University of Central Florida Libraries 5/16/2008 http://library.ucf.edu/
Pegasus Logo
University Of Central Florida Libraries
Need help? Ask a Librarian Articles & Databases Online Journals Off-campus Access Interlibrary Loan
UCF Home UCF Home UCF Home

Catalog Search

Search

Website Search


Libraries UCF Web
Site Index

Legal Research (Florida)

It is recommended that an attorney be consulted when an interpretation of the law is needed.

Research Guides, Definitions, & Legal Abbreviations

Current Laws & Regulations Laws & Regulations by Year

Cases: Reporters, Digests, and Citators

Florida Courts Rules of Court

 Legal Forms & How-To Guides

Legal Journals and Law Reviews

Guides, Tips and Frequently Asked Questions

Directories: Lawyers, Consumer Guides, Law School Libraries

Other Print & Online Resources


Research Guides, Definitions, & Legal Abbreviations

    Start with the legal encyclopedia
        for explanations about general principles of law and appropriate references to statutes and cases:

Fl.Jur.2d Florida Jurisprudence, Second Edition REF KFF80.F56
     

    Other guides to Florida legal research

Guide to Florida Legal Research  by Betsy L. Stupski REF KFF75.R45 1994
Florida Research Guides (Univ of Florida College of Law) Internet resource
Legal Research Guides (Univ of Miami Law Library) Internet resource
   
See also general guides to legal research in the UCF Library's Reference Collection at REF KF240.
   

    Definitions 

Florida Statutes Definitions Index  - shelved next to Florida Statutes, FL DOCS Ready Reference FL DOC LEG.D3:D33/
   
Words and Phrases volumes are included in:  
    Florida Jurisprudence, Second Edition REF KFF80.F56
    Florida Digest, 2d  REF KFF47.6F55
   

    Legal abbreviations   - a guide to other abbreviations is also available online.

Fla. Florida Reports LexisNexis online
Fla.Stat. Florida Statutes REF KFF30.A2F55
F.L.W. Florida Law Weekly REF KFF47.F54
So. Southern Reporter REF KFF51.A1 1887
So.2d {Southern Reporter, Second Series} Florida Cases REF KFF51.A1

Current Laws & Regulations

    Laws currently in effect arranged by subject:

Fla.Stat.Ann. Florida Statutes Annotated REF KFF30 1970.A2
Fla.Stat. Florida Statutes  REF KFF30.A2F55
  Florida Statutes  LexisNexis online
     

    Regulations currently in effect arranged by subject:

Fla.Admin.Code Florida Administrative Code Annotated READY REF FL DOC
KFF35 1982.A2
     

    Other Florida Codes, Regulations, & Ordinances:

Florida Building Code Online Internet resource
Orange County Code of Ordinances  REF KFF30.A15.O62
Orlando Code of Ordinances  REF KFX2112.3.A25
   
Municipal Code Corporation provides searchable regulations of a dozen Florida counties and over 150 Florida cities.
American Legal Publishing provides searchable regulations of over 10 Florida cities.

Laws & Regulations by Year

    Finding the citation for a popular act:   If you don't know whether a named law is state or federal, consult  

Shepard's Acts and Cases By Popular Names, Federal & State... REF KF80.S5
   
Official names of Florida laws can also be found by looking in
lthe index of the Florida Statutes  under the heading "Short Titles"
REF KFF30.A2F55
   

    Laws of Florida or compiling a legislative history:

See the UCF Library's online guide to Documenting Florida Legislative Intent for a more detailed list of resources.

Online Sunshine (State Legislature) provides access to current & historical information Internet resource
   
Laws of Florida  (online 1997-    ; print 1891-    ) - arranged chronologically FL DOC SS5.L3/
Florida Statutes  (online 1997-    ; print 1927-    ) - arranged by subject FL DOC AG.5:S8/
   
Index to Laws of Florida, Special & Local Laws, 1971-    (shelved with Statutes in Doc Ready Ref) FL DOC LEG.D5:L41/
Index to Special & Local Laws, 1845-1970    (shelved with Statutes in Doc Ready Ref) FL DOC SS.5:L4/845-970
   
Florida Historical Legal Documents includes Laws of Florida Territory (1822-1845)
and the Florida Constitutions of 1838, 1865, 1868, and 1885.
Internet resource
   
United States. Library of Congress. Records of the States of the United States of America : Florida, 36 reels
  • Includes legislative records such as the journals of the Legislature (1822-1869, 1912), ordinances & statutory law (1821-1877), Duval's Compilation of Public Acts (1839), Thompson's Digest (1847), constitutional records (1810-1868), administrative records (1827-1850), executive records (1845-1874), Supreme Court Record Book (1825-1845), legislative/executive records (1764-1783), records of the rudimentary State (1810-1817)
  • Other materials included on these microfilm reels
MFLM F311.U5
   
Bill Citators identify the status of each bill and provides references to the House or Senate journal. The citator may also help you determine when specific committees may have taken action on a bill.
  Bill Information Citator (1998-    ) Internet resource
  Final Legislative Bill Information (1988-    ) FL DOC LEG.D3:H49/
  History of Legislation  (1972, 1975-1987) FL DOC LEG.D2:H49/
   

    Chronological announcements of proposed and adopted changes to rules and regulations:

Florida Administrative Weekly  (online 1999-    ; print 1975-    ) FL DOC SS.C3:AD25/

Cases: Reporters, Digests, and Citators

    Finding a Case by Name, Citation, or Subject

 
Already have the party names or citation for a case? Retrieve it using Legal Research: Get a Case in the LexisNexis Academic database.
   
