& Digital Media Research Guide
This page is no longer updated. Please use the
Film and Digital Media LibGuide.
You will be directed to the new page in 10 seconds.
Books and Multimedia
Use the online catalog to locate books and multimedia in the UCF Libraries. You can search
by author, title, keyword, or subject.
- To search for a person, as AUTHOR or SUBJECT, search
by last name, first name without punctuation; for example:
- Griffith D W
- Hitchcock Alfred
- SUBJECT searching requires use of Library of Congress subject headings. Here are some
example subject headings:
- Digital media
- Film adaptations
- Motion picture actors and actresses
- Motion picture industry
- Motion picture music
- Motion picture plays
- Motion picture sequels
- Motion picture studios
- Antisemitism in motion pictures
- Homosexuality in motion pictures
- Realism in motion pictures
- Violence in motion pictures
- If you are unsure of the exact title or unsure of the correct Library of Congress subject
heading, try an ANYWHERE search using two or three of the most significant
words from the title or subject you are trying to find.
return to top
Use the following electronic and print indexes to find articles about film topics. Once you
have found the articles you want, in some instances you will need to check the
UCF Library Catalog to determine if we own the
periodicals you need.
Covers 222 leading art publications from around the world, including several that deal
with film. Both databases preceded by the print index Art Index
Index NX 1 .A1 A88 (1929+)
Covers selected periodicals that have an emphasis on film studies. Continued by the
electronic database Art Full Text
Film Literature Index
Index PN 1993 .F54 (1973+)
Lists articles from over 300 film journals and specialized publications. Includes some
selective indexing of English-language scholarly journals and general-interest magazines.
Provides full text for articles appearing in over 500 periodicals covering business,
education, humanities, science, and the social sciences.
An electronic database of citations to articles appearing in more than 400 English-language
periodicals dealing with the humanities, including film. Preceded by the print index
Index AI 3 .R493 (1974+)
Lists by subject and author articles from approximately 350 English-language journals.
Continued by the electronic database Humanities
An electronic database of over 100 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences,
and mathematics from a variety of university presses.
return to top
The following journals are devoted exclusively to film studies. Please note, however, that
many other journals not listed here will contain articles about film; thus, the need to consult
a periodical database or index.
Current print issues of periodicals to which the UCF Libraries subscribe are arranged by title
on the third floor; print back issues are shelved in the general collection by call number,
while microform back issues are arranged by call number on the third floor.
Microfilm TR 845 .A447 (1921-70)
General Collection TR 845 .A447 (1958-64, 1971-88, 1990+)
The official magazine of the American Society of Cinematographers (ASC), each issue
contains detailed articles on film production.
Microfilm PN 1993 .S62 (1983-90)
General Collection PN 1993 .S62 (1990+)
Published under the auspices of the Society of Cinema Studies, each quarterly issue
features scholarly articles on the history and aesthetics of film.
General Collection PN 1993 .F438 (1962+)
Articles cover film history, major U.S. actors and directors, and new mainstream and
General Collection PN 1993 .F4183 (1989+)
An academic journal dealing with the theoretical and aesthetic aspects of cinema.
A journal devoted to avant-garde, independent, and experimental film. Ceased publication
General Collection PN 1993 >f56 (1972, 1974, 1979, 1992+)
Publishes essay-length articles, primarily by European scholars, on cinematographic
Film Journal International
General Collection PN 1993 .F613 (1991+)
An excellent source of industry news, box office data, production updates, and technical
information on new technologies.
Microfilm PN 1993 .H457 (1958-63)
General Collection PN 1993 .H457 (1958+)
Regularly runs lengthy film reviews and interviews with major figures in the film industry.
General Collection PN 1993 .F625 (1991+)
Britain's longest-running monthly film magazine features detailed coverage of upcoming
releases, reviews of new releases, and interviews with people in the industry.
The magazine of independent filmmaking, each issue contains interviews with independent
directors, articles on production techniques, and coverage of the independent film festival
Another online source for independent filmmaking.
Journal of Film and Video
Microfilm PN 1993 .U63 (1984-89)
General Collection PN 1993 .U63 (1990+)
Features scholarship on the history, aesthetics, and criticism of film.
Journal of Popular Film
A scholarly journal dealing with U.S. popular movies from a variety of socio-cultural
Literature Film Quarterly
Microfilm PN 1995.3 .L57 (1973-89)
General Collection PN 1995.3 .L57 (1990+)
Focuses on problems of adapting and transforming fiction and drama into film. It also
has covered film genre, theory, and criticism and has featured interviews with screenwriters
Sight and Sound
Microfilm PN 1993 .S56 (1932-69)
General Collection PN 1993 .S56 (1969+)
A monthly publication of the British Film Institute (BFI), with feature articles on
new releases, retrospectives of major film directors, and film history.
