Library Print Header Include
University of Central Florida Libraries
11/22/2009
http://library.ucf.edu/
UCF Website University of Central Florida Libraries
Log in now
Ask a Librarian Articles & Databases Online Journals Off-campus Access Interlibrary Loan

Catalog Search

Search

Website Search


Site Index

 

Civil Rights and Desegregation in Florida

Civil Rights | Desegregation | Harry T. Moore | Mary McLeod Bethune | Race Relations

 

Unique resources dealing with desegregation, race relations, and civil rights in Florida, particularly Central Florida, have been identified so that university students and persons within local communities can trace the history of civil rights in this geographic area, realize where Floridians have stood on diversity issues in the past, have some knowledge of where we are at present and have dreams of where we hope to be in the future. Here are some examples, arranged by topic:

Civil Rights

Books

Argrett, LeRoy. (1991). A History of the Black Community of Orlando, Florida. Fort Bragg, CA : Cypress House Press. F319.O7 A74 1991.

Bartley, Abel A. (2000). Keeping the Faith: Race, Politics, and Social Development in Jacksonville, Florida, 1940-1970. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press. F319.J1 B37 2000.

Button, James. Blacks and Social Change: Impact of the Civil Rights Movement in Southern Communities. Princeton, N.J. : Princeton University Press.

(1989). The Civil Rights Movement in Florida and the United States : Historical and Contemporary Perspective. Tallahassee, FL: Loiry Pub. House. E185.93.F5 C58 1989.

Cardwell, Kathy.  (1992). Racial justice: Orange County, 1920-1970. (Master’s thesis, Rollins College, 1992).

Davis, Edward D. (1981). A Half Century of Struggle for Freedom in Florida. Orlando, Fla.: Drake's Publishing. E185.93.F5 D38 1981.

Dempsey, Elizabeth P.  (1997) Civil rights in Brevard County, Florida (Thesis). Orlando: University of Central Florida. LD1772.F96.

Dunn, Marvin. (1997). Black Miami in the Twentieth Century. Gainesville: University Press of Florida. F319.M6 D86 1997. (Also available as an eBook)

Fendrich, James Max.  Ideal citizens: the legacy of the Civil Rights Movement. Albany, N.Y.: State University of New York Press, 1993

Green, Ben. (1999). Before His Time: The Untold Story of Harry T. Moore, America's First Civil Rights Martyr. New York, NY : Free Press. E185.97.M79 G74 1999.

Newton, Michael. (2001) The Invisible Empire: The Ku Klux Klan in Florida. Gainesville: University Press of Florida. HS2330.K63 N485 2001.

Saunders, Robert. (2000) Bridging the Gap: Continuing the Florida NAACP Legacy of Harry T. Moore. Tampa, Fla.: University of Tampa Press.

 

 Back to Top

Journal  Articles

Boone, J. and Farmar, W. (1968). Violence in Miami: One more warning. New South, 23 (4), 28-37. Retrieved July 3, 2003, from the America: History and Life database.

Braukman, S. (1992). Women and the civil rights movement in Tampa: An interview with Ellen H. Green. Tampa Bay History, 14 (2), 62-69. Retrieved July 3, 2003, from the America: History and Life database.

Brownell, B. A. (1987). Racial crisis in the nation's oldest city. Reviews in American History, 15 (1), 84-89. Retrieved July 3, 2003, from the America: History and Life database.

Button, J. & Scher, R. (1979). Impact of the Civil Rights Movement: Perceptions of black municipal service changes. Social Science Quarterly, 60 (3), 497-510.

Chapman, D. L. (1987). Documenting the struggle for civil rights: The papers of Robert and Helen Saunders. Tampa Bay History, 9 (2), 47-54. Retrieved July 3, 2003, from the America: History and Life database.

Civil rights protests in Tampa: Oral memoirs of conflict and accommodation. (1979) Tampa Bay History, 1 (1), 37-54. Retrieved July 3, 2003, from the America: History and Life database.

Clark, J. C. (1994). Civil rights leader Harry T. Moore and the Ku Klux Klan in Florida. Florida Historical Quarterly.  73 (2), 166-183. Retrieved July 3, 2003, from the America: History and Life database.

