University of Central Florida Libraries
10/23/2014
http://library.ucf.edu/
UCF Website University of Central Florida Libraries
Login now

Art Education

Sections

Icon Key

  • Books Books.
  • Brief Information Brief Information.
  • Citations or Abstracts Citations or Abstracts.
  • Full Text Full Text.
  • Government Resources Government Resources.
  • Images Images.
  • Journals Journals.
  • Top-pick Top-pick.
  • Webpage Webpage.

*Best Resources

Education Full Text 1983-Current Citations or Abstracts Full Text

Education Full Text brings you comprehensive coverage of an international range of English-language periodicals, monographs and yearbooks. With full text of articles, with indexing cover to cover, from hundreds of journals coverage includes about 79 journals (37 with full text) not covered by ERICs CIJE. Previous vendor was Wilson.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost
Top-pick ERIC - EBSCOhost 1966-Current Books Citations or Abstracts Full Text Government Resources Journals Top-pick

ERIC is most complete index to articles and reports on educational topics.

ERIC is available from several database vendors. UCF students are advised to use ERIC in EBSCOhost, which provides many links to full text and allows users to search multiple education databases simultaneously. Users who are not UCF students are advised to use ERIC from DOE because no login is required.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

Additional Resources for Graduate Students

Indexing and full text of to U.S. dissertations and thesis. Search by author, title, school, year, and discipline. Full text available for most dissertations granted from 1997 forward. From 1980 forward, citations include a 350-word abstract. Citations for master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ProQuest
Web of Science 1965-current Citations or Abstracts

Citation Indexes for finding articles that cite a given author or citation.

  • Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present)
  • Science Citation Index Expanded (1965-present)
  • Social Sciences Citation Index (1965-present)

Access: Proxy Vendor: ISI

Catalog of library collections from the U.S. and around the world.

The world's most comprehensive bibliography, with 36 million records for books and material in 370 languages and covering information from 4,000 years of knowledge.

Access: Proxy Vendor: FirstSearch

Art Resources

Art Full Text 1929-Current Citations or Abstracts Full Text

This database offers full text plus abstracts and indexing of peer-selected publications with expanded coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian and other non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism. Full-text coverage for selected periodicals is also included. Previous vendor was Wilson.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

Citation index of the leading arts and humanities journals. Part of Web of Science

Access: Proxy Vendor: ISI

A digital library of approximately 550,000 images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences for research and pedagogical purposes.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ARTstor

Indexes literature of art, including books, exhibition catalogs, dissertations.

Covering European and American visual arts from late antiquity to the present. Encompasses the fine arts as well as decorative and applied arts.

Access: Free Vendor: Getty

Comprehensive encyclopedia on every aspect of the visual arts.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Oxford

Biographies/People

Enables users to locate biographical entries contained in more than 1,000 volumes and editions of important current and retrospective biographical reference sources.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale

Biography Resource Center combines Gale biographies with related full-text articles from magazines and newspapers, thousands images, and links to vetted websites.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale

Featuring retrospective coverage from Biography Index back to its first publication in 1946, it combines retrospective coverage with current indexing. Previous vendor was Wilson.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

Legal Aspects/Law Cases

Full text of news and legal sources, as well as company and industry data. See the LexisNexis Academic Research Guide for tips and information.

Limited coverage of business and health administration news. Sources include newspapers, wire services, magazines, SEC filings, law cases, state and federal codes, law review journals, and reference works.

Access: Proxy Vendor: LexisNexis

Other Resources

Indexing and full text of articles for array of scholarly and popular topics.

Provides full text for over 4,600 scholarly journals, including nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

Provides a highly specialized collection of hundreds of full text journals, designed for professional educators.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, affordable and user-friendly online access to over 300+ high quality humanities and social sciences journals from over 60 scholarly publishers.

Access: Proxy Vendor: John Hopkins U

Collects, screens, and identifies studies of the effectiveness of educational interventions. By DOE.

Access: Free

Psychological/Behavioral Aspects

Top-pick PsycInfo 1887-Current Citations or Abstracts Top-pick

Covers scholarly literature in all aspects of psychology and related fields.

Materials are selected from more than 1,300 journals published in 50 countries and 28 languages.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

Social Aspects

Covers hundreds of core periodicals in the fields of anthropology, economics, geography, law and criminology, political science, social work, sociology, and international relations. Previous vendor was Wilson.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost
Sociological Abstracts 1952-Current Citations or Abstracts

Covers the literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences, with abstracts of journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Proquest

 

Last Updated February 05, 2014

QR Code URL for Mobile Devices