Mathematics Research Guide
indicates Top-pick
indicates some full text
Note: Off-campus access to most online sources is restricted to current UCF students, faculty,
and staff via Proxy connection
Books and Multimedia
http://library.ucf.edu
Use the online catalog to locate books and multimedia in the UCF Libraries. You can search
by author, title, keyword, or subject.
- To search for a person, as AUTHOR or SUBJECT, search
by last name, first name without punctuation; for example:
- Babbage Charles
- Lovelace Ada
- SUBJECT searching requires use of Library of Congress subject headings.
Here are some example subject headings:
- Axioms
- Binary system (Mathematics)
- Business mathematics
- Calculus
- Combinations
- Congruences and residues
- Conic sections
- Coordinates
- Curves
- Differential equations
- Engineering mathematics
- Equations
- Ethnomathematics
- Factorials
- Factorization (Mathematics)
- Fractions
- Functions
- Fuzzy mathematics
- Game theory
- Geodesics (Mathematics)
- Geometry
- Graphic methods
- Harmonic analysis
- Hyperspace
- Information theory in mathematics
- Interval analysis
- Intuitionistic mathematics
- Kinematics
- Least squares
- Linear programming
- Linear systems
- Mathematical constants
- Mathematical optimization
- Maxima and minima
- Mensuration
- Metric system
- Minorities in mathematics
- Normal forms
- Numerical analysis
- Numeracy
- Numerals
- Permutations
- Probabilities
- Reciprocity theorems
- Series, Infinite
- Sequences (Mathematics)
- Set theory
- Statics
- Statistics
- Trigonometry
- Women in mathematics
- To limit by FORMAT in order to find multimedia and scores, go to the Advanced Search
in the Library Catalog and use the Limit Search By option.
- If you are unsure of the exact title or unsure of the correct Library of Congress subject
heading, try a KEYWORD search using two or three of the most significant
words from the title or subject you are trying to find.
return to top
Periodical Articles
Use the following electronic and print indexes to find articles about mathematics. Once you
have found the articles you want, in some instances you will need to check the
UCF Library Catalog to determine if we own the
periodicals you need. In addition to the electronic databases listed below, some full-text articles
pertinent to mathematics topics may be available through these online services:
Academic Search Premier,
Kluwer Online,
Science
Direct, and
Wiley InterScience.
Coverage of basic and applied research in aeronautics, astronautics, and space sciences.
Also covers technology development and applications in complementary fields such as
chemistry, geosciences, physics, communications, mathematics, and electronics. Includes
journals and reports issued by NASA and other agencies.
Publishes journals focusing on research dealing with high quality and significance in
all areas of pure and applied mathematics. For journals that appear in dual electronic
and print formats, articles are posted individually on the Web soon after the proof
is returned from authors and before appearing in issues for the print product. Items
in article bibliographies are linked to their reviews on MathSciNet when available.
Index T 1 .I54 (1958+)
Indexes articles in approximately 700 trade and industrial publications, journals issued
by professional and technical societies, and in specialized subject periodicals. Continued
by the online database
Applied Science Full
Text (1983+).
Covers every area of science, engineering, and technology. Provides citations to articles
in trade and industrial publications, journals issued by professional and technical
societies, and in specialized subject periodicals. Preceded by the print index,
Applied Science and Technology Index
(1958-2003).
Contains biographical information on over one million individuals from all time periods,
geographical locations, and fields of endeavor. The "Biographical Facts Search"
allows searching for people based on one or more personal facts, such as occupation.
Abstracts articles from over 5,000 international engineering journals, as well as conference
papers and technical reports. Covers all fields of engineering.
