Literature for Children and Young Adults
Research Guide
indicates a Top-pick,
indicates some full text
Note: Off-campus access to some online sources is restricted to current UCF students, faculty,
and staff via Pegasus or
Proxy connection
Books and Multimedia
http://library.ucf.edu
Use the online catalog to locate books and multimedia on drama in the UCF Libraries. You
can search by author, title, keyword, or subject.
To search for a person, as AUTHOR or SUBJECT, search
by last name, first name without punctuation; for example:
Blume Judy
Rowling J K
- SUBJECT searching requires use of Library of Congress subject headings. Here
are some example subject headings:
- Children--Books and reading
- Children's literature
- Children's plays
- Children's poetry
- Children's stories
- Illustrated children's books
- Illustrators
- Picture books for children
- Storytelling
- Young adult literature
- Youth--Books and reading
- If you are unsure of the exact title or unsure of the correct Library of Congress subject
heading, try a KEYWORD search using two or three of the most significant
words from the title or subject you are trying to find.
- To limit by FORMAT in order to find multimedia and scores, go to the
Advanced Search in the Library Catalog and use the Limit Search
By option.
return to top
Periodical Articles and Essays
Use the following sources to find periodical articles about a particular piece of juvenile
literature or about an author or illustrator. In some instances books or essays in books also
may be found in these sources.
Children's Literature Abstracts
Index PN 1009 .A1 C4 (1975+)
Includes brief abstracts of books about children's literature and reading as well as
notes on books for children.
Includes excerpts from more than 130,000 reviews of children's books.
Provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals
in Education (CIJE) and Resources in Education (RIE) index. Includes the
full text of more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information
and citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education-related journals.
An electronic database of citations to articles appearing in 550 English-language periodicals;
some yearbooks and monographs are included. Preceded by the print index
Education Index (1929/32+).
Index L 11 .E39 (1929/32+)
Cumulative index to English-language educational periodicals, yearbooks, and some monographs.
Subject and author entries are arranged in one alphabet. Continued by the electronic
database
Education Full Text (1983+).
Essay and General Literature Index
Index to collections of essays in books, with emphasis on the humanities (especially
literary criticism). In the print edition, arrangement is by authors, subjects, and
some titles in one alphabet, with full titles of books indexed listed in the back of
each volume.
An electronic database of citations to articles appearing in more than 400 English-language
periodicals dealing with the humanities: folklore, history, language, literature, music,
philosophy, religion, and classical studies. Preceded by the print index
Humanities Index (1974+).
Index AI 3 .R493 (1974+)
Lists by subject and author articles from approximately 350 English-language journals
covering such subjects as folklore, history, language, literature, music, philosophy,
religion, and classical studies. Continued by the electronic database
Humanities Full Text (1984+).
Provides biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of more than 120,000 authors
from every age and literary discipline. Contains the Scribner Writer's Series which
includes 15-20 page signed essays on more than 1,600 authors and literary genres drawn
from 13 acclaimed Scribner print series; and the Twayne World, US, and English Authors
series, each of which contains the full text of 200 frequently used Twayne Literary
Masters books on individual world, US, or English authors, for a total of 600 full-text
titles.

MLA International Bibliography
Online version (1963+)
Index PB 6 M6222 (1970+)
General Collection PB 6 M6 (1921-69, bound with
PMLA)
Both a print index and an electronic database referred to variously as the MLA or MLAIB;
sometimes called the PMLA Bibliography, but it should not be confused with the journal
PMLA. In the print version Part 1 is arranged first geographically (e.g., American
literature), then chronologically by century (e.g., 1900-1999) with authors listed alphabetically;
Part 2, commencing in 1981, is a subject index to Part 1.
return to top
Key Periodicals
The following journals are important in the field of children's literature. Please note,
however, that many other journals not listed here may contain articles about literature for
children and young adults; thus, the need to consult a
periodical database or
index. Current print issues of periodicals to which the UCF Libraries subscribe are arranged
by title on the third floor; print back issues are shelved in the general collection by call
number, while microform back issues are arranged by call number on the third floor.
