University of Central Florida Libraries
5/23/2013
http://library.ucf.edu/
UCF Website University of Central Florida Libraries
Log in now
 

Psychology Research Guide

Top-pick indicates Top-pick Full Textindicates some full text

Note: Off-campus access to some online sources is restricted to current UCF students, faculty, and staff via Pegasus or Proxy connection

Books and Multimedia

UCF Library Catalog
http://library.ucf.edu

Use the online catalog to locate books and multimedia in the UCF Libraries. You can search by author, title, keyword, or subject.

  • To search for a person, as AUTHOR or SUBJECT, search by last name, first name without punctuation; for example:

Freud Sigmund
Horney Karen
Luriia A R

  • SUBJECT searching requires use of Library of Congress subject headings. Here are some example subject headings:

Behavior modification
Developmental psychology
Mental illness
Psychological literature
Psychological tests
Psychology, Experimental
Psychology, Industrial
Psychology--Research
Psychology--Study and teaching
Psychometrics
Psychopharmacology
Psychotherapy
Social psychology

  • If you are unsure of the exact title or unsure of the correct Library of Congress subject heading, try a KEYWORD search using two or three of the most significant words from the title or subject you are trying to find.

Periodical Articles

Use the following print indexes and electronic databases to find articles related to psychology or appearing in psychological periodicals. Once you have found the articles you want, in some instances you will need to check the UCF Library Catalog to determine if we own the periodicals you need. In addition to the electronic databases listed below, some full-text articles pertinent to psychology topics may be available through these online services: Academic Search Elite, Kluwer Online, Science Direct, and Wiley InterScience.

Full Text ERIC (1966+)
Provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education (CIJE) and Resources in Education (RIE) index. Includes the full text of more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education-related journals.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
Online version (1973+)
Index P 1 .L364 (1967+)

Covers all aspects of the study of language including nonverbal communication, psycholinguistics, and interpersonal communication. Complete coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.

Microfilm BF 1 .P65 (1927-47)
Index BF 1 .P65 (1948+)

Now superseded by the online database, PsycINFO (below). The major tool for locating materials in psychology, covering journal articles, books, parts of books, dissertations, and technical reports. Over 1,300 journals published in 50 countries and 28 languages are scanned for relevant articles. Each monthly issue and annual volume has author and subject indexes, which were cumulated as follows:

Author Index to Psychological Index and Psychological Abstracts (1884-1958) -- Index BF1 .P652
Cumulative Author Index to Psychological Abstracts (1959-77) -- Index BF1 .P652
Cumulated Subject Index to Psychological Abstracts (1927-68) -- Index BF 1 .P653
Cumulative Subject Index to Psychological Abstracts (1969-77) -- Index BF1 .P653
The online version of Psychological Abstracts (above). Abstracts and indexes over 1,300 international journals covering all branches of the field of psychology.
Covers over 550 English-language periodicals in a wide range of social science disciplines, including psychology. Abstracting of articles began in 1994. Preceded by the print index Social Sciences Index (1974/75+).
Social Sciences Citation Index
Online version (1965+)
Index H 61 .S65 (1982-91)
Indexes articles, books, and book reviews from approximately 2,000 journals representing all fields of the social sciences. This database's primary use is to track citations to the works of a specific author through the "Cited Ref Search" feature.
Index AI 3 .R492 (1974/75+)
Covers selected periodicals that have an emphasis on all areas of the social sciences, including psychology. Continued by the electronic database Social Sciences Full Text (1983+) and preceded by the print indexes Social Sciences and Humanities Index (1964-74) and International Index to Periodicals (1920/23-1964).
Full TextSociological Abstracts
Online version (1963+)
Index HM 1 .S67 (1953+)
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Contains citations to journal articles, book review, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.

Key Journals

The following journals are devoted exclusively to psychology. Please note, however, that many other journals not listed here may contain articles about the subject; thus, the need to consult a periodical database or index. Current print issues of periodicals to which the Library subscribes are arranged by title on the third floor; print back issues are shelved in the general collection by call number, while microform back issues are arranged by call number on the third floor.

