University of Central Florida Libraries
8/20/2014
http://library.ucf.edu/
UCF Website University of Central Florida Libraries
Login now

Education Web Sites

Adult Learning

Assessment of literacy among adults (ages 16 and up) living in U.S. households and prisons.

Access: Free

Improves practices and informs teaching in the educational programs that serve adults with limited literacy and English language skills, and those without a high school diploma, as well as increased the research base on adult learning and literacy. By NCSALL.

Access: Free

Applied Learning & Instruction

Educational issues, states, policies at all levels of education

Access: Proxy

Service learning FAQ’s, topics A-Z, and resources to support service learning.

Access: Proxy

Curriculum guide for work based competency development, employment search and interview techniques.

Access: Proxy

Art Education

Links divided by period. By Sweet Briar College.

Access: Free

Award Winning, Highly Recommended Art Lesson Plans and Art Education Website for Teachers, Parents, Scouts, and Group Leaders. Free Art Resources, Art Projects, Art Expert Advice, Teacher Exchange, and More.

Access: Free

Offers free, standards-based teaching materials for use in and out of the classroom, as well as professional development resources, student materials, and guidelines for arts-based instruction and assessment.

Access: Free

Links to arts education sites, including lesson plans, activities, and curriculum resources.

Access: Free

Click on “Explore and Learn” and “Educational Resources” on the side bar for online resources

Access: Free

Assessment and Evaluation

Conducts evidence based research, provides tools, assessments, and report systems that improves assessment, evaluation, technology and learning. By UCLA.

Access: Free

Promotes the best resources and provide balanced information concerning educational assessment, evaluation and research methodology.

Access: Free

Career and Technical Education

Continues the Journal of Vocational and Technical Education. By Virgina Technical University.

Access: Free

By Virginia Technical University.

Access: Free

Chemistry Education

Divided into 4 main topics: Resource Guides, Databases,Instructional Materials, and Networking, Indiana University helps students find and use chemical information on the web.

Access: Proxy

This site provides annotated Web links to instructional materials and other resources of interest to Chemistry teachers and course designers.

Access: Proxy

Links for chemistry students and teachers.

Access: Proxy

Online courses in chemistry
Site temporarily down as of 28 January 2014.

Access: Proxy

Child Development and Education

Promotes and supports in the global community the optimal education and development of children, from birth through early adolescence, and influences the professional growth of educators and the efforts of others who are committed to the needs of children in a changing society.

Access: Proxy

To improve early childhood policy and practice focusing on children in disadvantaged circumstances.

Access: Proxy

Internet sites, organizations, lesson plans.

Access: Proxy

This site is a knowledge source designed to assist policy makers, program managers, and practitioners in their efforts to promote the healthy growth and integral development of young children.

Access: Proxy

Children's Literature

Includes reviews of great children's books, classroom activities, lesson plans, and professional topics.

Access: Free

Helps librarians, teachers, child care providers and others navigate the abundance of choices to locate the best books possible to meet their needs. By the University of Wisconsin.

Access: Free

Lists resources related to books for children. By the University of Calgary.

Access: Free

Offers abstracts of over 5000 children's picture books; search capabilities for over 950 keywords, including topics, concepts, and skills which describe each book; and weblinks for keywords so one can integrate up-to-date content knowledge with the picture book resources. By Miami University.

Access: Free

Creates a tailored reading list of quality children's literature or to find out if a book has won one of the indexed awards. By Lisa Bartle.

Access: Free

Lists essential children’s literature resources from around the globe.

Access: Free

A portal to the realm of fairy tale and folklore studies featuring 45 annotated fairy tales, including their histories, similar tales across cultures, and over 1,400 illustrations. Discover over 1,500 folk & fairy tales from around the world here.

Access: Free

Provides a place for sharing ideas and information with those interested in children’s and young adult literature.

Access: Free

Communication Sciences and Disorders

Access: Proxy

Comparative/International Education

Building a digital library of scholarly resources from and about Africa

Access: Proxy

Advances knowledge about the complex realities of higher education in the contemporary world. By Boston College.