Crooks, J. B. (1998). Jacksonville before consolidation. Florida Historical Quarterly  77(2), 141-162. Retrieved July 3, 2003, from the America: History and Life database.

Emmons, C. (1997). “Somebody has got to do that work": Harry T. Moore and the struggle for African American voting rights in Florida. Journal of Negro History, 82 (2), 232-243. Retrieved July 3, 2003, from the America: History and Life database.

Farris, C. D. (1954). The re-enfranchisement of Negroes in Florida. Journal of Negro History, 39 (4) 259-283. Retrieved July 3, 2003, from the America: History and Life database. 

Foster, J. T. & Foster, S. W. (1995). Aid societies were not alike: Northern teachers in post-civil war Florida. Florida Historical Quarterly, 73 (3), 308-324. July 3, 2003,  from the America: History and Life database.

Killian, L. M. (1984). Organization, rationality and spontaneity in the Civil Rights Movement. American Sociological Review, 49, (6) 770-783.

Miller, J. C. (2000). Harry T. Moore's campaign for racial equality. Journal of Black Studies, 31 (2), 214-231. Retrieved July 3, 2003, from the America: History and Life database.

Minchin, T. J. (2000). There were two job in St. Joe paper company, white job and a black job": The struggle for civil rights in a North Florida paper mill community 1938-1990. Florida Historical Quarterly, 78 (3), 331-359. Retrieved July 3, 2003,  from the America: History and Life database.

Mormino, G. R. (1994) GI JOE meets Jim Crow: Racial violence and reform in World War II Florida. Florida Historical Quarterly 1994 73 (1), 23-42. Retrieved July 3, 2003, from the America: History and Life database.

Mohl, R. A. (1990). On the edge: Blacks and Hispanics in metropolitan Miami since 1959. Florida Historical Quarterly, 69 (1): 37-56. Retrieved July 3, 2003,  from the America: History and Life database.

Pleasants, J. M. (1998) Claude Pepper, Strom Thurmond, and the 1948 Presidential Election in Florida. Florida Historical Quarterly, 76 (4), 439-473. Retrieved July 3, 2003,  from the America: History and Life database.

Shofner, J. H. (1984). Murders at Kiss-Me-Quick: The underside of international affairs. Florida Historical Quarterly, 62 (3), 332-338. Retrieved July 3, 2003,  from the America: History and Life database.

Shofner, J. H. (1981). The legacy of racial slavery: Free enterprise and forced labor in Florida in the 1940s. Journal of Southern History, 47 (3), 411-426. Retrieved July 3, 2003,  from the America: History and Life database.

Tscheschlok, E. (1997).  “So goes the Negro": Race and labor in Miami, 1940-1963. Florida Historical Quarterly, 76 (1), 42-67. Retrieved July 3, 2003, from the America: History and Life database.

Wald, K. D., Owen, D. E., & Hill, S. S. (1990). Political cohesion in churches. Journal of Politics, 52 (1), 197-215. Retrieved July 3, 2003,  from the America: History and Life database.

Whorley, T. (1994). Harry Tyson Moore: A soldier for freedom. Journal of Negro History, 79 (2), 197-211. Retrieved July 3, 2003,  from the America: History and Life database.

Vought, K. (2000) Racial stirrings in colored town: The UNIA in Miami during the 1920s. Tequesta, 60, 56-76. Retrieved June 30, 2003 from the America: History and Life database.

Newspaper Articles

Andrews, Mark. Black trailblazers led the way in the face of slights, bigotry. (2000, February 13). Orlando Sentinel, p. K2. Retrieved June 24, 2006 from Orlando Sentinel Online.

Andrews, Mark.  Blacks faced hard times as settlers pioneers face barriers but created many communities. (1992, January 26).  Orlando Sentinel, p. K1.  Retrieved July 7, 2003 from the Orlando Sentinel Online.

Andrews, Mark.  80 year battle won blacks the right to vote in Orlando. (2000, February 20). Orlando Sentinel, p. K2Retrieved July 7, 2003 from the Orlando Sentinel online.

