University of Central Florida Libraries
5/20/2013
http://library.ucf.edu/
UCF Website University of Central Florida Libraries
Log in now

Tests and Measures Research Guide

Top-pick indicates Top-pick Full Textindicates some full text
Note: Off-campus access to some online sources is restricted to current UCF students, faculty, and staff via Pegasus or Proxy connection

Descriptions and Reviews

Many of the following sources contain psychometric information, such as validity, reliability, and norm development, in addition to critiques or reviews of tests and publisher or distributor information.

Reference LB 1131 .B87
MMY consists of 13 volumes and supplements. Each edition consists only of commercial tests newly developed or substantially revised since the publication of the previous edition. As the latest edition is not comprehensive you may need to search multiple volumes to find a particular test; also consult Tests in Print (below), which serves as an index to MMY; indexing of all instruments in MMY also is available online at The Buros Center for Testing <http://www.unl.edu/buros>, but the full text of reviews are available for a charge. MMY contains descriptive and psychometric information in addition to critical reviews.
Reference LB 1131.B86
Serves as an index for Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY). A bibliographic encyclopedia of information on every published (and commercially available) test in psychology and achievement. Although there are no reviews or psychometric information found in TIP, you will find the intended population, publication date, publisher, and references. Indexing of all instruments in MMY also is available online at The Buros Center for Testing <http://www.unl.edu/buros>, but the full text of reviews are available for a charge.
Tests: A Comprehensive Reference for Assessments in Psychology, Education, and Business
Reference BF 176 .T43
Contains concise descriptions of tests, the intended population, the purpose, administration time, major features, cost and availability, and publisher information.
Test Critiques
Reference BF 176 .T419
Designed as a companion to Tests (above), this text includes psychometric information such as reliability, validity and norm development. Title currently consists of Vols.I-X. In 1987, the editors Keyser and Sweetland published Test Critiques Compendium: Reviews of Major Tests from the Test Critiques Series (Reference BF 176 .T4195 1987). Editors note that reviews published prior to 1987 in Vols.I-IV of the main set may have been updated in the Compendium.
http://www.ets.org/portal/site/ets/menuitem.36b6150d13d7bab7b1935b10c3921509/?vgnextoid=e63ce3b5f64f4010VgnVCM10000022f95190RCRD
Contains descriptions of tests that reside in the library of ETS, the Educational Testing Service. Some instruments in this collection are available in PDF format for download at various prices.

Periodical Articles

The following sources are useful for locating journal articles and other secondary source material on tests and testing. Once you have found the articles you want, in some instances you will need to check the UCF Library Catalogto determine if we own the periodicals you need.

An electronic database of citations to articles appearing in 550 English-language periodicals; some yearbooks and monographs are included. Preceded by the print index Education Index (1929/32+).
Index L 11 .E39 (1929/32+)
Cumulative index to English-language educational periodicals, yearbooks, and some monographs. Subject and author entries are arranged in one alphabet. Continued by the electronic database Education Full Text (1983+).
Full TextERIC (1966+)
Provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education (CIJE) and Resources in Education (RIE) index. Includes the full text of more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education-related journals.

An online database that provides information on measurement instruments in health fields, psychosocial sciences and organizational behavior.

Full TextPsycINFO (1887+)
Covers scholarly literature in all aspects of psychology and related fields. Materials are selected from more than 1,300 journals published in 50 countries and 28 languages.
Covers over 550 English-language periodicals in a wide range of social science disciplines, including psychology. Abstracting of articles began in 1994. Preceded by the print index Social Sciences Index (1974/75+).
Index AI 3 .R492 (1974/75+)
Covers selected periodicals that have an emphasis on all areas of the social sciences, including psychology. Continued by the electronic database Social Sciences Full Text (1983+) and preceded by the print indexes Social Sciences and Humanities Index (1964-74) and International Index to Periodicals (1920/23-1964).
Full TextSociological Abstracts
Online version (1963+)
Index HM 1 .S67 (1953+)
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Contains citations to journal articles, book review, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.

