University of Central Florida Libraries
7/25/2014
http://library.ucf.edu/
UCF Website University of Central Florida Libraries
Log in now

Nursing

Sections

Icon Key

  • Books Books.
  • Brief Information Brief Information.
  • Citations or Abstracts Citations or Abstracts.
  • Data Data.
  • Full Text Full Text.
  • Images Images.
  • Journals Journals.
  • Top-pick Top-pick.
  • Video Video.

This is a list of some of the basic databases to find resources for your subject. For a more extensive guide to doing Nursing Research please see the Nursing Research Guide

*Best Resources

Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature. Indexes nursing, allied health, biomedical, and consumer health journals.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

See Clinical Key.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Elsevier
MEDLINE - EBSCOhost 1966-Current Citations or Abstracts Full Text

MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine with the capability to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost
Top-pick PubMed 1966-Current Citations or Abstracts Top-pick

The free version of MEDLINE. ''Note,the link above requires login for off-campus access and provides SFX links. For access with no login use this link: PubMed (no SFX).

Access: Free Vendor: NLM

E-Books

Provides instant answers to clinical questions from the most trusted resources; includes clinical case files, self-assessment questions, and textbooks such as the Harrison Online, Hurst's The Heart, Principles of Critical Care and the Lange series.

Access: Proxy Vendor: McGraw-Hill

Provides full text content, including textbooks, about pediatrics covering the entire span of pediatric practice, from neonatology through adolescent medicine.

Access: Proxy Vendor: McGraw-Hill

An online search tool that provides physicians with fast clinical answers.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Elsevier

Information about and reviews of English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas. MMY provides coverage from Volume 9 to the present.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

A series of healthcare books for medical professionals and consumers that provides guidance on the diagnosis and treatment of medical conditions.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Merck

Full text of medical and nursing journals, books and Medline.

Access: Proxy Vendor: OVID

an "all-in-one" point of care medical reference tool

Access: Proxy

Online access to the FLEXIBOOK Atlases and Textbooks, the popular series of color atlases and pocket textbooks in anatomy, basic science, clinical science, and radiology.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Thieme

Evidence Based Medicine

An international compendium of the research and evidence on the treatment of various medical conditions, and synopses on the effectiveness of common clinical interventions.

Access: Proxy Vendor: BMJ

DynaMed is available as an application on iPhone, iPod touch, Blackberry, Microsoft Mobile and Palm OS. Requires a Skyscape User ID and Password and a DynaMed serial number available from the Health Sciences Library. It also provides evidence based clinical information on more than 3,000 topics for use at the point-of-care; includes ICD-9 Codes and levels of evidence.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

The largest and most current Clinical Knowledge Base available to physicians and other healthcare professionals. The evidence-based content, updated regularly, provides the latest practice guidelines in 59 medical specialties. eMedicine's professional content undergoes 4 levels of physician peer review plus an additional review by a PharmD prior to publication.

Access: Proxy Vendor: eMedicine

Formerly know as InfoPOEMS/InfoRetriever, Essential Evidence Plus is a powerful resource database packed with content, tools, calculators and alerts.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Wiley-Blackwell

Fundamental tools for understanding and applying the medical literature and making clinical diagnoses ; includes the Users' Guide to the Medical Literature and The Rational Clinical Examination (access limited to 4 concurrent users).

Access: Proxy Vendor: McGraw-Hill

Provides physicians and other health professionals an accessible mechanism for obtaining objective, detailed information on clinical practice guidelines and to further their dissemination, implementation, and use.

Access: Free Vendor: AMA

an "all-in-one" point of care medical reference tool

Access: Proxy

Other Resources

AgeLine

No longer free on the web.

Access: Proxy

A bibliography of controlled trials providing an unbiased source of data for systematic reviews. Also available on OvidSP - EBM Reviews.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

Full text articles and protocols focusing on the effects of health care. Also available on OvidSP - EBM Reviews.

Data is evidence-based medicine and is often combined statistically (with meta-analysis) to increase the power of the findings of numerous studies, each too small to produce reliable results individually.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

Information on behavioral measurement instruments gathered from hundreds of journals covering health sciences and psychosocial sciences.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

Topics in health and medicine, medications, and wellness. Includes encyclopedias, directories, medical dictionary, magazines, journals, and newspapers.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale

Provides full text for nearly 540 scholarly health journals, and over 190 consumer journals, as well as indexing and abstracting of  over 700 health-related journals and magazines.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

Provides details of completed and ongoing health technology assessments (studies of the medical, social, ethical and economic implications of health care interventions) from around the world. Also available on OvidSP - EBM Reviews.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

the U.S. Federal Government's principal vital and health statistics agency

Access: Free Vendor: NCHS

Natural Standard was founded by healthcare providers and researchers to provide high-quality, evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies. Grades reflect the level of available scientific data for or against the use of each therapy for a specific medical condition.

Access: Proxy

Nursing Education in Video allows searches and browses powered by Semantic Indexing and searchable transcripts synchronized to video. The collection features full videos, rather than just short clips, providing for the most comprehensive nursing education video collection ever assembled.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Alexander Street Press
Top-pick PsycInfo 1887-Current Citations or Abstracts Top-pick

Covers scholarly literature in all aspects of psychology and related fields.

Materials are selected from more than 1,300 journals published in 50 countries and 28 languages.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost
Web of Science 1965-current Citations or Abstracts

Citation Indexes for finding articles that cite a given author or citation.

  • Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present)
  • Science Citation Index Expanded (1965-present)
  • Social Sciences Citation Index (1965-present)

Access: Proxy Vendor: ISI

 

Last Updated May 29, 2014

QR Code URL for Mobile Devices