|
| Main Library Fall Regular Hours |
||
|---|---|---|
| Mon - Thu | 7:30 am | - 1:00 am |
| Friday | 7:30 am | - 7:00 pm |
| Saturday | 9:00 am | - 7:00 pm |
| Sunday | 12:00 pm | - 1:00 am |
| more... | ||
Indexes/ Bibliographies | Books | Databases | Internet Sites | Videos
Use the UCF Catalog to locate books in our collection. The catalog is accessible though the UCF Libraries homepage: http://library.ucf.edu. Some relevant subject headings are listed below:
Subject headings and call number ranges:
Subject |
LC Call Number Range |
African Americans--Civil Rights--Songs and Music |
Varies |
African Americans--Music--Bibliography |
Varies |
African Americans--Music--History and Criticism |
Varies |
Ethnomusicology |
Varies (primarily in ML and MT) |
Hispanic Americans--Music |
Varies |
Indians Of North America--Music |
Varies |
Jews--Music |
Varies (primarily in M and ML) |
Music and Race |
Varies (primarily in ML3479-ML3795) |
Protest Songs--United States--History and Criticism |
Varies (primarily in ML) |
Abromeit, K. A. (1999) An index to African-American spirituals for the solo voice. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press. ML128.S4 A27 1999. (Reference- Non Circulating).
A basic music library: Essential scores and sound recordings. Chicago: American Library Association. (1997). ML113 .B3 1997.
A brief list of material relating to Shawnee Indian music. (1983?). Washington, D.C. : Library of Congress, Archive of Folk Song. LC 1.12/2:Sh 2. (U.S. Documents)
Carter, M. H. (1986) An annotated catalog of composers of African ancestry. New York : Vantage Press. ML128.B45 C3 1986.
Denisoff, R. S. (1973). Songs of protest, war & peace; a bibliography & discography. Santa Barbara, Calif., ABC-Clio. ML128.W2 D5 1973. (Reference- Non Circulating)
Edelman, M. B. (1986). A bibliography of Jewish Music: Resource materials for educators. New York, N.Y. (129 W. 67th St., New York 10023): Hebrew Arts School. ML128.J4 E3 1986.
Floyd, S. A. (1983) Black music in the United States : An annotated bibliography of selected reference and research materials. Millwood, N.Y. : Kraus International Publications. ML128.B45 F6. (Reference- Non Circulating)
Haywood, C. (1951) A Bibliography of North American folklore and folksong. New York, Greenberg. GR101 .H32. (Reference- Non Circulating)
(2002). Music Index. Detroit : Information Coordinators. ML118 .M84. (Available in print or in Electronic Format)
![]()
(1995). Art songs and spirituals by African-American women composers. Bryn Mawr, PA : Hildegard Publishing Co. M1495 .A79 1995. (Score).
Banfield, W. C. (2003). Musical landscapes in color : Conversations with black American composers. Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press. ML390 .B235 2003.
Rose, T. (1994) Black noise rap music and black culture in contemporary America. Hanover, NH : Wesleyan University Press : Published by University Press of New England. (Also available as an E-book).
Slave songs. (1993). New York : Chelsea House Publishers. 782.516296073 Sla. (Score-Located in the Curriculum Materials Center)
The black chord : Visions of the Groove: Connections between Afro-beats, rhythm & blues, hip hop, and more. (1999). New York : Universe. ML3556 .C673 1999.
Thomas, V. M. (2001) No man can hinder me : The journey from slavery to emancipation through song. ML3556 .T52 2001. (Contains Music CD-See AV Desk).
Werner, C. H. (1998). A change is gonna come : Music, race & the soul of america. New York : Plume. ML3479 .W47 1998.
Woll, A. (1989). Black musical theatre: From Coontown to Dreamgirls. Baton Rouge : Louisiana State University Press. ML1711 .W64 1989.
Writing American Indian Music: Historic Transcriptions, Notations, and Arrangements. Middleton, Wis.: (2002). Published for the American Musicological Society by A-R Editions, Inc. M2.3.U6 R4 vol.44. (Includes Score)
Farrell, G. (1997). Indian Music and the west. New York : Oxford University Press. ML338 .F37 1997. (Also available as an E-book).
Glazer, T. (1970). Songs of peace, freedom, and protest. New York, D. McKay Co. M1629.18.G559 S6. (Score).
Sanger, K. L. (1995) "When the spirit says sing!”: The Role of Freedom Songs in the Civil Rights Movement. New York : Garland. ML3556 .S26 1995.
