University of Central Florida Libraries 5/16/2008 http://library.ucf.edu/
Pegasus Logo
University Of Central Florida Libraries
Need help? Ask a Librarian Articles & Databases Online Journals Off-campus Access Interlibrary Loan
UCF Home UCF Home UCF Home

Catalog Search

Search

Website Search


Libraries UCF Web
Site Index

Legal Research (General)

It is recommended that an attorney be consulted when an interpretation of the law is needed.

Definitions, Summaries, & Legal Abbreviations

Current Laws & Regulations Laws & Regulations by Year

Cases: Reporters, Digests, and Citators

Finding a Case U.S. Supreme Court Federal Circuit & District Courts

Other Federal Courts State Courts Foreign Courts

Legal Research (Florida)

Annotations of Cases Rules of Court

 Legal Forms & How-To Guides

Indexes to Journal Articles

Guides, Tips and Frequently Asked Questions

Other Print & Online Resources (Directories, LSAT, Legal Briefs, Other)


Definitions, Summaries, & Legal Abbreviations

    Start with legal encyclopedias
        for explanations about general principles of law and appropriate references to statutes and cases:

Am.Jur.2d American Jurisprudence, Second Edition REF KF154.A42
C.J.S. Corpus Juris Secundum REF KF65.L8
  West's Encyclopedia of American Law REF KF154.W47
  Gale Encyclopedia of Everyday Law  Gale online
  Wex is a collaboratively-created, public-access law dictionary and encyclopedia Internet resource

    For more comprehensive guides to legal research,
        see various books in the UCF Library's Reference Collection at REF KF240, including:

Legal Research: How to Find & Understand the Law  by Stephen Elias REF KF240 .E35
Legal Information: How to Find It, How to Use It  by Kent C. Olson REF KF240.O365 1999
West's Analysis of American Law REF KF240.W454
   

    Definitions 

Black's Law Dictionary REF KF156.B532
Words and Phrases  provides judicial interpretations of terms. REF KF156.W6712
   
Collins Dictionary of Law xreferplus online
Dictionary of Law xreferplus online
Dictionary of Spanish Law  (bilingual) xreferplus online
Elsevier's Legal Dictionary: in English, German, French, Dutch, & Spanish REF K54.E45 2001
Merriam-Webster's Dictionary of Law REF KF156.M47 1996
Wiley's English-Spanish, Spanish-English Legal Dictionary REF K52.S6.K63 1997
   

    Legal abbreviations - Consult this online abbreviations list or one of the following:

Bieber's Dictionary of Legal Abbreviations REF KF246.B46 2001
Black's Law Dictionary  - 6th edition (not the 7th edition) REF KF156.B532 1990
The Bluebook: a Uniform System of Citation Ask at the Reference Desk
Introduction to Basic Legal Citation  Internet resource

Current Laws & Regulations

    Laws currently in effect arranged by subject:

U.S.C.A. United States Code Annotated REF KF62.U6
U.S.C.S. United States Code Service REF KF62 1972.L38
     
Shepard's Federal Statute Citations  provides a list of references to legal authorities for the U.S. Code, U.S. Constitution, Statutes at Large, U.S. treaties, and other federal documents REF KF78.S56
     
State Statutes
     
    Martindale-Hubbell Law Digest  provides an overview of the laws of the states, Alabama-Wyoming.  REF KF190.M32
    LexisNexis Academic provides online access to the statutes of the states, Alabama-Wyoming.
    StateLaw (Washburn Law School) provides links to state legislative information, including state statutes.
    State Statutes on the Internet by Topic (Cornell Law School)
     
International Laws  
     
    Martindale-Hubbell International Law Digest  provides an overview of the laws of other countries.  REF K526..M37
    Guide to Law Online: Nations of the World (Library of Congress)  
    Law by Source: Global (Cornell Law School)  
   

    Regulations currently in effect arranged by subject:

C.F.R. Code of Federal Regulations READY REF US DOCS AE2.106/3:
     
Internet Access to Administrative Rules provides links to the administrative regulations of the states, Alabama-Wyoming. Internet resource

Laws & Regulations by Year

    Finding the citation for a popular act:    

State & Federal Acts:  If you don't know whether a named law is state or federal, consult  
        Shepard's Acts and Cases By Popular Names, Federal & State... REF KF80.S5
   
Federal Acts:  If you think the named law is federal, consult one of the following:  
        U.S. Code - Popular Names of Acts (Cornell Law School) Internet resource
        Look up a Popular Name for a federal statute LexisNexis Congressional
        Major Acts of Congress Gale Virtual Reference Library
   

    Public Laws or compiling a legislative history:

See the UCF Library's online guide to Legislative Histories for a more detailed list of resources, including Congressional Record, hearings, etc.

