University of Central Florida Libraries
10/1/2014
http://library.ucf.edu/
UCF Website University of Central Florida Libraries
Login now

Sociology

Sections

Icon Key

  • Citations or Abstracts Citations or Abstracts.
  • Full Text Full Text.

This is a list of some of the basic databases to find resources for your subject. For a more extensive guide to doing research in Sociology please see the Sociology Research Guide

*Best Resources

Sociological Abstracts 1952-Current Citations or Abstracts

Covers the literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences, with abstracts of journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Proquest

Other Resources

AgeLine

No longer free on the web.

Access: Proxy

Indexes over 250 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. With over 344,000 records, the API is considered the most comprehensive and up-to-date guide to alternative sources of information available.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

Covers health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. Now called Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts through Proquest.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Proquest

Full text access to global information on women, including journals, newsletters, research reports from non-profit groups, government and international agencies, and fact sheets.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale
EconLit 1886-Current Citations or Abstracts Full Text

Citations and abstracts to articles from more than 400 economics journals, covering , capital markets, econometrics, economic forecasting, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ProQuest

The index contains more than 53,500 includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to family studies, including marriage, divorce, family therapy, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

GenderWatch is a full text database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ProQuest

The Social Sciences Citation Index is a multidisciplinary citation index to the journal literature of the social sciences. Part of Web of Science.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ISI

Covers hundreds of core periodicals in the fields of anthropology, economics, geography, law and criminology, political science, social work, sociology, and international relations. Previous vendor was Wilson.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

This database provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services and related areas, including social welfare, social policy and community development.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Proquest

Indexing bibliographic records covering essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

CSA Worldwide Political Science Abstracts provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Proquest

 

Last Updated August 16, 2012

QR Code URL for Mobile Devices