University of Central Florida Libraries 5/17/2008 http://library.ucf.edu/
Pegasus Logo
University Of Central Florida Libraries
Need help? Ask a Librarian Articles & Databases Online Journals Off-campus Access Interlibrary Loan
UCF Home UCF Home UCF Home

Catalog Search

Search

Website Search


Libraries UCF Web
Site Index

Financial Aid Research Guide

Full Textindicates some full text
Note: Off-campus access to some online sources is restricted to current UCF students, faculty, and staff via Proxy connection

General Directories

The A's and B's of Academic Scholarships
Reference LB 2338 .L43
Undergraduate. Lists about 100,000 merit, non-need scholarships at 1,200 colleges and universities.
Annual Register of Grant Support
Reference AS 911 .A2 A67
Undergraduate/Graduate. Over 3,000 entries on programs of government agencies, public and private foundations, corporations, community trusts, unions, associations and special organizations in support of research, project development, and travel and exchange programs.
The College Blue Book: Scholarships, Fellowships, Grants, and Loans
Reference LA 226.C685
Undergraduate/Graduate. Arranged by broad area of study, with each section subdivided into individual disciplines. Entries are arranged by awarding agency, providing information on the agency and its purpose; names of awards; eligibility requirements; and application deadlines. Indexes by subject, level of education, sponsoring organization, and award title.
The College Board College Cost and Financial Aid Handbook
Reference LB 2342 .C33
Undergraduate. Provides facts and figures needed to calculate the true costs, after factoring in financial aid, at over 2,700 four-year and two-year colleges. It includes itemized tuition and fee information; itemized charts of all student expenses; payment plan information; indexes of colleges offering merit, academic, and athletic scholarships.
College Student's Guide to Merit and Other No-Need Funding
Reference LB 2337.2 .C64
Undergraduate. Lists over 1,200 merit-based funding programs. For each entry provides information about purpose, eligibility requirements, financial data, duration, special features, limitations, number of grants awarded, and application date. Indexed by discipline, specific subject, sponsoring organization, program title, locale, and deadline date.
Directory of Research Grants
Reference LB 2338 .D57
Undergraduate/Graduate. Lists more than 4,000 grants, contracts, fellowships, and loan programs for research, training, and innovative effort sponsored by more than 600 organizations. Entries are arranged by program title and include eligibility requirements, restrictions, and application procedures.
Foundation Grants to Individuals
General Collection LB 2336 .F598 2001
Lists private U.S. foundations that offer grants to individuals. Awards by organizations are not limited solely to scholarships -- also includes loans and money given to individuals for artistic endeavors, financial assistance for needy individuals, and grants for research and professional development. Indexed geographically, by company name, foundation name, type of support, and by subject.
Free Money for College
Reference LB 2337.2 .B57 1999
Undergraduate. Lists some 1,000 grants and scholarships available for undergraduate study, organized into five sections: state listings, area of study listings, grants for women, grants for ethnic students, grants for disabled students. No index.
Free Money for Graduate School
Reference LB 2337.2 .B58 2000
Graduate. Divided into nine chapters, six listing grants available in broad subject fields and three identifying awards specifically for women, ethnic group members, and study abroad. Entries contain name, address, telephone number, contact person, restrictions, nature of awards, and deadlines.
Reference LB 2338 .G7
Graduate/Post-Graduate. An international directory of financial aid available to graduate and post-graduate students throughout the English-speaking world. Grant-giving institutions are listed alphabetically with brief information on the type of assistance offered. Includes scholarships, fellowships, and research grants; exchange opportunities; vacation study and travel awards; grants for equipment, publication, artistic or scientific projects; and competitions.
Loans and Grants from Uncle Sam: Am I Eligible and for How Much?
Reference LB 2340.2 .C642
Undergraduate. Provides information about federal loan and grant programs for college students. It includes a worksheet for determining eligibility and estimating the size of  award, and a list of Title IV Institutional Codes for most colleges and universities. The book also provides explanations of eligibility, deferments, loan forgiveness, loan consolidation, and repayment schedules.
Peterson's College Money Handbook
Reference LB 2337.2 .C65
Undergraduate. Details individual financial aid appropriations at more than 1,600 four-year colleges. Also contains information on federal grants, work-study, need-based grants, academic and athletic scholarships, awards based on ethnicity or religion, and more. Includes important deadline and an extensive list of state scholarship and grant programs. A  “College Out-of-Pocket Cost” chart reveals what average costs of specific colleges really are, once typical financial aid packages are deducted from the equation.
Peterson's Scholarships, Grants, and Prizes
Reference LB 2337.4 .P475
Undergraduate/Graduate. Describes more than 1.6 million scholarships and other awards worth nearly $6 billion and available from private sources -- foundations, corporations, religious organizations, and civic organizations.
Scholarship Almanac
Reference LB 2338 .P48
Undergraduate. Emphasizes the 500 largest scholarships available from private sources, with information on award qualifications, requirements, deadlines, amounts, and application contacts. Lists awards based on a variety of categories, including career areas, military service, and corporate affiliation. Also has a brief introduction to the financial aid process.
Scholarships, Fellowships, and Loans: A Guide to Education-Related Financial Aid Programs for Students and Professionals
Reference LB 2338 .S35
Undergraduate/Graduate. Lists and describes more than 3,300 sources of education-related financial aid at all levels of study, from undergraduate and graduate to vocational/technical and post-doctorate. The "Vocational Goals Index" near the front of the book classifies awards by level of study and broad vocational goals.