Contains extensive information on the entertainment business, especially film, television,
and theatre. Many reviews of theatre, film, and television.
A quarterly academic journal "devoted to investigating historical questions that illuminate
the understanding of film and other media" (publisher's note).
return to top
Definitions, Summaries, and Facts
Sources such as encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks are good starting points for obtaining
basic information about issues, people, organizations, events, etc.
American Film Industry: A Historical Dictionary
Reference PN 1993.5 .U6 S539 1986
Lists over 600 entries for American film producing and releasing companies, technological
innovations, film series, industry terms, studios, genres, and organizations.
Cinema: A Critical Dictionary
Reference PN 1993.45 .C5
A collection of signed articles by an international roster of film critics. Most entries
are devoted to directors, but there are some entries for individual actors and topics
such as "American Film Noir" and "Polish Cinema Since the War."
Complete Film Dictionary
Reference PN 1993.45 .K66
A comprehensive lexicon of the motion picture, including aesthetic, technical, and business
Facts on File Dictionary of Film and Broadcast Terms
Reference P 87.5 .P43
Contains 3,000 short definitions.
Film and Video Lighting Terms and Concepts
Reference TR 891 .F472
Defines (and in some instances, illustrates) more than 1,000 terms and phrases used
by cinematographers, lighting directors, camera operators, gaffers, electricians, and
Reference PN 1993.45 .K34
While the emphasis is on individual film stars and film makers (along with complete
or selective filmography), also includes definitions of terms, historical articles on
countries, profiles of studios and other film organizations.
Definitions of terms and phrases frequently used in film production, from the International
Movie Database (IMDb) Web site.
International Motion Picture Almanac
Reference PN 1993.3 .I55
Provides a wealth of information on films, actors, and film companies. Includes statistics
and lists of award winners.
Key Concepts in Cinema Studies
Reference PN 1993.45 .H36
A glossary of 142 key terms in film theory and history, indexed by film title, names,
Language of Visual Effects
Reference TR 858 .M325 1993
A glossary of approximately 1,500 special effects terms.
Movie Quote Book
Reference PN 6083 .M75 1980
A collection of memorable lines from films, classified by topic, with category cross-references.
The New Historical Dictionary of the American Film Industry
Reference PN 1993.5 .U6 S539 1998
The emphasis of the approximately 800 entries is on companies and chains, studios, genres,
technical innovations, and general subjects (e.g., blacks in film), with brief bibliographies
appended to most.
return to top
There are countless biographical sources; listed below are a selected few that provide brief
Reference PS 21 .D5 v. 26
American Screenwriters: Second Series
Reference PS 21 .D5 v. 44
Both volumes are part of the Dictionary of Literary Biography (DLB)
and each contains rather lengthy essays on the careers of 65 significant motion-picture
writers, accompanied by lists of screenplays and other writings, photographs, and bibliographic
references. Generally, writers in other media who wrote for the screen only occasionally
and those whose film careers consisted mainly of adapting their own works for the screen
are omitted. These biographies also are available online through the Advanced Search
feature of the database
Literature Resource Center
by selecting, under "Limit," Dictionary of Literary
and combining that with the keyword "screenwriters."
Contains biographical information on over one million individuals from all time periods,
geographical locations, and fields of endeavor. The "Biographical Facts Search" allows
searching for people based on one or more personal facts, such as occupation (which
includes the categories "Actor," "Actress," "Director," "Producer," etc.).
Contemporary Theatre, Film and Television
Reference PN 2012 .W5
An ongoing biographical reference series providing brief biographical information and
credits of performers, directors, writers, producers, designers, technicians, composers,
executives, and critics in the United States and Great Britain. The biographies in this
set are available online in the
Biography Resource Center
Dictionary of Film Makers
Reference PN 1993.45 .S313
International in scope, includes biographies of producers, directors, scenarists, cinematographers,
and designers from the beginnings of film through the 1960s.
The Great Movie Stars: The Golden Years
Reference PN 1998 .A2 S54
The Great Movie Stars: The International Years
Reference PN 1998 .A2 S55
Presents generally lengthy profiles, incorporating biographical data and critical comment
on the films and performances.
