University of Central Florida Libraries
9/1/2014
http://library.ucf.edu/
UCF Website University of Central Florida Libraries
Login now

English Literature

Sections

Icon Key

  • Books Books.
  • Brief Information Brief Information.
  • Citations or Abstracts Citations or Abstracts.
  • Data Data.
  • Full Text Full Text.
  • Images Images.
  • Journals Journals.
  • Top-pick Top-pick.
  • Webpage Webpage.

*Best Resources

offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. The indexed materials coverage is international and includes almost 60 titles from JSTOR's language and literature collection as well as links to full text.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

Children's Literature

Other Resources

An inventory of publications in post-secondary composition, rhetoric, technical writing, ESL, and discourse studies.

Access: Free Vendor: ComPile

Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online provides authoritative information while placing writers in the larger perspective of literary history. This one-stop resource provides access to all volumes of the Dictionary of Literary Biography series (more than 360 vols.), the Dictionary of Literary Biography Documentary Series (19 vols.) and the Dictionary of Literary Biography Yearbook (23 vols.) a total of more than 400 volumes and 185,000 pages.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale

Essay and General Literature Index is a bibliographic database that cites essays and articles contained in collections of essays and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada. Previous vendor was Wilson.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

Full text of 1000+ core research journals from the year of their inception, many dating back to the early 1900's, JSTOR offers high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated.

Access: Proxy Vendor: JSTOR

Extensive directory of academic literary resources on the web. By Jack Lynch, Rutgers University.

Access: Free
Literature Criticism Online Inception-Current Books Full Text

Excerpts and full text of articles and essays providing critical discussion of authors and their works.

  • Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism
  • Contemporary Literary Criticism
  • Drama Criticism
  • Literature Criticism 1400-1800
  • Nineteenth Century Literary Criticism
  • Poetry Criticism
  • Shakespearean Criticism
  • Short Story Criticism
  • Twentieth Century Literary Criticism

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale

Information on literary figures from all time periods of writing in such genres as fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, journalism, and more. Includes the Dictionary Of Literary Biography.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale

Covering world literature and authors throughout history, LitFinder contains over 150,000 full-text poems and 800,000+ poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale/FEL

Critical analyses and brief plot summaries of the most studied works in the history of literature. This database includes the literary works, critical analyses and plot summaries that are included in MagillOnLiterature, as well as all the biographies and author essays included in MagillOnAuthors.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

The definitive dictionary and record of 1000 years of the English language with present-day meanings and histories of individual words traced through quotations, from literature, periodicals, and specialist sources. Also available in print. Main Library Reference -- PE1625.M7 1989.

Access: Vendor: OUP

Database of play citations as well as literature and poems. To search Play Finder, Search in LitFinder and set the Type of Work to Play.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale/FEL

Indexes 800,000 well-known, anthologized poems, plays and literature. To search Poem Finder, Search in LitFinder and set the Type of Work to Poem.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale/FEL
Project Muse Full Text Journals
Access: Proxy Vendor: John Hopkins U

Full-text short stories plus explanations, biographies, pictures and more. Part of [/Web/purl.asp?pid=112 LitFinder}

Access: Proxy Vendor: Roth

Primary Sources-Articles and Books

A full text collection of American magazines and journals. This collection contains digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals that originated between 1741, and 1900.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Proquest
British Periodicals 1766-Current Full Text Images Journals

Full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Proquest

Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ProQuest
Evans Digital 1639-1800 Full Text

Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 consists of more than 37,000 books, pamphlets and broadsides.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Newsbank

Full text of Pre-Victorian early modern women's writing.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Brown U

 

Last Updated August 11, 2014

QR Code URL for Mobile Devices