ALAN Review
General Collection Z 1037.A1 A4 (1998+)
Published under the auspices of the Assembly on Literature for Adolescents of the National
Council of Teachers of English, this is a refereed journal devoted solely to the field
of literature for adolescents. It publishes articles on young adult literature and its
teaching, interviews with authors, reports on publishing trends, current research on
young adult literature, a section of reviews of new books, and news of the Assembly.
Bookbird
General Collection PN 1009 .A1 B6 (1989+)
International in scope, each issue includes articles on facets of children's literature,
reviews of children's books, and reviews of professional literature. Published by the
International Board on Books for Young People and the International Institute for Children's,
Juvenile, and Popular Literature.
Booklist
Each issue contains a section of reviews on the latest books for children and young
people. Frequently includes bibliographies of foreign language children's books.

Children's Literature
in Education: An International Quarterly
Includes scholarly and practical articles on children's literature as well as annotated
subject bibliographies of children's books.

The Horn Book Magazine
One of the most reputable sources of reviews of children's books. Includes scholarly
articles and essays.

The Lion and the Unicorn
Each issue is devoted to one genre, theme, or aspect of children's literature. Includes
book reviews, articles, and criticisms.

School Library Journal:
SLJ
Articles plus reviews of children's books, software, and multimedia.
Wilson Library Bulletin
Microfilm Z 1217 .W75 (1939/40-1960/61)
General Collection Z 1217 .W75 (1961/62-1995)
Issues include a section on reviews of children's and young adult books.
return to top
Biographical and Bio-Critical Information
There are many sources of biographical and bio-critical information about writers of children's
and young adult literature; the titles listed below are but a sampling of the basic sources
usually consulted. In addition, the sources listed under the heading "Handbooks,
Dictionaries, and Encyclopedias" may provide biographical information about a writer.
Artists of the Page: Interviews with Children's Book Illustrators
General Collection NC 965 .M34 1992
Interviews with various illustrators offer insight into the creators' methods, styles,
and techniques of illustration.
Contains biographical information on over one million individuals from all time periods,
geographical locations, and fields of endeavor. The "Biographical Facts Search" allows
searching for people based on one or more personal facts, such as occupation.
Black Authors and Illustrators of Books for Children and Young Adults: A Biographical
Dictionary
Reference PN 1009 .A1 R63 1999
CMC Reference 809.89282 Rol 1992
Includes 115 authors and illustrators. A selected bibliography follows each biographical
sketch.
Contemporary Spanish-Speaking Writers and Illustrators for Children and Young Adults:
A Biographical Dictionary
Reference PQ 7082 .C48 C66 1994
CMC Reference 860.9928 Sch
Originally published in Spanish, this biographical dictionary has been translated into
English to provide personal data, lists of writings, quotations, and citations to critiques
for more that 200 Spanish-speaking author and illustrators for children. The biographies
are from Spain, Mexico, and the United States, as well as Central and South America.
Appendices include an index and a list of the authors/illustrators by country of origin.
The Junior Books of Authors
Reference PN 1009 .A1 K8 1951
CMC Reference 928 Kun
Contains 289 biographical sketches of writers and illustrators for younger readers.