U.S.C.C.A.N. U.S. Code Congressional and Administrative News 
is arranged by Public Law number & includes some legislative history documents;
UCF holdings begin with P.L. 89-352 (1966- );
for earlier years, see U.S. Statutes at Large.
REF KF62.A2.W4
Stat. United States Statutes at Large  (1789- ) US DOCS AE2.111: &
US DOCS GS4.111:

1789-1873 Online

  Slip Laws - Public Laws are initially published chronologically in pamphlet form. 
Later compiled as United States Statutes at Large.
US DOCS AE2.110:
     

    Chronological announcements of proposed and adopted changes to rules and regulations:

F.R. Federal Register  (1994-    online; 1980-   online; 1936-    microfiche) US DOCS AE2.106:
     
Internet Access to Administrative Rules provides links to the registers/bulletins/journals of the states, Alabama-Wyoming. Internet resource
   

    Previous federal regulations arranged by year and subject:

C.F.R. Code of Federal Regulations  (1996-    online; 1981-   online; 1938-    microfiche) US DOCS AE2.106/3:

Cases: Reporters, Digests, and Citators

    Finding a Case Famous Cases U.S. Supreme Court Federal Circuit & District Courts Other Federal Courts State Courts Foreign Courts

   

    Finding a Case by Name, Citation, or Subject

 
Already have the party names or citation for a case? Retrieve it using Legal Research: Get a Case in the LexisNexis Academic database.
   
Need to find the citation for a popular case?  To distinguish a commonly cited popular case from other cases with similar names, consult
   
Shepard's Acts and Cases By Popular Names, Federal & State... REF KF80.S5
   
Reporters provide the published text of the reported decisions from specific courts.
   
Digests are subject indexes with summaries of court cases. Explanations of topics are not given, but references to reporters are provided.
   
Citators identify subsequent references to previous court cases and are used to help determine if a case's decision is still valid.

    Famous Cases

Great American Trials  - from Salem Witchcraft to Rodney King REF KF220.G74 2003
   
Great American Court Cases  - v. 1, Individual Liberties; v. 2, Criminal Justice; v. 3, Equal Protection & Family Law;  v. 4. Business & Government REF KF385.A4G68 1999
   
Historic U.S. Court Cases  - pt.1, Crime & Criminal Law; pt. 2, Governmental Organization, Power, & Procedure; pt.3, Economics & Economic Regulation; pt. 4, Race, Gender, Sexual Orientation, & Disability; pt.5, Civil Liberties REF KF385.A4.J64 2001
   
Encyclopedia of the American Constitution  - identifies major cases REF KF4548.E53 2000
Landmark Decisions of the United States Supreme Court  REF KF4549.F56 2003

    United States Supreme Court

Reporters

L. Ed. United States Supreme Court Reports, Lawyers' Edition  (1790-1955) REF KF.A2
L. Ed. 2d United States Supreme Court Reports, Lawyers' Edition, Second Series  (1956-  ) REF KF.A2
     
LexisNexis Academic provides a searchable database for reported cases of the U.S. Supreme Court.
Supreme Court Collection (Legal Information Institute) - an open-access online database of U.S. Supreme Court cases.
     
S. Ct. Supreme Court Reporter
is only available in the UCF Library via the Westlaw database
restricted access; ask at the Reference Desk
U.S. United States Supreme Court Reports
is available beginning with volume 479 (1986-  ).
US DOCS JU6.8:
     
Need to cross-reference a citation from S. Ct. or U.S. to locate the case in L. Ed. 2d?
Use the Parallel Reference Tables in volume 4 of Shepard's United States Citations
REF KF101.2.S54
   
United States Law Week  - summary & analysis of significant court opinions REF KF105.U5
   

Digest

Digest of United States Supreme Court Reports (Lawyers' Edition) REF KF.A22
   

Citator

Shepard's United States Citations: Cases REF KF101.2S54
LexisNexis Academic provides Shepard's Citations for U.S. Supreme Court cases.  
   