Indexes and abstracts articles of at least one column in length from English-language
periodicals published in the United States and Great Britain plus the full text of selected
periodicals. Periodical coverage includes popular science magazines as well as professional
journals. Subject areas covered include astronomy, biology, botany, chemistry, earth
science, environmental issues, mathematics, medicine, physics, and zoology. Preceded
by the print index,
General Science Index
(1978/79+).
Index Q 1 .G46 (1978/79+)
Indexes articles from English-language periodicals, including popular science magazines
as well as professional journals. Subject areas covered include astronomy, biology,
botany, chemistry, earth science, environmental issues, mathematics, medicine, physics,
and zoology. Continued by the online database
General Science Full Text (1984+).
Indexes and abstracts over 3,400 scientific and technical journals and some 2,000 conference
proceedings, as well as numerous books, reports, and dissertations in physics, electrical
engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computers and computing,
and information technology.
Index QA 1 .M76 (1940+)
The print equivalent of the online database
MathSciNet
(1940+). Covers all areas of mathematics and other fields that contain mathematical
or statistical applications. International in scope, provides citations to journal articles,
books, and conference proceedings. Searchable by author, title words, journal title
and Mathematics Subject Classification which is a system used to categorize items covered
by Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications.
Provides timely reviews or summaries of articles and books that contain new contributions
to mathematical research, as well as links to selected articles. The Mathematical Reviews
Database is the database of bibliographic information and reviews, created and maintained
by the American Mathematical Society. Journals, conference proceedings, and books of
mathematical research are covered. The print version is
Mathematical Reviews (1940+).
Indexes U.S. government-sponsored research and scientific, technical, engineering, mathematics,
and business-related research reports from Federal sources. Major areas of coverage
include administration and management, aeronautics and aerodynamics, computer science,
education, engineering, mathematics, physics, technology, telecommunications, and transportation.
A multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the sciences. It fully indexes
5,900 major journals across 150 scientific disciplines. This database's primary use
is to track citations to the works of a specific author through the "Cited Ref Search"
feature.
return to top
Preprint Articles
Preprints are articles that have been distributed in partial or preliminary form, usually
in advance of official publication.
http://www.ams.org/global-preprints/
Provides Internet links and e-mail contacts of all mathematical preprint and e-print
servers throughout the world. The servers listed are divided into three categories:
(1) umbrella servers which cover all areas of mathematics such as the Front for the
Mathematics ArXiv and the MPRESS/MathNet.preprints server; (2) special subject servers
and servers administered by mathematics departments and institutes; and (3) retired
preprint services.
return to top
Key Journals
The following journals are devoted exclusively or in part to mathematics. Please note, however,
that many other journals not listed here may contain articles about these subjects; thus, the
need to consult a periodical database or
index. Current print issues of periodicals to which the Library
subscribes are arranged by title on the third floor; print back issues are shelved in the general
collection by call number, while microform back issues are arranged by call number on the third
floor.
Acta Mathematica
General Collection QA1 .A18 (1969+)
Contains research papers in all fields of mathematics. Most of the papers are in English,
but some are in French or German. The material found in the articles tend to be highly
cited and of lasting importance.