Successive volumes, below, focus on authors and illustrators who have come into prominence
since the first volume:
- More Junior Authors -- Reference PN 1009 .A1 F8 / CMC Reference 928 Mor
- The Third Book of Junior Authors -- Reference PN 1009 .A1 K8 1972 / CMC Reference
809.89282 DeM
- The Fourth Book of Junior Authors -- Reference PN 1009 .A1 F6 / CMC Reference
809.89282 Fou
- The Fifth Book of Junior Authors -- Reference PN 1009 .A1 F6 / CMC Reference
809.89282 Fif
- The Sixth Book of Junior Authors and Illustrators -- Reference PN 1009 .A1 S3936
1991 / CMC Reference 809.89282 Six
- The Seventh Book of Junior Authors and Illustrators -- CMC Reference 809.89282
Sev
- The Eighth Book of Junior Authors and Illustrators -- Reference PN 1009 .A1
E36 2000 / CMC Reference 809.89282 Eig

Something About the
Author
Reference PN 451 .S6
An ongoing series providing biographical information about authors and illustrators
of children's literature. Emphasizes authors from English-speaking countries, but includes
authors from around the world whose works are available in English translation. Cumulated
index to all previous volumes in the back of every other volume. In addition to biographical
information, most entries include a bibliography of the author's or illustrator's work.
St. James Guide to Children's Writers
Reference PN 1009 .A1 S74
CMC Reference 820.9928203 StJ
Covers English-language authors and illustrators of fiction, nonfiction, poetry, and
drama for children and focuses on those individuals whose work was published after 1900.
Includes a list of works published and a critical essay.
Writers for Children
Reference PN 1009 .A1 W73 1987
Essays profile 84 authors who either have written specifically for children or whose
works have a largely juvenile audience. All are deceased and, according to the introduction,
hold "either popular or scholarly status."
Writers of Multicultural Fiction for Young Adults: A Bio-Critical Sourcebook
Reference PS 374 .Y57 W75 1996
Each entry consists of a biographical introduction to the author, a review of major
works,a section on criticism, and a bibliography of works by the author.
return to top
Handbooks, Dictionaries, and Encyclopedias
The handbooks, dictionaries, and encyclopedias listed below provide assistance in defining
and using appropriate literary terms and concepts, identifying trends and movements, identifying
characters or themes, and finding brief synopses or plot summaries.
Beacham's Guide to Literature for Young Adults
Reference PN 1009 .A1 B38
A 13-volume compilation of more than 200 analytical essays on and study activities for
fictional and biographical works written for young adults. Includes a short biography
for the author of each analyzed work.

The Cambridge Guide
to Children's Books in English
Reference PR 990 .C36 2001
The focus is on children's books, not children's literature or strictly literary works.
Coverage includes drama, television, comics, children's annuals, adventure game books,
and a range of media texts. Entries include authors, titles, topics, periodicals, editors,
and librarians.
Children's Writer's & Illustrator's Market
Reference PN 147.5 .C35
Provides contact names, submission guidelines, pay rates, Web sites, e-mail addresses,
and phone numbers for publishers of children's and young adult literature. Also includes
guidelines for writing effective query letters, preparing professional submissions and
creating promotional art samples, along with information on organizations, conferences,
and contests.
Continuum Encyclopedia of Children's Literature
Reference PN 1008.5 .C66 2001
Provides articles covering children's literature from around the world as well as biographical
and critical reviews of authors including Avi, C.S. Lewis, J.K. Rowling, and Anno Mitsumasa.
Dictionary of American Children's Fiction: Books of Recognized Merit
Reference PS 374 .C454 H45
A five-volume set spanning 1859 to 1999, with entries on titles, authors, characters,
and settings of books for children.
Dictionary of British Children's Fiction: Books of Recognized Merit
Reference PR 830 .C513 H4 1989
Contains 1,626 entries on such elements as titles, authors, characters, and settings
based on 387 books published from 1678 to 1985.
International Companion Encyclopedia of Children's Literature
Reference PN 1008.5 .I57 1996
A compilation of essays encompassing critical theory, history, world production of children's
books, practical aspects of children's librarianship, as well as entries on book
awards, children's magazines, and information books. The emphasis is decidedly British,
but many articles refer to U.S. parallels or influences.
A full-text database that includes brief plot summaries of the most studied works in
the history of literature. This database includes articles from the following print
sources: Masterplots II: Juvenile and Young Adult Fiction Series, Masterplots
II: Juvenile and Young Adult Biography Series, and Masterplots II: Juvenile
and Young Adult Literature Series, Supplement.