Access: Free

Search by word or country then go to the education section. By the Library of Congress.

Access: Free

The East-West Center is an education and research organization established by the U.S. Congress in 1960 to strengthen relations and understanding among the peoples and nations of Asia, the Pacific, and the United States. The Center contributes to a peaceful, prosperous, and just Asia Pacific community by serving as a vigorous hub for cooperative research, education, and dialogue on critical issues of common concern to the Asia Pacific region and the United States.

Access: Proxy

Key facts and figures about Europe and the Europeans including education.

Access: Proxy

Services as a programs portal, provides quick links, research and resources for international education

Access: Free

Provides international benchmarks and date through comparative research and assessment projects.

Access: Free

Specializes in contents, methods and structure of education. It builds networks to share expertise on curriculum development in all regions of the world and aims to introduce modern approaches in curriculum design and implementation, improve practical skills and promote informed dialogue at regional and international levels. By UNESCO.

Access: Free

Home page for the Association of International Educators.

Access: Free

Online access to all books, periodicals and online databases published by OECD in the area of education. It includes the annual Education at a Glance, PISA reports, the TALIS reports, the journal Higher Education Management and Policy, and other new reports on education each year.

Access: Proxy Vendor: OECD

Links electronic resources from around the world. By the Library of Congress.

Access: Free

Provides official information assistance for anyone seeking information about U.S. education and for U.S. citizens seeking authoritative information about education in other countries. By USNEI.

Access: Free

Home page for all UNESCO education activities.

Access: Free

Provides bibliographic records and full-text of UNESCO documents, publications and periodicals.

Access: Free

Composition

Offers links in the categories: teaching with electronic technology, computers and writing, theory, universities, and online writing centers.

Access: Proxy

Provides a wide variety of teaching resources.

Access: Proxy

Copyright

Provides basic information and answers to frequently asked questions about copyright, publications, registrations, licensing, laws and policy.

Access: Free

Curriculum (K-12)

Includes the top 5% web sites in education.

Access: Free

Offers lesson plans created and contributed by teachers who've used them successfully in their classrooms and web-based teaching resources created as part of the ECHO projects abroad. By Columbia Education Center.

Access: Free

Offers free teaching and learning resources from federal agencies.

Access: Free

Places thousands of lesson plans and other teaching materials at your fingertips. By GEM.

Access: Free

Find peer reviewed online teaching materials, discipline expertise, and online curricula.

Access: Free

Lists sites for students, teachers and parents, grades 3-12.

Access: Free

Distance Education

Promotes the creation and provision of high quality, economical distance education programs and services to diverse audiences.

Access: Free

Brings together distance education information from Wisconsin, national, and international sources. By the University of Wisconsin.

Access: Free

Early Childhood

Develops and promotes practices designed to improve educational opportunities for all young children. By Western Illinois University.

Access: Free

Offers a comprehensive and easily searchable collection of more than 10,000 resources from the many disciplines related to child care and early education. To find the most current Reports & Papers, Fact Sheets & Briefs, Executive Summaries, Datasets, and Instruments & Measures, conduct a search or browse Recently Added Resources

Access: Free

Designed to assist policy makers, program managers, and practitioners in their efforts to promote the healthy growth and integral development of young children. By Worldbank.

Access: Free

Provides lesson plans, professional development, technology integration, administration, and school issues in early childhood education. By Education World.

Access: Free

Provides numerous learning activities on a wide variety of topics for preschool education.

Access: Free

Leads discussions, share research and information and demonstrate best practices regarding technology so it can be used to benefit children aged 0-8 years.

Access: Free

Educational Law

Provides an overview of education law, federal and state material sources, other resources and related topics.

Access: Free

Findlaw, owned by Westlaw, provides links to primary and secondary authorities, and to other law-related websites. Link is to education law subject page.

Access: Free

Covers the area of education law, student rights and the privitization movement.

Access: Free

Originally built and maintained by offices of the U.S. House, it has now been modified and hosted by successors.