Andrews, Mark.  Orlando: A final stop for black voting rights. (1995, February 19). Orlando Sentinel, p. G1. Retrieved July 7, 2003 from the Orlando Sentinel online. 

Bond, Bill.  Firey battle smolters in city past.  (1986, September 7).  Orlando Sentinel, p. A12.  Retrieved July 7, 2003 from the Orlando Sentinel online. 

Dickinson, Joy Wallace.  Klan pervaded politics in 1920s: Florida laws were designed to disenfranchise blacks by such means as the lily white primary.  (2001, February 5).  Orlando Sentinel, p. A8.  Retrieved July 7, 2003 from the Orlando Sentinel online.   

 Parrish, Inez Davis.  Survivors of the struggle: Exhibit taps the strength of 4 black Central Florida women. (1993, December 27).  Orlando Sentinel, p. C1.  Retrieved July 7, 2003 from the Orlando Sentinel Online.

Back to Top

 

Florida Civil Rights Leaders

 Harry T. Moore

 Selected Books:

 Green, Ben. (1999). Before His Time: The Untold Story of Harry T. Moore, America's First Civil Rights Martyr. New York, NY : Free Press. E185.97.M79 G74 1999.

 North, Joseph. (1952). Behind the Florida Bombings: Who killed NAACP Leader Harry T. Moore and his Wife? New York: New Century Publishers.

 (1992). Poore, Caroline Emmons. Striking the First Blow: Harry T. Moore and the Fight for Black Equality in Florida. Thesis (M.A.)--Florida State University.

 Saunders, Robert. (2000) Bridging the Gap: Continuing the Florida NAACP Legacy of Harry T. Moore. Tampa, Fla.: University of Tampa Press.

Documents:

Civil Rights papers, Special Collections, University of Central Florida Library, Orlando, Florida

  Videos:

 (2000). Freedom Never Dies: The Legacy of Harry T. Moore. Berkeley, CA : University of California Extension Center for Media and Independent Learning. E185.92 .F7 2000.

 Selected Articles:

Harry T. Moore. Contemporary Black Biography, Volume 29. Gale Group, 2001. Reproduced in Biography Resource Center. Farmington Hills, Mich.: The Gale Group. 2003. Retrieved June 30, 2003, from the Biography Resource Center database.

Emmons, Caroline. (1997). "Somebody has got to do that work:" Harry T. Moore and the struggle for African-American voting rights in Florida. The Journal of Negro History, 82, 232-243. Retrieved June 30, 2003, from the JSTOR database.

Miller, Jake C. (2000). Harry T. Moore's Campaign for Racial Equality. Journal of Black Studies 31, 214-231.  Retrieved June 30, 2003, from the ECO database.

Worley, Tywanna. (1994). Harry Tyson Moore: A Soldier for Freedom. The Journal of Negro History, 79,197-211. Retrieved June 30, 2003, from the JSTOR database.

 Back to Top

Mary McLeod Bethune

Selected Books:

Bethune, Mary McLeod. (1999). Mary McLeod Bethune: Building a Better World : Essays and Selected Documents. Bloomington: Indiana University Press. E185.97.B34 A25 1999.

 Bethune, Mary McLeod. (1996). Mary McLeod Bethune Papers: The Bethune Foundation Collection. Bethesda, MD: University Publications of America. E185.97.B34 B32 1996. (Microfilm-Accompanied by printed guide with title: A guide to the microfilm edition of Mary McLeod Bethune papers.)

Microfilm:  E185.97.B34 B32 1996 (located in the microform collection).

      Guide:  E185.97.B34B32 1996 GUIDE (located in the Reference and General collections).

Bethune, Mary McLeod. (1995) Mary McLeod Bethune papers: the Bethune-Cookman College collection, 1922-1955. Bethesda, MD: University Publications of America. (Microfilm-Accompanied by printed guide with title: A guide to the microfilm edition of Mary McLeod Bethune papers.)

Microfilm:  E185.97.B34 B3 1995 (located in the Microform collection).

