University of Central Florida Libraries 11/7/2009 http://library.ucf.edu/
UCF Website University of Central Florida Libraries
Log in now
Ask a Librarian Articles & Databases Online Journals Off-campus Access Interlibrary Loan

Careers Research Guide

Top-pick indicates Top-pick Full Textindicates some full text
Note: Off-campus access to most online sources is restricted to current UCF students, faculty, and staff via Proxy connection

Career Exploration and Planning

Career Planning and Networking
General Collection HF 5381 .W558 2002
An overview of the steps in the career planning process, focusing in on the importance of building and maintaining a strong, effective network of support within any career and assessing one's personality and interests.
Joyce Lain Kennedy's Career Book
Includes insights on every career-management issue, including: discovering interests and aptitudes, setting goals, researching careers and companies, finding help, predicting trends, keeping a positive attitude, getting experience and training, and planning for college and beyond.
Top-pick What Color is Your Parachute?
General Collection HF 5382.7 .B64
A classic in the field of vocational guidance, this was one of the first books to emphasize matching personal characteristics and interests with career options. Updated frequently.

Career Services Department
Ferrell Commons
Room 185
(407) 823-2361

Experiential Learning Department
Ferrell Commons Suite 203
(407) 823-2667

Occupational Profiles

The following sources are good starting points for finding basic information about specific careers: nature of the work, educational and certification requirements, job duties, and projected growth.

General Sources

Career Information Center
Reference HF 5382.5 .U5C32
A 13-volume set of nearly 600 occupational profiles in which more than 2,000 jobs are described and organized under twelve major job clusters (e.g., Vol. 2: Agribusiness, Environment, and Natural Resources). Profiles describe work characteristics, job entry levels, education and training requirements, advancement and employment outlook, earnings, benefits, and major trends in a given occupational field. Volume 13 is the Master Index to the set.
Reference HF 5382 .D5
Offers standardized descriptions of job content and structure for about 20,000 occupations. Grouped by occupations to emphasize similarities and variations. Detailed classed arrangement indexed alphabetically by occupation and industry group. The Dictionary of Occupational Titles (DOT) has now largely been superseded by the Standard Occupational Classification Manual (SOC) (below).
Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance
Reference HF 5381 .E52
Designed specifically to meet the special needs of the vocational guidance field and to help solve career planning problems. Volume 1 evaluates job prospects in 74 major industries and career fields. Volumes 2-4 cover individual job descriptions; index is in Volume 4.
http://www.bls.gov/oco/
Reference Desk HF 5381 .O25
Published by the Bureau of Labor Statistics of the Department of Labor, this handbook covers 250 occupations. Provides information about job duties, working conditions, level and places of employment, education and training requirements, advancement possibilities, and job outlook. Also includes information about the effects of business cycles, defense spending, energy development, and other economic factors that affect employment. Updated by the Occupational Outlook Quarterly (below).
http://online.onetcenter.org
A free, online database sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor that includes information on skills, abilities, education, work activities, and interests associated with occupations. Information in O*NET is available for over 950 occupations. Each occupational title and code is based on the most current version of the Standard Occupational Classification system (below).
Specialty Occupational Outlook: Professions
Reference Desk HF 5382 .S632 1995
Supplements the Occupational Outlook Handbook (above) by providing data on 150 job titles selected for popularity, growth potential, and technological advances.
http://stats.bls.gov/soc/
Reference HB 2595 .S7 2000
Offers standardized descriptions of job content and structure for about 820 occupations according to their occupational definition. To facilitate classification, occupations are combined to form 23 major groups, 96 minor groups, and 449 broad occupations. Each broad occupation includes detailed occupation(s) requiring similar job duties, skills, education, or experience. The SOC now supersedes the Dictionary of Occupational Titles (DOT) (above). See also O*NET Online: Occupational Information Network (above), which is another version of the Standard Occupational Classification Manual (SOC) that allows the user to match SOC and DOT occupational classification systems
VGM's Careers Encyclopedia
Reference HF 5382.5 .U5 C337 2002
Career descriptions are presented in an easy to use A to Z format. Each listing begins with a general description of the job, followed by detailed information on: job outlook, qualifications, education and training requirements, income potential, work settings, opportunities for advancement, and sources for further information.

