University of Central Florida Libraries 9/7/2008 http://library.ucf.edu/
Pegasus Logo
University Of Central Florida Libraries
Need help? Ask a Librarian Articles & Databases Online Journals Off-campus Access Interlibrary Loan
UCF Home UCF Home UCF Home

Catalog Search

Search

Website Search


Libraries UCF Web
Site Index

Social Sciences

 See also: All-Purpose Indexes, Government, Public Affairs & Law

 Citations and abstracts. - Include citations or abstracts.Full Text- Include full text or data.

 

Academic Search PremierCitations and abstracts.Full Text
Indexing for a broad array of scholarly and popular topics.  Provides full text for over 3,460 scholarly publications journals covering the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education, and much more.
Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost
African American Biographical Database Full Text
Biographies of over 30,000 African-Americans from Chadwyck-Healey’s acclaimed Black Biographical Dictionaries 1790-1950.  Search by name, by place of birth, occupation, religion, and date of birth or death, gender and by source of information.
Access: Proxy Vendor: Chadwyck-Healy
Annual Reviews 1984-1995, 1996-
Scholarly review articles examining advances, research, and trends in these scientific fields:
Access: Pegasus| Proxy Vendor: Annual Reviews
Anthropology PlusCitations and abstracts.
Extensive worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. Combines Anthropological Index and Anthropological Literature.
Access: Proxy  Vendor: Eureka
ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts 1987- Citations and abstracts.Full Text
Covers health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education.
Access: Proxy   Vendor: CSA
Chicano DatabaseCitations and abstracts.
The most comprehensive bibliographic resource for information about Mexican-American topics and the only specialized database or Chicano reference. CDB identifies, in one place, all types of material about Chicanos and provides uniform subject access to this constantly growing body of literature. In 1992 CDB expanded its scope to include the broader Latino experience of Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants.
Access: Card Vendor: Eureka
Clase/Periodica 1975- Citations and abstracts.
CLASE indexes documents published in Latin American journals specializing in the social sciences and humanities. PERIODICA covers journals specializing in science and technology. Spanish, Portuguese, French and English languages.
Availible: | Proxy Vendor: FirstSearch
ComAbstracts 1980- Citations and abstracts.
Abstracts for articles from 50 professional communication journals.
Access: Proxy Vendor: CIOS
Communication Studies in SAGE Full-Text Collections 1982-Full Text
Full-text of 16 journals, covering Journalism, Public Opinion, Political Communication, Mass Communication, Interpersonal Communication, Cultural Studies / Intercultural Communication, Television / Film Studies, Media Studies, Business Communication, Organizational / Management Communication, Written Communication, Rhetoric, and Literacy Studies.
Access: Proxy Vendor: CSA
Communication & Mass Media Complete (CMMC)Citations and abstracts.
Indexes articles from communications publications.  CMMC is the merged databases CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index.
Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCO
Contemporary Women's IssuesCitations and abstracts.Full Text
Full text access to global information on women, including journals, newsletters, research reports from non-profit groups, government and international agencies, and fact sheets. Information on women in over 150 countries is compiled in a single collection bringing together such disciplines as sociology, psychology, health, education and human rights.
Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale
Criminal Justice Periodical IndexCitations and abstracts.Full Text
Cover-to-cover access for 45 criminal justice journals plus complete abstracts for over 100 additional titles. Focuses primarily on practical issues in crime prevention and deterrence, juvenile delinquency, police issues, and courtroom procedures.
Access:   Proxy Vendor: ProQuest
ECO Electronic Collections OnlineCitations and abstracts.Full Text
Provides full text for over 1,250 journals covering the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education, and much more.
Access:   Proxy Vendor: FirstSearch  
Ethnic Newswatch Citations and abstracts.Full Text
Ethnic Newswatch is a full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Includes articles, editorials, columns, reviews, etc. and provides a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints.
Access: Proxy Vendor: ProQuest
Expanded Academic ASAP (1980 - date)Citations and abstracts.Full Text
Indexes approximately 1000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in the arts, humanities, social sciences, science and technology.  Access to full text of many articles.  
Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale
GenderWatchCitations and abstracts.Full Text
GenderWatch is a full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. GenderWatch supports programs in business, education, literature and the arts, health sciences, history, political science, public policy, sociology and contemporary culture, gender and women's studies and more. Publications include academic and scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, n-g-o and special reports.
Access: Proxy Vendor: ProQuest
Hispanic American Periodicals Index  1970 -Citations.
Information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean, and Hispanics in the United States. Citations to articles, book reviews, documents, and other materials appearing in more than 400 social science and humanities journals published throughout the world.
Access: Proxy Vendor: HAPI
Historical Statistics of the United States Full data.1600-date
Statistics compiled by the the United States through the census and other methods covering a wide range of topics such as:
  • population, housing, and migration
  • prices, cost of living, and national income
  • health and medical care
  • education and social conditions
  • environment
  • commerce and trade
  • communications and transportation
  • Access: Proxy Vendor: Cambridge
JSTORFull Text
Full text of 600+ core research journals from the year of their inception, many dating back to the early 1900's. JSTOR does NOT cover the most recent years of journals.
Access: Proxy Vendor: JSTOR
Kluwer Online now available as Springer LINKFull Text
Project Muse Dates vary Full Text
Over 100 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics from Johns Hopkins University Press.
Access: d | Proxy Vendor: JHU.
PsycInfo 1887-Citations and abstracts.
Covers scholarly literature in all aspects of psychology and related fields.  Materials are selected from more than 1,300 journals published in 50 countries and 28 languages.
Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCO
Science Direct (Elsevier) 1997 - currentFull Text
More than 1,100 scientific, technical and medical research journals published by Elsevier covering  science, medicine, technology, and the social sciences. 
Access: Proxy Vendor: Science Direct
Social Work Abstracts 1977- Citations and abstracts.
Covers social work and related topics such as homelessness, child and family welfare, and aging. Includes the Register of Clinical Social Workers Database.
Access: Proxy Vendor: SilverPlatter
Sociological Abstracts 1963 -Citations and abstracts.
Sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences, with information from an international selection of over 2,600 journals and other serials publications, plus conference papers, books, and dissertations.
Access: Card Vendor: CSA
Social Sciences Full TextCitations and abstracts.Full Text
Covers some 350 core periodicals in the fields of anthropology, economics, geography, law and criminology, political science, social work, sociology, and international relations.
Access: Proxy Vendor:  Wilson
Wiley InterScience Dates varyCitations and abstracts.Full Text
Full text of Wiley journals owned by UCF, FAU, UF, and USF. Topics include: Business, Finance & Management, Chemistry, Computer Science, Earth Science, Education, Engineering, Law, Life and Medical Sciences, Mathematics and Statistics, Physics, and Psychology.
Access: Proxy Vendor: Wiley
Women Writers ProjectFull Text
Full text of Pre-Victorian early modern women's writing (1500's to the early 1800's).
Access: Proxy Vendor: Brown U