University of Central Florida Libraries
9/30/2014
http://library.ucf.edu/
UCF Website University of Central Florida Libraries
Login now

History

Sections

Icon Key

  • Audio Audio.
  • Books Books.
  • Citations or Abstracts Citations or Abstracts.
  • Data Data.
  • Full Text Full Text.
  • Government Resources Government Resources.
  • Images Images.
  • Journals Journals.
  • Top-pick Top-pick.
  • Video Video.
  • Webpage Webpage.

*Best Resources

History of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Old Interface.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

An international not-for-profit consortium of colleges, universities and libraries.

Access: Proxy Vendor: CRL
Historical Abstracts 1955-Current Citations or Abstracts

Indexes over 2000 journals covering the history of the world from 1450 to the present. interface.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost
NCCO 1800-1899 Books Citations or Abstracts Full Text Images Journals
Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale

Primary Sources-Archives and Documents

This database contains more than 3,000 items, including correspondence, photographs, early release fliers, full issues of rare periodicals, sheet music and movie star ephemera. It includes complete copies of more than 250 Academy publications,From the founding of the organization in 1927 todate, providing access to significant items including selections from the Alfred Hitchcock papers and the Cecil B. DeMille photographs, as well as the annual Academy Awards programs.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Free

American History in Video provides 2,000 hours and more than 5,000 titles on video. The collection allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and their presentation over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries. This release now provides 6,005 titles, equaling approximately 1617 hours.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Alexander Street Press

Primary source material on many aspects of early American history from 1789 to 1838.

Includes Congressional and Executive Department materials related to: Foreign Relations, Indian Affairs, Finance, Commerce and Navigation, Military Affairs, Naval Affairs, Post-office Department, Public Lands, Claims, and Various Other Topics.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Newsbank

Photographs from as early as 1840's and other graphics spanning over 160 years of history. Includes a small selection of recent sound clips.

Access: Proxy Vendor: AccuWeather

Descriptions of primary source materials collections of historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and other content in archive and special collections in libraries, museums and historical societies.

Access: Free Vendor: OCLC

Digital collection of historical content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, literature and culture.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

An international not-for-profit consortium of colleges, universities and libraries.

Access: Proxy Vendor: CRL

A unique digital collection of material contributed by partner institutions.

Access: Free Vendor: CFM

Reports, Documents, and Journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, constituting a rich source of primary material on all aspects of American history.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Newsbank

Identifies publications housed in the Florida Documents Collection at Florida Atlantic University (FAU).

Access: Free Vendor: FCLA

Provides links and information about government resources, many of which are freely accessible via the Web.

Access: Free Vendor: UCF

Documents covering the most significant events of the year, these range from presidential speeches, international agreements, and Supreme Court decisions to U.S. governmental reports, scientific findings, and cultural discussions.

Access: Proxy Vendor: CQ

a compendium of statistics from over 1000 sources last updated in 1975, has been expanded to include over 37,000 data series and dozens of new topics, among them slavery, American Indians, and poverty.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Cambridge

Previously called History Resource Center: US.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale

An index of almost 4,000 collections of personal narratives in English from around the world including letters, diaries, and oral histories.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Alexander Street Press

Nineteenth Century Collections Online: includes tens of thousands of primary sources during the nineteenth century. The archive includes a range of rare works that offer new avenues for research. The archive includes a variety of content types; monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale

Publication of Archival, Library & Museum Materials (PALMM) is a cooperative initiative of the public universities of Florida to provide digital access to important source materials for research and scholarship relevant to the students, research community, and general citizenry of Florida.

Access: Free Vendor: FCLA

Primary Sources-Articles and Books

See Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO), Parts I and II.

Access: Proxy

A full text collection of American magazines and journals. This collection contains digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals that originated between 1741, and 1900.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Proquest
British Periodicals 1766-Current Full Text Images Journals

Full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Proquest

Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ProQuest

Full text and digitized images of books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and other works published in the UK during the 18th. Based on the English Short Title Catalogue.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale

A Chronological Guide to Works Printed in Europe Relating to the Americas, 1493-1750.

The database contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. It covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of Native American peoples.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost
Evans Digital 1639-1800 Full Text

Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 consists of more than 37,000 books, pamphlets and broadsides.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Newsbank

The 56 years of Harper's Weekly provide a continuous record of what happened on a weekly basis from 1857 through 1912. The first segment includes the Civil War Era: 1857-1865. The next two cover Reconstruction: 1866-1871 and 1872-1877. The last six encompass the Gilded Age: 1878-1912.