Specialized Sources

For detailed information on specific careers, search the following series TITLES in the UCF Library Catalog. Look at the call number of each individual title to determine location:

  • Career Advisor Series
  • VGM Careers for You Series
  • VGM Opportunities Series
  • VGM Professional Careers Series

Employment Trends and Statistics

America's Top Jobs for College Graduates
Reference HD 6278 .U5 F37
Gives descriptions for 127 major jobs, most often held by college graduates. Also includes articles on labor market trends and a section with results-oriented career planning and job search advice.
American Salaries and Wages Survey
Reference HD 4973 .A67
A compilation of occupations and their corresponding salaries obtained from hundreds of federal and state government sources and from various trade associations and journals. Appendixes include a salary conversion table and employment statistics by occupation projected through 2008.
http://www.bls.gov/oco/cg/
U.S. Documents L2.3/4-3:
Presents background career information and statistics for the 40 industries that account for 70 percent of wage and salary jobs in the United States. Includes nature of the industry, employment data, working conditions, training, earnings, rate of job growth, and outlook.
Employment Outlook, 1996-2006: A Summary of BLS Projections
U.S. Documents L2.3:2502
Provides information on where future job growth is expected by industry and occupation and the likely composition of the work force pursuing those jobs.
Jobs Rated Almanac: The Best and Worst Jobs--250 in All--Ranked by More than a Dozen Vital Factors Including Salary, Stress, Benefits, and More
Reference HF 5382.5 .U5 K72 1999
Ranks 250 jobs by 12 criteria, including work environment, income, outlook, stress, physical demands, extra, job security, and where the jobs are. Within each section, jobs are listed alphabetically. A final section contains an overall ranking of jobs.
OECD Employment Outlook
Reference HD 5706 .O35
Provides an annual assessment of labor market developments and prospects in member countries. Each issue contains an overall analysis of the latest job market trends and short-term forecasts, and examines, through a series of lengthy essays, key market developments.
http://stats.bls.gov/bls/wages.htm
Statistics compiled by U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics include current employment numbers by state and metropolitan area; information on employee benefits in private, small, medium, and large companies; the average cost of wages per hour for major occupational and industry group; wages for specific levels of work for 450 occupations on an hourly and annual basis available on national, state and metropolitan level; and average earnings of employees on an hourly and annual basis for 750 occupations available by state and metropolitan areas.

Researching Jobs and Employers

Directories

Use these directories to find basic background information about companies and industries and the types of skill sets they are seeking, as well as listings of the largest employers in a certain industry or locale.

Reference HF 5382.75 .U6 A45
Lists 500 major U.S. corporations, including information on growth, financial stability, salaries, benefits, and hiring. Contains index of companies for specific types of job-seekers (e.g., liberal arts, sales/marketing).
Career Guide: Dun's Employment Opportunities Directory
Reference HF 5382.5 .U5 D86
An alphabetical directory of leading U.S. companies with at least 1,000 employees. Describes the nature of the business, prospective employment, types of available positions, and personnel contact. Indexed geographically and by industrial classification. Also lists employers offering work-study or internship programs.
Florida Job Bank
Reference HF 5382.5.U6 F6
Contains employer profiles in major cities, including Fort Lauderdale, Jacksonville, Miami, Orlando, Tampa, and all other areas. Entries list standard contact information (and, where possible, also the contact person by name and title) and a description of the company's products and/or services.
Job Hunter's Sourcebook: Where to Find Employment Leads and Other Job Search Resources
Reference HF 5382.7 .J62 2002
The main section profiles 206 high-interest professional and vocational occupations. Each occupational profile lists a variety of job-opportunity information specific to that occupation, organized into seven categories: sources of help-wanted ads, placement and job referral services, employer directories and networking lists, handbooks and manuals, employment agencies and search firms, online job sources and services, and other sources (e.g., job hotlines, internships).
The National Job Bank
Reference HF 5382.5 .U5 N34
Contains over 20,000 employer profiles, including standard contact information (and, where possible, also the contact person by name and title) and a description of the company's products and/or services. Many listings also include jobs commonly filled, headquarters location, e-mail and World Wide Web addresses, and internships information. Indexes list companies by state and by industry.
Orlando Business Journal Book of Lists
Reference Desk HC 108 .O7 B4
Issued annually, gives essential information on the leading businesses and employers in over 60 industries. Also provides a helpful snapshot of the condition of the local economy.
Full TextPlunkett's Companion to The Almanac of American Employers: Mid-Size Firms
Reference HF 5549.5.C67 P585
To be used in conjunction with The Almanac of American Employers (above). Focus is on mid-size firms with 300-2,500 employees.

Periodical Articles

Use the following sources to find periodical articles about careers, vocational guidance, employment trends, companies, industries, and related topics. Once you have found the articles you want, in some instances you will need to check the UCF Library Catalog to determine if we own the periodicals you need.

