Unless otherwise stated, the images found using the sources in this guide are protected by
United States and/or international copyright laws. Responsibility for determining appropriate
use of copyrighted material rests with the individual user.
Use the online catalog to locate books in the UCF Libraries that contain images. You can
search by author, title, keyword, or subject.
Use the following print indexes and electronic databases to locate images published in books,
periodicals, exhibition catalogs, and other print or electronic sources. In the case of print
indexes, search the UCF Library Catalog to determine if the UCF Libraries own the materials
listed in these indexes.
A.L.A. Portrait Index
Reference N 7620 .A2 1906
Indexes reproductions of about 40,000 portraits in approximately 1,100 works. Covers
persons of international renown from antiquity to about 1900.
This database allows limiting the search parameters to articles with images.
American Printmakers, 1880-1945: An Index to Reproductions and Biocritical Information
Reference NE 507 .W53 1993
American Printmakers, 1946-1996: An Index to Reproductions and Biocritical Information
Reference NE 508 .B76 1999
Indexed by (1) printmaker, with alphabetical list of prints under publication type (dictionaries,
art books, catalogs, monographs) and by (2) subjects or themes. Color illustrations
are noted.
Databases covering leading art publications from around the world. To search for images
in both databases, make a selection in the "Physical Description" drop-down menu. Both
databases preceded by the print index
Art Index (1929+).
Index NX 1 .A1 A88 (1929+
In addition to indexing articles from art magazines and journals, includes separate
listings for art reproductions published in periodicals indexed. Also, the abbreviation
"il" in many entries may indicate an art reproduction or photograph. Continued by the
electronic database
Art Full Text(1984+).
Provides curated collections of art images and associated data for noncommercial and
scholarly, non-profit educational use. The collection currently consists of approximately
300,000 digital images and associated catalog data. The image collection embraces architecture,
painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design as well as many other
forms of visual culture.
In addition to over 45,000 scholarly articles on art and artists from the 34-volume
The Dictionary of Art (Reference N 31 .D5 1996), also contains approximately
30,000 links to color images from high-quality museum and other art sites, and 100,000
images from The Bridgeman Art Library. Images are searchable by artist's name, title
of work, dates, location, or keyword.
Illustration Index
Reference N 7525 .V3 (1966, 1973, 1980, 1988, 1993)
Indexes photographs, charts, drawings, paintings, and other illustrations appearing
in ten popular magazines, such as Life, National Geographic, and
Sports Illustrated. Subjects include people, places, and objects.
Index to Art Reproductions in Books
Reference N 7525 .H48 1974
Lists reproductions of paintings, sculpture, graphic art, photography, stage design,
and architecture in selected books published between 1956 and 1971.
Index to Illustrations of Animals and Plants
Reference QH 46.5 .C54 1991
Contains approximately 6,200 entries listing illustrations of plants and animals from
around the world in 142 books published in the 1980s.
Index to Reproductions of American Paintings: A Guide to Pictures Occurring in More
than Eight Hundred Books
Reference ND 205 .M57
Indexes paintings by American artists reproduced in 520 books and over 300 exhibition
catalogs. A supplement was published in 1964 (Reference ND 205 .M57 1964 supp.).
Index to Reproductions of European Paintings: A Guide to Pictures in More than Three
Hundred Books
Reference ND 45 .M46
Indexes paintings by European artists reproduced in 328 books.
Photography Books Index: A Subject Guide to Photo Anthologies
General Collection TR 199 .M67
Photography Books Index: II
Reference TR 199 .M67 1985
Indexes what purports to be "widely held photo anthologies" (preface). Photographs are
listed according to the following sections: photographer, subject, and portraits of
named individuals.
Photography Index: A Guide to Reproductions
Reference TR 100 .P37 1979
Indexes reproductions in over 80 books and exhibition catalogs that emphasize artistic
or documentary images by famous 19th and 20th century photographers. Excludes books
on individual photographers.
Sculpture Index
Reference NB 36 .C55
Indexes pictures of sculpture in over 900 books, handbooks, and exhibition catalogs.
Excludes books on individual artists.
A searchable database providing digitized images in the fields of fine art, design,
and architecture. One must register before using this free database.
Victorian Art Reproductions in Modern Sources: A Bibliography
Reference N 6767.5 .V52 G37 1991
Lists reproductions of works of artists working in Britain from 1800 to 1914. Lists
books and exhibition catalogs. Engravings, decorative arts, sculpture, murals, stained
glass, and architectural details are excluded.
World Architecture Index: A Guide to Illustrations
Reference NA 202 .T4 1991
International in scope, with references to approximately 7,200 architectural works reproduced
in over 100 books.
Use the following Internet sites as starting points for finding images in a wide variety
of subject fields. Internet sites for individual museums, galleries, archives, and libraries
also can be good sources for images.
The following search engines allow keyword searching for individual image files instead of
entire Internet sites. The help of FAQ pages on each search engine provide information on specific
search techniques.
The following sites, a representative sampling of what's on the Internet, were selected because
of the unusual images they contain or because of their focus on a specific topic.