University of Central Florida Libraries 8/20/2008 http://library.ucf.edu/
Pegasus Logo
University Of Central Florida Libraries
Need help? Ask a Librarian Articles & Databases Online Journals Off-campus Access Interlibrary Loan
UCF Home UCF Home UCF Home

Catalog Search

Search

Website Search


Libraries UCF Web
Site Index

Philosophy Research Guide

Top-pick indicates Top-pick Full Textindicates some full text

Related Links

Books and Multimedia

UCF Library Catalog
http://library.ucf.edu

Use the online catalog to locate books and multimedia in the UCF Libraries. You can search by author, title, keyword, or subject.

Periodical Articles and Essays

Use the following sources to find periodical articles about a particular philosophical concept, movement, or philosopher. In some instances books, essays in books, and current book reviews also may be found in these sources.

Indexes articles, books, and book reviews from more than 1,100 art and humanities journals. This database's primary use is to track citations to the works of a specific author through the "Cited Ref Search" feature.
Essay and General Literature Index
Online version (1985+)
Index AI 3 .E752 (1900+)
Index to collections of essays in books, with emphasis on the humanities. In the print edition, arrangement is by authors, subjects, and some titles in one alphabet, with full titles of books indexed listed in the back of each volume.
An electronic database of citations to articles appearing in more than 400 English-language periodicals dealing with the humanities: folklore, history, language, literature, music, philosophy, religion, and classical studies. Continued by the print index Humanities Index (1974+).
Index AI 3 .R493 (1974+)
Lists by subject and author articles from approximately 350 English-language journals covering such fields as folklore, history, language, literature, music, philosophy, religion, and classical studies. Continued by the electronic database Humanities Full Text (1984+).
An online database listing journal articles, books, and book reviews on all aspects of medieval and Renaissance studies.
Full text of 100+ core research journals (including 19 titles in philosophy) from the year of their inception, many dating back to the early 1900s. JSTOR does NOT cover the last three to five years of journals.
Top-pick Philosopher's Index
Online version (1940+)
Index B 1 .A1 P43
The most important abstracting and indexing source for all aspects of philosophy. Indexes journals and books in English, French, German, Spanish, and Italian. The online version does not include the information from the "Book Review Index" of the print version.
Provides online access to articles in over 200 journals in the arts and humanities, sciences, and mathematics, including a number in philosophy. Usually, this database only includes articles only from the last two to five years.

Key Journals

The following selected periodicals are devoted exclusively to philosophy. Please note, however, that many other periodicals not listed here may contain articles about some aspect of philosophy; thus, the need to consult a periodical database or index. Current print issues of periodicals to which the Libraries subscribe are arranged by title on the third floor; print back issues are shelved in the general collection by call number, while microform back issues are arranged by call number on the third floor.

Full TextAmerican Philosophical Quarterly
Online version (1994-98)
General Collection B 1 .A437 (1964+)
Publishes five to ten articles per issue, mostly by American contributors and most but not exclusively oriented toward analytical philosophy.
Full TextEthics
Online version (1938+ except last 2 years)
Microfilm BJ 1 .I6 (1938-62)
General Collection BJ 1 .I6 (1961+)
A leading journal in the field of social and political philosophy and ethics. In addition to moral philosophy, however, the journal also publishes articles on philosophy of law, public policy issues, religious ethics, and social and rational choice theory.
Full TextInternational Philosophical Quarterly
Online version (1999+ except last 3 years)
Microfiche B 1 .I72 (1961-67)
General Collection B 1 .I72 (1968+)
Provides an international forum in English for the interchange of basic philosophical ideas between the Americas and Europe and between East and West. Offers articles on a wide range of subjects.
Full TextJournal of Philosophy
Online version (192+ except last 5 years)
General Collection B 1 .J7 (1921+)
One of the most widely circulated journals, emphasizing Anglo-American philosophy, especially logic and linguistic analysis. Also includes book reviews, lists of new books, and news items.
Full TextMind
Online version (1976+ except last 7 years)
Microfilm B 1 .M65 (1876-1960)
General Collection B 1 .M65 (1961+)
One of the oldest philosophical journals, with articles that accent philosophy of language, philosophical psychology, and ethical theory. Includes book reviews.
The Monist
Microfilm B 1 .M7 (1890-1905)
General Collection B 1 .M7 (1906+)
A journal of "general philosophical inquiry," featuring individual issues devoted to specific topics.
Full TextPhilosophical Quarterly
Online version (1950+ except last 5 years)
Microfilm B 1 .P4 (1950-74)
General Collection B 1 .P4 (1975+)
Analytical in orientation, this British-based journal regularly features articles on metaphysics, ethics, logic, philosophy of language, and the history of philosophy.
Full TextThe Philosophical Review
Online version (1892+ except last 5 years)
Microfilm B 1 .P5 (1892-1967)
General Collection B 1 .P5 (1968+)
While general in scope, the articles tend to emphasize epistemology and metaphysics. Book reviews are included, typically a dozen or more per issue.
Full TextPhilosophy
Online version (1998+)
General Collection B 1 .P55 (1931-45; 1949+)
The official journal of Great Britain's Royal Institute of Philosophy aims "to promote the study of philosophy in all its branches."