Articles on advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and over 60,000 companies. Includes business conditions, trends, corporate strategies and tactics, management techniques, competitive and product information, company histories and new product development.
Database that abstracts and indexes over 3,200 periodicals (magazines, journals, newspapers), and offers full text (often dating back to 1990) for over 1,000 journals.
Provides indexing to sources in business, management, economics, finance, banking, investment, and much more. Full text included for nearly 260 journals.
Indexes over 4,000 periodical titles in a wide variety of disciplines including the social sciences, humanities, science and technology, national news periodicals, general interest magazines, and newswires. Includes many full text articles.
Indexes over 800 journal titles including business, management, and trade journals; some 80 regional and local journals and newspapers. Provides access to full text of some articles.
Full Text WilsonWeb (coverage varies)
Provides indexed and abstracted references, many with accompanying full-text periodical articles, from about 1,400 English-language periodicals in science, humanities, education, and business.

Key Periodicals

The following periodicals contain relevant articles about careers, vocational guidance, employment trends, and related topics. Please note, however, that many other periodicals not listed here undoubtedly contain articles pertaining to these topics; thus, the need to consult a periodical database or index. Current print issues of periodicals to which the Libraries subscribe are arranged by title on the third floor; print back issues are shelved in the general collection by call number, while microform back issues are arranged by call number on the third floor. Current issues are arranged alphabetically by title on the third floor.

CPC Salary Survey
Current Periodicals (last 2 years)
Published quarterly by the National Association of Colleges and Employers (NACE), each issue provides national starting salary offers by discipline, degree level, job function, and industry group, and provides the average offer as well as ranges. Salary Survey covers more than 70 major fields of study, over 50 employer categories, and over 70 job functions for the bachelor’s degree level. Also provides starting salary information for 57 master’s and 22 doctoral fields of study.
Full TextCompensation and Working Conditions: CWC
General Collection HD 5723 .C26 (1991+)
Published by the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, this title presents information and data on compensation and workplace issues. It contains analytical articles, news items, summary information presented as single page charts or tables, and statistical data on: occupational pay, employment cost index, employee benefits, occupational injuries and illnesses, and major work stoppages.
NACE Journal
General Collection LB 2343.5 .A15 (1985+)
Formerly titled the Journal of Career Planning and Employment. Focuses on major trends in the human relations and employee recruitment field. Articles cover such topics as internships, campus recruitment, employment markets, and industries and companies. It also features news about upcoming career fairs.
Microfilm HF 5382 .U5 O3 (1958-1966/67)
General Collection HF 5382 .U5 O3 (1967/68+)
At least one major article in each issue focuses on a specific career, while other pieces cover various aspects of the labor market or feature jobs with strong potential for growth. Updates the Occupational Outlook Handbook (above).
Full TextWork and Occupations
General Collection HT 675 .S6 (1982+)
Explores current and historical issues relating to the sociological analysis of work and occupations. Areas covered include labor force trends, workplace diversity, and work group dynamics.
Working Woman
Microfilm HQ 1101 .W78 (1979-1983)
Microfiche HQ 1101 .W78 (1984+)
This title is known for its annual "Hottest Careers" and salary survey issues. Articles emphasize career development, business trends, and policy issues.

Books and Multimedia

The following SUBJECT HEADINGS in the UCF Library Catalog may be helpful in locating other specialized sources of information, both books and multimedia (videocassettes, CDs, DVDs):

  • Americans--Employment--Foreign countries
  • Career changes
  • Career development
  • Employment in foreign countries
  • Employment interviewing
  • Internship programs
  • Job hunting
  • Occupations
  • Resumes (Employment)
  • Summer employment
  • Vocational guidance
  • Vocational interests

Summer Employment

Overseas Summer Jobs
Reference HF 5382.5 .G7 D54
Describes more than 30,000 volunteer and paid positions in more than 50 countries.
Summer Jobs in the USA
Reference HF 5382.5 .U5 S76
Describes more than 45,000 positions from nearly 650 different employers in the U.S., Canada, and overseas.

Internships and Training Programs

America's Top Internships
Reference LC 1072 .I58 A44
Features detailed profiles of the 107 "very best internships," with company information and firsthand insight from former interns, thorough portraits of day-to-day responsibilities, and a guide to applying.
The Internship Bible
Reference LC 1072 .I58 I46
Information on more than 100,000 internships. Includes chapters on letter writing and interviewing, as well as interviews with prominent former interns such as Jodie Foster and George Stephanopoulos.
Peterson's Internships
Reference L 901 .I66
Profiles nearly 50,000 paid and unpaid internship opportunities at thousands of corporations and organizations all over the world, including positions in business, government, the United Nations, and nonprofit voluntary groups. Field of interest indexes.

Resumes, Cover Letters, and Interviews

There are hundreds, if not thousands, of resume writing and job interviewing books. The titles listed below are some of the more frequently cited by vocational guidance professionals.