Access: Free

Annotated guide to sources of information on government and law available online.

Access: Free

Educational Leadership

Helps state leaders shape policy on educational issues in the 50 states.

Access: Free

Provides information about IEL programs, resources and publications.

Access: Free

Educates academic decision makers to be leaders for sustained, integrated institutional change that significantly improves student learning.

Access: Free

Educational Media

Division of ALA that provides professional tools, conferences and events, publications and journals, electronic discussion lists, etc that relate to educational media centers.

Access: Proxy

Education in Video is the first online collection of streaming video developed specifically for training and developing teachers.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Alexander Street Press

Provides information on web pages, computer technology, and a variety of technology in educational sites.

Access: Free

Links for books, reviews, censorship, copyright, information literacy, lesson plans, and general library media information.

Access: Free

Educational Policy

The Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching is an independent policy and research center with a primary mission "to do and perform all things necessary to encourage, uphold, and dignify the profession of the teacher and the cause of higher education.

Access: Proxy

The Center for Policy Analysis conducts research and convenes researchers and policy makers to study issues of interest to ACE members, the media, and the higher education community. Current activities of the Center focus on student financial aid, demographic trends in higher education, academic preparation for college, and the college presidency, among other topics.”

Access: Proxy

CPRE unites seven of the nation's top research institutions in an effort to improve student learning through research on education reform, policy, and finance.

Access: Proxy

Helps state leaders shape policy on educational issues in the 50 states.

Access: Proxy

The work of the Center focuses on education policy, education leadership, and education advocacy. The information and activities of the Center are available to policymakers, educators, community leaders and all citizens with an interest in education policy and leadership.”

Access: Proxy

The National Center for Policy Analysis (NCPA) is a nonprofit, nonpartisan public policy research organization, established in 1983. The NCPA's goal is to develop and promote private alternatives to government regulation and control, solving problems by relying on the strength of the competitive, entrepreneurial private sector. Topics include reforms in health care, retirement, entitlement reform, taxation, economic growth, and energy and the environment.

Access: Proxy

Educational Research

Contains access to reports produced by university-based education research centers, largely funded by the U.S. Department of Education from 1995 to 2005.

Access: Proxy

Educational Technology

Supports the transformative promise of networked information technology for the advancement of scholarly communication and the enrichment of intellectual productivity.

Access: Free

Source for peer-reviewed and published articles and papers on the latest research, developments, and applications related to all aspects of Educational Technology and E-Learning

Access: Proxy

Advances higher education by promoting the intelligent use of information technology.

Access: Free

Attempts to maintain the most up-to-date information available on the topic of technology planning.

Access: Free

Informs and educates K-12 senior-level district and school administrators, technologists, and tech-savvy educators within districts, schools, and classrooms to improve and advance the learning process through the use of technology.

Access: Free

Lists resources, publications, discussions of hot topics and events on learning and technology for school teachers.

Access: Free

Provides you with informative, sometimes intimate, accounts of colleagues who have agreed to share with others their encounters with using technology in their classes. By the University of North Carolina.

Access: Free

Links to free technology tutorials for teachers.

Access: Free

Elementary Education

Promotes and supports in the global community the optimal education and development of children, from birth through early adolescence, and influences the professional growth of educators and the efforts of others who are committed to the needs of children in a changing society.

Access: Free

Five main categories of information: family/parenting, education/learning, typical child development, health/mental health, and resources/recreation. By Tufts University.

Access: Free

Provides useful and timely information that will enhance knowledge of elementary and secondary education programs and issues. By the DOE.

Access: Free

For Kids

Access: Free

Foreign Languages/ESL

Provides resources for modern foreign languages.

Access: Free

Internet's meeting place for ESL and EFL teachers and students around the world.

Access: Free

Lists internet sources for literary texts in the western European languages other than English. By ACRL.

Access: Free

Features lesson plans, teaching tips, downloads, discussion topics, and classroom resource picks.

Access: Free

Contains articles, research papers, lessons plans, classroom handouts, teaching ideas & links on English as a second language .