Subject-Specific Directories

Athletic Scholarships: Thousands of Grants--and Over $400 Million--for College-Bound Athletes
Reference GV 583 .G72 2000
Undergraduate. Lists colleges and universities that provide athletic scholarships.
Directory of Grants in the Humanities
Reference AZ 188 .U5 D57
Undergraduate/Graduate. Lists almost 4,000 funding programs that support research and performance in all areas of the humanities.
GrantFinder: The Complete Guide to Postgraduate Funding Worldwide: Arts and Humanities
Reference LB 2337.2 .G736 2000
GrantFinder: The Complete Guide to Postgraduate Funding Worldwide: Sciences
Reference LB 2337.2 .G76 1999
GrantFinder: The Complete Guide to Postgraduate Funding Worldwide: Social Sciences
Reference H 62 .G65 2000
Graduate. Subject-specific spin-offs of The Grants Register (above), arranged alphabetically by granting agency. Presents the same information included in the parent directory: a full range of contact information; eligibility requirements; the purpose, type, number, and frequency of awards; the amount of the award; the length and place of study; application procedures and closing dates; and additional pertinent information. Subject guide and indexes by awards and awarding organization.
Money for Graduate Students in the Biological and Health Sciences
Reference LB 2337.2 .S353
Lists and describes almost 1,100 funding opportunities for research and study in agricultural sciences, biology, botany, dentistry, genetics, horticulture, medicine, nursing, nutrition, pharmacology, rehabilitation, veterinary sciences, and zoology.
Money for Graduate Students in the Humanities
Reference LB 2337.2 .M664
Lists and briefly describes nearly 900 funding opportunities for research and study in architecture, art, communications, dance, design, film, history, journalism, languages, literature, music, performing arts, philosophy, and religion.
Money for Graduate Students in the Physical and Earth Sciences
Reference LB 2337.2 .S357
Lists and briefly describes nearly 1,400 funding opportunities for research and study in agriculture, astronomy, botany, chemistry, computer science, dentistry, engineering, environmental sciences, geology, genetics, mathematics, medicine, nursing, nutrition, pharmacology, physics, and zoology.
Money for Graduate Students in the Social Sciences
Reference LB 2337.2 .M667
Lists and briefly describes nearly 1,100 funding opportunities for research and study in accounting, advertising, anthropology, business, criminology, demography, economics, education, geography, international relations, law, librarianship, marketing, political science, psychology, and sociology.
Money for Visual Artists
Reference N 347 .M59
Undergraduate/Graduate. A guide to grants, fellowships, awards, artist colonies, emergency and technical assistance, and support services. Entries include contact information; type of award and/or scope of service; eligibility requirements; application procedures; deadlines.
Sports Scholarships and College Athletic Programs
General Collection GV 583 .P39 2004
Undergraduate. Lists athletic scholarships for women and men at more than 1,700 two-and and four-year U.S. colleges.