The Adams Cover Letter Almanac
General Collection HF 5383 .A263 1996
Includes examples of 600 cover letters, with samples for a wide range of occupations. Includes responses to help-wanted ads, unsolicited letters, and follow-ups.
Asher's Bible of Executive Resumes and How to Write Them
Reference HF 5383 .A834 1997
Contains more than 100 examples of executive resumes.
The Five-Minute Interview
General Collection HF 5549.5 .I6 B39 1998
Provides a step-by-step approach to preparing for interviews. Includes practical exercises and 444 commonly asked questions, with chapters on types of interviews and interview techniques.
High Impact Resumes and Cover Letters: How to Communicate Your Qualifications to Employers
General Collection HF 5383 .K7 1998
Treats resumes and cover letters as key communication products for promoting the career planning process of skills, objectives, research, networking, interviews, and negotiations. Includes examples of resumes and cover letters.
Full TextHow to Prepare Your Curriculum Vitae
Reference HF 5383 .J24 1997
"The curriculum vitae, long in use among professionals in higher education, is gaining currency among undergraduates applying for admission to graduate and professional schools as well as for selected areas of employment" (Introduction). This book provides guidelines for creating a curriculum vitae.
How to Say It in Your Job Search: Choice Words, Phrases, Sentences, and Paragraphs for Resumes, Cover Letters, and Interviews
Reference HF 5383 .K364 2002
Shows how to communicate skills, strengths, and qualifications quickly and distinctively in resumes, cover letters, and interviews.
Job Interview Almanac and CD-ROM
Reference HF 5549.5 .I6 J6 1997
Ask for CD-ROM at Circulation Desk
Features 1,800 job interviews with examples of responses. The sample interviews are arranged by broad occupational fields. The CD-ROM has over 300 video and 200 audio clips on interviewing techniques and advice.
Full TextThe Perfect Cover Letter
General Collection HF 5383 .B325 1989
Gives examples of cover letters, including general broadcast and targeted letters; characteristics of both good and bad cover letters; and specific components of good cover letters and their mechanics.
Full TextThe Resume Kit
General Collection HF 5383 .B33 1995
Addresses questions that commonly plague resume writers, such as: How long should the resume be? Should there be a job objective statement? What is the best resume format? Should references be listed on the resume?

Online Job Announcements

There are now many Internet sites listing job announcements. The list below is highly selective. For a more comprehensive list, see the links at the UCF Career Services and Experiential Learning site, <http://www.crc.ucf.edu>.

http://www.careerbuilder.com
Allows the user to search for jobs by industry, company, type, and location. Also includes links to career fairs and an online resume "launcher."
http://chronicle.com/jobs
Published weekly, the Chronicle is academe's source for news and information and also includes the Career Network, which lists hundreds of jobs in higher education (and some in the nonprofit, non-academe sector).
http://www.jobweb.com
A site maintained by the National Association of Colleges and Employers (NACE) that allows searching for prospective employers as well as many links to job hunting advice.
http://www.myflorida.com
Has a link to search Florida government job vacancies by region, agency, or salary for participating agencies, as well as job search links at the national, state, and local government levels, as well as Florida university job listings. Look for the shortcut "Working in Florida."
http://www.usajobs.opm.gov
Maintained by the U.S. Office of Personnel Management, USAJOBS is the federal government's official one-stop source for federal jobs and employment information. See also FedWorld (http://www.fedword.gov), operated by the U.S. Department of Commerce, which has a link to "federal jobs"; however, the FedWorld site warns that many federal job announcements don't make into the FedWorld database and that many agencies have their own job Internet sites.
http://dir.yahoo.com/Business_and_Economy/Employment_and_Work
Lists several hundred links to job postings on the Internet.

UCF Sources

In addition to the resources cited in this research guide, UCF students may obtain further career information and guidance through the following agencies:

http://www.csel.ucf.edu/home/
Professional staff are available at the Career Services Department to assist students in a number of ways, from planning majors to finding jobs upon graduation. The Center's Internet pages include a wealth of links to online job search and career planning sites. The Experiential Learning Department supports and advises students who are enrolled in, or are thinking about participating in, cooperative education programs, internships, or service-learning courses.
http://www.counseling.sdes.ucf.edu/services.html
Student Resource Center, Building 7-G
Room 203
(407) 823-2811
Administers a variety of career, interest, and personality assessment inventories to assist you in understanding yourself and how you might best fit into a particular career or academic major.

Ask a Librarian

If you have questions or need additional assistance, Ask a Librarian, call the Reference Department at (407) 823-2562, or e-mail the Department at askalibrarian@mail.ucf.edu.

Last Updated: June 03, 2009