Supreme Court of the United States, 1789-1980: An Index to Opinions Arranged by Justice REF KF101.6.B57 1984
United States Supreme Court Decisions: An Index to Excerpts, Reprints, and Discussions REF KF101.6.G83 1983

    Federal Circuit & District Courts

Reporters

LexisNexis Academic provides a searchable database for reported cases of the federal courts.
     
F.Cas. Federal Cases  (pre-1880 cases) LexisNexis online
     
F. Federal Reporter  (1880-1924, courts of appeal and district courts) LexisNexis online
F.2d Federal Reporter, Second Series  (1924-1993 courts of appeals; 1924-1932 district courts) REF KF105.F43
F.3d Federal Reporter, Third Series  (1993-        courts of appeals) REF KF105.F43
Fed.Appx. Federal Appendix  (2001-      courts of appeals cases not selected for publication in F.3rd) REF KF105.W47
     
F.Supp. Federal Supplement  (1932-1998 district courts) REF KF.F42
F.Supp.2d Federal Supplement, Second Series  (1998-        district courts) REF KF.F42 2nd Series
     
United States Law Week  - summary & analysis of significant court opinions REF KF105.U5
     

Digests

Modern Federal Practice Digest  (1939-1961) REF KF127.M6
West's Federal Practice Digest, 2d  (1962-1975) REF KF127.M62
West's Federal Practice Digest, 3d  (1975-1988) REF KF127.M63
West's Federal Practice Digest, 4th  (1989-    ) REF KF127.M64
   

Citator

Shepard's Federal Citations REF KF105.2S42
KeyCites are available via the Westlaw database. restricted access; ask at the Reference Desk

  Other Federal Courts & Administrative Decisions

Reporters & Digests

LexisNexis Academic provides a searchable database for reported cases of the federal courts, including Customs & Patent Appeals, Court of International Trade, Bankruptcy Courts, Tax Courts, Court of Veteran Appeals, Customs Courts, Commerce Court, and Military Courts.

Administrative Decisions & Other Actions - By Subject (University of Virginia) provides online links.

    United States Documents Collection

    US DOCS
  Federal Trade Commission Decisions  (1990-    ) FT 1.11:
  Court Decisions, Federal Trade Commission  (1966-1981) FT 1.13:
  Decisions of the Comptroller General of the United States  (1967-1973) GA 1.5:
  Index Digest of the Published Decisions of the Comptroller General of the U.S.  (1971-1994) GA 1.5/3:
  Interstate Commerce Commission Reports  (1978-1993) IC 1.8:
  Opinions of the Office of Legal Counsel of the Department of Justice  (1977-1996) J 1.5/4:
  U.S. Court of Claims Reports  (1967-1982) JU 3.9:
  United States Board of Tax Appeals Reports  (1925-1942) JU 11.6:
  Tax Court of the United States Reports  (1942-    ) JU 11.7:
  Court Decisions Relating to the National Labor Relations Act  (1965-1986) LR 1.14:
  Securities & Exchange Commission Decisions & Reports  (1964-    ) SE 1.11:
     

 

    Reference Collection

    REF
  Labor Arbitration and Dispute Settlements  (1946-1981) HD5487.U5.L3
  Decisions and Orders of the National Labor Relations Board  (1965-    ) HD5503.A7223
  Classified Index of National Labor Relations Board Decisions and Related Court Decisions  (1970-    ) HD5503.A7223
  Occupational Safety & Health Decisions  (1973-1981) HD7273.C59
  NLRB Decisions  (1971-    ) HD7833.C618
  Labor Cases (1972-    ) - federal and state HD7833.C68
  Employment Practices Decisions  (1937-    ) - federal and state HD7833 .C683
  Federal Securities Law Reporter (1974-    ) HG4556.C67
  U.S. Tax Cases (1913-    ) HJ3251.A55.C6
  Media Law Reporter  (1931-    ) - federal and state KF2750.A515
  Labor Arbitration Awards  (1982-    ) KF3310.5.C619
  Labor Relations Reference Manual  (1970-1981) KF3319.A35
  Yearbook of School Law / Yearbook of Education Law  (1972-    ) KF4102.5.Y4
     

 

    General Collection

    General Collection
  Federal Communications Commission Reports  &  FCC Record  (1939-    ) KF2763.3.A23
  Decisions of the United States Courts Involving Copyright & Literary Property  (1789-1980) KF2994.A1.C6
  Decisions of the Employees' Compensation Appeals Board  (1970-2002) KF3626.A553
  American Federal Tax Reports  (1924-    ) KF6280.A2.A5
     

