Literary Criticism: Novels
Research Guide
indicates Top-pick
indicates some full text
Note: Off-campus access to some online sources is restricted to current UCF students, faculty,
and staff via Proxy connection
Books and Multimedia
http://library.ucf.edu
Use the online catalog to locate books and multimedia on short stories in the UCF Libraries.
You can search by author, title, keyword, or subject.
- To search for a person, as AUTHOR or SUBJECT, search
by last name, first name without punctuation; for example:
- Byatt A S
- Hemingway Ernest
- Morrison Toni
- SUBJECT searching requires use of Library of Congress subject headings.
Here are some example subject headings:
- [Country name or region in adjectival form] fiction
- Examples:
- American fiction
- English fiction
- Israeli fiction
- Latin American fiction
- American literature--History and criticism
- Characters and characteristics in literature
- English literature--History and criticism
- Fiction--History and criticism
- If you are unsure of the exact title or unsure of the correct Library of Congress subject
heading, try a KEYWORD search using two or three of the most significant
words from the title or subject you are trying to find.
- To limit by FORMAT in order to find multimedia and scores, go to the Advanced
Search in the Library Catalog and use the Limit Search By option.
return to top
Databases, Indexes, and Bibliographies
Use the following sources to find periodical articles about a particular literary work, movement,
or author. In some instances books or essays in books also may be found in these sources.
The American Novel: A Checklist of Twentieth Century Criticism
Reference PS 371 .G47
Book and periodicals sources of criticism for single authors, as well as general studies
(criticism of the American novel by period), published between 1900 and 1968. Author
entries include citations of general criticisms and bibliographies.
Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature
Microfiche PE 71 .M6 (1920-53)
Reference PE 71 .M6 (1964-90, 1992+)
An index of American and English literary studies, including periodical articles, books,
and pamphlets, with references to reviews of books listed. Especially useful for locating
British scholarship on literatures in English.
The Contemporary Novel: A Checklist of Critical Literature on the British and American
Novel Since 1945
Reference PN 94 .A3 1997
A selective bibliography of critical literature on contemporary British and American
novels from scholarly journals and books. Novelists are included if they wrote "significant"
works after 1945. Arranged alphabetically by author's name, then novel title.
The Continental Novel: A Checklist of Criticism in English, 1900-1966
Reference PN 3451 .F56
The Continental Novel: A Checklist of Criticism in English, 1967-1980
Reference PN 3451 .F57
An index to English-language criticism of the European novel appearing from 1900. Novels
are divided by language: French, Spanish and Portuguese, Italian, German, Scandinavian,
Russian and East European.
The English Novel, 1578-1956: A Checklist of Twentieth-Century Criticisms
Reference PR 821 .B43
An extremely selective list of criticism in books and periodicals published from 1900
to 1957, with entries arranged alphabetically by novelist and then by by novel.
English Novel Explication: Criticisms to 1972
Reference PR 824 .P3 + four supplements
Listing of criticism from 1958 through the late 1980s in books and periodicals in both
English and non-English languages, arranged alphabetically by author.
Essay and General Literature Index
Index to collections of essays in books, with emphasis on the humanities (especially
literary criticism). In the print edition, arrangement is by authors, subjects, and
some titles in one alphabet, with full titles of books indexed listed in the back of
each volume.
An electronic database of citations to articles appearing in more than 400 English-language
periodicals dealing with the humanities: folklore, history, language, literature, music,
philosophy, religion, and classical studies. Preceded by the print index
Humanities Index (1974+).
Index AI 3 .R493 (1974+)
Lists by subject and author articles from approximately 350 English-language journals
covering such subjects as folklore, history, language, literature, music, philosophy,
religion, and classical studies. Continued by the electronic database
Humanities Full Text (1984+).
Provides biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of more than 120,000 authors
from every age and literary discipline. Contains the Scribner Writer's Series which
includes 15-20 page signed essays on more than 1,600 authors and literary genres drawn
from 13 acclaimed Scribner print series; and the Twayne World, US, and English Authors
series, each of which contains the full text of 200 frequently used Twayne Literary
Masters books on individual world, US, or English authors, for a total of 600 full-text
titles.