American Journal of
Mathematics
The oldest mathematics journal in the Western Hemisphere in continuous publication.
Publishes articles of broad appeal covering the major areas of contemporary mathematics.

Annals of Mathematics
Publishes articles in all areas of mathematical research.

Annals of the Institute
of Statistical Mathematics
Online version (1997+)
General Collection QA 276 .T6 (1972+)
Microfilm QA 276 .T6 (1949-72)
AISM provides an international forum for open communication among statisticians and
researchers working with the common purpose of advancing human knowledge through the
development of science and the technology of statistics.

The American Mathematical
Monthly: The Official Journal of the Mathematical Association of America
Online version (1894+ except last 3 years)
Microfilm QA 1 .A515 (1894-1936)
Microfiche QA 1 .A515 (1933-52)
General Collection QA 1 .A515 (1946+)
Expository articles on all components of mathematics, pure and applied, old and new.
Regular columns devoted to basic and complex problems and reviews are included.

Bulletin (New Series)
of the American Mathematical Society
Online version
(1996+)
General Collection QA 1 .A52 (1979-1994, 2001+)
Publishes two types of articles: 1) papers that present a clear and insightful exposition
of significant aspects of contemporary mathematical research, and 2) brief, timely reports
on important mathematical developments. It also contains four to eight lengthy book
reviews in each issue. Continues Bulletin of the American Mathematical Society
(1894-1978).