Access: Free

Contains links to resources for teachers and students at all levels of education.

Access: Free

Provides policy and planning for languages in the U.S. By the University of Maryland.

Access: Free

Seeks improve the nation's capacity for teaching and learning foreign languages by providing resources, research, material development and teacher training. By the University of Hawaii.

Access: Free

Offers programs and initiatives, reports and resources for children with limited English proficiency, immigrant children for a high level of attainment of the English language. By DOE.

Access: Free

Helps adults build the basic skills for life long learning.

Access: Free
TESL-EJ 1994-2006 Webpage

Peer reviewed, freely distributed academic journal for ESL.

Access: Free

2007 Teaching English as a Second or Foreign Language.

Access: Free

Lists resources for writing, grammar, vocabulary, reading, TOEFL and activities. By the University of Washington.

Access: Free

Gifted and Talented

Lists state laws, organizations, program options, statistics, and summer opportunities for Florida’s gifted students.

Access: Free

Focuses on the needs of students with exceptionally high academic abilities. By John Hopkins University.

Access: Free

Higher Education

Serves as a consensus leader on key higher education issues and seeks to influence public policy through advocacy, research, and program initiatives. By ACE.

Access: Free

Source of resources for higher education in the 21st century. By AACU.

Access: Free

Serves as a clearinghouse of information resources for improving our understanding of higher education in the US and around the world.

Access: Free

University of California’s scholarly internet site collection. Type University in the search box.

Access: Proxy

Source for news, opinion and jobs for all of higher education.

Access: Free

Promotes public policies that enhance Americans' opportunities to pursue and achieve high-quality education and training beyond high school.

Access: Free

Data and statistics related to faculty salaries, workload, retirement, higher education funding, bargaining units, etc.

Access: Proxy

Hospitality Education

Devoted to "promot[ing] the teaching of tourism, leisure and related subjects" in Eurpoe.

Access: Free

Links from the accrediting body and "global advocate of hospitality and tourism education for schools, colleges, and universities offering programs in hotel and restaurant management, foodservice management and culinary arts.

Access: Free

Links to useful resources for the hospitality industry and education. By the University of Central Florida.

Access: Free

Contains links to international schools, colleges and universities related to hospitality, culinary, restaurant, and tourism. By International Guild of Hospitality and Restaurant Managers.

Access: Free

Language Arts

Provides lesson plans and activities for language arts K-12. By Education World.

Access: Free

Designed as a national writing project for teachers.

Access: Free

Offers online handouts covering writing, research, grammar, and MLA and APA style.

Access: Free

Literature Resources

Contain essays, syllabi, bibliographies, and other resources for teaching the multiple literatures of the United States. By Georgetown University.

Access: Free

Co-op where writers, editors and scholars publish. By Iowa State University.

Access: Free

Extensive directory of academic literary resources on the web. By Jack Lynch, Rutgers University.

Access: Free

Links to Literature in English for researchers and teachers, searchable by time periods, topics, and categories. By the University California, Santa Barbara

Access: Free

Marriage and Family Therapy

Advances professional interests of marriage and family therapists.

Access: Free

Links to marriage and family resources of various types. By Trinity University.

Access: Free

Mathematics Education

Considered to be the best resources for teaching math at all levels. This space is not only for teachers, but has also been built in part by teachers. By Drexel University.

Access: Free

Links are categorized by subject. By Florida State University.

Access: Free

Provides resources and professional development opportunities for math teachers.

Access: Free

Resource list by grade range and topic.

Access: Free

Multicultural Education

Multicultural Education Lesson plans on various topics and grade levels.

Access: Proxy

Selected internet resources from Colorado State University

Access: Proxy

Provides educators with websites dealing with multicultural education.

Access: Proxy

“These are websites, that focus on more than one racial or ethnic group, or on diversity issues in general.” Compiled by Iowa State University.

