University of Central Florida Libraries
9/2/2014
http://library.ucf.edu/
UCF Website University of Central Florida Libraries
Login now

Hospitality

Sections

Icon Key

  • Books Books.
  • Citations or Abstracts Citations or Abstracts.
  • Data Data.
  • Full Text Full Text.
  • Government Resources Government Resources.
  • Journals Journals.
  • Top-pick Top-pick.
  • Webpage Webpage.

Listed below are some of the most commonly used databases for Hospitality topics. For more assistance, please refer to our Rosen Library Research Guides or contact us.

*Best Resources

Scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. This collection contains more than 828,000 records, with coverage dating as far back as 1965. There is full text for more than 490 publications, including periodicals, company & country reports, and books.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

Leisure Tourism Database is the leading database on leisure, tourism, hospitality and recreation information.

Access: Proxy Vendor: CABI

Business/Management Aspects

Top-pick ABI/INFORM Complete 1971-Current Full Text Journals Top-pick

Business, Management and trade - scholarly and trade journal articles, dissertations, market reports, industry reports, business news.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ProQuest

Wilson Business Full Text is a full text database that indexes and abstracts articles from English-language periodicals published in the United States and elsewhere, including the leading business magazines and trade and research journals, plus the full text of selected periodicals. Previous vendor was Wilson

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

Citations to articles in business and related fields.

Covers management, economics, finance, banking, investment, and related fields. Full text included for nearly 260 journals.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost
EconLit 1886-Current Citations or Abstracts Full Text

Citations and abstracts to articles from more than 400 economics journals, covering , capital markets, econometrics, economic forecasting, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

Analyze company performance and activity, industry events and trends as well as the latest in management, economics and politics.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale/FEL

Company/Industry Research

Industry financial ratios and market statistics for US and local regions. Bizminer is provided to all UCF student to help them better assess the viability of their entrepreneurial ideas and innovations. It is funded by the College of Business Administration.

Access: Proxy Vendor: BizMiner

Company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies, and periodicals articles covering company and industry news. "Formerly Business and Company Resource Center"

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale

Company profiles, brief financials, history, competitors, and more.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Mergent

A collection of Industry Market Research. All users must register for a personal account to access IBISworld.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Ibis

Company Dossier is part of LexisNexis Academic business information solutions including: legal, corporate, government, law enforcement, tax, accounting, academic, and risk and compliance assessment.

Access: Proxy Vendor: LexisNexis

Some MarketLine reports are available in Business Source Premier.
Select the "Enhanced Business Searching Interface" and browse or search the Industry Profiles.
MarketLine offers a collection of company, industry, financial, product and country information, research and data extending across every major marketplace and industry.

Formerly called Datamonitor 360. (Formerly: MarketLine Business Information Center, MBIC and Datamonitor 360)

Access: Proxy Vendor: Datamonitor
Access: Proxy Vendor: Mintel

Reports and information about companies, industries, and stocks, includin: Daily Price Record; Industry Surveys; S&P500; Compustat Excel Analytics; and Screeners for Advanced Stock, Private Companies, Mutual Funds and Corporate Bonds

Access: Proxy Vendor: S&P

Statistics, market research, and publications on sports business, sales, and participation.

Access: Proxy Vendor: SBR

Company and industry reports and financial data.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Value Line

Education Aspects

Education Full Text 1983-Current Citations or Abstracts Full Text

Education Full Text brings you comprehensive coverage of an international range of English-language periodicals, monographs and yearbooks. With full text of articles, with indexing cover to cover, from hundreds of journals coverage includes about 79 journals (37 with full text) not covered by ERICs CIJE. Previous vendor was Wilson.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost
Top-pick ERIC - EBSCOhost 1966-Current Books Citations or Abstracts Full Text Government Resources Journals Top-pick

ERIC is most complete index to articles and reports on educational topics.

ERIC is available from several database vendors. UCF students are advised to use ERIC in EBSCOhost, which provides many links to full text and allows users to search multiple education databases simultaneously. Users who are not UCF students are advised to use ERIC from DOE because no login is required.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

Legal Aspects/Law Cases

Full text of news and legal sources, as well as company and industry data. See the LexisNexis Academic Research Guide for tips and information.

Limited coverage of business and health administration news. Sources include newspapers, wire services, magazines, SEC filings, law cases, state and federal codes, law review journals, and reference works.

Access: Proxy Vendor: LexisNexis

Other Resources

Indexing and full text of articles for array of scholarly and popular topics.

Provides full text for over 4,600 scholarly journals, including nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

Indexing and full text of to U.S. dissertations and thesis. Search by author, title, school, year, and discipline. Full text available for most dissertations granted from 1997 forward. From 1980 forward, citations include a 350-word abstract. Citations for master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ProQuest

A program to help you organize citations and generate a bibliography.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ISI

Orlando-area business news and the Orlando Book of List and access to other regional publications from Bizjournals.
Provided by UCF's SGA, SDES, COB, and Career Services in partnership with the Orlando Business Journal.

Access: Purchased by students. Vendor: Bizjournals
Orlando Sentinel 1985-Current Full Text

Complete full-text content of Orlando and regional news. See also Access World News for NewsBank access to the Orlando Sentinel and other news sources. Classifieds and advertisements are excluded.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ProQuest

A web-based tool to organize citations and generate bibliographies in MLA, APA, Chicago, or other formats.. See our RefWorks Guide for more information.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ProQuest

Mapping application that enables users to develop interactive thematic maps and reports using thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variables.

Create a SimplyMap account if you wish to save your work access other user account features, or click "Create Temporary Account" to use the service without registering.
NOTE: Some data in "Health Care" module may be inaccurate. Please verify with other sources. more info
5 Concurrent users.

Access: Proxy Vendor: GeographicResearch

Use this database to search thousands of college and graduate school entries, identify scholarships that meet financial needs, take on-line practice tests and use test prep eBooks to obtain your education goals.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale

Catalog of library collections from the U.S. and around the world.

The world's most comprehensive bibliography, with 36 million records for books and material in 370 languages and covering information from 4,000 years of knowledge.

Access: Proxy Vendor: FirstSearch

Psychological/Behavioral Aspects

Top-pick PsycInfo 1887-Current Citations or Abstracts Top-pick

Covers scholarly literature in all aspects of psychology and related fields.

Materials are selected from more than 1,300 journals published in 50 countries and 28 languages.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost
Sociological Abstracts 1952-Current Citations or Abstracts

Covers the literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences, with abstracts of journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Proquest

 

Last Updated July 21, 2014

QR Code URL for Mobile Devices