Literary Criticism: Short Stories
Research Guide
indicates Top-pick
indicates some full text
Note: Off-campus access to some online sources is restricted to current UCF students, faculty,
and staff via Pegasus or
Proxy connection
Books and Multimedia
UCF Library Catalog
http://library.ucf.edu
Use the online catalog to locate books and multimedia on short stories in the UCF Libraries.
You can search by author, title, keyword, or subject. Note that criticism or analysis of
a specific short story is rarely the subject of a book-length study; instead you usually will
need to look for books that deal with many stories or works by a specific short story writer.
- To search for a person, as AUTHOR or SUBJECT, search by last name, first
name without punctuation; for example:
Faulkner William
Porter Katherine Anne
Pritchett V S
- SUBJECT searching requires use of Library of Congress subject headings. Here are
some example subject headings:
American literature--History and
criticism
English literature--History and criticism
Short story
Short stories, American--History and criticism
Short stories, English--History and criticism
- If you are unsure of the exact title or unsure of the correct Library of Congress subject
heading, try a KEYWORD search using two or three of the most significant words from
the title or subject you are trying to find.
- To limit by FORMAT in order to find multimedia and scores, go to the Advanced
Search in the Library Catalog and use the Limit Search By option.
return to top
Periodical Articles and Essays
Use the following sources to find periodical articles about a particular literary work, movement,
or author. In some instances books or essays in books also may be found in these sources.
American Short Fiction Criticism and Scholarship, 1959-1977: A Checklist
Reference PS 374 .S5
Covers more than 500 American authors, from the eighteenth through twentieth centuries,
citing general studies as well as criticism of individual short stories.
Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature
Microfiche PE 71 .M6 (1920-53)
Reference PE 71 .M6 (1964-90, 1992+)
An index of American and English literary studies, including periodical articles, books,
and pamphlets, with references to reviews of books listed. Especially useful for locating
British scholarship on literatures in English.
Essay and General Literature Index
Index to collections of essays in books, with emphasis on the humanities (especially
literary criticism). In the print edition, arrangement is by authors, subjects, and
some titles in one alphabet, with full titles of books indexed listed in the back of
each volume.
An electronic database of citations to articles appearing in more than 400 English-language
periodicals dealing with the humanities: folklore, history, language, literature, music,
philosophy, religion, and classical studies. Preceded by the print index
Humanities Index (1974+).
Index AI 3 .R493 (1974+)
Lists by subject and author articles from approximately 350 English-language journals
covering such subjects as folklore, history, language, literature, music, philosophy,
religion, and classical studies. Continued by the electronic database
Humanities Full Text (1984+).
Provides biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of more than 120,000 authors
from every age and literary discipline. Contains the Scribner Writer's Series which
includes 15-20 page signed essays on more than 1,600 authors and literary genres drawn
from 13 acclaimed Scribner print series; and the Twayne World, US, and English Authors
series, each of which contains the full text of 200 frequently used Twayne Literary
Masters books on individual world, US, or English authors, for a total of 600 full-text
titles.


MLA
International Bibliography
Online version (1963+)
Index PB 6 .M6222 (1970+)
General Collection PB 6 .M6 (1921-69, bound with
PMLA)
Both a print index and an electronic database referred to variously as the MLA or MLAIB;
sometimes called the PMLA Bibliography, but it should not be confused with the journal
PMLA. In the print version Part 1 is arranged first geographically (e.g., American
literature), then chronologically by century (e.g., 1900-1999) with authors listed alphabetically;
Part 2, commencing in 1981, is a subject index to Part 1.

Twentieth-Century Short
Story Explication: Third Edition
Reference PN 3373 .W34
Arranged alphabetically by author's name, then by short story titles. Lists criticism
that has appeared since 1900 in books and periodicals for stories published after 1800.
Contains a list of books and periodicals indexed. The five supplements update through
1988 the original 1977 volume; each supplement lists authors that were not included
in previous volumes.