American Psychologist
Microfilm BF 1 .A55 (1946-1957)
General Collection BF 1 .A55 (1957+)
Publishes news of the American Psychological Association (APA) as well as articles with theoretical, empirical, or practical emphases. Recent tables of contents and abstracts and selected key articles are available online at <http://www.apa.org/amp>.
Full TextAnnual Review of Psychology
Online version (1950+)
Online version (1996+)
General Collection BF 30 .A56 (1950+)
A standard source for an in-depth overview of recent and past developments in psychology.
Contemporary Psychology: APA Review of Books
General Collection BF 1 .C53 (1947+)
While many psychology journals provide book reviews, this title is the key source for reviews of books and multimedia (tapes, CDs, videocassettes, etc.) in all areas of psychology. The intent is to "provide a cross section of psychological literature suitable for a broad readership of scholars" (publisher's note). Recent tables of contents are available online at <http://www.apa.org/journals/cnt.html>.
Full TextCurrent Psychology Research and Reviews
Online version (1990+ except last 6 months)
General Collection BF 1 .C87 (1991/92+)
Peer reviewed coverage of empirical research from major areas of psychology, including social psychology; small groups & personality; human development; sensation; perception & cognition; clinical & abnormal psychology; & methodology & field research.
Full TextJournal of Psychology
Online version (1975+)
General Collection BF 1 .J67 (1935+)
An interdisciplinary journal that publishes peer-reviewed research that attempts to integrate divergent data, fields, and theories of psychology and related disciplines or analyzes the interrelationships of novel populations. Also emphasizes original criticism of the present status of the behavioral disciplines.
Psychological Bulletin
Microfiche BF 1 .P75 (1904-1938)
General Collection BF 1 .P75 (1939+)
Publishes evaluative and integrative research reviews and interpretations of issues in scientific psychology. Primary research is reported only for illustrative purposes. Recent tables of contents and abstracts and selected key articles are available online at <http://www.apa.org/journals/bul.html>.
Psychological Review
Microfilm BF 1 .P7 (1894-1937)
General Collection BF 1 .P7 (1937+)
Emphasizes articles that make important theoretical contributions to any area of scientific psychology; empirical research articles are not included. Recent tables of contents and abstracts and selected key articles are available online at <http://www.apa.org/journals/rev.html>.
Full TextPsychology Today
Online version (1992+)
General Collection BF 1 .P7933 (1967-1978)
Microfilm BF 1 .P7933 (1978+)
Presents scientifically accurate psychological information for the layperson. Includes book reviews and editorials.

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Encyclopedias and dictionaries are excellent sources to find introductions and overviews of topics or to begin a literature search. They will contain authoritative articles and, often, bibliographies.

The Blackwell Dictionary of Neuropsychology
Reference QP 360 .B577 1996
Provides numerous extended entries, from 500 to more than 8,000 words in length, which define and discuss key topics in the field. The texts have been written around a standard set of brain diagrams which enable writers on different subjects to illustrate their entries with consistent visual resources.
Top-pick The Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology
Reference BF 31 .E52 2001
Has over 2,100 signed articles on topics and prominent people in all fields of psychology. Full citations to references are provided in a general bibliography.
Dictionary of Behavioral Science
Reference BF 31 .D48 1989
Defines over 20,000 terms in psychology and related fields Extensive cross references but no bibliographies.
A Dictionary of Concepts in General Psychology
Reference BF 31 .P665 1988
Lengthy articles on basic concepts (e.g., aggresion, curiosity). Emphasizes terms in experimental psychology, cognition, and learning.
The Dictionary of Developmental and Educational Psychology
Reference BF 712.7 .D53 1986
Focuses on main theories and issues in developmental psychology.
A Dictionary of Ethology
Reference QL 750.3 .I4513 1989
Defines terms and concepts in psychology and biology related to animal behavior.
Encyclopedia of Human Behavior
Reference BF 31 .E5 1994
Contains about 250 signed articles on human action and reaction, with emphasis on physiological, abnormal, and clinical psychology and cognition.
Encyclopedia of Learning and Memory
Reference BF 318 .E53 1992
All aspects of learning and memory are covered in 189 essays written by specialists in psychology and neuroscience.
Encyclopedia of Phobias, Fears, and Anxieties
Reference RC 535 .D63 2000
Entries (some with bibliographies) on the clinical names of phobias, their causes, and various treatments. Subject index.
Encyclopedia of Sleep and Dreaming
Reference BF 1078 .E63 1993
Has over 400 articles written by experts on sleep and dreaming and sleeping disorders. All entries have at least one reference to consult for further information. Author, title, and subject indexes.
The Encyclopedic Dictionary of Psychology
Reference BF 31 .E555
Offers definitions of terms, jargon, and theories in various areas of psychology, including neuropsychology.
Top-pick The International Encyclopedia of Psychiatry, Psychology, Psychoanalysis, and Neurology
Reference RC 334 .I57
Emphasizes theoretical, experimental, and therapeutic approaches to psychiatry and psychology in over 1,800 signed articles. The last volume in the 11-volume set contains name and subject indexes. A basic source in the field, if a bit dated (published in 1977). A Progress Volume (Reference RC 334 .I57 1983) provides some updated coverage of neuropsychology.
The Oxford Companion to Animal Behavior
Reference QL 751 .O94 1982
Entries on animal behavior, physiology, and psychology.
Full TextThe Oxford Companion to the Mind
Online version
Reference BF 31 .O94 1987
Alphabetical coverage of a vast array of topics and theories in psychology and related areas such as art, language, and mythology.