Special Population Directories

The Black Student's Guide to Scholarships
Reference LB 2337.2 .B52 1999
Undergraduate/Graduate. Lists and describes over 700 private money sources for African American and minority students.
Full TextDirectory of Financial Aids for Women
Online version
Reference LB 2338 .D564
Undergraduate/Graduate. A listing of scholarships, fellowships, loans, grants, awards, and internships designed primarily or exclusively for women. Program title, sponsoring organization, residency, tenability, subject, and calendar indexes.
Full Text Financial Aid for African Americans
Online version
Reference LB 2338 .F5643
Undergraduate/Graduate. Lists and describes scholarships, fellowships, loans, grants, awards, internships, and state sources of educational benefits for African Americans. Program title, sponsoring organization, residency, tenability, subject, and calendar indexes.
Full Text Financial Aid for Asian Americans
Reference LB 2338 .F5644
Undergraduate/Graduate. Lists and describes scholarships, fellowships, loans, grants, awards, internships, and state sources of educational benefits for Asian Americans. Program title, sponsoring organization, residency, tenability, subject, and calendar indexes.
Full Text Financial Aid for Hispanic Americans
Online version
Reference LB 2338 .F5645
Undergraduate/Graduate. Lists and describes scholarships, fellowships, loans, grants, awards, internships, and state sources of educational benefits for Asian Americans. Program title, sponsoring organization, residency, tenability, subject, and calendar indexes.
Financial Aid for the Disabled and Their Families
Reference LB 2337.2 .F58
Identifies over 950 sources of financial aid designed exclusively for the disabled, their spouses, parents and children.
Financial Aid for Veterans, Military Personnel, and their Dependents
Reference UB 403 .F47
Undergraduate/Graduate. Covers more than 600 domestic and international fellowships for pre-doctoral and post-doctoral students who are either veterans, military personnel, or their dependents.
Peterson's Scholarships for Study in the USA and Canada: Millions of Dollars in Financial Aid for International Students
Reference LB 2337.2 .P48 1999
Undergraduate/Graduate. Key information on sources of aid for international students.

Florida Directories

College Money in Florida
General Collection LB 2337.5.F6 C65 1996
Undergraduate/Graduate. Gives an overview of the financial aid process, and lists federal and state aid programs, as well as scholarships offered by individual two- and four-year institutions in the state.
Your Guide to Florida Scholarships: And Other Financial Assistance Programs
General Collection LB 2338 .Y6
Undergraduate/Graduate. Provides information on over 500 financial assistance programs in Florida and throughout the United States.

Study Abroad and Internship Directories

Financial Aid for Research and Creative Activities Abroad
Reference LB 2337.2 .F576
Undergraduate/Graduate. Lists approximately 1,200 funding opportunities to support research, lectureships, exchange programs, work assignments, conference attendance, creative activities (like writing or painting), and professional development abroad.  Indexed by program title, sponsoring organization, geographic coverage, subject field, and application deadline.
Financial Aid for Study and Training Abroad
Reference LB 2337.2 .F576
Undergraduate/Graduate. Lists and describes describes more than 1,000 scholarships, fellowships, loans, and grants that Americans can use to support structured and unstructured study abroad, including money for formal academic classes, courses of study or training, degree-granting programs, independent study, seminars, workshops, and student internships. Indexed by program title, sponsoring organization, geographic coverage, subject field, and application deadline.

Internet Sources

http://www.collegeboard.com/student/pay/index.html
Sponsored by the College Board, this Web site will find loans, scholarships, internships, and other financial aid programs from non-college sources that match education levels (e.g., graduate or professional).
http://www.finaid.org
A comprehensive source for student financial aid information, sponsored by NASFAA, the National Association of Student Financial Aid Administrators.
http://www.floridastudentfinancialaid.org/ssfad/bf
Provides a variety of links related to the state lottery-funded Bright Futures program, including information for first-time applicants; the Bright Futures newsletter; publications, policies, rules, and laws; and financial aid Internet sites.

UCF Sources

In addition to the resources cited in this research guide, UCF students may obtain further financial aid information and guidance through the following agency:

http://finaid.ucf.edu
Millican Hall, Suite 120
Switchboard: (407) 823-2827
Appointment Desk: (407) 823-5285
Staff are available at the Office to assist both prospective and current UCF students with financial aid. The Office's Internet pages include a wealth of links for financial aid, including forms, a glossary of terms, and a list of frequently asked questions.

Ask a Librarian

If you have questions or need additional assistance, Ask a Librarian, call the Reference Department at (407) 823-2562, or e-mail the Department at askalibrarian@mail.ucf.edu.

Last Updated: May 13, 2008