Need to find the citation for a popular case?  To distinguish a commonly cited popular case from other cases with similar names, consult
Shepard's Acts and Cases By Popular Names, Federal & State... REF KF80.S5
   
Other Lists of Florida Cases:  
Shepard's Florida Case Names Citator REF KFF59.S48
Table of Cases volumes are included in:  
    Florida Jurisprudence, Second Edition REF KFF80.F56
    Florida Digest, 2d  REF KFF47.6F55
   

    Reporters provide the published text of the reported decisions from specific courts.

LexisNexis Academic provides a searchable database for reported cases of the state courts.
StateLaw (Washburn Law School) provides links to state information, including court cases.
     
  Florida Reports  LexisNexis online
  American Decisions  - volumes 44-95 include select cases from volumes 1-12 of Florida Reports  (1868-1887) REF KF133.A66
  American Reports  - volumes 7-58 include select cases from volumes 13-21 of Florida Reports  (1868-1887) REF KF133.A66
     
  Southern Reporter  (1887-1941) - Supreme Courts & District Courts of Appeal in Alabama, Florida, Louisiana, and Mississippi REF KFF51.A1
  {Southern Reporter, Second Series} Florida Cases  - Florida Supreme Court & District Courts REF KFF51.A1
     
  Florida Law Weekly  (1997-    ) - also ask at the Reference Desk for electronic access, 1995- REF KFF47.F54
     
  Florida Division of Administrative Hearings Internet resource

    Digests are subject indexes with summaries of court cases. Explanations of topics are not given, but references to reporters are provided.

  Florida Digest  (1846-1980) REF KFF47.6F55
  Florida Digest, 2d  (1935-    ) REF KFF47.6F55
     

    Citators identify subsequent references to previous court cases and are used to help determine if a case's decision is still valid.

Shepard's Florida Citations REF KFF59.S54
KeyCites are available via the Westlaw database. restricted access; ask at the Reference Desk

Florida Courts

    Supreme Court

Florida Supreme Court public information Internet resource
Court Decisions & Rules Internet resource
Archives of Briefs (1998-    ) and Broadcast Archives (1997-    ) Internet resource
Florida Supreme Court Briefs & Opinions (FSU unofficial archive, 1989-    ) Internet resource
   

    Appellate & County Courts

Florida State Courts including links to district, circuit, and county courts Internet resource
Fifth District Court of Appeal in Daytona Beach Internet resource
Circuit Courts and County Courts in the 5th DCA Internet resource
    Fifth Judicial Circuit Court (Citrus, Lake, Marion, Sumter, & Hernando) Internet resource
    Seventh Judicial Circuit Court (Flagler, Volusia, Putnam, & St. Johns) Internet resource
    Ninth Judicial Circuit Court (Orange & Osceola) Internet resource
    Eighteenth Judicial Circuit Court (Brevard & Seminole) Internet resource
   
Appellate Decisions - 1st DCA - 2nd DCA - 3rd DCA - 4th DCA - 5th DCA Internet resource
   
Trial Court Statistics (1986-    ) Internet resource
    Report of the Florida State Courts System, 1982 & 1983 FL DOC SUP.A2:C58/982-83
    Florida Judicial System Statistical & Program Activity Report, 1980 & 1981 FL DOC SUP.A3:J82/980-81
   

 Rules of Court

Florida Rules of Procedure Internet resource
Florida Rules of Court. State
Florida Rules of Court. Federal
REF KFF529.A22
REF KFF529.A24
   

Citator

Shepard's Florida Citations REF KFF59.S54
KeyCites are available via the Westlaw database. restricted access; ask at the Reference Desk

Legal Forms & How-To Guides

Florida Family Law Rules & Forms Internet resource
Florida Jur Forms : Practice-Oriented Forms for Florida Legal & Business Transactions... REF KFF68.F55
How to Start a Business in Florida : with forms by Mark Warda REF KFF205.Z9.W37 1999
Trawick's Florida Practice & Procedure: Forms  REF KFF530.T733

Legal Journals and Law Reviews

UCF's subscriptions to online databases can be accessed at
http://library.ucf.edu/Databases/Subjects/PublicAffairsLaw.asp
   
A list of indexes to articles in legal periodicals is included in UCF's guide to "Legal Research (General)".
   