Handbooks

There are a number of important handbooks and manuals in specific areas of psychology. Handbooks are excellent sources to use for an overview of a topic, to begin a literature search, and to find discussions about schools of thought, theoretical approaches, and landmark research studies. They provide a more in-depth and comprehensive treatment than encyclopedias or dictionaries on a specific topic in the field.

The following titles are but a sampling of handbooks in the field. Others can be identified by conducting a KEYWORD search in the UCF Library Catalog, combining the term for a psychological topic or specialization with the word handbook.

Top-pick Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders: DSM-IV-TR
Reference RC 455.2 .C4 D54 2000
CMC Reference 616.89075 Dia
The accepted classification system for mental disorders, including descriptions of the disorders and diagnostic criteria, using a numerical code. Includes an explanation of the code system and instructions in its use, glossary, alphabetic and numeric listings of diagnoses, and indexes of syptoms, daignoses, and codes.
Eating Disorders and Obesity: A Comprehensive Handbook
General Collection RC 552 .E18 E2825 2002
Extensive handbook relating psychological, physiological, and clinical aspects of eating disorders and obesity. Treatment includes medical, behavioral, and pharmacological modalities.
Handbook of Affect and Social Cognition
General Collection BF 511 .H34 2001
Organized into six sections, corresponding to major areas of contemporary research on affect and social cognition: fundamental issues about the relationship between affect and cognition; contemporary research on affective influences on thinking; influences on information processing strategies; motivations and intentions in social situations; how affective states influence cognitively mediated social behaviors; and individual differences in temperament.
Handbook of Child Psychology
General Collection BF 721 .H242 1998
Formerly titled Carmichael's Manual of Child Psychology. Arranged into four separate volumes, each of which deals with a specific aspects of child psychology: theory and methods, biological bases of behavior, cognitive development, and social and personality development. The essays are accompanied by charts, statistics, and bibliographies.
Handbook of Clinical Psychology: Theory, Research, and Practice
General Collection RC 467 .H27
Detailed, extensive coverage of topics in clinical psychology, encompassing theoretical and experimental foundations, as well as research, diagnosis, and treatment. Selected reading lists accompany each essay. Subject index.
Handbook of Counseling Psychology
General Collection BF 637.C6 H315 1984
Has 20 essays arranged in six broad categories, covering ethical, historical, and legal issues. Each chapter has lengthy bibliographies. Subject index.
Handbook of Cross-Cultural Psychology
General Collection GN 502 .H36
Offers, from a cross-cultural perspective, articles on theory and methodology, social behavior and applications, and basic processes and human development.
Handbook of Developmental Psychology
General Collection BF 713 .H364 2003
Covers the fundamental approaches and principles of cognitive development throughout the lifespan. Includes a substantial chapter on the methodological approaches, focusing on both qualitative and quantitative techniques.
Handbook of Educational Psychology
General Collection LB 1051 .H2354 1996
Provides an overview of the field in 33 chapters organized around five major sections: cognition and motivation, development and individual differences, school curriculum and psychology, teaching and instruction, and foundation of the discipline.
Handbook of Industrial and Organizational Psychology
General Collection HF 5548.8 .H265
Covers various topics on industrial psychology theory, individual and organizational behavior, organizational conflict, stress, and consumer behavior.
Handbook of Intelligence
