Ideas for Research Topics
If you're having difficulty
coming up with an idea for your research paper, the following resources may
spark some ideas. Remember, these are just suggestions to get your brain
unfrozen -- don't limit yourself to these specific topics. Be creative
and give the paper you write your own personal spin.
Once you've decided on a specific topic, you may find additional information by searching
the UCF Library catalog for books and
various databases for articles. Some of the
popular general databases
for articles include Academic Search Premier, Infotrac OneFile, and OmniFile Full Text.
Contemporary Issues
Research Guide provides some guidance for researching popular topics in the
UCF Library's resources.
Keywords, organizations, key people and web sites to use in researching 144 topics are available
in Successful Keyword Searching: Initiating Research on Popular Topics Using Electronic
Databases by Randall & Susan MacDonald [REF ZA4460.M33 2001].
Other Resources:
-
America: History & Life CLIO Notes guide you through US History by allowing
you to browse through chronologies and hundreds of brief summaries of significant events
and themes in American history. At the end of your exploration you will be provided with
suggested research topics related to your area of interest and an easy-to-use search screen
that will allow you to search the entire America: History and Life database for articles,
book and media reviews, and dissertations. CLIO Notes are also available for
World History from 1450 to the present.
-
CQ Researcher Plus Archive (1923- ) provides in-depth analysis
reporting on the most current and controversial issues of the day. The UCF Library also
has bound volumes from 1991+ [General Collection H35.E352] and 1955-1991 of the preceding
title, Editorial Research Reports [H35.E35; MFLM 1955-1968; Bound 1969-April 1991]
- Cambridge
Scientific Abstracts - Discovery Guides provide a sampling of resources on
current issues (arts & humanities, natural sciences, social sciences, technology) with an
overview of the subject, key citations with abstracts and links to web sites.
- Current Topics for Research
(Kingwood College) provides some current issues in the news today, with a brief list of
key web pages on each subject.
- Documents in the News
(Univ of Michigan) identifies issues about government making news headlines and web sources
with additional information.
- Homework Center - Social
Issues (Multnomah County Library) provides links to meet the needs of middle
and high school students researching current social issues from multiple perspectives. Some
of the resources may be useful for college research papers as well.
- Hot Topics
on the Internet (San Diego State Univ) includes a list of hot topics
supersites
which have resources on many controversial topics of current interest.
- Issues & Causes
in the Yahoo! Directory provides a list of Internet links for various issues.
-
LexisNexis Congressional - Hot Bills & Hot Topics provides information about
selected bills that have received national attention. These bills are under consideration
or have been recently enacted by Congress. Also included are topics on major issues of the
day. For each hot topic, there are articles from major national and regional news sources.
- Project Vote Smart provides
information about political campaigns and ballot issues.
- Public Agenda Online
provides policy options and public opinion behind critical public concerns, including abortion,
America's global role, campaign finance, child care, crime, the economy, education, the
environment, the family, the federal budget, health care, illegal drugs, immigration, internet
speech/privacy, medical research, medicare, poverty and welfare, race, right to die, and
social security.
- Virtual Presentation
Assistant is an online tutorial for improving your public speaking skills,
with guidelines on selecting and researching your topic.
-
xreferplus Concept Map enables you to quickly find information when you don't know
exactly what to look for or want to expand your knowledge of a given area.
Resources available for remote access to users with a public library card with the
Orange County Library
System:
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center is a one-stop source for information on social
issues. Includes viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, links to web sites, and
full-text magazine and newspaper articles. [NOTE: The UCF Library has paper copies of some
titles in the Opposing Viewpoints book series, plus
other print series such as At Issue, Contemporary Issues, Reference Shelf,
and Taking Sides.]
- SIRS Knowledge Source is a general reference database of full-text articles that
explore social, scientific, historic, economic, political and global issues.
Looking for something else ?
Ask for assistance at the UCF Library's Reference Desk or contact UCF's Ask A
Librarian.
Originally prepared by: Rich Gause,
Government Documents Librarian
Last Updated:
January 30, 2008