International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers
Reference PN 1997.8 .I58
Volume 1 profiles approximately 600 major or representative films; volumes 2-4 provide
short biographical sketches, complete with filmographies, bibliographies, and evaluative
essays for more than 1,600 directors, performers, producers, cinematographers, screenwriters,
art directors, etc.
Reel Women: Pioneers of the Cinema, 1896 to the Present
Reference PN 1998.2 .A24
Sketches devoted to women's behind-the-scenes contributions to film, divided into 13
Variety Obituaries, 1905-1986: An Eleven-Volume Set, Including a Comprehensive Index
Reference PN 1583 .V35 1988
Reprints in chronological order from Variety news stories, editorials, and
obituary columns the death notices of individuals connected with the entertainment industry.
Who's Who in Entertainment
Reference PN 1583 .W47
Contains approximately 20,000 biographical sketches of prominent individuals in the
Women Filmmakers and Their Films
Reference PN 1998.2 .W66
Comprises more than 250 entries, 190 of which are devoted to women filmmakers; the remaining
articles deal with specific films directed by women. Includes chronology. Indexed by
nationality, occupation, awards, and film titles.
World Film Directors
Reference PN 1998.2 .W67
Provides introductions to the work and lives of about 400 of the world's best-known
film directors, from 1890 to 1988.
return to top
Filmographies are simply lists of films, often on a specific topic or by a specific director,
that also usually give basic information such as characters and players, technical credits,
and a brief plot synopsis.
American Film Institute
Catalog of Motion Pictures
A monumental, multivolume reference set (and online database) that provides comprehensive
information on every feature, short, and newsreel produced by the American film community
since 1893 -- in other words, a catalog of over 45,000 films to date. Includes approximately
one million personal name entries. Each film title entry includes a plot summary.
British Film Catalogue, 1895-1985: A Reference Guide
Reference PN 1998 .G543 1986
A comprehensive chronological listing of the British "entertainment film," but excludes
newsreels, documentaries, and mad-for-television films. Brief plot summaries.
Florida Documents SS.D2:F45
A list of films produced between 1917 and the 1980s that have been donated to the Florida
State Archives. Most were produced by the Florida Development Commission, but also contains
features by WFSU-TV, the state highway patrol, the Florida Department of Natural Resources,
and a number of individuals and corporations.
Guide to American Screenwriters: The Sound Era, 1929-1982
Reference PN 1998 .L24
Volume 1 is an alphabetical list of around 5,000 screenwriters, with names of films
in chronological order and co-authors noted. Volume 2 lists films by title and writers'
names for each.
Halliwell's Film Guide
Reference PN 1993.45 .H27
The latest edition provides brief credit information and pithy critical notes on 18,000
English-language and selected foreign-language feature films. Short excerpts from the
critics accompany many entries.
International Film Index, 1895-1990
Reference PN 1998 .I52 1991
Seeks to provide "a comprehensive index to films by title and director on a worldwide
basis" (preface). Volume 1 lists approximately 175,000 films of both the silent and
sound eras and includes full-length, short, documentary, animated, serial, and made-for-television
features. Volume 2 lists films by 25,000 directors.
Touted as the largest international movie database on the Internet, containing thousands
of films and film credits.
Leonard Maltin's Movie and Video Guide
Reference PN 1992.8 .F5 L36
Currently includes approximately 19,000 entries, with short notes on plot and narrative
Reference PN 1993 .M4334
The first ten volumes of this set offer data on over 40,000 films released in the United
States through 1984, along with plot summary and evaluations for most. Volumes 11-12
have variant title, series, and name indexes. Kept up-to-date after 1984 by the
Annual, with extensive indexing in the back of each volume.
From the TV Guide
site, a searchable database of more than 40,000 film titles
and biographies and over 750,000 filmographies. Most of the information is from the
printed sources, Motion Picture Guide
(Reference PN 1993 .M4334) and the Film Encyclopedia
PN 1993.45 .K34)
return to top
Magill's Cinema Annual
Reference PN 1993.3 .M34
Each volume has signed essay-reviews of about 100 films of the previous year, with production
credits, principal characters and players, length, review citations, etc. Another 200-300
productions are listed with basic credits and brief comments.
Magill's Survey of Cinema: English Language Films, First Series
Magill's Survey of Cinema: English Language Films, Second Series
Reference PN 1993.45 .M32
Both series cover 1,266 American, British, Canadian, Australian, and other English-language
films of the sound era, 1927-81. Includes plot summary and critical evaluation. Cumulative
indexes for both series are located in the back of the last volume of the second series.