General Collection BF 431 .H31865 2000
Provides a comprehensive and thematic review of intelligence. Topics covered include behavior-genetic models, evolutionary models, cognitive models, emotional intelligence, practical intelligence, group difference, and animal and artificial intelligence.
Handbook of Motivation and Cognition: Foundations of Social Behavior
General Collection BF 503 .H36
Emphasizes theory and research on the motivation-cognition interface, including clinical, developmental, political, cognitive, social, and personality perspectives.
Full TextHandbook of Multicultural Assessment: Clinical, Psychological, and Educational Applications
Online version
General Collection BF 176 .H36 2001
Covers significant issues, including the major instruments and procedures, cognitive and educational assessment, and cross-cultural sensitivity and ethics. Includes case studies that illustrate culturally sensitive procedures and tables that highlight comparisons between particular measures, competencies, and assessment practices.
Handbook of Personality: Theory and Research
General Collection BF 698 .H335 1990
Essays by specialists cover both historical and more recent developments in personality theory Includes chapters on the influence of other disciplines on the psychological study of personality, and environmental and interpersonal influences on personality. Extensive bibliographies appended to chapters. Subject index.
Handbook of Personality Disorders: Theory, Research, and Treatment
General Collection RC 554 .H36 2001
Synthesizes current thinking about the classification, etiologies, and development of personality disorders. Diagnostic issues, assessment instruments, pharmacological treatments are reviewed and evaluated.
Handbook of Psychotropic Herbs: A Scientific Analysis of Herbal Remedies for Psychiatric Conditions
General Collection RC 455.4 .N8 R87 2001
A comprehensive review of the history, pharmacology, chemistry, and uses of medicinal herbs. Also provides information on the history, use, phytochemistry, laboratory and clinical studies for many herbs.
Handbook of Research Design and Social Measurement
Reference H 62 .M44 1991
General Collection H 62 .M44 2002
A standard sourcebook covering basic, applied, and evaluation research. The chapter on "Selected Sociometric Scales and Indexes" includes many scales that have been tested for a high degree of reliability, validity, and utility.
Handbook of Social Psychology
General Collection HM 251 .H224 1998
A standard reference in the field for many years. Includes a discussion of both theoretical and practical applications and literature reviews for most topics. Author and subject indexes in both volumes.
The Psychology of Sexual Victimization: A Handbook
General Collection HV 6556 .P78 1999
Focuses on variables that assist in confronting and preventing the forms of sexual victimization: rape, child abductions, battering, sexual harassment, and incest. Includes a discussion of psychotherapeutic techniques.
Small Group Research: A Handbook
General Collection HM 133 .S646 1994
Covers studies and reviews published in the period 1975 to 1988 pertaining to small group processes.
Stevens' Handbook of Experimental Psychology
Reference BF 181 .H336 2002
Treats all aspects of experimental psychology: sensation and perception; memory and cognitive processes; learning, motivation, and emotion; and methodology. Topics include representational measurement theory, signal detection theory, psychophysical scaling, cognitive neuropsychology, functional brain imaging, neural network modeling, parallel and serial processing, meta-analysis.

Test References and Critiques

The following sources contain information about psychological tests and measurements, such as validity, reliability, and norm development, in addition to critiques or reviews of tests and publisher or distributor information. For a more comprehensive list of sources on this topic, see the UCF Libraries Research Guide "Tests and Measures."