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Use the following encyclopedias and dictionaries for finding background information, definitions, biographical information, and summaries.

The Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy
Reference B 41 .C35 1999
Contains entries of philosophers, philosophy-related terms, and subfields of philosophy. Does not include entries on philosophers living at time of publication.
Dictionary of Logical Terms and Symbols
Reference QA 9 .G698
According to the preface, the primary objective of this source is "to present compactly, concisely, and side by side a variety of notational systems currently used by logicians, computer scientists, and engineers." Includes a glossary of logical terms.
Top-pick Dictionary of the History of Ideas: Studies of Selected Pivotal Ideas
Reference CB 5 .D52 1973
While not confined to philosophical subject matter, nonetheless philosophical ideas (e.g., "Free Will and Determinism," "Time," "Utilitarianism") are some of the topics covered in this four-volume set. Articles appear in alphabetical sequence, with bibliographies included. Volume 5 is the index.
Encyclopedia of Applied Ethics
Reference BJ 63 .E44 1998
Contains entries on specific topics dealing with ethical theory, ethical concepts, medical and scientific ethics, environmental ethics, legal ethics, ethics and politics, business and economics ethics, media ethics, and social ethics. Each entry includes a glossary of important terms, a defining statement of the essay topic, cross-references to related essays, and a bibliography. Volume 4 includes an index to the set.
Encyclopedia of Bioethics
Reference QH 332 .E52 2004
An interdisciplinary, multi-volume work covering not only philosophical aspects, but also the historical, theological, scientific, legal, and social ramifications of a wide variety of bioethical topics and issues. The 464 essays were written by 437 scholars. Volume 5 contains an appendix of "Codes, Oaths, and Directives Related to Bioethics." Use the index in volume 5 to identify specific topics and individuals.
Reference B 41 .E5 2006
Aims to cover " the full spectrum of philosophical topics" (preface). Nearly 1,500 signed articles -- about 900 of them on individual philosophers -- were contributed by an international group of scholars. Volume 10 includes an index to the set. See also the newer Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy (below).
The MIT Encyclopedia of the Cognitive Sciences
Reference BF 311 .M556 1999
Contains 471 essays, arranged alphabetically, relating to mind and cognition, including philosophy, psychology, neurosciences, computational intelligence, linguistics and language, and culture and cognition. Each entry has an extensive list of references and/or further readings. Name and subject indexes.
Full TextThe Oxford Companion to Philosophy
Online version
Reference B 31 .O94 1995
Covers philosophers, philosophical and related terms, and philosophical movements. The focus is on Western philosophy, although non-Western philosophy is included. Includes appendices of logical symbols, maps of philosophy, and a chronology of philosophy.
Reference B 51 .R68 1998
A ten-volume set that is an excellent starting point for comprehensive, interdisciplinary coverage of philosophical topics and philosophers. Entries include bibliographies of suggested reading for additional information. Volume 10 is the index to the set. Available online is the Concise Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy, an abridged version of the ten-volume set. See also the older Encyclopedia of Philosophy (above).
http://plato.stanford.edu
While far from complete, this refereed source is intended to be constantly evolving, with new entries added regularly. Many entries have lengthy bibliographies

Synopses

World Philosophy: Essay-Reviews of 225 Major Works
Reference B 29 .W68 1982
Provides 200 essay-reviews of philosophical works from ancient times to the mid-twentieth century. Each essay is accompanied by a short bibliography of additional recommended readings.

