, as well as indexing and abstracting of  over 700 health-related journals and magazines.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCO
Health Technology Assessments Citations or Abstracts Full Text

Provides details of completed and ongoing health technology assessments (studies of the medical, social, ethical and economic implications of healthcare interventions) from around the world.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCO
HealthFinder Brief Information Webpage

Healthfinder is a free guide to reliable consumer health and human services information, developed by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

Access: Free Vendor: Dept. of Health & Human Services
HealthSTAR Citations or Abstracts

Citations to literature on health administration, services, technology, and research. *Discontinued.* Medline and PubMed include full HealthSTAR content.

Access: Canceled
Human Genome Abstracts Citations or Abstracts

This interdisciplinary database offers abstracts and citations to a wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science.

Access: Proxy Vendor: CSA
MEDLINE - PubMed 1966-Current Citations or Abstracts

Contains citations and abstracts from over 3700 journals in the medical and dental literature.

Access: Free Vendor: Pubmed
MEDLINE Plus Citations or Abstracts Full Text Images Journals

The consumer health database from the National Library of Medicine, MedlinePlus has extensive information from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on over 750 diseases and conditions.

Access: Free Vendor: NLM
Mental Measurements Yearbook 1985-Current Full Text

Information about and reviews of English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCO
National Center for Health Statistics Full Text

the U.S. Federal Government's principal vital and health statistics agency

Access: Free Vendor: NCHS
National Guideline Clearinghouse Full Text

a public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines

Access: Free Vendor: AMA
Nature Publishing Group Journals Full Text

NPG publishes journals and online databases across the life, physical and applied sciences and, most recently, clinical medicine.

Access: Proxy Vendor: NPG
OpenDOAR - The Directory of Open Access Repositories Webpage

The OpenDOAR service is being developed to support the rapidly emerging movement towards Open Access to research information. OpenDOAR is building a comprehensive and authoritative list of international institutional and subject-based repositories, as well as archives set up by funding agencies - like the National Institutes for Health in the USA or the Wellcome Trust in the UK and Europe. Users of the service are able to analyse repositories by location, type, the material they hold and other measures. This can be of use both to users wishing to find original research papers and for third-party "service providers", like search engines or alert services, which need easy to use tools for developing tailored search services to suit specific user communities.

Access: Free
PsycInfo 1887-Current Citations or Abstracts

Covers scholarly literature in all aspects of psychology and related fields.

Materials are selected from more than 1,300 journals published in 50 countries and 28 languages.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost
R2 - Health Sciences Books Books Full Text

Full text health sciences books from leading publishers.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Rittenhouse
Science Citation Index Expanded 1965-Current Citations or Abstracts

Science Citation Index Expanded is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the sciences.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ISI
Science Direct 1997-Current Full Text

Full text scientific, technical and medical research journals, eBooks, Reference works, handbooks and book series published by Elsevier.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Science Direct
Scirus: For Scientific Information Only Webpage

Focuses only on Web pages containing scientific content.

Access: Free
SPORTDiscus 1975-Current Citations or Abstracts Full Text Journals

SPORTDiscus offers comprehensive, bibliographic coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCO
TOXLINE 1994-Current Citations or Abstracts

TOXLINE on this service offers rapid access to information in all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants, and mutagens.

Access: Proxy Vendor: CSA
Toxnet Citations or Abstracts Full Text

A cluster of databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals and related areas.

Access: Free Vendor: NIH
Wiley InterScience Citations or Abstracts Full Text Journals

Full text of Wiley's scholarly journals covering a variety of disciplines.

Disciplines include:

  • Business
  • Chemistry
  • Computer Science
  • Earth and Environmental Science
  • Education
  • Engineering
  • Law
  • Life Sciences
  • Mathematics and Statistics
  • Medicine and Healthcare
  • Physics and Astronomy
  • Polymers and Materials Science
  • Psychology
  • Social Sciences

Access: Proxy Vendor: Wiley

 

Last Updated July 25, 2008