The College Mathematics
Journal: An Official Publication of the Mathematical Association of America
Online version (1984+ except last 3 years)
General Collection QA 11 .A1 T9 (1984+)
Articles on mathematics, curriculum and pedagogy, problems and solutions, classroom
notes, and a special section on computers. Focuses on the earlier years of college-level
mathematics.
Duke Mathematical Journal
Microfiche QA 1 .D6 (1935-1968)
General Collection QA 1 .D6 (1969+)
The focus is on pure mathematics, publishing approximately 100 articles a year.

Historia Mathematica
Publishes historical scholarship on mathematics and its development in all cultures
and time periods. While most of the articles are written in English, some are in French
or German.

IMA Journal of Applied
Mathematics
Publishes papers in all areas of mathematics, including analytic and numerical treatments
of both physical and nonphysical applied mathematical problems.

Inventiones Mathematicae
The express purpose of this journal is to publish new contributions to the field of
mathematics. Some of the articles are in German or French.

Journal of the American
Mathematical Society
Material published in this journal is devoted to significant research articles of the
highest quality in all areas of pure and applied mathematics.

The Mathematical Intelligencer
Online version (1993+ except last 12 months)
General Collection QA 1 .M427 (1988+)
Informs and entertains an international readership of professional mathematicians. Articles
include discussion on mathematics, mathematicians, and the history and culture of mathematics.

Mathematical Proceedings
of the Cambridge Philosophical Society
The whole range of pure and applied mathematics, theoretical physics, and statistics
are covered in this journal.

Mathematics Teacher
Online version (1996-Nov 2001)
General Collection QA 1 .N28 (1908/09-1992); (2003+)
Microfilm QA 1 .N28 (1908/09-1975); (1990-2002)
Cum. Index: 1908-1985.
The oldest journal published by the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics (NCTM),
publishing articles on the improvement of instruction of mathematics in junior and senior
high schools, two-year colleges, and teacher education colleges.
Memoirs of the American Mathematical Society
General Collection QA 3 .A57 (1988+)
More a monographic series than a journal, with each issue containing one lengthy research
paper or a group of related papers. The focus is broadly on pure and applied mathematics
topics.

Proceedings of the American
Mathematical Society
Publication is devoted to short research articles (not to exceed ten printed pages)
in all areas of pure and applied mathematics. To be published in the Proceedings, a
paper must be correct, new, and significant. Further, it must be of interest to a substantial
number of mathematicians.

Proceedings of the London
Mathematical Society
Online version (1997+)
Online version (1997+)
General Collection QA 1 .L5 (2nd Series (1920/21-1948/49))
(Index 2nd Series (1903-1952))
(3rd Series (1951-2003))
(Index 3rd Series (1951-1972))
Presents research papers in the fields of real and complex analysis, differential equations
and related areas, topology, geometry, logic, probability and statistics, algebra, number
theory, and combination theory.

The Quarterly Journal
of Mathematics, Oxford Series
Publishes original contributions to pure mathematics with areas such as algebra, differential
geometry, and global analysis receiving particular emphasis.

Quarterly of Applied
Mathematics
Microfilm QA 1.Q25 (1943/44-1969/70)
General Collection QA 1 .Q25 (1970/71+)
Original papers in applied mathematics that have a close connection with applications
in industrial or practical science are published in this journal.

SIAM Review
Consists of five sections, all covering articles of broad interest. Publishes papers
with a deliberately integrative and up-to-date perspective on major topics in either
applied or computational mathematics or scientific computing.

Studies in Applied Mathematics
Publication reports research results involving the core concepts of applied mathematics
research. The domain is the interplay between mathematics and applied disciplines.

