University of Central Florida Libraries
6/20/2013
http://library.ucf.edu/
UCF Website University of Central Florida Libraries
Log in now

Sociology Research Guide

Top-pick indicates Top-pick Full Text indicates some full text
Note: Off-campus access to some online sources is restricted to current UCF students, faculty, and staff via Pegasus or Proxy connection

Books and Multimedia

UCF Library Catalog
http://library.ucf.edu

Use the online catalog to locate books and multimedia in the UCF Libraries. You can search by author, title, keyword, or subject.

  • To search for a person, as AUTHOR or SUBJECT, search by last name, first name without punctuation; for example:
    Bell Daniel
    Lynd Helen
    Mills C Wright
  • SUBJECT searching requires use of Library of Congress subject headings. Here are some example subject headings:
    Applied sociology
    Chicago school of sociology
    Crime--Sociological aspects
    Death--Social aspects
    Educational sociology
    Household surveys
    Individualism
    Information society
    Knowledge, Sociology of
    Poor
    Poverty
    Religion and sociology
    Social ethics
    Social problems
    Socialization
    Sociology, Urban
    Spatial analysis (Statistics)
    Urban policy
  • If you are unsure of the exact title or unsure of the correct Library of Congress subject heading, try a KEYWORD search using two or three of the most significant words from the title or subject you are trying to find.
  • To limit by FORMAT in order to find multimedia and scores, go to the Advanced Search in the Library Catalog and use the Limit Search By option.

Periodical Articles

Use the following print indexes and electronic databases to find articles related to sociology or appearing in sociological periodicals. Once you have found the articles you want, in some instances you will need to check the UCF Library Catalog to determine if we own the periodicals you need.

AgeLine (1978+)
Produced by the American Association of Retired Persons (AARP), provides bibliographic coverage of social gerontology -- the study of aging in social, psychological, health-related, and economic contexts. The delivery of health care for the older population and its associated costs and policies is particularly well covered, as are public policy, employment, and consumer issues.
Full TextCriminal Justice Periodical Index (CJPI)
Online version (1981+)
Index HV 6001 .C754 (1975+)
Provides information on virtually any criminal justice topic, including corrections administration, law enforcement, social work, industrial security, drug rehabilitation, and criminal and family law.
Full TextERIC (1966+)
Provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education (CIJE) and Resources in Education (RIE) index. Includes the full text of more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education-related journals.
Contains articles from newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Database is printed in both English and Spanish.
Full TextGenderWatch (1970+)
Focuses on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. Supports programs in various social science subject areas. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government reports.
International Bibliography of Sociology=Bibliographie internationale de sociologie
Reference HM 1 .I594 (1960-84, 1986+)
Lists journal articles primarily. Omits previously published materials, most translations, textbooks, newspapers, and work from the popular press. Includes materials written in some 25 languages, cited in the original form. Entries are grouped within a classification scheme, and then alphabetically by title. Author, subject, and place name indexes.
PAIS International
Online version (1972+)
Index H 1 .P8 (1968+)
Includes citations to journal articles, government publications, and books addressing issues of public policy and current social and political issues in the social sciences, law, education, and social work.
Full TextPsycINFO (1887+)
Abstracts and indexes over 1,300 international journals covering all branches of the field of psychology. The major tool for locating materials in psychology, covering journal articles, books, parts of books, dissertations, and technical reports. Over 1,300 journals published in 50 countries and 28 languages are scanned for relevant articles.
Sage Family Studies Abstracts
Index HQ 1 .S23 (1979+)
Contains citations, with abstracts, of articles from approximately 100 journals dealing with all aspects of family studies.
Covers over 550 English-language periodicals in a wide range of social science disciplines, including psychology. Abstracting of articles began in 1994. Preceded by the print index Social Sciences Index (1974/75+).
Social Sciences Citation Index
Online version (1965+)
Index H 61 .S65 (1982-91)
Indexes articles, books, and book reviews from approximately 2,000 journals representing all fields of the social sciences. This database's primary use is to track citations to the works of a specific author through the "Cited Ref Search" feature.
Index AI 3 .R492 (1974/75+)
Covers selected periodicals that have an emphasis on all areas of the social sciences, including psychology. Continued by the electronic database Social Sciences Full Text (1983+) and preceded by the print indexes Social Sciences and Humanities Index (1964-74) and International Index to Periodicals (1920/23-1964).
Top-pick Full TextSociological Abstracts
Online version (1963+)
Index HM 1 .S67 (1953+)
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Contains citations to journal articles, book review, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.
Women Studies Abstracts
Index HQ 1180 .W65 (1972+)
Quarterly index to over 50 women's studies and related field journals, with book and media reviews on a wide variety of subjects such as education, family, feminism, gender, history, literature and art, physical and mental health, religion, sex roles, sexuality, violence against women, women in development, work, and more.