The Oxford Companion
to Children's Literature
Reference PN 1008.5 .C37 1984
CMC Reference 809.89282 Car
Articles on authors and illustrators of children's books, genres, characters, and individual
themes, along with brief summaries of the state of children's literature in many countries
as of the time of publication. Emphasis on American and British materials.
The Oxford Dictionary of Nursery Rhymes
Reference PN 6110 .C4 1997
CMC Reference 398.8 Oxf
Lists 550 rhymes, arranged alphabetically by the most prominent word or, in the case
of nonsense jingles, by opening phrase. The standard version of each rhyme is given,
followed by earliest recorded version and bibliographical references.
Research and Professional Resources in Children's Literature: Piecing a Patchwork Quilt
General Collection Z 1037 .A1 R46 1995
Brings together summaries of research published from 1985 to 1993. In addition to examining
reading attitudes and interests, essays look at family and preschool literacy, literature-based
curriculums, and teaching strategies. Also examined are books for children and adolescents
in terms of literary merit, as well as trends, issues, and themes (culture, social issues,
life cycles, gender). Included are annotated bibliographies of professional journals,
books, and papers; children's literature; and a list of organizations.
The Young Reader's Companion
Reference PN 1008.5 .C373 1993
A one-volume short-entry encyclopedia containing information about the characters, plots,
authors, and other topics found in classic and contemporary books for young readers.
return to top
Anthology Indexes
The following sources are helpful in locating texts of children's and young adult literature
in collections and anthologies. See also the following general sources: The Columbia Granger's
Index to Poetry in Anthologies (Reference PN 1022 .H39 2002), The Columbia Granger's
Index to Poetry in Collected and Selected Works (Reference PN 1022 .C63 1996), Play
Index (Reference PN 1620 .A1 P53),
Poem Finder,Short Story Index (Reference PN 3373 .C6 C622), and
Story Finder.
Index to Children's Plays in Collections
Reference PN 1627 .K7 1977
Index to Children's Plays in Collections, 1975-1984
Reference (Non-Circulating) PN1627 .K73 1986
Both editions together list almost 2,000 plays, including skits, monologues, pantomimes,
and puppetry. Indexes by authors, titles, and subjects, with separate "cast analysis"
section.
Index to Fairy Tales, Myths, and Legends
Reference GR 550 .E2 1926
Index to Fairy Tales, 1949-1972
Reference GR 550 .I73
Index to Fairy Tales, 1973-1977
Reference GR 550 .I732 1985
Index to Fairy Tales, 1978-1986
Reference GR 550 .S67 1989
Index to Fairy Tales, 1987-1992
Reference GR 550 .S67 1994
A title index, with entry under best-known title and cross-references from variant titles,
to the fairy tales and legends in a substantial number of collections.
Index to Poetry for Children and Young People: A Title, Subject, Author, and First Line
Index to Poetry in Collections for Children and Young People
Reference PN 1023 .B72 + 3 supplements
Index to Poetry for Children and Young People, 1988-1992: A Title, Subject, Author,
and First Line Index to Poetry in Collections for Children and Young People
CMC Reference 016.80881 Bla
The original volumes and supplements together index approximately 36,500 poems in almost
450 collections published through 1992.
Subject Index to Poetry for Children and Young People
Reference PN 1023 .A5 + supplement
Indexes 157 collections and anthologies. The supplement lists an additional 263 anthologies
published through 1975.
return to top
Bibliographies
Bibliographies provide invaluable lists of books and other materials. They can be useful
for identifying works on a particular topic or tracing editions of a work, and even for selecting
books for children and young adults.
General
Best Books for Children: Preschool through Grade 6
Reference PN 1009 .A1 B547
Aims to provide a list of books, gathered from a number of sources, "that are highly
recommended to satisfy both a child's recreational reading needs and the demands of
a typical school curriculum" (preface).
