|
| Main Library Fall Regular Hours |
||
|---|---|---|
| Mon - Thu | 7:30 am | - 1:00 am |
| Friday | 7:30 am | - 7:00 pm |
| Saturday | 9:00 am | - 7:00 pm |
| Sunday | 12:00 pm | - 1:00 am |
| more... | ||
Step 8
If you haven't already done so, consider reviewing your topic in a specialized encyclopedia, e.g., Encyclopedia of Social Issues [REF HN57.E59], Beacham's Encyclopedia of Social Change, America in the Twentieth Century [REF HN59.2.B43], Encyclopedia of Social Work [REF HV35.S6], West's Encyclopedia of American Law [REF KF154.W47], Gale Encyclopedia of Everyday Law [online], or Major Acts of Congress [online].
Search for articles discussing the legislation in journals and newspapers. These articles may help in your analysis of the legislative history documents gathered in the previous steps.
CQ Weekly provides a weekly analysis of Congressional activities. Some of this analysis is summarized in Congressional Quarterly Almanac (See step 2).
- 1953-1967, Microfilm [MFLM JK1.C15]
- 1968-June 1994, Bound [GenColl JK1.C15]
- 1994- , Microfiche [MFCH JK1.C15]
- October 1, 1983- Online CQ Weekly
- July 7, 1990-April 10, 1998 Online Congressional Quarterly Weekly Report
- April 11, 1998-2003 Online CQ Weekly
Congress and the Nation [REF KF4935.C38] (1945-1996) is published by Congressional Quarterly and provides a general overview of government and politics similar to that found in Congressional Quarterly Almanac (See step 2).
Congressional Digest provides a monthly analysis of the pros and cons of public policy issues.
- 1921- Online (EBSCOhost Academic Search Premier)
- 1921-1966, Microfilm [MFLM JK1.C65]
- 1964- , Bound [GenColl JK1.C65]
National Journal provides weekly coverage of political and policy developments.
- 1969- , Microfilm [MFLM JK1.N28]
- 2000- Online (EBSCOhost Academic Search Premier) - indexing and abstracts begin with the July 8, 1996 issue.
- May 1995-September 2001 Online (InfoTrac OneFile)
Inside Washington (LexisNexis Congressional) provides full text articles from several Washington, D.C. news sources: Washington Post (1977- ), Roll Call (Dec 1989- ) and The Hill (1995- ).
Vital Speeches of the Day provides the full text of speeches on a wide range of political topics.
- 1934- Online (EBSCOhost Academic Search Premier)
- 1934-1939, Microfilm [MFLM PN6121.V52]
- 1939-1968, Bound [GenColl PN6121.V52]
- 1968-1996, Microfilm [MFLM PN6121.V52]
- 1997-2001, Microfilm [MFLM PN6121.V52]
Facts on File Yearbook provides "a detailed, objective and timely weekly distillation of the news and current information as reported in more than 70 major newspapers and newsmagazines from the U.S. and around the world."
- 1941- , Bound [REF D410.F3]
Other Articles: Continue your research by looking for articles in other journals and newspapers. Some of the Databases and Indexes available at UCF can be used to locate professional journals in political science or in the discipline of the legislative topic. For example, Social Services Abstracts covers research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. News Sources can provide access to newspaper articles written during critical stages of the legislative process or shortly after enactment.
Prepared by: Rich Gause, Government Documents Librarian
Last update:07/28/08 01:17:16 PM