Key Journals

The following journals are devoted exclusively to sociology. Please note, however, that many other journals not listed here may contain articles about sociology and related topics; thus, the need to consult a periodical database or index. Current print issues of periodicals to which the Library subscribes are arranged by title on the third floor; print back issues are shelved in the general collection by call number, while microform back issues are arranged by call number on the third floor.

Full TextAmerican Journal of Sociology
Online version (1895+ except last 3 years)
Online version (1990+)
General Collection HM 1 .A7 (1895/96-1906/07, 1915/16+)
Microfilm HM 1 .A7 (1907/18-1914/15)
Presents work on the theory, methods, practice, and history of sociology. Also publishes articles on the application of perspectives from other social sciences: psychology, anthropology, statistics, economics, education, history, and political science.
Full TextAmerican Sociological Review
Online version (1936+ except last 5 years)
General Collection HM 1 .A75 (1936+)
The flagship journal of the American Sociological Association publishes works of interest to the discipline in general, new theoretical developments, results of research that advance understanding of fundamental social processes, and important methodological innovations. All areas of sociology are represented.
Full TextThe British Journal of Sociology
Online version (1999+)
Online version (1975+)
General Collection HM 1 .B57 (1950+)
Publishes articles, review articles and extensive numbers of book reviews in all areas of sociology.
Online version (2002+)
General Collection HM 1 .I54 (2002+)
A continuation of International Journal of Comparative Sociology (below). The emphasis is on articles dealing with intercultural and cross-cultural approaches.
Full TextCurrent Sociology=La Sociologie contemporaine
Online version (1981+ abstracts only)
General Collection Z 7161 .C8 (1952-82)
Official journal of the International Sociological Association, this title published long "trend reports" up until 1998. Since that time, it has published peer-reviewed shorter articles in all areas of sociology: theories, methods, concepts, substantive research, and national/regional developments of interest to sociologists internationally.
Online version (1993-2001)
General Collection HM 1 .I54 (1965-2002)
Now titled Comparative Sociology (above). Published studies made in different cultures on a comparative basis, with a view to reaching a common level of abstraction, showing areas where cultural bias might be involved.
Full TextInternational Sociology
Online version (1988+ abstracts only)
Includes studies in the areas of social organization, societal change, and comparative sociology. Issues frequently are thematic.
Full TextThe Journal of Social Issues
Online version (1998+)
General Collection HN 51 .J6 (1945+)
An interdisciplinary journal published under the auspices of the Society for the Psychological Study of Social Issues, a division of the American Psychological Association. Aims to bring behavioral and social science theory, empirical evidence, and practice to bear on human problems. Recent issues have covered welfare reform and environmentalism.
Full TextSex Roles: A Journal of Research
Online version (1997+)
General Collection HQ 768 .S4 (1975+)
An interdisciplinary, behavioral science journal with a feminist perspective. It publishes original research reports and theoretical and review articles that illuminate the underlying processes and consequences of gender role socialization, gendered perceptions and behaviors, and gender stereotypes.
Full TextSocial Forces
Online version (1925+ except last 3 years)
Online version (2001+)
Online version (1974+)
Microfilm HN 51 .S5 (1925/26-1955/56)
General Collection HN 51 .S5 (1956/57+)
A journal of social research highlighting sociological inquiry but also exploring realms shared with social psychology, anthropology, political science, history, and economics. The journal's intended academic readers include sociologists, social psychologists, criminologists, economists, political scientists, anthropologists, and students of urban studies, race/ethnic relations, and religious studies.
Full TextSocial Policy
Online version (1990+)
Microfilm HN 51 .S54 (1970/71-1976/77)
General Collection (1978/79+)
Covers social movements and discusses contemporary social thought on policy issues and action.
Full TextSocial Problems
Online version (2000+)
General Collection HN 1 .S58 (1952+)
Published by the Society for the Study of Social Problems to promote research on, and serious examination of, problems of social life.
Full TextSocial Psychology Quarterly
Online version (1975+ except last 2 years)
General Collection HM 1 .S8 (1979+)
Publishes theoretical and empirical papers on the link between the individual and society, including the study of the relations of individuals to one another, as well as to groups and institutions. It also includes the study of intra-individual processes insofar as they substantially influence or are influenced by social structure and process.
Full TextSocial Research
Online version (1990+)
Microfiche H 1 .S53 (1934-1955)
General Collection H 1 .S53 (1956+)
Most issues address a single theme. Past topics have included "Hope and Despair," "Liberty and Pluralism," "Iran Since the Revolution," "Numbers," "Hannah Arendt: The Origins of Totalitarianism, Fifty Years Later," "The Status of Women in the Developing World," and "Pariah Minorities."
Full TextSociety
Online version (1992+ except last 6 months)
General Collection H 1 .T72 (1972+)
Attempts to further "the understanding and use of social sciences through significant research, informative commentaries, and analyses of controversial problems in American society" (publisher's notes).
Full TextThe Sociological Review
Online version (1997+)
Online version (1975+ except last 12 months)
Online version (1998+)
General Collection HM 1 .S7 (1962+)
The oldest sociological journal in Great Britain, publishing theoretical research and empirical studies in the fields of sociology, social anthropology, cultural studies, and social policy.
Full TextSociology
Online version (1967+)
Microfilm HM 1 .S73 (1967-76)
General Collection HM 1 .S73 (1977-1982)
The official journal of the British Sociological Association. The editorial scope is wide ranging -- both geographically and substantively -- and it includes shorter notes, comments, reviews of recent developments and book reviews as well as core theoretical and empirical research papers. It also publishes occasional special issues principally devoted to particular themes.
Full TextThe Sociology of Education
Online version (1963+ except last 5 years)
General Collection L 11 .J76 (1963/64+)
Provides a forum for studies in the sociology of education and human social development, with research articles that examine how social institutions and individuals' experiences within these institutions affect educational processes and social development.