Transactions of the American
Mathematical Society
The editorial focus is on research articles in all areas of pure and applied mathematics
with the papers being longer than ten pages.
return to top
Definitions and Summaries
Sources such as dictionaries and encyclopedias are good starting points for obtaining basic
information about issues, events, and concepts in the field of mathematics.
Comprehensive Dictionary of Mathematics
A three-volume series that focuses on mathematical terms and definitions of critical
importance to practicing mathematicians and scientists. Provides working definitions,
meanings of terms, related references, and a list of alternative terms and definitions.
The volumes in the series include:
- Dictionary of Algebra, Arithmetic, and Trigonometry -- Reference QA
5 .D4983 2001
- Dictionary of Analysis, Calculus, and Differential Equations -- Reference
QA 5 .D53 2000
- Dictionary of Classical and Theoretical Mathematics -- Reference QA 5. D4984
2001
CRC Concise Encyclopedia of Mathematics
Reference QA 5 .W45 1999
A compendium of mathematical definitions, formulas, figures, tabulations, and references
written in an informal style intended to make it accessible to a broad spectrum of readers
with a wide range of mathematical backgrounds and interests. It draws connections between
many areas of mathematics and science and offers concise, definitions, a multidisciplinary
approach regarding the use of mathematics, 110,000 cross-references to other topics
and sources (including many internet sites), and thousands of illustrations, formulas
and derivations.
A Dictionary of Named Effects and Laws in Chemistry, Physics, and Mathematics
Reference Q 123 .B3 1980
Defines effects, laws, units and other phenomena named after scientists in the fields
of chemistry, physics, and mathematics.
Elsevier's Dictionary of Mathematics
Reference QA 5 .E48 2000
Selection of the terms for the dictionary was based either on their significance or
on their frequency of use according to authoritative encyclopedias, dictionaries and
textbooks. Included are both modern developments and contemporary changes in terminology
as well as recently established terms. The terminology covers all the major branches
of mathematics from elementary to advanced subjects.
Encyclopaedia of Mathematics
Reference QA 5 .M3713 1988 + Supplement
The articles in this 10-volume set vary from short definitions to long survey pieces
dealing with the major directions in mathematics. Most articles have references for
further study. Extensive cross-references. Volume 10 is the subject and author index.
A Supplement was published in 1997.
Encyclopedia of Mathematics
Reference QA 5 .T34 2005
A one-volume encyclopedia with more than 1,000 entries and more than 125 photographs
and illustrations. This book unites disparate ideas and provides the meaning, history,
context, and relevance behind each one.
Encyclopedia of Mathematics Education
Reference QA 11 .E665 2001
A single-volume reference work for readers and researchers investigating national and
international aspects of mathematics education at the elementary, secondary, and post-secondary
levels. Provides basic information for the investigation of national and international
aspects of mathematics education.
Encyclopedic Dictionary of Mathematics
Reference QA 5 .I8313 1987
This four-volume set concisely describes all significant mathematical results, pure
and applied, elementary to advanced.
http://www.cut-the-knot.org/glossary/atop.shtml
List of terms describing various aspects of mathematics.
The Hutchinson Pocket Dictionary of Maths
Defines mathematical terms in clear and understandable language.
The International Dictionary of Applied Mathematics
Reference QA 5 .I5
Defines terms and describes the methods in the applications of mathematics to thirty-one
fields of physical science and engineering. These definitions and descriptions have
been chosen to comprise those terms in general use and those methods that have proved
most fruitful in practical calculations and analysis.
McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms
Reference Q 123 .M34 1994
A dictionary intended for the scientific and engineering specialist, as well as for
the "non-specialist needing comprehensive yet accessible definitions of scientific terminology"
(preface). Includes over 110,000 terms, each of which is identified by its field of
use.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mathematics
A free content encyclopedia written collaboratively by contributors from around the
world. Defines and describes approximately 150 mathematical terms.
http://mathworld.wolfram.com/
Defines terms frequently used in mathematics, along with many illustrative examples.
May be browsed by letter or searched by term.
return to top
Handbooks and Tables
There are a number of important handbooks and manuals dealing with specific areas or functions
in mathematics. Handbooks are excellent sources to use for an overview of a topic, to begin
a literature search, and to find discussions about schools of thought, theoretical approaches,
and landmark research studies. They provide a more in-depth and comprehensive treatment than
encyclopedias or dictionaries on a specific topic in the field.
http://www.scenta.co.uk/tcaep/
A collection of mathematical constants and equations covering algebra, trigonometry,
integration, differentiation, SI units, and symbols. Maintained by the Institute of
Physics (IOP), a leading professional and research society.

