|
| Main Library Fall Regular Hours |
||
|---|---|---|
| Mon - Thu | 7:30 am | - 1:00 am |
| Friday | 7:30 am | - 7:00 pm |
| Saturday | 9:00 am | - 7:00 pm |
| Sunday | 12:00 pm | - 1:00 am |
| more... | ||
The UCF Libraries Special Collections, Reference, and Audio-Visual Departments house many unique items that are relevant to diversity, civil rights, and desegregation. These include but are not limited to:
The Civil Rights Papers primarily focus on racism in the Central Florida area, the activities of the Ku Klux Klan in Orange Country, and the political career of Claude Denson Pepper. The majority of the materials are focused on the death and subsequent investigation into the murder of Harry T. Moore. Moore was a civil rights activist in the Central Florida area who was believed to have been murdered by the Ku Klux Klan of Orange County in 1951. Moore was part of the NAACP. The other items in the collection relate to the political career of Claude Denson Pepper (1900-1989), a Florida legislator, U.S. Senator and Congressman.
Materials in this collection consist of photocopies and printouts of documents from FBI files, state and county court records, and electronic databases. The majority of the collection consists of photocopies of FBI files from the 1940s through the late 1960s on Pepper. Dr. James C. Clark, an adjunct professor in the UCF History Department and journalist, donated the Civil Rights Papers to the UCF Libraries Special Collections Department in March of 2002. The Civil Rights Papers are housed in the Manuscript Section of the UCF Libraries Special Collections Department on the fifth floor of the main library.
This collection contains oral history interviews with former and current educators in the Central Florida area. The interviews are recorded on sixty-minute audiocassettes. Two interviews were also videotaped. In the interviews, the educators discuss their experiences in the education profession and their views on school vouchers, curriculum, segregation in education, and integration, among other topics. Interviews were conducted by graduate students in the College of Education as part of a class assignment for the educational studies graduate program. All interviews include a signed release form. Many of the interviews also include an interview summary and/or partial transcript of the interview. Transcripts from this collection are being digitized currently.
The Educators' oral history tapes are located in the manuscript section of the Special Collections department on the fifth floor of the main library, and are arranged by last name of the interviewee.
Back to Top
![]()
The microfilm editions of two distinct collections of the Mary McLeod Bethune papers are available on the third floor of the UCF Orlando Campus Library (Microform Section). The Mary McLeod Bethune Papers: The Bethune Foundation Collection includes biographies, writings, diaries, interviews, news clippings, oral history and radio broadcast transcripts, and scrapbooks pertaining to Mary McLeod Bethune during the years 1918-1955. The Mary McLeod Bethune papers: the Bethune-Cookman College collection, 1922-1955, contains general and special correspondence from the desk of Mary McLeod Bethune, awards, financial records. Also included are archival records of her role in post WWII black history networks, NAACP involvement, and her contribution to President Truman’s Committee on Civil rights.
Bethune, Mary McLeod. (1996).Mary McLeod Bethune Papers: The Bethune Foundation Collection. Bethesda, MD: University Publications of America. (Microfilm-Accompanied by printed guide with title: A guide to the microfilm edition of Mary McLeod Bethune papers).
Microfilm: E185.97.B34 B32 1996 (located in the microform collection).
Guide: E185.97.B34B32 1996 GUIDE (located in the Reference and General collections).- Bethune, Mary McLeod. (1995) Mary McLeod Bethune papers: the Bethune-Cookman College collection, 1922-1955. Bethesda, MD: University Publications of America. (Microfilm-Accompanied by printed guide with title: A guide to the microfilm edition of Mary McLeod Bethune papers.)
Microfilm: E185.97.B34 B3 1995 (located in the Microform collection).
Guide: E185.97.B34B3 1995 GUIDE (located in the Reference and General collections)
A collection from the holdings of the John F. Kennedy Library, Boston, Mass., the microfilm Civil rights during the Kennedy administration, 1961-1963 features the White House central files and staff files, the President's office files, and the Papers of Burke Marshall, Assistant Attorney General for Civil Rights. A print guide accompanies this microfilm collection.