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Full TextThe Blackwell Dictionary of Sociology: A User's Guide to Sociological Language
Online version
Reference HM 425 .J64 2000
Alphabetically arranged, contains a dictionary section, a biographical section, and an index. Definitions, ranging from several sentences to more than a page, are informative rather than exhaustive. Brief biographies of 114 major figures in sociology and related disciplines identify dates, country, and contributions in terms of theories, concepts, and major works.
Dictionary of Quotations in Sociology
Reference HM 17 .B37 1986
Aims "to present the nature, origin, development, and current status of general sociological concepts through direct quotation" (preface). Entries appear in chronological order under alphabetically arranged subject headings.
A Dictionary of Sociology
Reference HM 17 .C66 1998
Provides over 2500 entries, and includes coverage of the major concepts from related disciplines and international coverage of terms, methods, and concepts, as well as biographical entries on major figures.
Encyclopedia of American Social History
Reference HN 57 .E58 1993
Contains 180 articles by scholars on various aspects of American social history. Each entry has a bibliography appended. Articles are devoted to such topics as family structures, gender roles, women and work, and the culture of consumption.
Full TextEncyclopedia of Social History
Online version
Reference HN 28 .E53 1994
Lists 457 terms surveying the major concerns, findings, and terms of social history. International in scope. The coverage includes major categories within social history (family, demographic transition, multiculturalism, industrialization, nationalism); major aspects of life for which social history has provided a crucial perspective (adolescence, child abuse, prostitution, retirement, sports); and a broad range of topics for which social history has provided new vantage points (the Russian Revolution, apartheid, the environment, organized crime, unions).
Top-pick Encyclopedia of Sociology
Reference HM 425 .E5 2000
The first multi-volume interdisciplinary and international sociology encyclopedia. Contains 410 medium-length articles with extensive bibliographies. Lacks biographical entries; instead, the subject index identifies individuals mentioned in the text.
Top-pick International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences
Reference H 41 .I58 2001
Comprises some 3,842 signed articles and 150 biographical references covering all areas of the social and behavioral sciences. Volume 25: name index; Volume 26: classified list of entries and subject index.
International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences
Reference H 40 .F68
Includes comprehensive, authoritative articles on many aspects of anthropology, archaeology, ethnology, folklore and linguistics, and lengthy biographies on over 70 anthropologists.
Survey of Social Science: Sociology Series
Reference HM 17 .S86 1994
Contains 338 articles, written by experts, that provide non-specialists with essential views of topics in sociology. Each essay defines principal terms, gives an overview, discusses applications, and discusses term in modern context. Each entry also has a brief bibliography.

Handbooks

There are a number of important handbooks and manuals in specific areas of sociology. Handbooks are excellent sources to use for an overview of a topic, to begin a literature search, and to find discussion of schools of thought, theoretical approaches, and landmark research studies. They provide a more in-depth and comprehensive treatment than encyclopedias or dictionaries of a specific topic in the field.

The following titles are but a sampling of handbooks in the field. Others can be identified by conducting a KEYWORD search in the UCF Library Catalog, combining the term for sociological topic or specialization with the words handbook or companion.