Biographies

Use the following sources, as well as many of those listed under "Encyclopedias and Dictionaries" to find biographical information on philosophers.

Biographical Dictionary of Twentieth-Century Philosophers
Reference B 104 .B5 1996
Each entry includes biographical information and a brief discussion of a twentieth-century philosopher's ideas and reception. Also includes a "Guide to Schools and Movements" section with references for further reading.
Contains biographical information on over one million individuals from all time periods, geographical locations, and fields of endeavor. The "Biographical Facts Search" allows searching for people based on one or more personal facts, such as occupation (which includes philosophy as a category).
A Companion to the Philosophers
Reference B 72 .C595 1999
Presents essays on major African, American, Chinese, European, Indian, Islamic, Japanese, and Jewish philosophers throughout history.
Directory of American Philosophers, 1996-97
General collection B 935 .D5
International Directory of Philosophy and Philosophers, 1995-96
General collection B 35 .I67
Both volumes, produced by the Philosophy Documentation Center, list university and college philosophy departments, centers and institutes, philosophical societies, journals, publishers of philosophical works, and the names and addresses of philosophers, including some individuals with graduate philosophy degrees but not affiliated with any academic institution.
Great Thinkers of the Eastern World: The Major Thinkers and the Philosophical and Religious Classics of China, India, Japan, Korea, and the World of Islam
Reference B 5005 .G74 1995
In signed articles by noted scholars, summarizations of key ideas of major Eastern philosophical and religious thinkers.
Great Thinkers of the Western World: The Major Ideas and Classic Works of More Than 100 Outstanding Western Philosophers, Physical and Social Scientists, Psychologists, Religious Writers, and Theologians
Reference B 72 .G74 1992
In signed articles by noted scholars, summarizations of key ideas of major Western philosophical thinkers.
Women Philosophers: A Bio-Critical Source Book
Reference B 105 .W6 K47 1989
Biographical information on women philosophers from ancient times to about 1920. Entries include bibliographies of works by and about the women described.

Internet Sources

http://www.epistemelinks.com
Includes thousands of sorted links to philosophy sources on the Internet. The main sections are "Philosophers" and "Topics."
http://users.ox.ac.uk/~worc0337/pil_index.html
Created and maintained by a professor at the University of Oxford, this site serves as a gateway to philosophy sources on the Internet. Organized around 14 main categories (e.g., "Reference," "Individual Philosophers").
http://vos.ucsb.edu/browse.asp?id=2724
An excellent metasite for the humanities and social sciences. Maintained at the University of California, Santa Barbara, VoS (the title comes from a little-known passage in Aristotle's Poetics) offers deep research links in more than 25 categories. Also offers helpful links to online journals, conferences, publishers, libraries, and museums. The "Philosophy" section includes a listing of Web sites organized primarily around specific philosophers.

Bibliographies

Use the following bibliographies to identify other resources in philosophy that may be in the UCF Libraries' collections.

The Philosopher's Guide to Sources, Research Tools, Professional Life and Related Fields
General Collection B 54 .D4 1980
Now somewhat dated, but still useful. The philosophy section is organized by historical period, philosophical sub-fields (e.g., "Aesthetics"), philosophical schools, and geographical areas.
Philosophy: A Guide to the Reference Literature
Reference B 72 .B97 1997
An annotated guide to reference works, electronic resources, core journals, and research centers and associations related to philosophy. Emphasizes English-language works.

Ask a Librarian

If you have questions or need additional assistance, Ask a Librarian, call the Reference Department at (407) 823-2562, or e-mail the Department at askalibrarian@mail.ucf.edu. The library liaison for Philosophy is Richard H. Harrison II, Associate University Librarian, rharriso@mail.ucf.edu.

Last Updated: 28 July 2008