- Civil rights during the Kennedy administration, 1961-1963. (1986). Frederick, Md.: University Publications of America.
Microfilm: JC599.U5 C49 1986 (located in the Microform collection).
Guide: JC599.U5 C49 1986 Guide (located in the General collection).
The Papers of the Congress of Racial Equality (CORE microfilm collection highlights the evolution of the organization form its conception in 1948 until 1968. This collection consists of correspondence from the past national directors of CORE (including James Farmer and Floyd McKissick), National Action Council (NAC) conventions and meeting minutes, administrative files, regional office and field staff files. Items commonly found in this work are newspaper clippings, budgets, and reports. A print guide accompanies this microfilm collection.
The Papers of the Congress of Racial Equality: addendum, 1944-1968. (1980) Ann Arbor, Mich.: University Microfilms International.
Microfilm: E185.5 .C88. Located in the Microform collection.- The Papers of the Congress of Racial Equality : addendum, 1944-1968 : Guide to the microfilm edition. (1986). Ann Arbor, Mich.: University Microfilms International.
Guide: E185.5 .C88 1982 guide. Located in the Reference Collection.
Back to Top
![]()
This microform collection chronicles the development of National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP through 1950). Approximately 65 reels of microfilm constitute this three part collection.
- Papers of the NAACP, part 1: meetings of the Board of Directors, records of annual conferences, major speeches, and special reports, 1909-1950. (1982). Frederick, MD. : University Publications of America. Each part is accompanied by a print guide.
- Microfilm: HN53 .N375 pt.1 . Located in the Microform collection.
- Guide: HN53 .N375 pt.1 guide. Located in the Reference Collection.
- Papers of the NAACP, part 2: personal correspondence of selected NAACP officials, 1919-1939. (1982). Frederick, MD. : University Publications of America.
- Microfilm: HN53 .N375 pt.2 . Located in the Microform collection.
- Guide: HN53 .N375 pt.2 guide . Located in the Reference Collection.
- Papers of the NAACP, part 3: The campaign for educational equality; Legal Department and Central Office records, 1913-1950. (1986). Frederick, MD.: University Publications of America.
- Microfilm: HN53 .N375 pt.3 . Located in the Microform collection.
- Guide: HN53 .N375 pt.3 Guide. Located in the Reference Collection.
The Floridiana collection found in the UCF Libraries Special Collection department is a growing archive of books, photos, and ephemera related to the history and culture. These are examples of some of the books in the Floridiana collection that provide a picture of local history. The UCF Libraries Special Collection department is located on the fifth floor of the UCF Orlando Campus Library.
- Cochran, T. E. (1921). History of public-school education in Florida. Lancaster, Pa., New Era. LA258 .C63 1921 .
Located in the Floridiana section of Special collections. (An electronic version is available on the World Wide Web as part of the Florida Heritage Collection: http://palmm.fcla.edu/fh/).- Ormond Beach Historical Trust, Inc. (1999).Ormond Beach. Charleston, SC : Arcadia.
F319.O8 O76 1999 .
Located in the Floridiana section of UCF Special collections.- Manning, J. T. (1999). North Brevard County. Charleston, SC : Arcadia.
F317.B8 M36 1999.
Located in the Floridiana section of UCF Special collections.- Field, A. C. (1998). Central Brevard County, Florida. >Charleston, SC : Arcadia.
F317.B8 F54 1998.
Located in the Floridiana section of UCF Special collections.
"The Florida Heritage Collection is an ongoing cooperative project of the State Universities of Florida to digitize and provide online access to materials broadly representing Florida’s history, culture, arts, literature, sciences and social sciences." Relevant themes covered in this expanding collection include African Americans, civil rights, education, Native Americans, and race relations. Digitized full text documents are available in PDF and JPEG formats in this fully searchable database.
Back to Top
![]()
| Diversity Home | Brown v Board of Ed. | Teaching Resources | Desegregation & Civil Rights in FL |
July 8, 2003
Compiled by Terrie Sypolt and Andrew Todd