University of Central Florida Libraries
10/20/2014
http://library.ucf.edu/
UCF Website University of Central Florida Libraries
Login now

College of Medicine

Sections

Icon Key

  • Books Books.
  • Brief Information Brief Information.
  • Citations or Abstracts Citations or Abstracts.
  • Data Data.
  • Full Text Full Text.
  • Images Images.
  • Journals Journals.

This page lists the databases and journals purchased by the College of Medicine. Additional databases and journals relevant to medicine and health are available on the Medicine and the Online Journals pages, linked below.

Complementary Medicine

Index to a selection of journals in complementary medicine, palliative care and several professions allied to medicine.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Ovid
MANTIS 1890-Current Citations or Abstracts

A primary health care database which emphasizes health promotion, prevention and conservative care.

Emphasis on medical, osteopathic, physical therapy, chiropractic and other disciplines ; methods of conservative management such as acupuncture, biofeedback, exercise therapy, joint manipulation and physical therapy are extensively reviewed.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Ovid

Drugs & Pharmaceuticals

Online curricular resource designed to meet the changing demands of pharmacy education ; includes core curriculum topics, ability to browse by organ systems, textbooks, drug monograph, lab tests, calculators, self-assessment and case studies

Access: Proxy Vendor: McGraw-Hill

Includes over 3,300+ brand and generic prescription drugs, prescribing information, pill pictures, pill identifier, 600+ alternative medicines, drug-herbal interaction tool and more.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Epocrates

Drug information and references including Drug Facts and Comparisons, Drug Interaction Facts, MedFacts patient information in English and Spanish, Review of Natural Products, A to Z Drug Facts, Nonprescription Drug Therapy, Off-Label Drug Facts, and Drug Identifier.

Access: Proxy Vendor: WoltersKluwer

The Medical Letter, Inc. is a nonprofit organization that publishes critical appraisals of new prescription drugs and comparative reviews of previously approved drugs in its newsletters The Medical Letter on Drugs and Therapeutics and Treatment Guidelines from The Medical Letter.

Access: Proxy Vendor: The Medical Letter

Provides prescribing recommendations featuring drug treatment of major indications, recommendations for first-choice and alternative drugs, and comparative assessment of drug effectiveness, safety and cost.

Access: Proxy Vendor: The Medical Letter

E-Books

Provides instant answers to clinical questions from the most trusted resources; includes clinical case files, self-assessment questions, and textbooks such as the Harrison Online, Hurst's The Heart, Principles of Critical Care and the Lange series.

Access: Proxy Vendor: McGraw-Hill

An international compendium of the research and evidence on the treatment of various medical conditions, and synopses on the effectiveness of common clinical interventions.

Access: Proxy Vendor: BMJ

An online search tool that provides physicians with fast clinical answers. To access book chapter PDF’s you must register for a free account.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Elsevier

DynaMed is available as an application on iPhone, iPod touch, Blackberry, Microsoft Mobile and Palm OS. Requires a Skyscape User ID and Password and a DynaMed serial number available from the Health Sciences Library. It also provides evidence based clinical information on more than 3,000 topics for use at the point-of-care; includes ICD-9 Codes and levels of evidence.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

Fundamental tools for understanding and applying the medical literature and making clinical diagnoses ; includes the Users' Guide to the Medical Literature and The Rational Clinical Examination (access limited to 4 concurrent users).

Access: Proxy Vendor: McGraw-Hill

Free access to Medical news, FDA announcements, Drug and disease references and interaction checker, and Continuing Medical Education. Individual registration required for access to some content.

Access: Free Vendor: eMedicine

Medicine

MEDLINE - Ovid 1948-Current Citations or Abstracts

Includes:

  • Medline
  • In-Process Medline
  • Old Medline

Access: Proxy Vendor: Ovid
MEDLINE - PubMed 1966-Current Citations or Abstracts

Contains citations and abstracts from over 3700 journals in the medical and dental literature.

Access: Free Vendor: Pubmed

Full text of medical and nursing journals, books and Medline.

Access: Proxy Vendor: OVID

Full text medical journals.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Thieme

Online access to the FLEXIBOOK Atlases and Textbooks, the popular series of color atlases and pocket textbooks in anatomy, basic science, clinical science, and radiology.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Thieme

 

Last Updated September 10, 2014

QR Code URL for Mobile Devices