Whitman, W. W. (1969). Songs that changed the world. New York, Crown. M1627.W815 S6. (Score).
Ethnomusicology and modern music history. Urbana: University of Illinois Press. ML3799 .E83 1991.
Ethnicity, Identity, and Music: The Musical Construction of Place. (1994). Oxford, UK ; Providence, RI : Berg. ML3799 .E78 1994.
Excursions in world music. (1992). Englewood Cliffs, NJ: Prentice Hall. MT6 .E98 1992.
Helm, E. E. (1994) The Canon and the Curricula : A Study of Musicology and Ethnomusicology Programs in America. Stuyvesant, NY: Pendragon Press. ML3797 .H485 1994.
Multicultural Perspectives in music education. (2nd Ed.). (1996). Reston, Va.: Music Educators National Conference. MT1 .M93 1996.
Nettl, B. (1995). Heartland excursions: Ethnomusicological reflections on schools of music. MT18 .N48 1995.
The Garland library of readings in ethnomusicology: A core collection of important ethnomusicological articles. (1990). New York : Garland, 1990. ML3799 .G37.
Folksongs of Florida. (1990). Gainesville: University of Florida Press. M1629.7.F6 F6 1990. (Score)
Flanders, H. H. and Olney, M.. Ballads migrant in New England. New York, Farrar, Straus and Young. M1629.F58 B3. (Score)
Landeck, B.. (1969). Echoes of Africa in folk songs of the Americas. (2nd ed.) New York: D. McKay Co. M1680.L15 E3 1969. (Score)
Romalis, S. (1999). Pistol packin' mama: Aunt Molly Jackson and the politics of folksong. ML420.J15 R66 1999.
American Klezmer: Its roots and offshoots. (2002). Berkeley: University of California Press. ML3528.8 .A44 2002.
Driven into paradise: The musical migration from Nazi Germany to the United States. (1999). Berkeley, Calif.: University of California Press. ML198.5 .D75 1999. (Available as an e-book).
Shelemay, K. K. Let jasmine rain down : Song and remembrance among Syrian Jews. Chicago: University of Chicago Press. ML3776 .S53 1998.
Hispanic folk music of New Mexico and the Southwest: A Self- portrait of a people. (1980). Norman, [Okla.]: University of Oklahoma Press. M1668.4 .H52. (Score).
Ficher, M. (2002). Latin American classical composers: A biographical dictionary. Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press. ML105 .F53 2002.
Musical Migrations: Transnationalism and cultural hybridity in Latin/o America. (2003). New York : Palgrave Macmillan. ML3918.P67 M87 2003.
Roy, M. (2002). Cuban music : From son and rumba to the Buena Vista Social Club and Timba Cubana. Princeton, NJ : Markus Wiener Publishers. ML3486.C8 R6913 2002.
Bertrand, M.T. (2000). Race, rock, and Elvis. Urbana: University of Illinois Press. ML3918.R63 B47 2000.
Gerard, C. (1998). Jazz in black and white: Race, culture, and identity in the jazz community. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press. ML3508 .G47 1998.
Music and the racial imagination. Chicago: University of Chicago Press. (2000). ML3795 .M782 2000.
Ward, Brian. (1998). Just my soul responding: Rhythm and blues, black consciousness, and race relations. Berkeley [Calif.]: University of California Press. ML3479 .W37 1998.
Bohlman, P. V. (2002) World Music. Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press.
Kealoha, A. (1989) Songs of the earth : Music of the World. Berkeley, Calif.: Celestial Arts. M1627 .K4 1989. (Score).
“A collection of songs from: African, Buddhist, Christian, Hindu/Indian, Islamic/Sufi, Jewish/Hebrew, Native American, Neoteric, and other traditional sources.”Jessup, L. (1988). World Music: a Source Book for Teaching. Danbury, CT : World Music Press. ML128.F74 J47 1988.
Worlds of music: An introduction to the music of the world's peoples. New York, NY : Schirmer Books. ML3545 .W67 1996. (Contains Set of 3 Music CD’s-See AV Desk)
![]()
Ethnomusicology. 1953-. Middletown, Conn.: For the Society for Ethnomusicology by the Wesleyan University Press, Jan. 1956- <Jan. 1957>; Ann Arbor, Mich.: Society for Ethnomusicology, <Jan. 1981->. ML1 .E77.