Key Journals

The following journals are devoted exclusively to psychology. Please note, however, that many other journals not listed here may contain articles about the subject; thus, the need to consult a periodical database or index. Current print issues of periodicals to which the Library subscribes are arranged by title on the third floor; print back issues are shelved in the general collection by call number, while microform back issues are arranged by call number on the third floor.

Full TextApplied Psychological Measurement
Online version (1999+)
General Collection BF 39 .A66 (1977+)
Presents cutting-edge methodologies and related empirical research on educational, organizational, industrial, and clinical applications.
Full TextEducational and Psychological Measurement
Online version (1999+)
General Collection BF 1 .E3 (1941-79, 1985-87, 1989+)
Microfiche BF 1 .E3 (1980-88)
Publishes articles for the professional on problems in the field of measurement of individual differences, research on the development and use of tests and measurements in education, descriptions of testing programs and reports pertinent to the measurement field.
Journal of Educational Measurement
General Collection LB 1131 .A1 N32 (1964+)
Published by the National Council on Measurement, with the purpose of promoting "greater understanding and improved use of measurement techniques." Includes a review section for books, software, and published tests and measurements.
Full TextMeasurement and Evaluation in Counseling and Development
Online version (1990+)
General Collection LB 1027.5 .M38 (1984+)
Contains articles dealing with the theoretical and practical problems of measurement and evaluation that are aimed at the administrator, counselor, or personnel worker in schools and colleges, public and private agencies, business, industry or government.
Full TextStudies in Educational Evaluation: SEE
Online version (1995+)
General Collection LB 2823 .S93 (1979+)
Publishes four types of articles: empirical evaluation studies representing evaluation practice in educational systems around the world; theoretical reflections and empirical studies related to issues involved in the evaluation of educational programs, educational institutions, educational personnel and student assessment; articles summarizing the state-of-the-art concerning specific topics in evaluation in general or in a particular country or group of countries; and book reviews and brief abstracts of evaluation studies.

Handbooks and Dictionaries

These materials are useful for locating information on general concepts and definitions in the field of tests and measurements, and also may contain helpful insights on test development.

Dictionary of Psychological Testing, Assessment and Treatment
Reference BF 176 .S78 1995
A specialized dictionary for common test names and acronyms, experimental methods and therapies, with many cross-references to related terms.
Handbook of Customer Satisfaction Measurement
General Collection HF 5415.335 .H55
Heavily oriented toward marketing, but it does contain information on how to design samples and questionnaires. Also has a few examples.
The Handbook of Psychological Testing
General Collection BF 176 .K575 2000
A comprehensive overview of psychometrics.
Top-pick Handbook of Research Design and Social Measurement
Reference H 62 .M44 1991
General Collection H 62 .M44 2002
Sometimes referred to as "Miller," after the author, Delbert Miller. A standard sourcebook covering basic, applied, and evaluation research. The chapter on "Selected Sociometric Scales and Indexes" includes many scales that have been tested for a high degree of reliability, validity, and utility.
Psychological Testing: Theory and Applications
General Collection BF 176 .J35 1998
This textbook contains information on major tests and test construction.
Standards for Educational and Psychological Testing
Curriculum Materials Center 150.28 Sta
Supplies standards for test construction and use.

Bibliographies and Collections

Among other uses, the following titles contain complete or sample tests, or examples of test items or questions.