Guide: E185.97.B34B3 1995 GUIDE (located in the Reference and General  collections).

(1997). Can I get a witness?: Prophetic Religious Voices of African American Women: An Anthology.  Maryknoll, N.Y.: Orbis Books. BR563.N4 C35 1997.

 Dees, Jesse Walter. The College Built on Prayer: Mary McLeod Bethune. Daytona Beach, Fla., Bethune-Cookman College. F378.75921 .D312 1953. (Located in Special Collections- Mickler)

 Holt, Rackham (1964). Mary McLeod Bethune; A Biography. Garden City, N.Y.: Doubleday. E185.97.B34 H6.

 Reynolds, Moira Davison. (1997). Women Champions of Human Rights: Eleven U.S. Leaders of the Twentieth Century. Jefferson, N.C.: McFarland. HQ1412 .R497 1991.

Juvenile Books

Bolden, Tonya. And Not Afraid to Dare: The Stories of Ten African-American Women. New York : Scholastic 920.7208996073 Bol. (Located in the UCF Curriculum Materials Center- CMC ).

Hacker, Carlotta. (1997). Great African Americans in History. New York: Crabtree Publishing. 920 Hac. (Located in the UCF Curriculum Materials Center- CMC ).

Halasa, Malu. (1989). Mary McLeod Bethune. New York: Chelsea House Publishers.  B Bethune. (Located in the UCF Curriculum Materials Center- CMC ).

Kelso, Richard. Building a Dream: Mary Bethune's School. Austin, Tex.: Raintree Steck-Vaughn.  B Bethune. (Located in the UCF Curriculum Materials Center- CMC ).

Pinkney, Andrea Davis. (2000). Let It Shine: Stories of Black Women Freedom Fighters. San Diego: Harcourt. 323.092396073 Pin. (Located in the UCF Curriculum Materials Center- CMC ).

Selected Articles

Bickerstaff, Joyce and Rich, Wilber C.  (1984).  Mrs. Roosevelt and Mrs. Bethune: Collaborators for racial justice. Social Education, 48:7: 532-535.

 Henry, Linda J.  (1981).  Promoting historical consciousness: the early archives committee of the National Council of Negro Women.  Signs 7 (1): 251-259.

 Jones, Maine D.  (1999).  Without compromise or fear: Florida’s African-American female activists. Florida Historical Quarterly , 77 (4): 475-502.

 Kifano, Subira.  (1996).  Afrocentric education in supplementary schools: Paradigm and practice at the Mary  McLeod Bethune Institute.  Journal of Negro Education, 65 (2): 209-218. Retrieved on July 3, 2003, from the JSTOR database.

Leffall, Doris C. and Sims, Janet L.  (1976). Mary Mary McLeod Bethune: The educator. Journal of Negro Education, 45 (3): 342-359.

  Linsin, Christopher E. (1999).  Something more than a creed: Mary McLeod Bethune’s aim at integrated autonomy as director of Negro affairs. Florida Historical Quarterly 76 (1): 20-41.

McCluskey, Audrey Thomas.  (1994).  Multiple consciousness in the leadershipof Mary Mary McLeod Bethune.  NWSA Journal, 6 (1): 69-81. Retrieved on July 3, 2003, from the Academic Search Premier Database.

 McCluskey, Audrey Thomas.  (1999). Representing the race: Mary McLeod Bethune and the press in the Jim Crow era.” Western Journal of Black Studies, 23 (4): 236-245.

 McCluskey, Audrey Thomas.  (1994). Ringing up a school: Mary McLeod Bethune’s impact on Daytona.  Florida Historical Quarterly, 73 (2): 200-217.

McCluskey, Audrey Thomas.  We specialize in the wholly impossible: Black women school founders and mission.  Signs, 22 (2): 403-426. 

Perkins, Carol O.  (1988). The pragmatic idealism of Mary McLeod Bethune.  Sage: a Scholarly Journal on Black Women, 5 (2): 30-36.

 Ross, B. Joyce.  (1975).  Mary Mary McLeod Bethune and the National Youth Administration: A case study of power relationships in the Cabinet of Franklin D. Roosevelt.  Journal of Negro History, 60 (1): 1-28. Retrieved on July 3, 2003, from the JSTOR database.