Magill's Survey of Cinema: Foreign Language Films
Reference PN 1993.45 .M34
Evaluates 700 outstanding films from around the world produced in languages other than
English. Multiple indexes in the final volume of the set, including country and subject
Magill's Survey of Cinema: Silent Films
Reference PN 1995.75 .M33
Profiles 308 films produced during the silent era, 1902-36, with essays also on important
people and trends.
An online, non-proprietary database providing, from a variety of sources (newspapers,
magazines, Web zines, Web sites, discussion lists), full-text reviews of approximately
The New York Times Film
Reference PN 1995 .N42
A reproduction of every film review that appeared in The New York Times
1913. Online reviews of films that have appeared in the Times
since 1983, and
selected films prior to that date, are available at <http://movies.nytimes.com/ref/movies/reviews/index.html
however, you must register (free of charge) before entering the site.
Use the subject phrase "Motion picture review" in conjunction with the film's title
as keyword to find both citations to and full text of articles in about 300 general-interest
magazines. Preceded by the print index
Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature
Index AI 3 .R48 (1901+)
See the subject heading "Motion picture reviews" for citations to reviews in approximately
300 general-interest magazines. Especially useful for locating reviews of older films.
Continued by the electronic database Readers'
Guide Full Text
Variety Film Reviews
Reference PN 1993 .V36
Volumes 1-15 reproduce about 40,000 reviews in chronological sequence as they appeared
in Variety between 1907 and 1980; volume 16 is the title index to the previous
volumes. Continued by biennial volumes with title indexes. Especially useful for coverage
of international films and obscure U.S. films.
return to top
The following sources are helpful in identifying films based on literary works.
Enser's Filmed Books
and Plays: A List of Books and Plays From Which Films Have Been Made, 1928-1991
Reference PN 1997.85 .B385
A standard source, indexed by film title, author, and change of original title. Also
has indexes for musical, made-for-television, and animated films based on literary works,
and a list of production studios and distribution companies.
Encyclopedia of Novels Into Film
Reference PN 1997.85 .T54 1998
Includes over 300 entries, each of which provides a profile of the source novel, plot
summary, major characters, and literary significance. Gives a helpful examination of
how the film changed or preserved elements of the book, and why the changes occurred.
Short Stories on Film and Video
Reference PN 1997.85 .E45 1985
Identifies over 1,300 motion picture and television adaptations produced between 1920-84,
of stories by American authors or authors well-known in America.
Theatre: Stage to Screen to Television
Reference PN 2189 .L44
Lists 327 plays which, following production on British or American stages, have been
adapted both for film and television. Shakespeare, Gilbert and Sullivan, and the Greek
classics are excluded.
Women Writers, From Page to Screen
Reference PN 1997.85 .W58
Identifies 2,200 English-language feature films and television movies released between
1913-88 that were inspired by women's writings. Listed by author, with indexes of film
titles and literary sources.
return to top
To locate printed film scripts in the UCF Libraries' collection, use the subject heading
"Motion picture plays" in the UCF Library Catalog.
Additionally, the following online database is helpful in obtaining film scripts:
A searchable database that contains 265 scripts by 334 writers together with detailed,
fielded information on the scenes, characters, and people related to the scripts. When
complete, the collection will include more than 1,000 scripts and over 100,000 movie
return to top
The following selected Internet sites provide up-to-date information pertinent to the study
Contains a long list of links on a wide variety of subjects: animation, distribution,
film festivals, scriptwriting, streaming.
A metasite that contains many links pertaining to film studies.
AFI is the preeminent organization dedicated to advancing and preserving the art of
the moving image.
The site from the Annenberg/CPB Project presents the filmmaking process with modules
on screenwriting, directing, producing, acting, and editing.
According to the site's informational page, this is "a free information resource center
that simplifies the search for top movie-related resources on the Web." Includes links
to reviews, trivia, genre, screenplays, glossaries, "best" lists, etc.
Articles, discussion areas, live chat, and other resources helpful in the production
The official site of the Governor's Office of Film and Entertainment, with a wide variety
of information about the state's film industry and links to other sites.
Information about the people in front of and behind the cameras of silent film, along
with filmographies and reviews of books about the era.
According to the site's description, TriggerStreet.com was founded in January 2002 by
actor Kevin Spacey as "the web-based filmmaker and screenwriter's community of record
-- an interactive mechanism for the purpose of discovering and showcasing new and unique
talent. Based on the principles of creative excellence, it provides industry access
and exposure to help build the careers of notable new filmmakers and screenwriters of
Both Internet sites for the unions representing writers in the motion picture, broadcast,
cable and new media industries provide online publications, such as newsletters and
return to top
October 07, 2010