Citator

KeyCites are available via the Westlaw database. restricted access; ask at the Reference Desk

   State Courts (Alabama - Wyoming)

Reporters

LexisNexis Academic provides a searchable database for reported cases of the state courts.
StateLaw (Washburn Law School) provides links to state information, including court cases.
See also:  Legal Research (Florida)
     
  American Decisions  - "cases of general value and authority decided in the courts of the several states from the earliest issue of the state reports to the year 1869." REF KF133.A66
  American Reports  - "containing all decisions of general interest decided in the courts of last resort of the several states." (1868-1887) REF KF133.A66
  American State Trials  - "a collection of the important and interesting criminal trials which have taken place in the United States, from the beginning of our government to 1920." GenColl
KF220.L38
     
  Labor Cases (1972-    ) - federal and state REF HD7833.C68
  Employment Practices Decisions  (1937-    ) - federal and state REF HD7833 .C683
  Blue Sky Law Reporter  (1971-1996) - state securities decisions REF HG4556.C65
  Media Law Reporter  (1931-    ) - federal and state KF2750.A515
     
  Southern Reporter  (1887-1941) - Supreme Courts & District Courts of Appeal in Alabama, Florida, Louisiana, and Mississippi REF KFF51.A1
     

Digests

    Decennial Digests briefly describe published decisions from all state and federal courts. The UCF Library only has:
  Eighth Decennial Digest  (1966-1976) REF KF141 1966
  Ninth Decennial Digest , Part 1 (1976-1981) REF KF141 1976 pt.1
     

Citator

KeyCites are available via the Westlaw database. restricted access; ask at the Reference Desk

   Foreign and International Courts

Reporters & Digests

Global Legal Information Network (GLIN) is a database of laws, regulations, judicial decisions, and other complementary legal sources contributed by governmental agencies and international organizations. These GLIN members contribute the official full texts of published documents to the database in their original language. Each document is accompanied by a summary in English and subject terms selected from the multilingual index to GLIN.

    LexisNexis Academic provides searchable databases for:

CELEX European Union Cases (1954-     ) - The Court of Justice is the Supreme Court for interpreting European Community (now European Union) law. The Court of First Instance was created by the Council on September 1, 1989, in order to improve the judicial protection of individual interests and to enable the Court of Justice to concentrate its activities on its fundamental task of ensuring uniform interpretation of Community law.

Commonwealth and Foreign Nations provides cases from GATT Panel, World Trade Organization, Australia, Canada, England, Ireland, New Zealand, Northern Ireland, Scotland, Hong Kong, Mexico, Singapore, Malaysia, and Brunei

International Legal Materials provides the full texts of important treaties and agreements, judicial and arbitral decisions, national legislation, international organizations resolutions and other documents.


Annotations of Cases

American Decisions  - "cases of general value and authority decided in the courts of the several states from the earliest issue of the state reports to the year 1869." REF KF133.A66
American Reports  - "containing all decisions of general interest decided in the courts of last resort of the several states." (1868-1887) REF KF133.A66
American Law Reports provide detailed discussions concerning legal issues with extensive summaries of relevant court cases.
  Indexes:  
ALR Permanent Digest of American Law Reports Annotated  - for ALR (1919-1948) REF KF132.A518
ALR Index - for ALR 2nd, ALR 3rd, ALR 4th, ALR 5th, and ALR Fed (1948-        ) REF KF132.A58
  Reports:  
ALR American Law Reports Annotated  (1919-1948) REF KF132.A5216
ALR2d American Law Reports Annotated, Second Series  (1948-1965) REF KF132.A52166
ALR3d American Law Reports, ALR3d, Cases and Annotations  (1965-1980) REF KF132.A53
ALR4th American Law Reports, ALR4th, Cases and Annotations  (1980-1992) REF KF132.A54
ALR5th American Law Reports, ALR5th, Annotations and Cases  (1992-2005) REF KF132.A55
ALR6th American Law Reports, ALR6th, Annotations and Cases  (2005-         ) REF KF132.A56
ALR Fed. American Law Reports, Federal are available via the Westlaw database. restricted access; ask at the Reference Desk
American International Law Cases  discusses published federal and state decisions involving questions of public international law from 1783 forward. REF JX238.A2.D4

Rules of Court

Moore's Federal Rules Pamphlet 
includes Rules of Civil Procedure, Rules of Evidence, & Rules of Criminal Procedure
REF KF8816.A198
   

