University of Central Florida Libraries
5/23/2012
http://library.ucf.edu/
UCF Website University of Central Florida Libraries
Log in now

Environmental Sciences

Sections

Icon Key

  • Citations or Abstracts Citations or Abstracts.
  • Full Text Full Text.
  • Government Resources Government Resources.
  • Journals Journals.
  • Webpage Webpage.

*Best Resources

Abstracts and citations are drawn from over 6000+ serials including scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications. Old Interface.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Proquest

Other Resources

All aspects of marine, freshwater and brackish water organisms and environments are examined, including information on biology and ecology of aquatic organisms, exploitation of living resources and related legal, policy and socioeconomic issues.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ProQuest

This database is the only abstracts journal devoted exclusively to research and policy on the contamination of oceans, seas, lakes, rivers and estuaries. ASFA 3 contains information that will prove essential to specialists who deal in any capacity with aquatic environments and marine pollution problems, including biologists, oceanographers, limnologists, environmental engineers and scientists, industrial engineers, waste managers, corporate regulatory affairs managers and government officials.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ProQuest

This specialized database specifically selects its widely dispersed aquaculture-related information by focusing on studies related to improving and augmenting aquatic yields.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ProQuest

A database that assembles the findings from investigations on increased production of seafood, in the development of new therapeutic drugs, in the engineering of microbes that digest and remove environmental and marine pollutants and in launching myriad ventures having immense economic benefit.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ProQuest

ASFA 1 provides extensive coverage of basic and applied research on aquatic organisms.

Access: Proxy Vendor: CSA

Indexing of life science and biomedical research literature. Also available on [Ovid http://library.ucf.edu/Web/purl.asp?pid=960] from 1985-2007.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost
BioOne 2000-Current Citations or Abstracts

Full-texts of high-impact bioscience research journals, an innovative collaboration between scientific societies, libraries, academe and the private sector.

Access: Proxy Vendor: BioOne
Access: Proxy Vendor: CSA

This database provides citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world. Subject emphasis since 1995 has been in the life sciences, environmental sciences and the aquatic sciences, while older material also covers physics, engineering and materials science.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Proquest
Ecology Abstracts 1982-Current Citations or Abstracts

This database is the essence of current ecology research across a wide range of disciplines, reflecting recent advances in light of growing evidence regarding global environmental change and destruction. Included are relevant papers on evolutionary biology, economics and systems analysis as they relate to ecosystems or the environment.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ProQuest
Entomology Abstracts 1981-Current Citations or Abstracts

From the most ancient fossilized forms to newly-discovered species, Entomology Abstracts gathers and summarizes all the latest information on millions of insects and insect-like species, for truly global coverage of the field.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ProQuest

Links to programs and activities of particular interest to K-14 environmental education students and teachers. University of Arizona.

Access: Free

Environmental Engineering Abstracts covers the world literature pertaining to technological and engineering aspects of air and water quality, environmental safety, and energy production.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ProQuest

Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) are documents that help the government and the general public understand the effects of developments on the environment and to decide whether developments should go ahead. Air transportation, defense programs, parks, refuges, forests - reports.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Proquest
GeoRef 1785-Current Citations or Abstracts

This database, established by the American Geological Institute (AGI) in 1966, provides access to the geoscience literature of the world. GeoRef is the most comprehensive AGI database in the geosciences and continues to grow by more than 100,000 references a year. The database contains over 3 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. Old Interface.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Proquest

Offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment, its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on: global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

explores human population and demography topics, as well as societal issues involving natural resource management. now part of CSA Scientific database.

Access: Proxy Vendor: CSA
Oceanic Abstracts 1981-Current Citations or Abstracts

The database focuses on marine biology and physical oceanography, fisheries, aquaculture, non-living resources, meteorology and geology, plus environmental, technological, and legislative topics. Old Interface.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Proquest
Plant Science 1994-Current Citations or Abstracts

Plant Science is a bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts of scientific literature on plant science, focussing on all plant scientific aspects, especially on pathology, symbiosis, biochemistry, genetics, biotechnology, techniques and environmental biology.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ProQuest
Pollution Abstracts 1981-Current Citations or Abstracts

This database combines information on scientific research and government policies in a single resource and provides fast access to the environmental information necessary to resolve day-to-day problems, ensure ongoing compliance and handle emergency situations more effectively.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ProQuest

ProQuest Deep Indexing provides searching of indexed figures, tables, graphs, maps, charts and other illustrations from scholarly journals.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ProQuest

ProQuest Deep Indexing provides searching of indexed figures, tables, graphs, maps, charts and other illustrations from scholarly journals.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ProQuest
Risk Abstracts 1990-Current Citations or Abstracts

Risk Abstracts encompasses risk arising from industrial, technological, environmental, and other sources, with an emphasis on assessment and management of risk.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ProQuest
TOXLINE 1994-Current Citations or Abstracts

TOXLINE on this service offers rapid access to information in all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants, and mutagens.

Access: Proxy Vendor: CSA

Water Resources Abstracts provides summaries of the world's technical and scientific literature on water-related topics covering the characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use and management of water resources.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Proquest
Web of Science 1965-current Citations or Abstracts

Citation Indexes for finding articles that cite a given author or citation.

  • Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present)
  • Science Citation Index Expanded (1965-present)
  • Social Sciences Citation Index (1965-present)

Access: Proxy Vendor: ISI

 

Last Updated May 16, 2012

QR Code URL for Mobile Devices