Twentieth-Century Short
Story Explication: New Series
Reference PN 3373 .W35
A continuation of the third edition, described above, updated through 1998.
return to top
Plot Summaries and Critical Excerpts
The following sources provide a plot summary, or contain excerpts of critical essays that
were previously published.
Contemporary Literary Criticism (CLC): Excerpts from Criticism of the Works of Today's
Novelists, Poets, Playwrights, Short Story Writers, Scriptwriters, & Other Creative
Writers
Reference PN 771 .C59
Each print volume in this long-standing series profiles approximately six to eight novelists,
poets, playwrights and other creative and nonfiction writers by providing full-text
or excerpted criticism taken from books, magazines, literary reviews, newspapers and
scholarly journals. The approximately 200 essays per volume are prefaced by a full citation
and annotation and most entries include an author portrait. Each volume includes cumulative
author name, topic, and nationality indexes, as well as a volume-specific title index.
A cumulative title index to the entire series is available separately. Available online
in the
Literature Resource Center database.
A full-text database that includes brief plot summaries of the most studied works in
the history of literature. This database includes articles from the following print
sources:
Masterplots,
Masterplots
II,
Cyclopedia of World Authors,
Cyclopedia of Literary Characters,
Magill's Literary Annual 1990-2001,
Magill's Guide to Science Fiction and
Fantasy Literature, and
Magill Book Reviews.
Reference PN 3326 .M27 1986
Examines the theme, characters, plot, style and technique of more than 700 nineteenth-
and twentieth-century works by prominent authors from around the world. The essays in
this set are available online in the
MagillOnLiterature
database.
Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism (NCLC): Excerpts from Criticism of the Works
of Nineteenth-Century Novelists, Poets, Playwrights, Short-Story Writers, & Other Creative
Writers
Reference PN 761 .N5
Presents substantial excerpts of criticism on poets, novelists, short story writers,
dramatists and philosophers who died between 1800 and 1899. Each volume presents overviews
of four to eight authors with chronologically arranged criticism representing the entire
range of response to each author. Entries typically include an author portrait, an introduction
to the author, a primary bibliography, annotated criticism and an annotated list of
further reading sources. Every fourth volume is a "Topics" volume covering major literary
movements, trends and other topics related to nineteenth-century literature. Volumes
include author, nationality, topic and title indexes; a cumulative title index to the
entire series is published separately. Available online in the
Literature Resource Center database.

Short Story Criticism
(SSC): Excerpts from Criticism of the Works of Short Fiction Writers
Reference PN 3373 .S56
An ongoing, multi-volume set that presents critical views on the most widely studied
writers of short fiction. Each volume includes overviews of four to eight short story
writers and an historical survey of the critical response to their work. Each volume
includes a cumulative author and nationality index as well as a volume-specific title
index. The most recent volume indexes previous volumes in the series. Available online
in the
Literature Resource Center database.
Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism (TCLC): Excerpts from Criticism of the Works of
Novelists, Poets, Playwrights, Short Story Writers, & Other Creative Writers Who Died
Between 1900 & 1999
Reference PN 94 .T83
Presents substantial excerpts of criticism on major literary figures and nonfiction
writers, including novelists, poets, playwrights and literary theorists, who died between
1900 to 1999. Each volume presents overviews of four to eight authors with chronologically
arranged criticism representing the entire range of response to each author. A typical
excerpt is prefaced by an annotation that explains the critic's reputation and critical
philosophy and providing a synopsis of the excerpt. Every fourth volume is a "Topics"
volume covering major literary movements, trends and other topics. Volumes include author,
nationality, topic and title indexes; a cumulative title index to the entire series
is published separately. Available online in the
Literature Resource Center database.
return to top
Biographical and Bio-Critical Information
There are many sources of biographical and bio-critical information for short story writers;
the titles listed below are but a sampling of the basic sources usually consulted. In addition,
the sources listed under the headings "Plot
Summaries and Critical Excerpts" and "Handbooks and
Dictionaries" may provide biographical information about a writer. The following sources
are also beneficial in gaining a good overview of a writer's basic themes, techniques, and motifs.
American Writers: A Collection of Literary Biographies
Reference PS 129 .A55
Provides information about the lives, careers, and works of major American writers.
Each essay in the multi-volume set is approximately 20 pages. The heart of each essay
is a critical evaluation and analysis of the writer's major works, followed by a selective
bibliography both of the author's works and books and articles about the works. Each
of the essays in the print edition is available online in the
Literature Resource Center database.
Contains biographical information on over one million individuals from all time periods,
geographical locations, and fields of endeavor. The "Biographical Facts Search" allows
searching for people based on one or more personal facts, such as occupation.
British Writers
Reference PR 85 .B688
Provides information about the lives, careers, and works of major British writers from
the fourteenth century to the present day in chronological order by birth date. The
essays are evaluative surveys of authors' writings, with a selected bibliography of
the authors' works and criticism about the works. Each of the essays in the print edition
is available online in the
Literature Resource
Center database.
Contemporary Authors: A Bio-Bibliographical Guide to Current Writers in Fiction, General
Nonfiction, Poetry, Journalism, Drama, Motion Pictures, Television
Reference PN 771 .C662
A multi-volume series that contains biographical information on approximately 112,000
modern novelists, poets, playwrights, nonfiction writers, journalists and scriptwriters.
Sketches typically include personal information, addresses, career history, writings,
work in progress, biographical/critical sources and authors' comments and/or informative
essays about their lives and work. Each of the sketches in the print edition is available
online in the
Biography Resource Center
database.
Critical Survey of Short Fiction
Reference PN 3321 .C7 1993
Volumes 1-6 contain 480 author essays providing both biographical information and a
survey of the major themes and techniques in each writer's work, using specific titles
for examples. Volume 7 contains 29 overview essays on the terms and techniques, theory,
and history of the short story.
Dictionary of Literary Biography (DLB)
Reference PS 21 .D5
Includes the full text of biographical essays which provide an extended study of an
author's life and work. Each essay includes primary and secondary bibliographies for
further study. Each of the essays in the print volumes is available online in the
Literature Resource Center database.
European Writers
Reference PN 501 .E9 1983
Provides information about the lives, careers, and works of major European writers from
the medieval times to the present day in chronological order by birth date. Use index
volume to locate author/specific work. Essays from the print edition is available online
in the
Literature Resource Center database.
return to top
Handbooks and Dictionaries
The following handbooks and dictionaries provide a brief overviews of a topic, basic factual
information, and specific terms to use in interpreting and writing about short stories.
Benet's Reader's Encyclopedia
Reference PN 41 .B4 1996
A comprehensive work containing brief articles on literary schools and movements, critical
terms and expressions, as well as literary allusions, plot summaries, and brief biographies
of authors.
http://www.bartleby.com/81/
Reference PN 43 .B65 1999
Gives the derivation, source, or origin of allusions, colloquial and proverbial phrases,
biographical references, fictitious characters and titles, and words that have a tale
to tell.
A Dictionary of Modern Critical Terms
Reference PN 41 .D4794 1987
Distinguished from traditional dictionaries of literary terms in its attempt to deal
with the application and usage of critical terms rather than simply provide literal
lexical meanings.