Best Books for Young Adult Readers
Reference Z 1037 .C176
CMC Reference 011.625 Cal
Features more than 6,500 titles. Each entry provides recommendations from leading journals,
a brief descriptive annotation, bibliographic information, awards, and review citations.
The Best in Children's Books: The University of Chicago Guide to Children's Literature,
1966-1972
Reference PN 1009 .A1 S874
The Best in Children's Books: The University of Chicago Guide to Children's Literature,
1973-1978
Reference PN 1009 .A1 S8742
The Best in Children's Books: The University of Chicago Guide to Children's Literature,
1979-1984
Reference PN 1009 .A1 .S93 1986
The Best in Children's Books: The University of Chicago Guide to Children's Literature,
1985-1990
Reference PN1009 .A1 S96 1991
Collections of reviews originally published in the Bulletin of the Center for Children's
Books. The volumes include publisher addresses and six different indexes.
Children's Books in Print
Reference Z 1037 .A1 C482
Books are listed in some 7,000 subject categories, with numerous cross references to
other headings. Author, title, and illustrator sections. See also the database
Books in Print, which allows searching and browsing by category, such as "Juvenile
literature."
Children's Catalog
Reference Z 1037 .W76
Features entries by abridged Dewey Decimal Classification, with separate sections for
nonfiction, fiction, short story collections, and easy books (picture books for children
from pre-school to grade three). Includes author, title, subject, and analytical entries;
added entries for publishers’ series, illustrators, joint authors, and editors of works
entered under title; and name and subject cross-references, all arranged in one alphabet.
Notations with each listing indicate where the main entry for the book will be found.
Directory of publishers and distributors.
Middle and Junior High School Library Catalog
Reference Z1037 .J854
Features entries by abridged Dewey Decimal Classification, with separate sections for
nonfiction, fiction and short story collections. Author, title, subject and analytical
index arranged in one alphabet. Includes directory of publishers and distributors.
Senior High School Library Catalog
Reference Z 1037 .W77
Features entries by abridged Dewey Decimal Classification, with separate sections for
nonfiction, fiction and short story collections. Author, title, subject and analytical
index arranged in one alphabet. Includes directory of publishers and distributors.
Multiculturalism
Bilingual Books in Spanish and English for Children
Reference PN 1009 .A1 D3
Annotates bilingual Spanish-English children’s books, arranged by decade of publication,
from 1940 to 1985. Also discusses strategies for finding bilingual titles, and includes
citations of relevant bibliographies and journal articles. Indexed by Name, Title and
Series, Subject (English), Subject (Spanish).
Books in Spanish for Children and Young Adults: An Annotated Guide. Series V = Libros
infantiles y juveniles en Español: una guia anotada. Serie no. V
Reference PN 1009 .A1 S384 1989
Covers books published between 1977 and 1989. Citations are grouped by subject within
sections according to country, from Argentina to Venezuela. The author has rated each
entry as to artistic and literary appeal, and provides general grade level.
Cultures Outside the United States in Fiction: A Guide to 2,875 Books for Librarians
and Teachers, K-9
Reference PN 3443 .A5 1994
Entries on books published since 1965 from about 150 countries. Entries are arranged
alphabetically by country, indexed by grade level, author, title, and subject, and provide
publication data and plot descriptions. Includes information on a number of classic
books published before 1965.
Kaleidoscope: A Multicultural Booklist for Grades K-8
General Collection Z 1361 .E4 K34 1994
An annotated bibliography of selected books about or related to African Americans, Asian
Americans, Hispanic Americans/Latinos, and Native Americans. Also lists books involving
people and countries in Africa, Asia, South America, the Caribbean, and relevent books
set in Mexico, Canada, or England. Arranged by genre (e.g., poetry, biography, history,
etc.) and by age range.