 Sirgo, Henry B.  (1999).  Women, blacks and the New Deal.  Women & Politics,14 (3): 57-76.

 Smith, Elaine M.  (1996). Mary Mary McLeod Bethune’s last will and testament: A legacy for race vindication.  Journal of Negro History, 81 (1-4): 105-122. Retrieved on July 3, 2003, from the JSTOR database.

Videos:

 (1996). Mary McLeod Bethune: The Spirit of a Champion. Atlanta, GA: History on Video.  LB2317.B47 M37 1996.

Back to Top

 

Desegregation

Books

Florida.  Board of Control. (1956?).  Study on desegregation.  Tallahassee.

Articles

Bell, D. (1979). The Politics of desegregation. Change, 11 (7), 50-53. Retrieved on July 3, 2003, from the America: History and Life Database.
Includes discussion of school desegregation at Florida A & M University.

Cataldo, E. F.; Giles, M.; and Gatlin, . S.  (1975).  Metropolitan school desegregation: Practical remedy or impractical ideal?  Annals of the American Academy of Political and Social Science, 422, 97-104. Retrieved on July 3, 2003, from the America: History and Life Database.

Chapter 2 hurts desegregation programs, Florida survey shows.  (1986, May).  Phi Delta Kappan, 67, 692.

Civil rights protests in Tampa Bay:  Oral memoirs of conflict and accommodation. (1979). Tampa Bay History  1 (1), 37-54. Retrieved on July 3, 2003, from the America: History and Life Database.

Dillon, P. (1998). Civil rights and school desegregation in Sanford. Florida Historical Quarterly, 76 (3), 310-325. Retrieved on July 3, 2003, from the America: History and Life Database.

Downey-Anderson, C. (1981). The Coggins affair: Desegregation and mores in Madison County, Florida. Florida Historical Quarterly, 59 (4), 464-476. Retrieved on July 3, 2003, from the America: History and Life Database.

Gatlin, D. S.; Giles, M. W.; and Cataldo, E. F.  (1978 ). Policy support within a target group: the Case of school desegregation. American Political Science Review, 72(3), 985-995.  Retrieved on July 3, 2003, from the JSTOR database.

Giles, M. (April, 1976). Racial and class prejudice: Their relative effects on protest against school desegregation. American Sociological Review, 41, 280-288. Retrieved on July 3, 2003, from the Eric via EBSCO host Database.

Giles, M. (1976). Racial stability and urban school desegregation.  Urban Affairs Quarterly, 12 (4), 499-510. Retrieved on July 3, 2003, from the America: History and Life Database.

 Giles, M. W.; Cataldo, E. F.; and Gatlin, D. S. (1975 ). White flight and percent black: the Tipping point re-examined. Social Science Quarterly, 56(1), 85-92. Retrieved on July 3, 2003, from the America: History and Life Database.

 Giles, M. W. and Gatlin, D. S. (1980). Mass level compliance with public policy: the Case of school desegregation. Journal of Politics,  42 (3), 722-746. Retrieved on July 3, 2003, from the Eric via EBSCO host Database.

 Kesselman, M. N. (1980). An Historical analysis of desegregation on Miami Beach public secondary schools 1968-1977. Dissertation Abstracts International, 40 (8), 4443-A. Retrieved on July 3, 2003, from the America: History and Life Database.

 Lenox, T. (1990). The Carver Village controversy. Tequesta, 50, 39-51. Retrieved on July 3, 2003, from the America: History and Life Database. 
M
iami 1951 bombings and the power of the Klu Klux Klan in the 1950s.

Littleford, M. S. (1973). Case study of a desegregated administrative policy upon a social subsystem. Journal of Negro Education, 42 (2), 170-175. Retrieved on July 3, 2003, from the JSTOR database.

 McCain, R. R. (1968).  Reactions to the United States Supreme Court segregation decision of 1954. Georgia Historical Quarterly, 52 (4), 371-387. Retrieved on July 3, 2003, from the America: History and Life Database.
Analyzes the response of Florida and the surrounding states to the 1954 Brown v Board of Education.