Top-pick Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY)
Reference LB 1131 .B87
MMY consists of 13 volumes and supplements. Each edition consists only of commercial tests newly developed or substantially revised since the publication of the previous edition. As the latest edition is not comprehensive you may need to search multiple volumes to find a particular test; also consult Tests in Print (below), which serves as an index to MMY; indexing of all instruments in MMY also is available online at The Buros Center for Testing <http://www.unl.edu/buros/>, but the full text of reviews are available for a charge. MMY contains descriptive and psychometric information in addition to critical reviews.
Reference LB 1131.B86
Serves as an index for Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY). A bibliographic encyclopedia of information on every published (and commercially available) test in psychology and achievement. Although there are no reviews or psychometric information found in TIP, you will find the intended population, publication date, publisher, and references. Indexing of all instruments in MMY also is available online at The Buros Center for Testing <http://www.unl.edu/buros/>, but the full text of reviews are available for a charge.
Tests: A Comprehensive Reference for Assessments in Psychology, Education, and Business
Reference BF 176 .T43
Contains concise descriptions of tests, the intended population, the purpose, administration time, major features, cost and availability, and publisher information.
Test Critiques
Reference BF 176 .T419
Designed as a companion to Tests (above), this text includes psychometric information such as reliability, validity and norm development. Title currently consists of Vols.I-X. In 1987, the editors Keyser and Sweetland published Test Critiques Compendium: Reviews of Major Tests from the Test Critiques Series (Reference BF 176 .T4195 1987). Editors note that reviews published prior to 1987 in Vols.I-IV of the main set may have been updated in the Compendium.
An online database that provides information on measurement instruments in health fields, psychosocial sciences, and organizational behavior.

Biographies

There are countless sources for biographical information. In addition to the sources cited below, also check the sources listed under "Encyclopedias and Dictionaries."

Biographical Dictionary of Psychology
Reference BF 109 .A1 B56 1997
Entries on 500 persons who made important contributions to modern psychology from the mid-nineteenth century to the early 1990s. Signed entries, written by an international team of contributors, vary in length from a paragraph to several pages for prominent individuals. The majority of individuals profiled are European or North American. Each entry gives name, date and place of birth and death, nationality, main area of interest in psychology, education, appointments, honors and awards, principal publications, further reading (sources of critical, appreciative, or analytical accounts of the person's main work), intellectual development, and main ideas, including an assessment of influence. The volume concludes with four indexes: by name, interests (using the American Psychological Association categories), institution, and key terms and concepts.
Contains biographical information on over one million individuals from all time periods, geographical locations, and fields of endeavor. The "Biographical Facts Search" allows searching for people based on one or more personal facts, such as occupation.
Directory of the American Psychological Association
Reference BF 11 .A67
Issued quadrennially. Lists names of the members of the APA and gives brief biographical data: present position and address, education, previous positions, and specialization(s). Also lists ethical standards for psychologists. Updated between editions by the APA Membership Register (Reference BF 30 .A49).
The Great Psychologists: A History of Psychological Thought
General Collection BF 81 .W35 1991
Through the lives of 50 prominent psychologists, presents the development and impact of philosophies and methodologies in the discipline.
A History of Psychology in Autobiography
General Collection BF 105 .H5
Each of the eight volumes profiles 12-15 researchers from all areas of psychology. Subjects discuss how their work has evolved over the years, influences on their work, and how they perceive their contributions to the discipline.
Portraits of Pioneers in Psychology
General Collection BF 109 .A1 P67
Lengthy, informal essays on 22 pioneers in the field of psychology, all but one of whom was born in the nineteenth century.
Women in Psychology: A Bio-bibliographic Sourcebook
Reference BF 109 .A1 W65 1990
Provides biographies of 36 women prominent in psychology.
The Women of Psychology
General Collection BF 95 .S73 1982
Narrative biographies on women who have made contributions to psychology. Includes pioneers, innovators, and psychologists to contemporary times. Contains introductory information and epilogues. Indexes.

