Library Print Header Include
University of Central Florida Libraries
11/22/2009
http://library.ucf.edu/
UCF Website University of Central Florida Libraries
Log in now
Ask a Librarian Articles & Databases Online Journals Off-campus Access Interlibrary Loan

Children's Literature

Section Headings List

See also: Children’s Literature Journals | Children’s Literature Web Sites | Government Documents for Education | Online Reference Sources for Education | Award Winning Titles

Books- Books. Citations or Abstracts- Citations or Abstracts. Data- Data. Full Text- Full Text. Government Resources- Government Resources. Images- Images. Journals- Journals. Top-pick- Top-pick.

*Best Resources

Publication information and MARC records on over 600,000 children's books, and more than 100,000 reviews.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Children's List
Education Full Text 1983-Current Citations or Abstracts Full Text

Encompasses all areas of concern to today's educators, including administration, teaching methods, and curriculum.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Wilson
Top-pick ERIC - EBSCOhost 1966-Current Books Citations or Abstracts Full Text Government Resources Journals

ERIC is most complete index to articles and reports on educational topics.

ERIC is available from several database vendors. UCF students are advised to use ERIC in EBSCOhost, which provides many links to full text and allows users to search multiple education databases simultaneously. Users who are not UCF students are advised to use ERIC from DOE because no login is required.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCO

Additional Resources for Graduate Students

Indexing and full text of to U.S. dissertations and thesis.

Search by author, title, school, year, and discipline. Full text available for most dissertations granted from 1997 forward. From 1980 forward, citations include a 350-word abstract. Citations for master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ProQuest
Web of Science 1965-current Citations or Abstracts

Citation Indexes for finding articles that cite a given author or citation.

New Search Interface.

  • Science Citation Index Expanded (1965-present)
  • Social Sciences Citation Index (1965-present)
  • Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present)

Access: Proxy Vendor: ISI

Catalog of library collections from the U.S. and around the world.

The world's most comprehensive bibliography, with 36 million records for books and material in 370 languages and covering information from 4,000 years of knowledge.

Access: Proxy Vendor: FirstSearch

Gale Databases for Kids

Now with over 330 titles, cross searchable with E-Books, this periodical database is designed for students in junior high and middle school with access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale

Formerly PrimaryTOM, this periodical database with almost 125 titles, is designed for elementary school students, with easy access to full-text magazines, from publishers such as Cobblestones and Scholastic and Time, newspapers and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale

Now with over 1100 titles, cross searchable with E-Books, this periodical database is designed for high-school students with access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers, podcasts, and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports and more.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale

Includes over 134,300 recommended titles, more than 74,500 plot summaries, and awards information from 568 awards, all to help users uncover new reading adventures, find long-remembered favorites, and discover award-winning titles.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale

Other Resources

To find book reviews, select the News tab. From the Source pull-down menu select
Book, Movie, Music, Play, and Video Reviews. Select a source from those listed such as the New York Times.

Access: Proxy Vendor: LexisNexis

A unique working and teaching tool created by librarians for librarians, this database indexes English and foreign-language periodicals, selected state journals, conference proceedings, pamphlets, books, and library school theses.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Wilson

CSA Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences.

Covers phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics as well as descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.

Access: Proxy Vendor: CSA

this database contains full text for more than 500 popular, high school magazines; also provides more than 360 full text reference books, 85,639 biographies, 104,481 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 285,912 photos, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCO

full text for over 100 magazines covering general topics appropriate for middle and jr. high school students

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCO
PAIS International 1972-Current Books Citations or Abstracts Data Full Text Journals

PAIS International database from CSA contains references to more than 553,300 journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more.

Access: Proxy Vendor: CSA

Indexing and full text of magazines appropriate for elementary schools and children’s reading rooms.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCO

Provides a highly specialized collection of hundreds of full text journals, designed for professional educators.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCO

Psychological/Behavioral Aspects

PsycInfo 1887-Current Citations or Abstracts

Covers scholarly literature in all aspects of psychology and related fields.

Materials are selected from more than 1,300 journals published in 50 countries and 28 languages.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

 

Last Updated October 25, 2008