CRC Standard Mathematical
Tables and Formulae
Reference QA 47 .M315 1996
Provides basic mathematical reference material required for mathematics, engineering,
and the physical sciences.

CRC Standard Probability
and Statistics Tables and Formulae
Reference QA 273.3 .Z95 2000
Brings together an extensive collection of relatively standard statistical tables.
A Dictionary of Inequalities
Reference QA 295 .B928 1998
Intended to be a handy reference to the vast literature of inequalities. Inequality
can be found by its usual name or if this is not known then by subject. The entry consists
of a short statement of the result, some comments, references to related inequalities
and a list of sources for further information.
The Encyclopedia of Integer Sequences
Reference QA 246.5 .S66 1995 (computer disk at Circulation Desk)
Contains about 5,500 integer sequences with a brief description and citations to literature
for each sequence. Following sequences of particular interest, there are essays on their
origins, uses, and connections to related sequences.
Handbook of Analytic-Computational Methods in Applied Mathematics
General Collection QA 40 .H358 2000
Twenty-two chapters focus on various aspects of analytic computational methods in approximation
theory and other related fields. The articles represent the leading research activities
of contemporary, mainstream applied mathematics and address problems in a broad range
of disciplines, from economics to statistics, dynamic programming, and engineering.
Handbook of Applied Multivariate Statistics and Mathematical Modeling
General Collection QA 278 .H3453 2000
Explains the appropriate uses of multivariate procedures and mathematical modeling techniques.
Prescribes practices that enable applied researchers to use procedures effectively without
needing to concern themselves with the mathematical basis.
Handbook of Applied Optimization
General Collection QA 402.5 H334 2002
Covers the optimization problems in a wide range of settings, from the airline and aerospace
industries to telecommunications, finance, health systems, biomedicine, and engineering.
Handbook of Chemometrics and Qualimetrics
Reference QD 75.4 .S8 H36 1997
Comprehensive coverage of the various fields of chemometrics, starting with classical
statistical methods for hypothesis testing to advanced methods such as neural networks,
genetic algorithms and latent variable based methods. Includes contributions from authors
with both academic and industrial backgrounds and has applications from all fields of
chemistry and pharmacy.
Handbook of Combinatorics
General Collection QA 164 .H33 1995
Collection of survey articles by various top class mathematicians about combinatorics,
and the links the subject has with other branches of knowledge, from topology to biology.
Handbook of Differential Equations: Ordinary Differential Equations
General Collection QA 372 .H36 2004
A collection of survey papers in the theory of ordinary differential equations, showing
the state of the art and presenting some of the main results and methods used to solve
various types of problems.
Handbook of Discrete and Combinatorial Mathematics
General Collection QA 164 .H36 2000
Comprehensive collection of ready reference material for all of the important areas
of discrete mathematics, including those essential to its applications in computer science
and engineering. The handbook also includes glossaries, lists of important theorems
and formulas, examples illustrating terms and concepts, descriptions of algorithms,
summary tables, pointers to print and non-print resources, and biographical sketches
of important figures.
Handbook of Dynamical Systems
General Collection QA 614.8 H36 2002
A comprehensive survey of dynamics written by specialists in the various subfields of
dynamical systems.
Handbook of Elliptic and Hyperelliptic Curve Cryptography
General Collection QA 567.E44 H36 2006
A thorough study of nearly all the mathematical aspects of public key cryptography based
on the discrete log system and explores both theory and applications.
A Handbook of Essential Mathematical Formulae
General Collection QA 41 .D38 2004
Contains vital information and formulae for algebra, geometry, calculus, numerical methods
and statistics.
Handbook of Function and Generalized Function Transformations
General Collection QA 331 .Z39 1996
Source book that provides quick and easy access to the most important properties and
formulas of function and generalized function transformations. This book highlights
the main properties and formulas of over 50 function transformations. The book is geared
toward students and non-specialists in mathematics, science, and engineering.
Handbook of Game Theory with Economic Implications
General Collection HB 144 .H36
Surveys game theory and its applications, particularly to economics, but also to politics,
mathematics, psychology, and biology.
Handbook of Geometric Computing: Applications in Pattern Recognition, Computer Vision,
Neuralcomputing, and Robotics
General Collection QA 448 .D38 H353 2005
Addresses a broad audience of applied mathematicians, physicists, computer scientists,
and engineers. It brings together under a single cover the most recent advances in the
applications of geometric computing in the most important fields related to building
perception action systems: computer vision, robotics, image processing and understanding,
pattern recognition, computer graphics, quantum computers, brain theory and neural networks.
Handbook of Graphs and Networks: From the Genome to the Internet
General Collection QA 402 .H36 2003
The dynamics of networks and their structure have emerged as a key concept across disciplines.
With research on the verge of a newly developing field of the theory of evolving networks,
this book defines this field and presents the state-of-the-art of theoretical methods
and approaches.
Handbook of K-Theory
General Collection QA 612.33 .H36 2005
The handbook offers a compilation of techniques and results in K-theory. These
two volumes consist of chapters, each of which is dedicated to a specific topic and
is written by a leading expert. The overall intent of this handbook is to offer
the interested reader an exposition of our current state of knowledge as well as an
implicit blueprint for future research.
Handbook of Mathematical Formulas and Integrals
Reference QA 47 .J38 2000
Provides reference material that helps simplify the solution of a problem, both by easing
the task of locating important functional relationships and also by removing the tedium
of evaluating most of the integrals that arise. Covers formulas, functions, relations,
and methods from algebra, trigonometric, exponential functions and more.