Mann, P. (1966). “I guess we’re just impatient." American Education,  2 (3): 5-7. Retrieved on July 3, 2003, from the America: History and Life Database.
Describes the desegregation of Volusia County schools through teacher training.

Paulson, D. and St. Julien, M. (1985). Desegregating public schools in Manatee and Pinellas Counties 1954-1971. Tampa Bay History,  7 (1), 30-41.Retrieved on July 3, 2003, from the America: History and Life Database.
Florida struggles to desegregate schools after the 1954 decision.

Sanders, R. ( 2002). Rassling a Governor: Defiance, desegregation, Claude Kirk, and the politics of Richard Nixon's southern strategy.  Florida Historical Quarterly, 80 (3), 332-359. Retrieved on July 3, 2003, from the America: History and Life Database.

 Shircliffe, B. (2001). We got the best of that world: A case for the study of nostalgia in the oral history of school segregation. Oral History Review 28 (2): 59-84.Retrieved on July 3, 2003, from the America: History and Life Database.

 Taylor, J. H. (). Summer Institute of Psychological-Sociological Problems of School Desegration; 80 school administrators, supervisors, principals and teachers in ten Florida counties: Final Report. Daytona Beach, FL, Bethune Cookman College, ED023730. Retrieved on July 3, 2003, from the Eric via EBSCO host Database.

 Tomberlin, J. A. (1974). Florida and the school desegregation issue, 1954-1959: A summary review. Journal of Negro Education , 43 (4), 457-467. Retrieved on July 3, 2003, from the Eric via EBSCO host Database.

  Tomberlin, Joseph A.   (1972 ). Florida’s Whites and the Brown Decision of 1954.  Florida Historical Quarterly, 51 (1), 22-36. Retrieved on July 3, 2003, from the America: History and Life Database.

Dissertations:

Baber, M. Y.  (1999). Parent involvement and practices in East Tampa: The impact of court-ordered desegregation in Hillsborough County, Florida.
Dissertation Abstract International
, 60 (3): 786-A. Retrieved June 30, 2003, from the Dissertation Abstracts database. 

 Ceros-Livingston, J. J. (1983). The History of the survival of an elitist black high school in South Florida from 1907-1981. Dissertation Abstract International, 43 (9): 2840-A.

 Dohlstrom, A. H. (1955). A Study to determine how the emotional attitudes of Dade County, (Miami) Florida teachers may aid or hinder desegregation in public school classes.  (Doctoral dissertation, New York University, 1955.). Retrieved June 30, 2003, from the Dissertation Abstracts database. 

 Greenffield, R. W. (1955). Factors associated with white parents' attitudes toward school desegregation in a central Florida community. Doctoral dissertation, Ohio State University, 1959).  

 Jenkins, S. S. (2002). A Historical Investigation of School Desegregation in Seminole County School District." Dissertation Abstract International, 63 (5): 1749-A.

 Peeples, T. O.  (1992). A Longitudinal Application of Desegregation Indices to Florida School Districts, 1976-1987. Master’s thesis, Orlando, FL: University of Central Florida, 1992) .  LD1772 F96 T45 1992 no.45

Sheffield, F. (1973). School District Characteristics, Elite Behavior, and White Response to Court-Ordered School Desegregation. (Doctoral dissertation, Florida State University, 1973).

 

Back to Top

 

Race Relations

 

Books

D'Orso, M.. Like judgment day : The ruin and redemption of a town called Rosewood. New York:Putnam, 1996.

Williams, Mary E.  Race Relations: Opposing Viewpoints. Greenhaven Press, 2001. E184.A1 R316 2001

Articles

Barlow, J.  (1998). The Not free and not me constructions of whiteness in Rosewood and Ghosts of Mississippi. Canadian Review of American Studies,  28:31-46.

Retrieved on July 3, 2003, from the America: History and Life Database.

Colburn, D. R. (1997).  Rosewood and America in the early twentieth century.  Florida Historical Quarterly, 76 (2): 175-192. Retrieved on July 3, 2003, from the America: History and Life Database.

