University of Central Florida Libraries
4/24/2014
http://library.ucf.edu/
UCF Website University of Central Florida Libraries
Log in now

Exceptional Education

Sections

Icon Key

  • Books Books.
  • Brief Information Brief Information.
  • Citations or Abstracts Citations or Abstracts.
  • Full Text Full Text.
  • Government Resources Government Resources.
  • Journals Journals.
  • Top-pick Top-pick.
  • Webpage Webpage.

*Best Resources

Education Full Text 1983-Current Citations or Abstracts Full Text

Education Full Text brings you comprehensive coverage of an international range of English-language periodicals, monographs and yearbooks. With full text of articles, with indexing cover to cover, from hundreds of journals coverage includes about 79 journals (37 with full text) not covered by ERICs CIJE. Previous vendor was Wilson.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost
Top-pick ERIC - EBSCOhost 1966-Current Books Citations or Abstracts Full Text Government Resources Journals Top-pick

ERIC is most complete index to articles and reports on educational topics.

ERIC is available from several database vendors. UCF students are advised to use ERIC in EBSCOhost, which provides many links to full text and allows users to search multiple education databases simultaneously. Users who are not UCF students are advised to use ERIC from DOE because no login is required.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

Collects, screens, and identifies studies of the effectiveness of educational interventions. By DOE.

Access: Free

Additional Resources for Graduate Students

Indexing and full text of to U.S. dissertations and thesis. Search by author, title, school, year, and discipline. Full text available for most dissertations granted from 1997 forward. From 1980 forward, citations include a 350-word abstract. Citations for master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ProQuest
Web of Science 1965-current Citations or Abstracts

Citation Indexes for finding articles that cite a given author or citation.

  • Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present)
  • Science Citation Index Expanded (1965-present)
  • Social Sciences Citation Index (1965-present)

Access: Proxy Vendor: ISI

Catalog of library collections from the U.S. and around the world.

The world's most comprehensive bibliography, with 36 million records for books and material in 370 languages and covering information from 4,000 years of knowledge.

Access: Proxy Vendor: FirstSearch

Legal Aspects/Law Cases

Full text of news and legal sources, as well as company and industry data. See the LexisNexis Academic Research Guide for tips and information.

Limited coverage of business and health administration news. Sources include newspapers, wire services, magazines, SEC filings, law cases, state and federal codes, law review journals, and reference works.

Access: Proxy Vendor: LexisNexis

Other Resources

Offers directories of schools and colleges by district and name along with press releases, publications, statistics, and employment opportunities. By Florida DOE.

Access: Free

Premier encyclopedia for behavioral and social sciences.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Elsevier

CSA Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Proquest
MEDLINE - EBSCOhost 1966-Current Citations or Abstracts Full Text

MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine with the capability to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

Information about and reviews of English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas. MMY provides coverage from Volume 9 to the present.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

Primary government agency for collecting and analyzing educational data for the U.S. and its comparison to those of other countries.

Access: Free Vendor: NCES

Provides a highly specialized collection of hundreds of full text journals, designed for professional educators.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

Reports policies on federal financial aid for education, collects and disseminates research, focuses national attention on key educational issues, and promotes equal access to education. By the DOE.

Access: Free

Psychological/Behavioral Aspects

Top-pick PsycInfo 1887-Current Citations or Abstracts Top-pick

Covers scholarly literature in all aspects of psychology and related fields.

Materials are selected from more than 1,300 journals published in 50 countries and 28 languages.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

Social Aspects

Covers hundreds of core periodicals in the fields of anthropology, economics, geography, law and criminology, political science, social work, sociology, and international relations. Previous vendor was Wilson.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost
Sociological Abstracts 1952-Current Citations or Abstracts

Covers the literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences, with abstracts of journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Proquest

 

Last Updated February 05, 2014

QR Code URL for Mobile Devices