Handbook of Metaheuristics
Consists of 19 chapters covering such topics as scatter search, tabu search, genetic
algorithms, genetic programming, memetic algorithms, variable neighborhood search, guided
local search, GRASP, ant colony optimization, simulated annealing, iterated local search,
multi-start methods, constraint programming, constraint satisfaction, neural network
methods for optimization, hyper-heuristics, parallel strategies for metaheuristics,
metaheuristic class libraries, and A-teams.
Handbook of Nonlinear Partial Differential Equations
General Collection QA 372 .P726 2004
A reference for professionals in mathematics, physics, mechanics, and engineering which
provides exact solutions for nonlinear equations encountered in science and engineering.
The equations include those of parabolic, hyperbolic, elliptic and other types. The
authors pay special attention to equations of general form that involve arbitrary functions.
A supplement at the end of the book discusses the classical and new methods for constructing
exact solutions to nonlinear equations. The authors avoid wherever possible the use
of special terminology, outline some of the methods in a schematic, simplified manner,
and arrange the equations in increasing order of complexity.
Handbook of Numerical Analysis
General Collection QA 297 .H287
Covers all the major aspects of numerical analysis, including the basic methods of analysis
under headings including finite difference methods, finite element methods, techniques
of scientific computing, and numerical methods for fluids.
Handbook of Semidefinite Programming: Theory, Algorithms, and Applications
General Collection T 57.74 .H355 2000
Offers an advanced and broad overview of the current state of the field of semidefinite
programming (SDP). This field is of interest to researchers of diverse backgrounds,
including experts in convex programming, linear algebra, numerical optimization, combinatorial
optimization, control theory, and statistics.
Handbook of Sequential Analysis
Presents a broad spectrum of sequential analysis and its applications in diverse fields
in a cohesive and integrated form.
Handbook of the Logistic Distribution
General Collection QA 273.6 .H35 1992
Discusses in detail the mathematical and statistical properties of the function as applied
to linear observations.
Prentice Hall's Reference to Mathematics: A Guide for Everyday Math
General Collection QA 40 .C54 2003
Describes and explains different mathematical operations and formulae, along with step-by-step
processes, worked-out examples with explanatory comments, and extensive glossary and
index.
Statistical Tables, Explained and Applied
General Collection QA 276.25 .L3813 2002
Contains several new or unpublished tables, such as one on the significance of the correlation
coefficient r, one giving the percentiles of the statistic for monotonic variation (with
two structural models of variation), an extensive table for the number-of-runs test,
three tables for the binomial sum of probabilities, and a table of coefficients for
the re-conversion of orthogonal polynomials. In the case of the more familiar tables,
all values have been re-computed. An appendix contains supplementary examples that pertain
to the various tables. Also includes a glossary of often-used concepts and methods,
statistical as well as mathematical.
return to top
Quotations
A Dictionary of Quotations in Mathematics
Reference QA 99 .D53 2002
Contains a large number of quotations that are indexed by both keyword and author. Some
of the areas covered are historical origins, linguistics, the arts, mathematicians themselves,
logic, real and idealized space, number theory, algebra, computers, probability theory,
and statistics.
Mathematically Speaking: A Dictionary of Quotations
Collects quotes about math from mathematicians and non-mathematicians alike. The quotes
are divided among topics such as calculation, analogy, deduction, circle, discovery,
pi, reasoning, map, parabola, and topology.
return to top
Biographies
There are countless sources for biographical information. In addition to the sources cited
below, also check the sources listed under "Definitions
and Summaries."
http://www.agnesscott.edu/lriddle/women/women.htm
These pages are part of an on-going project by students in mathematics classes at Agnes
Scott College in Decatur, Georgia, to illustrate the numerous achievements of women
in the field of mathematics. There are biographical essays or comments on most of the
women mathematicians and some photos.
Contains biographical information on over one million individuals from all time periods,
geographical locations, and fields of endeavor. The "Biographical Facts Search" allows
searching for people based on one or more personal facts, such as occupation.
A Century of Mathematics in America
General Collection QA 27 .U5 C46
A series of articles on the different aspects of American mathematical history over
the past century.
History of Greek Mathematics
General Collection QA 22 .H4
An excellent reference for looking up Greek mathematicians. Even the most obscure mathematicians
are covered in good detail along with what they proved, as well as how they proved it.
A History of Mathematics in America Before 1900
General Collection QA 27.U5 S6 1980
Organized historically, covering the uses of mathematics, the development of mathematics
instruction and research, and discussion of the important names in mathematics in America
from the earliest settlement to the year 1900. The book is divided into four chapters,
each chapter dealing with a particular time period in chronological order.
Leading Personalities in Statistical Sciences: From the 17th Century to the Present
General Collection QA 276.156 .L43 1997
Spanning almost four centuries, chronicles the lives and achievements of more than 110
of the most prominent names in theoretical and applied statistics, and in probability.
http://www-groups.dcs.st-and.ac.uk/~history/
An integrated collection of over 1,000 biographies and historical articles of a mathematical
nature, alongside interactive birthplace maps and the famous curve applet.