Citator

Shepard's Federal Rules Citations REF KF8816.A23.S54
KeyCites are available via the Westlaw database. restricted access; ask at the Reference Desk

Legal Forms & How-To Guides

American Jurisprudence Pleading & Practice Forms Annotated REF KF8836.A45
101 Law Forms for Personal Use by Robin Leonard & Ralph Warner netlibrary online
Business and Legal Forms for Fine Artists by Tad Crawford REF KF390.A7.C68 1999
Complete Book of Equipment Leasing Agreements, Forms, Worksheets & Checklists REF KF946.A65.C66 1997
How to File Your Own Divorce with Forms by Edward A. Haman netlibrary online
How to Form a Nonprofit Corporation by Mark Warda netlibrary online
'Lectric Law Library Forms Room Internet resource
Legal Forms for Starting & Running a Small Business by Fred Steingold netlibrary online
Nolo's Simple Will Book by Denis Clifford netlibrary online
Power of Attorney Handbook by Edward A. Haman netlibrary online
U.S. Immigration Made Easy by Laurence A. Canter netlibrary online
Warren's Forms of Agreement: Business Forms  REF KF886.W36

Indexes to Journal Articles

UCF's subscriptions to online databases can be accessed at
http://library.ucf.edu/Databases/Subjects/PublicAffairsLaw.asp
   
Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals  (1985-    ) contains citations from legal journals and other publications covering international law other than the United States, British Isles and British Commonwealth online database
   
Index to Legal Periodicals & Books  (print 1926-    ; online 1981-    ) contains citations from legal journals, yearbooks, institutes, bar association organs, law reviews, and government publications originating in the United States, Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand. Index K9.N75
online database
   
LegalTrac (1980-    ) provides articles from major law reviews, law journals, specialty law and bar association journals, and legal newspapers on Federal and State Cases, Laws and Government Regulations, Legal Practice, and legal subjects such as Taxation and International Law. British Commonwealth and European Union cases and law are also included. online database
   
LexisNexis Academic  (1970-    ) provides full text access to over 450 law reviews & law journals.  Also includes federal & state case law (1789+), federal statutory & administrative codes,  state statutes, plus laws & cases from Canada, the British Commonwealth, and the European Union. online database
   
Westlaw provides full text of legal sources integrated with legal research tools. restricted access; ask at the Reference Desk
   
University Law Review Project provides full text searching of some law journals. Internet resource
   
Earlier Issues of Journals & Law Reviews - The JSTOR database provides online access to the full text of some titles as early as 1887.  In addition to JSTOR and the online access available through LexisNexis Academic to articles published after 1970, the UCF Library has earlier volumes for some legal periodicals, with print and microfilm holdings identified through the UCF library catalog.  Some of the titles include:
     
Administrative Law Review  1949- Int'l & Comparative Law Quarterly  1896- Stanford Law Review  1948-
Amer. Bar Assn. Journal  1915- JAG J. & Naval Law Review  1947-2001 Univ. of Chicago Law Review  1933-
Amer. J. of International Law  1907- J. of Criminal Law & Criminology  1910- Univ. of Detroit Law Review  1931-
Business Lawyer  1946- J. of Legal Education  1948- Univ. of Illinois Law Review  1949-
Cambridge Law J.  1921-82; 1998- Law & Contemporary Problems  1933- Univ. of Pennsylvania Law Review  1852-
Columbia Law Review  1901- Michigan Law Review  1902- Univ. of Toronto Law Journal  1935-
Duke Law Journal  1951- Modern Law Review  1937- Virginia Law Review  1913-
Florida Law Review  1948- North Carolina Law Review  1922- Yale Law Journal  1890-
Harvard Law Review  1887-    

Guides, Tips, and Frequently Asked Questions

Other UCF guides are available near the Reference Desk for "Legal Research (Florida)" and "Legislative Histories".
   
GODORT Handout Exchange includes online guides to conducting research about laws and legislation/legislative histories.
   

How do I translate the numbers and letters to find a case?

The first number is the volume and the last number is the beginning page of the case in that volume.  The abbreviation in the middle identifies the name of the publication.  Examples:

 

47 U.S. 483; 74 S. Ct. 686; 98 L. Ed. 873

All three citations refer to the same case, Brown v. Board of Education, decided by the U.S. Supreme Court in 1954.  The case begins on page 483 in volume 347 of United States Supreme Court Reports and is also available beginning on page 686 of volume 74 of Supreme Court Reporter and on page 873 in volume 98 of United States Supreme Court Reports, Lawyers' Edition.  NOTE:  The UCF Library does not have print versions of the first two reporters for 1954.