MLA International Bibliography
Online version (1963+)
Index PB 6 M6222 (1970+)
General Collection PB 6 M6 (1921-69, bound with
PMLA)
Both a print index and an electronic database referred to variously as the MLA or MLAIB;
sometimes called the PMLA Bibliography, but it should not be confused with the journal
PMLA. In the print version Part 1 is arranged first geographically (e.g., American
literature), then chronologically by century (e.g., 1900-1999) with authors listed alphabetically;
Part 2, commencing in 1981, is a subject index to Part 1.
return to top
Plot Summaries and Critical Excerpts
The following sources provide synopses of poems, or contain excerpts of critical essays that
were previously published.
Contemporary Literary Criticism (CLC): Excerpts from Criticism of the Works of Today's
Novelists, Poets, Playwrights, Short Story Writers, Scriptwriters, & Other Creative
Writers
Reference PN 771 .C59
Each print volume in this long-standing series profiles approximately six to eight novelists,
poets, playwrights and other creative and nonfiction writers by providing full-text
or excerpted criticism taken from books, magazines, literary reviews, newspapers and
scholarly journals. The approximately 200 essays per volume are prefaced by a full citation
and annotation and most entries include an author portrait. Each volume includes cumulative
author name, topic, and nationality indexes, as well as a volume-specific title index.
A cumulative title index to the entire series is available separately. Available online
in the
Literature Resource Center
database.
Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800 : Excerpts from Criticism of the Works of Fifteenth,
Sixteenth, Seventeenth, and Eighteenth- Century Novelists, Poets, Playwrights, Philosophers,
and Other Creative Writers, from the First Published Critical Appraisals to Current
Evaluations
Reference PN 86 .L53
Covers the careers and works of writers of the late Middle Ages, the Renaissance, and
the Restoration eras. Entries offer interpretations of historical periods, literary
trends and topics, and the achievements of noteworthy individuals. Each volume includes
cumulative author name, topic, nationality, and title indexes; a cumulative title index
to the entire series is published separately.
A full-text database that includes brief plot summaries of the most studied works in
the history of literature. This database includes articles from the following print
sources:
Masterplots,
Masterplots II,
Cyclopedia of World Authors,
Cyclopedia of Literary Characters,
Magill's Literary Annual 1990-2001,
Magill's Guide to Science Fiction and
Fantasy Literature, and
Magill Book Reviews.
Reference PN 44 .M33 1996
Briefly examines the theme, style, and technique of 793 novels and 121 novellas. All
essays contain an annotated bibliography of critical studies of the literary work. The
essays in this set are available online in the
MagillOnLiterature
database.
Reference PN 3326 .M28 1987
Examines the themes, characters, plots, style, and technique of 347 works by authors
from the non-English speaking countries of the world, including Poland, France, Czechoslovakia,
Austria, Germany, and Russia.
Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism (NCLC): Excerpts from Criticism of the Works
of Nineteenth-Century Novelists, Poets, Playwrights, Short-Story Writers, & Other Creative
Writers
Reference PN 761 .N5
Presents substantial excerpts of criticism on poets, novelists, short story writers,
dramatists and philosophers who died between 1800 and 1899. Each volume presents overviews
of four to eight authors with chronologically arranged criticism representing the entire
range of response to each author. Entries typically include an author portrait, an introduction
to the author, a primary bibliography, annotated criticism and an annotated list of
further reading sources. Every fourth volume is a "Topics" volume covering major literary
movements, trends and other topics related to nineteenth-century literature. Volumes
include author, nationality, topic and title indexes; a cumulative title index to the
entire series is published separately. Available online in the
Literature Resource Center database.
Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism (TCLC): Excerpts from Criticism of the Works of
Novelists, Poets, Playwrights, Short Story Writers, & Other Creative Writers Who Died
Between 1900 & 1999
Reference PN 94 .T83
Presents substantial excerpts of criticism on major literary figures and nonfiction
writers, including novelists, poets, playwrights and literary theorists, who died between
1900 to 1999. Each volume presents overviews of four to eight authors with chronologically
arranged criticism representing the entire range of response to each author. A typical
excerpt is prefaced by an annotation that explains the critic's reputation and critical
philosophy and providing a synopsis of the excerpt. Every fourth volume is a "Topics"
volume covering major literary movements, trends and other topics. Volumes include author,
nationality, topic and title indexes; a cumulative title index to the entire series
is published separately. Available online in the
Literature Resource Center database.
return to top
Biographical and Bio-Critical Information
There are many sources of biographical and bio-critical information for poets; the titles
listed below are but a sampling of the basic sources usually consulted. In addition, the sources
listed under the headings "Plot Summaries and
Critical Excerpts" and "Handbooks and Dictionaries"
may provide biographical information about a writer. The following sources are also beneficial
in gaining a good overview of a poet's basic themes, techniques, and motifs.
American Writers: A Collection of Literary Biographies
Reference PS 129 .A55
Provides information about the lives, careers, and works of major American writers.
Each essay in the multi-volume set is approximately 20 pages. The heart of each essay
is a critical evaluation and analysis of the writer's major works, followed by a selective
bibliography both of the author's works and books and articles about the works. Each
of the essays in the print edition is available online in the
Literature Resource Center database.
Contains biographical information on over one million individuals from all time periods,
geographical locations, and fields of endeavor. The "Biographical Facts Search" allows
searching for people based on one or more personal facts, such as occupation.
British Writers
Reference PR 85 .B688
Provides information about the lives, careers, and works of major British writers from
the fourteenth century to the present day in chronological order by birth date. The
essays are evaluative surveys of authors' writings, with a selected bibliography of
the authors' works and criticism about the works. Each of the essays in the print edition
is available online in the
Literature Resource
Center database.
Contemporary Authors: A Bio-Bibliographical Guide to Current Writers in Fiction, General
Nonfiction, Poetry, Journalism, Drama, Motion Pictures, Television
Reference PN 771 .C662
A multi-volume series that contains biographical information on approximately 112,000
modern novelists, poets, playwrights, nonfiction writers, journalists and scriptwriters.
Sketches typically include personal information, addresses, career history, writings,
work in progress, biographical/critical sources and authors' comments and/or informative
essays about their lives and work. Each of the sketches in the print edition is available
online in the
Biography Resource Center
database.
Contemporary Novelists
Reference PR 881 .C69 2001
A dictionary of about 700 English-language fiction writers. Each entry features a brief
biographical sketch, a list of the writer's works, and a critical essay. Some articles
include personal comments by the writer.
Critical Survey of Long Fiction
Reference PN 3451 .C75 2000
Reference PR 821 .C7 1991
A comprehensive overview of English language poets, their works, and the long fiction
genre in general. Lengthy analyses of each writer's works are followed by lists of other
works and bibliographies.
Reference PN 3451 .C75 1984
Selective coverage of novelists writing in languages other than English, with biographical
information and a comprehensive overview of the writer's works. Lengthy analyses of
each writer's works are followed by lists of other works and bibliographies.

Dictionary of Literary
Biography (DLB)
Reference PS 21 .D5
Includes the full text of biographical essays which provide an extended study of an
author's life and work. Each essay includes primary and secondary bibliographies for
further study. Each of the essays in the print volumes is available online in the
Literature Resource Center database.
European Writers
Reference PN 501 .E9 1983
Provides information about the lives, careers, and works of major European writers from
the medieval times to the present day in chronological order by birth date. Use index
volume to locate author/specific work. Essays from the print edition is available online
in the
Literature Resource Center
database.
return to top
Handbooks and Dictionaries
The handbooks and dictionaries listed below provide assistance in defining and using appropriate
literary terms and concepts and in identifying intellectual trends and movements.
