University of Central Florida Libraries
8/30/2014
http://library.ucf.edu/
UCF Website University of Central Florida Libraries
Login now

Reference Sources

Sections

Icon Key

  • Books Books.
  • Brief Information Brief Information.
  • Citations or Abstracts Citations or Abstracts.
  • Data Data.
  • Full Text Full Text.
  • Images Images.
  • Journals Journals.
  • Top-pick Top-pick.
  • Webpage Webpage.

The collections, dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference sources below are general. More specialized reference sources can be found on subject pages and research guides. In addition, the Electronic Books: Reference page links to individual reference books.

*Best Resources

Artemis is a research experience that unites Gale's digital archives and reference collections. By building a research environment for multiple collections, Gale is creating the largest digital humanities and social sciences collection in the world.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale

Includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, and a range of subject-specific titles covering everything from art to accountancy and literature to law.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Credo Reference

Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale/FEL

Search across Oxford's digital academic content, including:
Digital Reference Shelf
Oxford Art Online
Oxford Handbooks Online
Oxford Journals
Oxford Music Online
Oxford Reference Online
Oxford Scholarship Online

Access: Proxy Vendor: Oxford

Full text reference resources including encyclopedias, dictionaries, directories, handbooks, thesauri and more.

Access: Proxy Vendor: NetLibrary

Indexes of more than 40,000 electronic and print reference works.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Paratext

Biographies/People

Biographies of over 30,000 African-Americans from Chadwyck-Healey’s acclaimed Black Biographical Dictionaries 1790-1950.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Chadwyck-Healy

Enables users to locate biographical entries contained in more than 1,000 volumes and editions of important current and retrospective biographical reference sources.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale

Biography Resource Center combines Gale biographies with related full-text articles from magazines and newspapers, thousands images, and links to vetted websites.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale

Featuring retrospective coverage from Biography Index back to its first publication in 1946, it combines retrospective coverage with current indexing. Previous vendor was Wilson.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

Dictionaries

Access: Free Vendor: Britannica

The definitive dictionary and record of 1000 years of the English language with present-day meanings and histories of individual words traced through quotations, from literature, periodicals, and specialist sources. Also available in print. Main Library Reference -- PE1625.M7 1989.

Access: Vendor: OUP

Directories

Directory of community services and resources.

Access: Free Vendor: 211

CollegeSource Online features over 13,624 College Catalogs in complete cover-to-cover, original page format representing 2-year, 4-year, graduate and professional schools.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Career Guidance Foundation

Full text directories:

  • Awards, Honors & Prizes
  • Directories in Print
  • Directory of Special Libraries and Information Centers
  • Encyclopedia of Associations
  • Gale Directory of Databases
  • Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media
  • Government Research Directory
  • International Research Centers Directory
  • Publishers Directory
  • Research Centers Directory
  • Ward's Business Directory

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale

Encyclopedias

Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia database indexes over 25,000 records, covering an array of topics.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

Miscellaneous

World Almanac 1868-Current Books Brief Information Full Text

Funk & Wagnalls New Encyclopedia and four almanacs offers a fundamental reference source for students, library patrons, library reference staff, and scholars alike, includes biographies, encyclopedia entries, facts, statistics.

Access: Proxy Vendor: FirstSearch

Publications & Publishers

Prices, frequency of publication, addresses, phone and fax numbers, e-mail and Web addresses for journals, magazines, newspapers, and other periodicals worldwide. Indicates available formats, intended audience, special features and indexing/abstracting services coverage. Formerly named Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory

Access: Proxy Vendor: Bowker

 

Last Updated August 11, 2014

QR Code URL for Mobile Devices