Communication Research Measures: A Sourcebook
General Collection P 91.3 .C62
Covers validity, reliability, and descriptive information on several dozen communication measures. Contains sample scales.
Compendium of Quality of Life Instruments
Reference RA 407 .C65 1998
Multi-language format text containing a broad spectrum of quality of life scales.
Dictionary of Behavioral Assessment Techniques
Reference BF 176.5 .D53 1988
About 300 behavioral measures are listed. Each entry includes a description, purpose, psychometric characteristics, development, clinical use, and references.
Directory of Unpublished Experimental Mental Measures
Reference BF 431 .G625 v. 1-6
Brief listings for several thousand tests not commercially available and still under development, which were collected from recent journals and reports. Includes measures in education, psychology, sociology, and personnel, but no evaluations are given.
Gender Roles: A Handbook of Tests and Measures
General Collection HQ 1075 .B44 1990
Updates author Carole Beere's 1979 handbook, Women and Women's Issues: A Handbook of Tests and Measures (Reference HQ 1080 .B43 1979). Includes 211 measures related to gender roles and attitudes, such as stereotypes, marital roles, and parental roles.
Handbook of Family Measurement Techniques
Reference HQ 728 .H267 2001
Includes brief descriptions of 976 instruments, with sample questions and test items.
Handbook of Marketing Scales: Multi-Item Measures for Marketing and Consumer Behavior Research
Reference HF 5415.3 .B323 1999
A summary of multi-item, self-report scales available for marketing research. Chapters are arranged by broad categories with indexes of titles and authors.
Handbook of Measurements for Marriage and Family Therapy
General Collection RC 488.5 .F73 1987
Descriptions of 11 clinically-popular tests, four observational measures, and 31 pencil-and-paper tests -- most of which have been published since 1975.
Handbook of Organizational Measurement
General Collection HM 131 .P728
Dated, but contains a nice collection of scales measuring motivation, performance, satisfaction, etc. Contains some sample tests.
Handbook of Sexuality-Related Measures
Reference HQ 60 .H36 1998
Contains sample tests.
Handbook of Tests and Measurement in Education and the Social Sciences
General Collection LB 3051 .L4543 1997
A compilation of over 120 instruments or sample items, both published and unpublished. Tests related to personality or psychology are excluded. Author and instrument indexes.
Handbook of Tests and Measurements for Black Populations
General Collection BF 176 .H37
Contains sample tests as well as information on how to administer, score, and interpret various instruments for use with black populations.
Instruments for Clinical Health-Care Research
General Collection RT 48 .I57 1997
Has a general discussion of health measurement issues, with separate sections on instruments for health and function, for assessing health promotion programs, and for assessing clinical problems.
Measures for Clinical Practice: A Sourcebook
Reference BF 176 .C66
A brief introduction to testing. This text contains dozens of scales and tests, but no information on how to score or interpret them.
Measures of Political Attitudes
General Collection JA 74.5 .M43
Provides descriptions of tests and psychometric information of political attitudes, alienation, participation, etc. Contains many sample questions.
Measures of Religiosity
Reference BR 110 .M43 1999
Contains many scales and tests.
Measuring Health: A Guide to Rating Scales and Questionnaires
General Collection RA 408.5 .M38
Descriptive information and sample scales for dozens of health-related measures.
Objective Personality and Motivation Tests: A Theoretical Introduction and Practical Compendium
General Collection BF 698.5 .C3
Has a wealth of descriptive information as well as examples of test items.
Research Instruments in Social Gerontology
General Collection HQ 1061 .R44
A benchmark collection of over 400 instruments, divided into thematic chapters. Each volume has its own subject and name indexes.

In addition to the titles listed above, additional tests and measurements and information about them may be found in the UCF Library Catalog using the following linked Library of Congress Subject Headings:

Ability--Testing
Behavioral Assessment
Criterion-referenced tests
Educational tests and measurements
Intelligence tests
Personality tests
Psychodiagnostics
Psychometrics
Sociometry

To find tests and measurements that may be contained in source documents referenced in the PsycINFO database: in the Advanced Search mode, click on the drop-down menu under Special Features, choose "Assessment," then complete your search.

Internet Sources

http://www.apa.org
Follow the link to the "Testing Issues" page, which contains an FAQ about psychological tests and information about how to find information about psychological instruments.
http://www.testpublishers.org/memserv.htm
A list of test publishers, their products and services.
http://www.unl.edu/buros
Includes test review locator, subject index, and instructions on using Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY).

Ask a Librarian

If you have questions or need additional assistance, Ask a Librarian, call the Reference Department at (407) 823-2562, or e-mail the Department at askalibrarian@mail.ucf.edu. The library liaison for Psychology is Donna Goda, Assistant Librarian, dgoda@mail.ucf.edu. The library liaison for Education is Terrie Sypolt, Associate Librarian, tsypolt@mail.ucf.edu.

Last Updated:July 19, 2010