Notable Mathematicians:
From Ancient Times to the Present
Reference QA 28 .N66 1998
A comprehensive source of biographical information on mathematicians throughout recorded
history.
Notable Women in Mathematics: A Biographical Dictionary
Reference QA 28 .N68 1998
Substantive biographical essays on women from around the world, from antiquity to the
present, who have made significant contributions to mathematics. Although the collection
includes historical women, the emphasis is on contemporary mathematicians. Each profile
describes major life events, obstacles faced and overcome, educational and career milestones
(including a discussion of mathematical research in non- technical terms), and outside
interests.
Remarkable Mathematicians: From Euler to von Neumann
General Collection QA 28 .J36 2002
Profiles 60 important mathematicians whose combined stories represent an outline of
the way in which mathematics developed from 1700 to 1910. The biographies are arranged
chronologically and emphasize the life stories of the characters rather than the details
of their achievements.
Russian Mathematicians in the 20th Century
General Collection QA 28 .R87
Presents the main achievements of Russian mathematicians in the 20th century. The book
presents differences in mathematical styles and focuses on Soviet mathematicians who
often discussed "what to do" rather than "how to do it”.
Statisticians of the Centuries
General Collection QA 276 .156 .S73 2001
A collection of biographies of statisticians that have contributed to the field, from
the sixteenth through the twentieth centuries.
Women of Mathematics: A Bio-bibliographic Sourcebook
Reference QA 28 .W66 1987
Contains a biography, a summary of achievements, and a bibliography of works by and
about the mathematician.
return to top
Directories
http://www.ams.org/cml/
Provides contact information for members of the American Mathematical Society (AMS),
Mathematical Association of America (MAA), Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics
(SIAM), and American Mathematical Association of Two-Year Colleges (AMATYC).
Internet Sources
There are literally thousands of Internet (or World Wide Web) sites pertinent to mathematics.
Most of the following are essentially "meta-sites," starting places for finding and linking
to a wide variety of information online.
http://e-math.ams.org/
A database sponsored by the American Mathematical Society with links to different aspects
of the association. The "Math on the Web" link provides a long list of Internet sites
arranged by broad subject categories, such as "Guides," "People," and "Reference."
http://mthwww.uwc.edu/wwwmahes/files/math01.htm
Provides links to a great variety of mathematical and mathematical-related web sites.
Categorizes entries from General Mathematics WWW Servers in the US, in foreign countries
as well as links to Pure Mathematics, Applied Mathematics and Mathematical Physics,
etc., math gophers and newsgroups, all the way to Miscellaneous Web Pages in Mathematics.
Maintained at the University of Wisconsin -- Marathon County.
http://www.mathforum.org/
Provides links to many good mathematics resources, organized by subject, plus an extensive
archive on commonly-asked questions. Maintained by Drexel University in Philadelphia,
Pennsylvania.
http://www.math.fsu.edu/Virtual/
Provides pages with links pertaining to a wide range of mathematics and mathematical-related
areas including addresses, electronic journals, math department web pages, math education,
math gophers and newsgroups, mathematical software index, specialized fields, and a
LaTeX archive. Under general resources are links to various research institutions and
professional societies, Internet sites pertaining to a broad spectrum of mathematical
subjects -- both serious and fun -- such as a fractal movie archive, a mathematical
tables web site, math magic, and even a page on math in the movies. Hosted and maintained
by the Florida State University Department of Mathematics.
http://www.mathacademy.com/pr/index.asp
Platonic Realms is a collaborative effort of math graduate students and educators, and
includes the Math Links Library with over 700 math links; the Quotes Collection (a collection
of mathematical quotations arranged by author); the Platonic Realms Online Bookstore
a collaboration with Amazon.com offering a extensive listing of mathematical titles;
Mini-Texts, essays/monographs on general mathematical topics; and Pocket Topics, brief
essays on specific and focused subjects like Zeno's Paradoxes, etc. Maintained by Math
Academy Online/ Platonic Realms and edited by D. Sidney Smith at the University of Colorado
-- Boulder.
return to top
Style Manuals
The sources below offer assistance with the mechanics of paper presentation in the field
of mathematics, such as preparing bibliographies, footnoting, underlining, and using quotation
marks.
http://www.ams.org/tex/author-info.html
AMS Author Packages were designed to be used with an existing TeX system. The following
must be installed: TeX (available as freeware or shareware, or from commercial TeX vendors),
LaTeX or AMS-TeX, and AMSFonts (if using extra symbols).
ftp://ftp.ams.org/pub/author-info/documentation/handbk.pdf
This handbook is intended for authors and keyboarders who are preparing books or articles
that have been accepted for publication by the American Mathematical Society (AMS).
Articles for electronic-only publications are processed pre-acceptance; in those instances,
refer to the section on electronic-only journals for information.
The Chicago Manual of Style
Ready Reference Z 253 .U69 2003
A standard guide to research, writing, and the mechanics of manuscript presentation
for the purposes of publication, including examples for citing electronic publications.
return to top
Ask a Librarian
If you have questions or need additional assistance,
Ask a Librarian, call the Reference Department
at (407) 823-2562, or e-mail the Department at askalibrarian@mail.ucf.edu.
The library liaison for Mathematics is Hal Mendelsohn, Assistant University
Librarian, hmendels@mail.ucf.edu.
Last Updated:
July 19, 2010