Library Print Header Include
University of Central Florida Libraries
11/22/2009
http://library.ucf.edu/
UCF Website University of Central Florida Libraries
Log in now
Ask a Librarian Articles & Databases Online Journals Off-campus Access Interlibrary Loan

Catalog Search

Search

Website Search


Site Index
Brown v Board of Ed Teaching Resources Special Resources Desegregation & Civil Rights in FL

 

Diversity Resources

 In commemoration of the fiftieth anniversary of Brown v Board of Education of Topeka, the University of Central Florida Libraries has developed this resource guide for educators.  It highlights library resources that deal with the Brown v Board of Education decision and resources for inquiry into civil rights and school desegregation in Florida.  Special collections resources include oral history interviews with former and current Central Florida educators and Civil Rights papers.   As teaching resource lists are developed for diversity components of college courses, they will be added to this website.

Brown v Board of Education of Topeka

This section includes bibliographies featuring  books,  journal articles, case citations, videos, and internet sites dealing with the Brown v Board of Education decision and its impact.

 

Civil Rights, Desegregation, and Race Relations in Florida

This section includes:

  • Biographical resources for famed civil rights activists Harry T. Moore and Mary McLeod Bethune
  • Bibliography of books, articles, and dissertations on civil rights, race relations, and school desegregation in Florida.

 

 

Special Resources

 

The UCF Special Collections, Reference, and Audio-Visual  Departments house many unique items that  are relevant to diversity, civil rights, and desegregation. These include but are not limited to:

  • Civil rights papers from FBI files regarding Harry T Moore and Claude Pepper
  • Educator’s Oral History tapes including a live audio clip from one of the interviews.  Transcripts from this collection are being digitized currently
  • Mary McLeod Bethune papers (Microfilm)
  • Civil Rights During the Kennedy administration, 1961-1963 (Microform)
  • Papers of the Congress of Racial Equality, 1944-1968 (Microform)
  • Papers of the NAACP, 1919-1950 (Microform)

 

 

Teaching Resources

The UCF Libraries is collaborating with the UCF teaching faculty to compile bibliographies of multicultural resources to be used in courses highlighting diversity. The guides listed here attempt to help faculty identify and locate relevant diversity resources within their specific disciplines.  The theatre faculty needed to locate multicultural plays.  Thus we identified indexes, databases, and books that listed plays in collections.  Acquainting students with music from a wide variety of cultures was the goal of the music faculty.  Therefore, books, indexes, databases, scores and recordings from various ethnic groups are listed on the music starting points. UCF librarians will be glad to collaborate with teaching faculty to identify resources that can be used in courses that celebrate diversity in the classroom. To date, resources have been developed for the following programs:

 

Back to Top

Brown v Board of Ed Teaching Resources Special Resources Desegregation & Civil Rights in FL

03 June 2009

Compiled by Terrie Sypolt and Andrew Todd