Access: Proxy

“Celebrates cultural and ethnic diversity as a national strength that enriches a society and rejects the view that diversity threatens the fabric of a society. NAME believes that multicultural education promotes equity for all regardless of culture, ethnicity, race, language, age, gender, sexual orientation, belief system or exceptionality. Multicultural education enables the individual to believe in one's own intrinsic worth and culture, to transcend monoculturalism and, ultimately, to become multicultural.”

Access: Proxy

Archives have children's literature, historic documents, tribal documents, and speeches by Martin Luther King, Mandela and others. Teachers' Toolbox has a photo gallery and multicultural song index. Historic African-American literature collection online for older students. There are also good links to multicultural ed. resources.

Access: Proxy

Teaching for Change provides teachers and parents with the tools to transform schools into centers of justice where students learn to read, write and change the world.

Access: Proxy

Music Education

Provides a wide variety of information for music educators.

Access: Free

Provides a wealth of online information for anyone interested in music education. By Children's Music Workshop.

Access: Free

Lists music links in broad categories. By Indiana University.

Access: Free

Other Resources

Provides weekly education news.

Access: Free

Provides links to some of the best education web links.

Access: Free

Provides research guides, lesson plans, question archives, and searching GEM. By the University of Syracuse.

Access: Free

Offers directories of schools and colleges by district and name along with press releases, publications, statistics, and employment opportunities. By Florida DOE.

Access: Free

Reports policies on federal financial aid for education, collects and disseminates research, focuses national attention on key educational issues, and promotes equal access to education. By the DOE.

Access: Free

Collects, screens, and identifies studies of the effectiveness of educational interventions. By DOE.

Access: Free

Physics Education

To enhance the understanding and appreciation of physics through teaching, it includes teaching resources, projects, publications, public policy, grants and awards.

Access: Proxy

Provides information on basic physics, the solar system, the sun, measuring the universe, the nature of stars and galaxies, and theories on origins and evolution. Also features a glossary of astronomical terms, acronyms, diagrams, photographs, and a periodic table of the elements.

Access: Proxy

CPEP materials present the current understanding of the fundamental nature of matter and energy, incorporating the major research findings of recent years.

Access: Proxy

Review articles and tutorials in an encyclopedic format from MIT.

Access: Proxy

Large collection of applets from the University of Oregon that deal with astrophysics, energy, environment, mechanics and thermodynamics.

Access: Proxy

The American Physical Society teaches how the world works, answers questions, and provides daily updates of physics in the news.

Access: Proxy

Pilot’s Web offers aviation terms, physics principles of flight, air navigation and weather sense as well as motion.

Access: Proxy

Explores the history of electricity, lightening, Franklin’s kite, Van de Graaff’s generator, and provides teacher resources as well as a video and picture gallery.

Access: Proxy

Reading

Reading acquisition framework.

Access: Proxy

Includes web resources and Reading Online, hundreds of articles on reading education.

Access: Free

Laubach Literacy helps adults and their families acquire literacy practices and skills to improve their daily lives.

Access: Free

Find advice, articles and booklists.

Access: Free

Gathers and collates the best national data available to provide a reliable and comprehensive overview of American reading today. While it incorporates some statistics from the National Endowment for the Arts’ 2004 report, Reading at Risk

Access: Proxy

School Psychology

Serves as a links "map" that provides quick access to relevant resources mental health in schools on the internet. By UCLA.

Access: Free

Research learning disabilities, ADHD, functional behavioral assessment, autism, adolescence, parenting, psychological assessment, special education, mental retardation, mental health, and more.

Access: Free

Science Education

Creates innovative learning experiences for young learners interested in space.

Access: Free

International space station.

Access: Free

Focuses on the science teacher, web resources, and the teaching environment.

Access: Free

By the Internet Public Library.

Access: Free

Online community of educators, students, schools, science museums and other institutions providing resources for science learning.

Access: Free

Secondary Schools

Coordinates national resources, offers technical assistance, and disseminates information related to secondary education and transition for youth with disabilities in order to create opportunities for youth to achieve successful futures.

Access: Free

Website provides useful and timely information to enhance their knowledge of elementary and secondary education programs.