A Handbook to Literature
Reference PN 41 .H36 1992
A standard source of comparatively brief explanations of the words and phrases which
are peculiar to the study of English and American literature. The emphasis is on critical
terms and critical schools and movements. Contains an outline of English and American
literary history. Index of proper names.
The Oxford Companion to American Literature
Reference PS 21 .H3 1995
Contains more than 5,000 entries on authors and other persons, literary works, terms,
characters, movements, awards, organizations, historical and cultural events, and a
long list of other topics related to American literature.
The Oxford Companion to English Literature
Reference PR 19 .D73 1998
Entries on authors born before 1940, works, characters, movements, critical theories,
periods, groups, historical figures, terminology, literary allusions, and places related
to English literature.
return to top
Story Text Indexes
Individual short stories are not listed in the UCF Library Catalog, but are printed in various
collections or anthologies of short stories. The following sources are helpful in locating the
text of short stories in collections and anthologies.
Cumulated Fiction Index, 1945-1960
Reference PN 3353 .C86
Lists the contents of more than 25,000 collections of fiction, including short stories.
To find a story published in a collection listed in this index, search the
UCF Library Catalog by title.

Short Story Index
Reference PN 3373 .C6 C622
Indexes by author, title, and subject short stories in more than 8,000 collections and
3,000 stories in periodicals. Includes a list of collections indexed. To find a story
published in a collection or periodical listed in this index, search the
UCF Library Catalog by title.
Provides thousands of full-text short stories plus explanations, biographies, pictures
and more. The database will be updated constantly with classic and contemporary stories.
return to top
Internet Sources
The following selected Internet "meta-sites" provide useful information in the field of literary
studies.
http://andromeda.rutgers.edu/~jlynch/Lit
A collection of links to sites dealing with English and American literature, excluding
single electronic texts. Sites are arranged primarily according to time period (e.g.,
eighteenth century).
http://vos.ucsb.edu/
Includes a listing of Web sites organized primarily around time periods. Also provides
access on the VoS home page for visiting other related pages, such as "English Literature."
return to top
Style Manuals
The style manuals listed below offer assistance with the mechanics of paper presentation,
such as preparing bibliographies, footnoting, underlining, and using quotation marks.
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 5th ed.
Reference Desk LB 2369 .G53 1999
A standard guide to research, writing, and the mechanics of paper presentation in literary
studies, including some examples for citing electronic publications (Internet sites,
electronic journals, online books, etc.). See also the MLA Style Manual and Guide
to Scholarly Publishing (Reference PN 147 .G444 1998).
http://www.mla.org
Contents include a link to "Documenting Sources on the World Wide Web." Several examples
are provided.
return to top
Ask a Librarian
If you have questions or need additional assistance, Ask
a Librarian, call the Reference Department at (407) 823-2562, or e-mail the Department
at askalibrarian@mail.ucf.edu. The library liaison
for English and Foreign Languages and Literatures is Cheryl A. Mahan, University Librarian,
cmahan@mail.ucf.edu.
Last Updated:
June 03, 2009