Full TextAnnual Review of Sociology
Online version (1975+ except last 5 years)
Online version (1990+)
Online version (1975+)
General Collection HM 1 .A763 (1975-90, 1993-94, 1998, 2000+)
Provides authoritative surveys of recent important sociological theory and research in specialized fields or of recent literature from other disciplines important for the development of a specialty within sociology.
Handbook of Aging and the Social Sciences
General Collection HQ 1061 .H336 1996
A sourcebook on all social and sociological aspects of aging. Each chapter, written by a specialist, has a lengthy bibliography appended at the end.
Handbook of Clinical Sociology
General Collection HM 73 .H315 1991
Describes aspects of sociological intervention in clinical settings.
The Handbook of Economic Sociology
General Collection HM 35 .H25 1994
Examines how economic institutions work and how they are influenced by values and norms.
Handbook of Marriage and the Family
General Collection HQ 518 .H154 1999
A comprehensive survey, with chapters on general theory, diversity in family form, life cycles and family dynamics. Includes a detailed index and numerous references.
Handbook of Medical Sociology
General Collection RA 418 .H29 2000
A review of classic, contemporary, and emerging issues in the sociological study of health and health care. Among the topics covered are inequality and health, gender and health, sociology of emotions, environment and health, experience of illness, managed care, health policy, alternative medicine, genetics research, and interdisciplinary chapters on sociology and health psychology, medical anthropology, social and psychological factors, social epidemiology and medical ethics.
Handbook of Organizational Culture and Climate
General Collection HD 58.7 .H363 2000
Comprises five parts: basic concepts of culture and climate; issues in measurement and assessment of culture and climate; contributions of culture and climate to processes of change; human resource aspects of organizational life, including commitment, attachment, socialization, and careers; and an overview on organizational culture in Japanese, Chinese, European, and American settings.
Handbook of Sociology
General Collection HM 51 .H249 1988
An overview of the field, including history, theory, and modern trends in 22 chapters written by eminent sociologists.
Handbook of Sociological Theory
General Collection HM 585 .H36 2001
Presents, in 31 chapters, in-depth discussions on the array of subspecialties that comprise the field of sociological theory. Prominent theorists working in a variety of traditions cover methodologies, theories, and strategies.
Handbook of Social Psychology
General Collection HM 251 .H224 1998
Sections on historical and methodological perspectives, intrapersonal phenomena (e.g., mental representation and memory, motivation, emotions), and personal phenomena (e.g, self, gender, social development).
Handbook of the Sociology of Education
General Collection LC 191 .H254 2000
Chapters explore theoretical and methodological orientations; development and expansion of education; the study of access to schooling, school organization, and school outcomes; and policy implications of research.
Sexuality and Gender
General Collection HQ 21 .S49 2002

Contains 32 chapters on the sociology of sex and gender. Topics include gender and sex theory, identity, objectification of women, sexuality and religion, leisure and recreation, politics and social change, and the possible future of sexual relationships.

Statistics

http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS7702

Available through the U.S. Bureau of the Census site. Can easily display and print tables and maps from the 1990 and 2000 census.

County and City Extra
Reference HA 203 .C68 (1994-95, 1997, 1999+)
Provides official, in-depth data on population characteristics for each U.S. state, county, metropolitan area, congressional district, and for cities with populations above 25,000 according to age, race, and household.
Florida Statistical Abstract
Reference Desk HA 311 .F55 (latest edition)
Florida Documents UF .S3:S8/ (1967+)
A one-volume statistical compendium issued annually by the University of Florida Bureau of Economic and Business Research. Chapters include population, income, housing, education, health, and comparisons with other states.
Formerly known as Statistical Universe. An online database covering almost all statistical publications produced by the U.S. government, a large number of state and privately-published statistical publications, and international and intergovernmental statistical publications. Use the "Power Tables" feature to search 30,000 full-text statistical tables for current information. Use the "Abstracts" feature to search for statistics as far back as 1970, some of which are available full text. All of the documents in LexisNexis Statistics are available in the microfiche collections American Statistics Index: ASI (U.S. Documents Microfiche Z 7554 .U5 A46), Statistical Reference Index: SRI (U.S. Documents Microfiche HA 155 .S72), and Index to International Statistics: IIS (U.S. Documents Microfiche HA 155 .I5), located on the Library's 2d floor.
http://www.census.gov/compendia/statab/
Reference Desk HA 202 (current edition)
Both printed single-volume work and online database updated annually that presents quantitative summary statistics on the political, social, and economic organization of the United States. Statistics in most tables cover a period of several years, usually 10, 15, or 20. The first source for statistics of national importance.
Statistical Portrait of the United States: Social Conditions and Trends
Reference HA 214 .S73 2002
Illustrates demographic, social, and economic trends in U.S. society using interpretive text, charts, and tables. Chapters cover population, immigration, labor force, income, education, crime, voting patterns, recreation and leisure, social trends, and trends in government taxing and spending.
Statistics Sources
Reference Desk HA 36 .S84
A finding guide to statistics, arranged in dictionary form with topics and countries in alphabetical order.
Full TextVital Statistics of the United States
Online version (1936+)
U.S. Documents HE 20.6210: (1937-50, 1955, 1963+)
Contains statistics on natality (births), mortality (deaths), and marriage and divorce in the U.S.