Dickinson, J..  Vigil crosses racial divide: Marchers honoring Martin Luther King, Jr. broke down old barriers in Orlando.  (2002, January 21).  Orlando Sentinel, p. B1.  Retrieved July 7, 2003 from the Orlando Sentinel Online.

Dye, R. T.  (1996).  “Rosewood Florida: The destruction of an African American Community.” Historian, 58 (3): 605-622. Retrieved on July 3, 2003, from the America: History and Life Database.

 Dye, R. T. (1997).  “The Rosewood massacre: History and the making of public policy.” Public Historian,19 (3): 25-39. Retrieved on July 3, 2003, from the America: History and Life Database.

For the public good. (1994, April 8). Wall Street Journal, p. A1. Retrieved July 7, 2003 from the Lexis Nexis database.

Forum in Ocoee looks at racism: The traveling is coming to the city tonight because it was the site of a deadly race riot in 1920.  (2000, October, 12).  Orlando Sentinel, p. D1.  Retrieved July 7, 2003 from the Orlando Sentinel Online.

Hamburg, Jay.  (1986, September 7).  Ocoee living down past 66 years after race riot.  Orlando Sentinel, p. A1.  Retrieved July 7, 2003 from the Orlando Sentinel Online.

Jones, M. D.  (1997).  The Rosewood massacre and the women who survived it.  Florida Historical Quarterly, 76 (2): 193-208. Retrieved on July 3, 2003, from the America: History and Life Database.

Kassab, B.  City is no longer that Ocoee,  (2003, February 20).  Orlando Sentinel, p. J1.  Retrieved July 7, 2003 from the Orlando Sentinel Online.

Keister, K. (1992).  American Beauty. Historic Preservation, 44 (1): 34-39, 94. Retrieved on July 3, 2003, from the America: History and Life Database.

Kunerth, J.  Journey takes many turns: Courage, adversity, and injustice are key markers on the map of Central Florida’s past. (1996, February 4).  Orlando Sentinel, p. G1. Retrieved July 7, 2003 from the Orlando Sentinel Online.

 MacLeod, M. and Dickinson, J. W.  Ocoee Race Riot Scar Generations. (2001, February 5).  Orlando Sentinel,  p. A1.  Retrieved July 7, 2003 from the Orlando Sentinel Online.

 Moore, R.  Story of Ocoee riot grabbed them, wouldn’t let go:  what started as a student documentary soon became a passion for two filmmakers.  (2003, February 9).  Orlando Sentinel, p. F7.  Retrieved July 7, 2003 from the Orlando Sentinel Online.

Robison, J.  Black voters are told ‘to stablish their own town’.  (2003, February 16).  Orlando Sentinel, p. K2.  Retrieved June 24, 2006 from Orlando Sentinel Online.

Tereshchuk, D. (1998) “The Rosewood Massacre; The untold story. [Video review].  American Historical Review, 103 (2): 635-636.Retrieved on July 3, 2003, from the America: History and Life Database.

 Websites

Florida Dept of State. (2001). Materials on the destruction of Rosewood Florida. Retrieved June 24, 2006 from http://dlis.dos.state.fl.us/fgils/rosewood.html

Jenkins, L. P. (n.d.). The real Rosewood.  Retrieved June 24, 2006 from http://www.rosewoodflorida.com/

Remembering Rosewood (n.d.).  Retrieved June 24, 2006 from http://www.displaysforschools.com/research.html

A documented history of the incident which occurred at Rosewood, Florida, in January, 1923.  Produced by a team of researchers from Florida A&M University, Florida State and the University of Florida.  Retrieved June 24, 2006 from http://mailer.fsu.edu/~mjones/rosewood/rosewood.html.

Rosewood Victims v State of Florida. (1994, March 24).  Retrieved June 24, 2006 from http://afgen.com/roswood2.html

 

Back to Top

Civil Rights | Desegregation | Harry T. Moore | Mary McLeod Bethune | Race Relations

03 June 2009

Compiled by Terrie Sypolt and Andrew Todd