“Introduction To Research Guides” discusses UCF Research Guides, documented pathways created by UCF librarians to help students locate information, videos, databases, and other resources for a specified subject or discipline.
Click the link to view the video: https://vimeo.com/878774273
Welcome to Diamond’s Hidden Gems, a blog series in which I introduce you to the University of Central Florida’s library services that you may not know about!
Research is an important aspect of any college career, exposing you to the questions and information that have captured the attention of your field of interest. UCF Libraries has a variety of online resources, specifically designed to support your research assignments. One such resource are Research Guides. Research Guides can be subject or even course-specific, helping to direct students through the research process.
Within the guides, there are lists of recommended books, media, journals, databases, websites, and more. These guides are intended to help you narrow down some of the pathways through which you can find research information, helping to keep results specific to your selected study or course. The guide also provides information for your subject librarian, in case you’d like to contact them for assistance.
For additional information, comments, or questions, please feel free to Ask Us!
If you’d like to learn more about research guides and how you can access them, please visit “Diamond’s Hidden Gems – Research Guides” in STARS!
With all the wonderful and not-so-wonderful research resources available to students, it can be difficult for them to select good sources. Don’t you wish there was a resource you could give students to help them find quality information? Well, our library research guides can help. These guides are created by knowledgeable and helpful subject librarians. In the research guides, the librarians highlight all types of resources from our library collection, including books, ebooks, databases, periodicals, as well as open access materials and trusted internet sites. Students can browse the research guides by subject or also by course name and number.
You can also easily make these research guides available in your Canvas course sites. Just make sure that the “Research Guide” tool is enabled in your Canvas navigation toolbar. The research guide for your subject area will automatically show up there. If you would like a different research guide included, or if you would like a customized research guide created for your course, please contact your subject librarian.
A Research Guide on the recently-released papers on the investigation of President John F. Kennedy’s assassination in 1963 is available at https://guides.ucf.edu/jfk/assassination. Compiled by Government Documents librarian Rich Gause, the guide provides links to the 5 million page collection opened up on 10/26 by the National Archives, as well as links to the Warren Commission report and the 1978-1979 Congressional investigation. Whether you are a baby boomer who would like to take a look back in time, or a curious millennial, the guide gives you an excellent place to start investigating.
The UCF Library is a Federal Depository Library, providing a wealth of information to the Central Florida community. Research Guides are available on a wide variety of subjects, giving scholars a starting point for research.