Florida Legal Journals and Law Reviews
         
Title Law School Internet Access LexisNexis Academic UCF Library
Business Law Review  Miami   1998-  
Florida Bar Journal    1976- 1995- 1953-
Florida Journal of International Law  Florida   1993-  
Florida Law Review  Florida 2004- 1993- 1948-
Florida State University Law Review  FSU 1995- 1982- 1973-
International & Comparative Law Review Miami   1996-  
ILSA Journal of International & Comparative Law  Nova   1995-  
Journal of Land Use and Environmental Law  FSU 1994- 1997-  
Journal of Law and Public Policy  Florida   1993-  
Journal of Technology Law and Policy  Florida 1996- 1998-  
Journal of Transnational Law and Policy  FSU 2000- 1996- 1993-1999
Nova Law Review  Nova 2004- 1994-  
St. Thomas Law Review  St. Thomas   1993- 1999-
Stetson Law Review  Stetson   1994- 1970-
University of Miami Inter-American Law Review  Miami   1994-  
University of Miami Law Review  Miami   1981- 1964-

Guides, Tips, and Frequently Asked Questions

Other UCF guides are available near the Reference Desk for "Legal Research (General)" and "Legislative Histories".
   

How do I translate the numbers and letters to find a case?

The first number is the volume and the last number is the beginning page of the case in that volume.  The abbreviation in the middle identifies the name of the publication.  Example:

 

773 So. 2d 524

The report of Gore v. Harris, decided by the Florida Supreme Court in 2000, begins on page 524 in volume 773 of the Southern Reporter, Second Series.

   

Why are huge sections of pages missing from the Southern Reporter, Second Series?

The UCF Library does not have a print version of the complete Southern Reporter, Second Series.  We only have the Florida Cases  version, which extracts the pages from the full set.  The page numbering from the full set is retained, so the page number citations in Florida Cases  match the page numbers in Southern Reporter, Second Series.  For example, the Florida Cases  volume for 868 So. 2d is missing pages 9-497 and 702-1191 because those pages deal with states other than Florida, but the case reported on page 1192 of Florida Cases  is still able to be cited as 868 So. 2d 1192.  To retrieve the text of cases from other states reported in Southern Reporter, Second Series, use Legal Research: Get a Case in the LexisNexis Academic database.

   

What's the difference between the circuit and district courts?

In Florida, the circuit courts are the trial courts at the county level, and the district courts (e.g., 5th District Court of Appeal in Daytona Beach) are the appellate courts between the circuit courts and the Florida Supreme Court.  In the federal court system, the names are reversed; the district courts are the trial courts within each state (e.g., U.S. District Court, Middle District of Florida, Orlando Division) and the circuit courts (e.g., U.S. Court of Appeals, 11th Circuit in Atlanta) are the appellate courts between the district courts and the U.S. Supreme Court.

   

Where else in Orlando can I find legal materials?  

Be sure to ask at the UCF Library's Reference Desk, just in case the title you're seeking is available in the UCF Library as part of some other material, but is not listed individually in the catalog.  Two local law schools have some materials not found at UCF: 

The Barry Law Library (6441 East Colonial Drive; 321-206-5600) is located on the north side of Highway 50/Colonial Drive between Forsyth Road and Highway 436/Semoran Boulevard. 

The Florida A&M University College of Law Library (201 Beggs Avenue; 407-254-3289) in downtown Orlando is just off Interstate 4 near the corner of Robinson Street and Hughey Avenue.

   
Some other tips for legal research are available online.

Directories

Lawyers:  
Florida Bar Journal  - annual directory issue REF K6.F778
Florida Bar - Find a Lawyer Internet resource
See other directories on the Legal Research (General) guide.  
   
Consumer Guides:  
FloridaLawHelp.org provides information about organizations offering legal help to moderate and low income Floridians. Internet resource
Consumer Services (Florida Bar) provides general legal information on a variety of topics. That guidance is published in its series of consumer pamphlets and is supplemented by the Call-A-Law recorded telephone messages. The Florida Bar Lawyer Referral Service provides referrals to attorneys who will conduct an initial one-half hour office consultation for $25. Internet resource
   
Law School Libraries:  
Barry University Dwayne O. Andreas School of Law Library Orlando
Florida A&M University College of Law Library Orlando
Florida Coastal School of Law Library & Technology Center Jacksonville
Florida International University College of Law Library & Information Technology Miami
Florida State University College of Law Library Tallahassee
Nova Southeastern University Shepard Broad Law Center Law Library & Technology Center Ft. Lauderdale-Davie
St. Thomas University Law Library Miami Gardens
Stetson University College of Law Library Gulfport
University of Florida Lawton Chiles Legal Information Center Gainesville
University of Miami Law Library Coral Gables
   

Other Print and Online Resources

Florida Law Online  
   
Florida Attorney General Opinions (online 1974-    ; print 1915-16, 1935-36, 1949-50, 1965-    ) FL DOC AG.B1:
   

Looking for something else?  
Ask for assistance at the UCF Library's Reference Desk or contact UCF's Ask A Librarian.


Last update:08/01/06 12:15:52 PM