![]()
Journal article citations may be located by using relevant databases listed on the UCF libraries homepage. Go to the “Articles & Databases” link on the library homepage to find the list of databases. Click on the database name and type your terms in the search boxes.
Database name |
Abstract |
Grovemusic.com (http://www.grovemusic.com/index.html)
New Grove Dictionaries: ML100 .N48 2001 (Music and Musicians) ML102.O6 N5 1998 (Opera) ML102.J3 N48 2002 (Jazz)
|
Grovemusic.com is a fully searchable database that consolidates the full text versions of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, second edition (London, 2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, (London, 1992), and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, second edition, (London, 2002). |
Humanities Index AI3 .R493 |
Contains citations and abstracts from over 465 sources in the humanities and other disciplines. |
Music Index ML118 .M84 |
Indexes citations and abstracts from over 690 international music journals, as well as book reviews, reviews of music recordings, tapes, and performances. |
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
|
Features citations and abstracts drawn from more than 500 scholarly journals. Books, bibliographies, catalogues, conference proceedings, discographies, dissertations, ethnographic recordings are also indexed. |
![]()
California Gold: Northern California folk music from the thirties. American Folklife Center, Library of Congress. Retrieved June 24, 2006 from http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/afccchtml/cowhome.html.
Features musical songs from a variety of ethnic, cultural and language groups. One can search by keywords or browse this collection by subject, ethnic group, performers, musical instruments, or title.Hebrew University of Jerusalem. Jewish music research Center. Retrieved June 24, 2006 from http://www.jewish-music.huji.ac.il/index.asp.
Indiana University. Archives of African American Music & Culture. Retrieved June 24, 2006 from http://www.indiana.edu/~aaamc/index2.html.
Indiana University. Latin American Music Center. Retrieved June 24, 2006 from http://www.music.indiana.edu/som/lamc/.
Mitton, Lisa. Native American Sites and the Home of the American Indian Association Webpage. Retrieved June 24, 2006 from
http://www.nativeculturelinks.com/indians.html.
Smithsonian Institution. “Smithsonian Global Sound.” Retrieved June 24, 2006 from http://www.globalsound.org/.
Society for Ethnomusicology. “Current Bibliography, Discography, Filmography, and Videography.” Updated June 17, 2003. Retrieved June 24, 2006 from http://www.indiana.edu/~ethmusic/publications/ographies/.
University of Maryland, Baltimore County. “EOL Homesite.” Retrieved June 24, 2006 from http://research.umbc.edu/efhm/index.html.
University of Washington. “Ethnomusicology, Folk Music, and World Music Contents.” University Libraries. Retrieved June 24, 2006 from http://www.lib.washington.edu/music/world.html.
![]()
An Audio Visual History of American Folk Music. (1993). Chicago, IL : Clearvue. ML3551 .A833.
Discovering American Folk Music. (1987). North Hollywood, CA : Hollywood Select Video. ML3551 .D57 1987.
Discovering American Indian Music. (1990).Chatsworth, Calif.: AIMS Media. M1669 .D57 1990.
The JVC/Smithsonian Folkways Video Anthology of Music and Dance of the Americas. (1996). [S.l.] : JVC, Victor Company of Japan ; Montpelier, VT . M1627 .J35 1995.
The JVC Video Anthology of World Music and Dance. (1990).Tokyo : JVC, Victor Company of Japan [production company], 1988 ; Cambridge, MA : Rounder Records . M1627 .J3 1990.
Jubilee Singers: Sacrifice and Glory. (2000). Alexandria, Va.: PBS Home Video. ML421.J77 J835 2000.
Performing Arts of China: The Opera. (1992).London : Sussex Tapes ; Guilford, CT. ML1751.C4 P47 1992.
Repercussions: a Celebration of African-American Music. (2000). Princeton, NJ : Films for the Humanities. ML350 .R47 2000.
Salsa: Latin music of New York and Puerto Rico. (1979). Newton, N.J.: Shanachie Records. ML3475 .S23 1979.
Strange Fruit. (2002). [San Francisco, Calif.] : California Newsreel. HV6457 .S773 2002.
“A history of the anti-lynching protest song made famous by Billie Holiday.”
![]()
Indexes/ Bibliographies | Books | Databases | Internet Sites | Videos
| Diversity Home | Brown v Board of Ed. | Special Resources | Desegregation & Civil Rights in FL |
June 24, 2006
Compiled by Terrie Sypolt and Andrew Todd