Many Peoples, One Land: A Guide to New Multicultural Literature for Children and Young
Adults
General Collection PS 173 .E8 H45 2001
Lists books of fiction, oral tradition, and poetry published from 1994 through 1999.
Four major ethnic groups within the United States are covered: African Americans, Asian
Americans, Hispanic Americans, and Native Americans.
Our Family, Our Friends, Our World: An Annotated Guide to Significant Multicultural
Books for Children and Teenagers
Reference PN 1009 .A1 M55 1992
An annotated uide to more that 1,000 fiction and nonfiction books focusing on the cultures,
identities, and histories of minority groups in the United States and Canada, as well
as native cultures in Asia, Central America, Africa, and others. Each chapter features
an introduction, a map of the region, and a list of books for students pre-K through
12. Indexed by author, title/series, and subject.
Disabilities
Accept Me as I Am: Best Books of Juvenile Nonfiction on Impairments and Disabilities
Reference PN 1009 .A1 F75 1985
Chapter titles: physical problems, cognitive and behavioral problems, multiple/severe
and various disabilities. Professional bibliography and author, title and subject indexes.
Notes from a Different Drummer: A Guide to Juvenile Fiction Portraying the Handicapped
General Collection PN 1009 .Z6 B37
More Notes from a Different Drummer: A Guide to Juvenile Fiction Portraying the Disabled
General Collection PN 1009 .Z6 B372
Covers books written for an audience ranging from children to young adults and encompasses
genres from picture books to junior novels. Details the plots, perceptions, and credibility
of each book and identifies specific impairments and plot themes related to featured
characters who are disabled. Titles are grouped by broad disability categories.
return to top
Book Awards and Honors
Children's Book Prizes: An Evaluation and History of Major Awards for Children's Books
in the English-Speaking World
Reference PR 990 .A42 1998
Gives an overview of the books that have won awards, a brief history of the individual
awards, and discusses the concept of making awards for children's books.
Children's Literature Awards and Winners: A Directory of Prizes, Authors, and Illustrators
Reference PR 990 .J66 1998
Describes 211 awards granted in English-speaking countries for excellence in children's
literature, along with a list of winners for each award. Author/illustrator, title,
and subject indexes.

The Coretta Scott King
Awards Book, 1970-1999
Contains full annotations of all the winning and honor books. Also includes photographs
and biographies of prominent African American authors and illustrators, and four-color
illustrations from the most recently honored books.
Coretta Scott King Awards Book: From Vision to Reality
Reference Z 1037 .A2 C67 1994
All writer and illustrator recipients of the award from the inception in 1969 to 1994,
including brief biographies, photographs, full-color plates of art, and reasons for
selection.

Newbery and Caldecott
Awards: A Guide to the Medal and Honor Books
Reference PS 374 .C454 N58
Provides annotated listings of winners since the inception of the awards.
return to top
Internet Sources
http://www.acs.ucalgary.ca/~dkbrown
Arguably the most comprehensive Internet site for children's literature, maintained
by a librarian at the University of Calgary, Canada. Links on authors, stories, readers'
theatre, recommended books, resources for parents and teachers, book discussion groups,
and organizations.
http://www.eleanorsbooks.com
Provides links to discussion groups, stories, reviews, publishers, and directories.
http://www.cbcbooks.org
The site of a non-profit trade organization dedicated to encouraging literacy and the
use and enjoyment of children’s books. CBC is the official sponsor of Young People’s
Poetry Week and Children’s Book Week each year. The Council’s members include U.S. publishers
and packagers of trade books for children and young adults.
http://kids.nypl.org/reading/index.cfm
A great collection of links to information about children's books, authors, and other
areas of interest.
return to top
Ask a Librarian
If you have questions or need additional assistance, Ask a Librarian,
call the Reference Department at (407) 823-2562, or e-mail the Department at
askalibrarian@mail.ucf.edu.
Last Updated:
July 19, 2010