773 So. 2d 524

The report of Gore v. Harris, decided by the Florida Supreme Court in 2000, begins on page 524 in volume 773 of the Southern Reporter, Second Series.

   

What's the difference between the circuit and district courts?

In Florida, the circuit courts are the trial courts at the county level, and the district courts (e.g., 5th District Court of Appeal in Daytona Beach) are the appellate courts between the circuit courts and the Florida Supreme Court.  In the federal court system, the names are reversed; the district courts are the trial courts within each state (e.g., U.S. District Court, Middle District of Florida, Orlando Division) and the circuit courts (e.g., U.S. Court of Appeals, 11th Circuit in Atlanta) are the appellate courts between the district courts and the U.S. Supreme Court.

   

Where else in Orlando can I find legal materials?  

Be sure to ask at the UCF Library's Reference Desk, just in case the title you're seeking is available in the UCF Library as part of some other material, but is not listed individually in the catalog.  Two local law schools have some materials not found at UCF: 

The Barry Law Library (6441 East Colonial Drive; 321-206-5600) is located on the north side of Highway 50/Colonial Drive between Forsyth Road and Highway 436/Semoran Boulevard. 

The Florida A&M University College of Law Library (201 Beggs Avenue; 407-254-3289) in downtown Orlando is just off Interstate 4 near the corner of Robinson Street and Hughey Avenue.

   
Congressional Quarterly's Desk Reference series
provides answers to thousands of frequently asked questions.
 
Congressional Quarterly's Desk Reference on American Courts REF KF8720.B37 2000
Congressional Quarterly's Desk Reference on American Criminal Justice REF HV9950.B364 2001
Congressional Quarterly's Desk Reference on American Government REF JK274.W449 2000
Congressional Quarterly's Desk Reference on the Economy REF HC106.82.C37 2000
Congressional Quarterly's Desk Reference on the Federal Budget REF HJ2051.W43 1998
Congressional Quarterly's Desk Reference on the Presidency REF JK516.W44 2000
Congressional Quarterly's Desk Reference on the States REF JK2048.W48 1999
   
Treatises, Hornbooks, Casebooks, In a Nutshell, etc.
Various published series exist providing single-volume overviews of specific areas of the law.  Although the UCF Library does not have a comprehensive collection of these texts, some of them can be located through the UCF library catalog by searching for the legal topic by keyword, e.g. "torts" and the keyword "series" and the Call Numbers, LC for "KF".  Keywords from the names of some of the series include:  "hornbook", "casebook", "nutshell", "treatise", "black letter", "turning point", and "concepts and insights".
 
Some other tips for legal research are available online.

 


Other Print and Online Resources

Directories LSAT Legal Briefs Other Resources

Directories

Lawyers:  
Martindale-Hubbell Law Directory  - also available in LexisNexis Academic REF KF190.M3
Martindale-Hubbell International Law Directory  - also available in LexisNexis Academic REF KF190.M314
FindLaw Lawyer Directory Internet resource
   
Law Schools:  
Complete Book of Law Schools REF KF266.O93
Official American Bar Association Guide to Approved Law Schools  REF KF266.O39
Law School Directories LexisNexis online
   

Study Guide for LSAT - Law School Admission Test

Nova's Master the LSAT  by Jeff Kolby, Scott Thornburg netlibrary online
   

Legal Briefs

Archives of Florida Supreme Court Briefs (1998-    ) Internet resource
Florida Supreme Court Briefs & Opinions (FSU unofficial archive, 1989-    ) Internet resource
U.S. Supreme Court Briefs (1979-    ) LexisNexis online
Finding Briefs on the Web Internet resource
Briefs & Oral Arguments is a useful guide, but it lists many resources unavailable at UCF. Internet resource
   

Other online resources and databases include: 

United States Government Information
GPO Access Online Databases
Thomas: U.S. Congress on the Internet (Library of Congress)
Federal Government Resources on the Web (Univ of Michigan)
   
Online Guides to Legal Resources on the Web
AllLaw.com
American Law Sources On-line
FindLaw 
Legal Web Site Directory - lexisONE

Looking for something else?  
Ask for assistance at the UCF Library's Reference Desk or contact UCF's Ask A Librarian.


Last update:06/15/06 03:44:09 PM