Access: Proxy Vendor: HarpWeek
National Geographic 1888-Current Books Full Text Images Journals Video

A complete archive of National Geographic magazine containing every page of every issue in full color along with a cross-searchable collection of National Geographic books, maps, images and videos

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale

Sabin features American and European views of the history of the Americas from the American Revolution thru the Gilded Age. Using published pamphlets, tracts, memoirs, congressional legislation, correspondence, broadsides, biographies, histories, fiction and poetry, eulogies, sermons and innumerable other genres.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale
Vogue Archive 1892-Current Full Text Images Journals

The Vogue Archive contains the full run of Vogue magazine (US edition), from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included, with indexing enabling you to find images by garment type, designer and brand names.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Proquest

Primary Sources-Newspapers

Indexes the University of Florida student newspaper from 1984-1991.

Access: Free Vendor: FCLA

Identifies Florida newspapers for which the UCF Library has available.

Access: Free Vendor: UCF

Indexing is limited to Northeast Florida regional news.

Access: Free Vendor: FCLA
Index to the Times 1906-1980 Citations or Abstracts

Short index entries from the 296 printed volumes of the Official Index to the London Times which covers the years 1906-1980 inclusive.

Access: Proxy Vendor: FCLA
Los Angeles Times 1985-Current Full Text

Full-text articles from the Los Angeles Times.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ProQuest

Complete text and images of the New York Times.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ProQuest

List newspapers available on microfilm in the UCF Library, as well as links to other news resources.

Access: Free Vendor: UCF
Orlando Sentinel 1985-Current Full Text

Complete full-text content of Orlando and regional news. See also Access World News for NewsBank access to the Orlando Sentinel and other news sources. Classifieds and advertisements are excluded.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ProQuest

A collection of short index entries from the 296 printed volumes of the Official Index to the London Times which covers the years 1906-1980 inclusive.

Access: Proxy Vendor: FCLA
Wall Street Journal 1984-Current Full Text

Financial newspaper of record offering in-depth coverage of national and international finance.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ProQuest
Washington Post 1987-Current Full Text

Full-text articles from the Washington Post.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ProQuest

Secondary Sources-Articles and Books

The ACD covers international, internal, and terrorist conflicts, providing a comprehensive and historical background for each conflict, weekly timelines, statistics, data and reports back to 1997. Users can generate reports and download data as well as browse year-by-year analyses and fact sheets. 4 users may access the database at a time.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Taylor and Francis

A collection of over 55,000 books in full text, including both current and classic works.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

Full text of a small collection of scholarly books in history and social studies.

Gutenberg-e has traditional narrative with digitized primary sources, including maps, photographs, and oral histories.

Access: Free Vendor: Columbia U

Indexing to journals, conferences, books, and dissertations in the history of science, technology, medicine.

Access: Proxy Vendor: FirstSerach
Humanities Full Text 1984-Current Citations or Abstracts Full Text

Humanities Full Text contains full text plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as lesser-known but important specialized magazines. Previous vendor was Wilson.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

A collection of electronic resources relevant to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).

Access: Proxy Vendor: Iter

Full text of 1000+ core research journals from the year of their inception, many dating back to the early 1900's, JSTOR offers high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated.

Access: Proxy Vendor: JSTOR

Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, affordable and user-friendly online access to over 300+ high quality humanities and social sciences journals from over 60 scholarly publishers.

Access: Proxy Vendor: John Hopkins U

The Social Sciences Citation Index is a multidisciplinary citation index to the journal literature of the social sciences. Part of Web of Science.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ISI

Covers hundreds of core periodicals in the fields of anthropology, economics, geography, law and criminology, political science, social work, sociology, and international relations. Previous vendor was Wilson.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

Secondary Sources-Biography

Biographies of over 30,000 African-Americans from Chadwyck-Healey’s acclaimed Black Biographical Dictionaries 1790-1950.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Chadwyck-Healy

Enables users to locate biographical entries contained in more than 1,000 volumes and editions of important current and retrospective biographical reference sources.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale

Biography Resource Center combines Gale biographies with related full-text articles from magazines and newspapers, thousands images, and links to vetted websites.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale

Featuring retrospective coverage from Biography Index back to its first publication in 1946, it combines retrospective coverage with current indexing. Previous vendor was Wilson.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

Secondary Sources-Other

Indexing and full text of to U.S. dissertations and thesis. Search by author, title, school, year, and discipline. Full text available for most dissertations granted from 1997 forward. From 1980 forward, citations include a 350-word abstract. Citations for master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ProQuest

Links for history, newsletter, book reviews.

Access: Free

Photogrammar is a web-based platform for organizing, searching, and visualizing the 170,000 photographs from 1935 to 1945 created by the United State’s Farm Security Administration and Office of War Information (FSA-OWI).

Access: Free

A collection of documentaries that allow students and researchers to explore human history from the earliest civilizations to the late twentieth century.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Alexander Street Press

Catalog of library collections from the U.S. and around the world.

The world's most comprehensive bibliography, with 36 million records for books and material in 370 languages and covering information from 4,000 years of knowledge.

Access: Proxy Vendor: FirstSearch

 

Last Updated September 03, 2014

QR Code URL for Mobile Devices