Benet's Reader's Encyclopedia
Reference PN 41 .B4 1996
A comprehensive work containing brief articles on literary schools and movements, critical
terms and expressions, as well as literary allusions, plot summaries, and brief biographies
of authors.
http://www.bartleby.com/81/
Reference PN 43 .B65 1999
Gives the derivation, source, or origin of allusions, colloquial and proverbial phrases,
biographical references, fictitious characters and titles, and words that have a tale
to tell.
Reference PN 44 .M3 1998
Dictionary of American Literary Characters
Reference PS 374 .C43 D5 2002
Contains more than 16,000 entries, identifying the novel in which
the character appears and summarizing the character's role and relationship to other
characters in the novel. Includes title and author indexes.
Dictionary of British Literary Characters: 18th- and 19th-Century Novels
Reference PR 830 .C47 D5 1993
Dictionary of British Literary Characters: 20th-Century Novels
Reference PR 888 .C47 D53 1994
Identifies the novel in which the character appears and summarizes
the character's role and relationship to other characters in the novel. Includes title
and author indexes.
A Dictionary of Modern Critical Terms
Reference PN 41 .D4794 1987
Distinguished from traditional dictionaries of literary terms in its attempt to deal
with the application and usage of critical terms rather than simply provide literal
lexical meanings.
Dictionary of Real People and Places in Fiction
Reference PN 56.4 .R56 1993
Attempts to provide "insight into the influences upon over 300 authors by revealing
the real identity of 'fictional' people and places in American and British novels published
in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries" (publisher's note). Contains several thousand
identifications based on published statements in sources as varied as diaries, collected
letters, journals, biographies and autobiographies, and newspapers. Author, real name,
and fictional indexes.
Encyclopedia of the Novel
Reference PN 41 .E487 1998
While the majority of entries in this two-volume set deal with individual writers, it
is helpful nonetheless for its extended treatment of general topics and specific types
of long fiction, such as the adventure novel, Roman a clef, the Jewish-American novel,
and realism. Also has lengthy surveys of the novel in various countries and regions.

A Handbook to Literature
Reference PN 41 .H36 1992
A standard source of comparatively brief explanations of the words and phrases which
are peculiar to the study of English and American literature. The emphasis is on critical
terms and critical schools and movements. Contains an outline of English and American
literary history. Index of proper names.
The Oxford Companion to American Literature
Reference PS 21 .H3 1995
Contains more than 5,000 entries on authors and other persons, literary works, terms,
characters, movements, awards, organizations, historical and cultural events, and a
long list of other topics related to American literature.
The Oxford Companion to English Literature
Reference PR 19 .D73 1998
Entries on authors born before 1940, works, characters, movements, critical theories,
periods, groups, historical figures, terminology, literary allusions, and places related
to English literature.
return to top
Internet Sources
The following selected Internet "meta-sites" provide useful information in the field of literary
studies.
http://andromeda.rutgers.edu/~jlynch/Lit
A collection of links to sites dealing with English and American literature, excluding
single electronic texts. Sites are arranged primarily according to time period (e.g.,
eighteenth century)
http://vos.ucsb.edu/
Includes a listing of Web sites organized primarily around time periods. Also provides
access on the VoS home page for visiting other related pages, such as "English Literature."
return to top
Style Manuals
The style manuals listed below offer assistance with the mechanics of paper presentation,
such as preparing bibliographies, footnoting, underlining, and using quotation marks.
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 5th ed.
Reference Desk LB 2369 .G53 1999
A standard guide to research, writing, and the mechanics of paper presentation in literary
studies, including some examples for citing electronic publications (Internet sites,
electronic journals, online books, etc.). See also the MLA Style Manual and Guide
to Scholarly Publishing (Reference PN 147 .G444 1998).
http://www.mla.org
Contents include a link to "Documenting Sources on the World Wide Web." Several examples
are provided.
return to top
Ask a Librarian
If you have questions or need additional assistance, Ask a Librarian,
call the Reference Department at (407) 823-2562, or e-mail the Department at
askalibrarian@mail.ucf.edu. The library liaison for English and Foreign Languages and Literatures
is Cheryl A. Mahan, University Librarian,
cmahan@mail.ucf.edu.
Last Updated:
July 19, 2010