Directories

APA Membership Register
Reference BF 30 .A49
Provides names, addresses, telephone and fax numbers, and e-mail addresses.
http://www.apa.org/science/researchfunding.html
The APA Psychology Research Funding Bulletin is frequently updated with announcements from both federal agencies and private foundations. Also included are announcements of conferences and special events of interest to research psychologists. Closing deadline information (or deadline for letter of intent, if such a letter is required) follows announcement titles
http://www.decadeofbehavior.org/fundsource/index.html
An online directory and search tool for research funding in the behavioral and social sciences. FundSource was initiated by the National Science Foundation, and developed by the American Psychological Association.
Graduate Study in Psychology
Reference BF 77 .G73
Over 500 entries on graduate study in psychology in the United States and Canada. The programs are arranged in four sections: APA accredited doctoral programs, other doctoral programs, psychology programs offering less than a doctorate, and related departments awarding less than a doctorate degree.
The Mental Health Resource Guide
Reference RC 454.4 .M4595 2001
Lists and describes organizations in the field of mental health. Includes addresses and telephone numbers.

Internet Sources

There are literally thousands of Internet (or World Wide Web) sites pertinent to psychology. Most of the following are essentially "meta-sites," starting places for finding and linking to a wide variety of information online.

http://www.apa.org
The APA is the major professional organization in the field of psychology. The Internet site has categories including classified ads from the APA Monitor, listings of educational programs, information on APA conferences, and information on books and journals published by the association. Other professional psychology organizations have Internet sites as well. Use the name of the organization as your search term in your favorite search engine.
http://www.psywww.com/
Provides many links to psychology resources.
http://www.sosig.ac.uk/psychology/
Provides access to hundreds of psychology resources on the Internet. Each resource has been evaluated and categorized using the APA PsycINFO coding scheme. The main focus of coverage is on areas of psychology relevant to the social sciences.
http://www.dialogical.net/psychology/index.html
Links on this meta-site are inspected and evaluated for their adequacy as information sources before being added to the library. Categories include academic departments, basic academic psychology, books and publishers, directories or guides to psychology sites, e-mail lists and newsgroups, employment/entrepreneurship, and history of psychology.

Style Manuals, Research and Publication Guides

The sources below include style manuals (offering assistance with the mechanics of paper presentation, such as preparing bibliographies, footnoting, underlining, and using quotation marks), research guides (useful for determining how to write a scientific paper or beginning research in psychology), and publication guides (to identify psychology journals and their submission requirements).

http://www.wisc.edu/writing/Handbook/DocAPA.html
Based at the Writing Center at the University of Wisconsin--Madison, this site provides a quick resource for citing references in papers using the 5th edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (2001). Gives examples which can be used as templates for citing references. See also the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (below).
Journals in Psychology: A Resource Listing for Authors
Reference BF 76.8 .J68 1997
Lists more than 350 English-language journals specializing in the behavioral and social sciences. It lists general information about each title's publisher, editor, editorial policy, manuscript preparation requirements, number of articles and pages published per year, number of subscribers, frequency, book review inclusion, and rejection rate.
The Psychologist's Companion: A Guide to Scientific Writing for Students and Researchers
Reference BF 76.8 .S73 1988
Provides a step-by-step guide to writing research papers in psychology. Also covers style and mechanics for preparing and evaluating research reports, and information on submitting papers for publication. Use in conjunction with the latest edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (below).
http://www.psycline.org/journals/psycline.html
Do NOT expect to find many full-text, non-subscription psychology journals on the Internet. The majority of journal sites contain only submission guidelines, subscription information, and sample pages. This site is useful, however, in identifying full-text psychology journals. The site, in place since 1995, is comprehensive and worldwide.
Reference Desk BF 76.7 .P83 2001
The major style manual in psychology for students, scholars, editors, and authors experienced in psychological practices. The APA also has a guide for citing online sources at APA Style.org <http://www.apastyle.org/elecref.html>.
Full TextUlrich's Periodicals Directory
Online version
Reference Desk Z 6491 .U5
A classified list of over 175,000 periodicals published worldwide. Useful as a comprehensive listing of journals in the field of psychology. For each title, gives each title's publisher, editor, editorial scope, number of articles and pages published per year, number of subscribers, frequency, book review inclusion, and online availability.

Ask a Librarian

If you have questions or need additional assistance, Ask a Librarian, call the Reference Department at (407) 823-2562, or e-mail the Department at askalibrarian@mail.ucf.edu. The library liaison for Psychology is Donna Goda, Assistant Librarian, dgoda@mail.ucf.edu.

Last Updated: October 07, 2010