Access: Free

Social Studies

Contains annotated links to over 1000 history web sites as well as links to hundreds of quality K-12 history lesson plans, history teacher guides, history activities, history games, history quizzes, and more.

Access: Free

Links for history, newsletter, book reviews.

Access: Free

Gathered lesson plans and resources from the Internet which social studies teachers will find useful. By California State University.

Access: Free

Gateway for resources about primary sources, activities and training for educators and students. By the US Archives.

Access: Free

Designed for K-12 social studies teachers and students. It also has information and topics that are useful to pre-service social studies instructors and students. By the University of Indiana.

Access: Free

Special Education

Provides resources and professional development opportunities for those who work with exceptionalities.

Access: Free

Information on learning disabilities and ADHD.

Access: Free

Offers background information, fact sheets and helpful links to resources and organizations on a broad range of learning disability issues.

Access: Free

Gateway to the wonders of astronomy and space science for students, educators and the public. By the University of California, Berkeley.

Access: Free

Provides collection of Internet accessible information resources of interest to those involved in the fields related to Special Education.

Access: Free

Dedicated to improving results for infants, toddlers, children and youth with disabilities ages birth through 21 by providing leadership and financial support to assist states and local districts. By the DOE.

Access: Free

Sports and Fitness

The American Council on Exercise® is a nonprofit organization committed to enriching quality of life through safe and effective exercise and physical activity. As America’s Authority on Fitness, ACE protects all segments of society against ineffective fitness products, programs and trends through its ongoing public education, outreach and research. ACE further protects the public by setting certification and continuing education standards for fitness professionals.

Access: Proxy

American Physiological Society teaching resources

Access: Proxy

By National Library of Medicine, Medline Plus.

Access: Free

Supports and disseminates research-based knowledge and its practical application to improve athletic performance and fitness, offers free online training videos, free podcasts, and links to other websites.

Access: Free

Premier Web site for health and physical education teachers, parents, and students. Our goal is to provide the latest information about developmentally appropriate physical education programs for children and youth.

Access: Free

Provider of sports information and research.

Access: Free

Search the vast collection of sports related web links.

Access: Free

Links for the basics, nutrition, specific conditions, research, journal articles, directories, organizations, statistics and links for children, teenagers, and women as well. By the National Institute of Health, National Library of Medicine and Medline Plus.

Access: Free

Offers information on education, organizations and topics about sports medicine.

Access: Free

Features a 360 degree full body model for investigation of human anatomy and physiology. By Argosy University.

Access: Free

Teaching and Pedagogy

Provides tools, activities, research, forums, and more. By ALPS, Harvard Graduate School of Education.

Access: Free

Set up as an internet education village.

Access: Free

Identifies and connects innovative teachers exemplifying professionalism and creativity within public school systems.

Access: Free

Intends to make learning and instructional theory more accessible to educators. The database contains brief summaries of 50 major theories of learning and instruction. These theories can also be accessed by learning domains and concepts.

Access: Free

Urban Education

The Annenberg Institute for School Reform develops, shares, and acts on knowledge that improves the conditions and outcomes of schooling for all students, especially the underserved in America's urban communities.

Access: Proxy

Contains a news room, publications, research projects, legislative services and conference information on urban education.

Access: Proxy

Information specifically about urban and minority education. Includes the former ERIC Clearinghouse on Urban Education.

Access: Proxy

Includes data maps, learning modules, and an urban education library of resources.

Access: Proxy

Provides an interactive forum to investigate critical issues in urban education. The purpose of an electronic journal format is to provide a vehicle for fostering conversations about the complexities of urban education among practitioners, researchers, policymakers and graduate students, groups who often work in isolation from each other. We imagine that the larger community interested in these issues will use the format to provide scholarship, commentary, and critique essential for investigating critical issues in urban education. We hope that the potential for dialogue through an electronic journal will lead to increased cooperation and understanding among all those concerned about urban education.

Access: Proxy

 

Last Updated April 01, 2014

QR Code URL for Mobile Devices