Biographies

There are countless sources for biographical information. In addition to the sources cited below, also check the sources listed under "Encyclopedias and Dictionaries."

Full TextAuthors of Their Own Lives: Intellectual Autobiographies by Twenty American Sociologists
Twenty of America's most prominent sociologists recount the intellectual and biographical events that shaped their careers.
Contains biographical information on over one million individuals from all time periods, geographical locations, and fields of endeavor. The "Biographical Facts Search" allows searching for people based on one or more personal facts, such as occupation.
The Blackwell Companion to Major Social Theorists
General Collection HM 478 .B583 2000
Examines the life and work of 25 major theorists, discussing the social and intellectual context of their writings and offering an analysis of the impact of their work over time.
Profiles in Contemporary Social Theory
General Collection H 61 .P74 2001
Profiles include Michel Foucault, Jurgen Habermas, Roland Barthes, Jean Baudrillard, Pierre Bourdieu, Zygmunt Bauman, Martin Heidegger, Fredric Jameson, Richard Rorty, Nancy Chodorow, Anthony Giddens, Stuart Hall, Luce Irigaray, and Donna Haraway. Provides detailed accounts of the development of the work of major contemporary social theorists and charts the relationship between different traditions of social, cultural, and political thought.

Internet Sources

There are literally hundreds of Internet (or World Wide Web) sites pertinent to sociology. Most of the following are essentially "meta-sites," starting places for finding and linking to a wide variety of information online.

www.asanet.org
The Internet site of the major U.S. association of professional sociologists provides a number of useful links, including a page, "What is Sociology?," and the profession's code of ethics.
www.academicinfo.net/soc.html
Users will find a compendium of links to data archives, discussion groups, and educational facilities. Includes basic online reference materials.
http://www.sosig.ac.uk/sociology
Provides access to hundreds of sociology sources on the Internet. Each source has been evaluated and categorized both by type (e.g., articles, databases, discussion groups) and by sub-field within sociology (e.g., sociology of adolescence, sociology of children, sociology of economics, sociology of education).
http://socserv2.mcmaster.ca/w3virtsoclib/
Includes links to organizations, journals, research centers, and academic departments.

Style Manuals and Research Guides

The sources below include style manuals (offering assistance with the mechanics of paper presentation, such as preparing bibliographies, footnoting, underlining, and using quotation marks) and research guides (useful for determining how to write a scientific paper or beginning research in psychology).

Reference HM 73 .A54 1997
Designed to aid authors in preparing manuscripts for all ASA journals and publications. Chapters are included on matters and mechanics of style, preparing a manuscript for submission, copyeditor's notations, reference sources, and reference formats.
Handbook of Research Design and Social Measurement
Reference H 62 .M44 1991
General Collection H 62 .M44 2002
Sometimes referred to as "Miller," after the author, Delbert Miller. A standard sourcebook covering basic, applied, and evaluation research. The chapter on "Selected Sociometric Scales and Indexes" includes many scales that have been tested for a high degree of reliability, validity, and utility.
http://www.uwp.edu/information.services/library/best/asa.htm
This Internet site from the University of Wisconsin--Parkside provides examples from the ASA Style Guide (above).
The Sociology Student Writer's Manual
General Collection HM 585 .S638 2002
Helps both beginning and advanced students learn how to research and write in sociology and how to improve their writing ability. Gives specific directions for writing a variety of papers in sociology, while also providing instructions on how to write and how to format the paper and cite sources following the American Sociological Association guidelines.
http://www.asanet.org/pubs/infoab.html
Tips and suggestions from the American Sociological Association's Internet site.

Ask a Librarian

If you have questions or need additional assistance, Ask a Librarian, call the Reference Department at (407) 823-2562, or e-mail the Department at askalibrarian@mail.ucf.edu. The Library liaison for Sociology is Meredith Semones, Associate Librarian, msemones@mail.ucf.edu.

Last Updated:July 19, 2010