|
| Main Library Summer Regular Hours |
||
|---|---|---|
| Mon - Thu | 7:30 am | - 11:00 pm |
| Friday | 7:30 am | - 5:00 pm |
| Saturday | CLOSED | |
| Sunday | 2:00 pm | - 11:00 pm |
| more... | ||
Indexes | Books | Videos | Databases
This bibliography has been compiled in response to the request for plays dealing with diversity or multiculturalism. The selected book list contains play anthologies and compilations that were created by minority playwrights. Plays that address issues dealing with diversity are also represented.
Use the UCF Catalog to locate books in our collection. The catalog is accessible though the UCF Libraries homepage: http://library.ucf.edu/. Some relevant subject headings are listed below:
Examples of selected subject headings and call number ranges:
Subject |
Call Number Range |
African American Theater |
PN2270.A35 |
American Drama--African American Authors |
PS628.N4 (collections), PS634 .B7, PS338.N4 |
American Drama--Asian American Authors |
PS628.A85 (collections) |
American Drama--Minority Authors |
PS627.M5 |
Childrens Plays --American |
Varies |
A large number of American multicultural play compilations can be found on the 4th floor of the UCF main library under LC call numbers PS627- PS628.
Use the indexes to find plays on a particular topic. These are some of the indexes that reference plays, some of which are found in the UCF Libraries collection:
Afro-American poetry and drama, 1760-1975 : a guide to information sources. (1979). Detroit : Gale Research Co. PS153.N5 A36.
Children’s catalog (18th ed.). (2001). New York: Wilson. REF Z 1036.W77.
Harvell, T. A. (2000). Index to twentieth-century Spanish plays : in collections, anthologies, and periodicals. Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press. PQ6115.D7 H17 2000.
Hatch, V. (1970). Black image on the American stage: A bibliography of plays and musicals, 1770-1970. New York: DBS Publications. PS628.N4 H29. (Located in Reference)
Lists plays, musicals and reviews from 1770-1970 that contain a black character, include a black theme, or is written by a black playwright.Keller, D. (1979). Index to Plays in Periodicals. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow. PN1721 .K43 1990 (Located in Reference)
Indexes plays by author, title, translator, adapter, editor, and pseudonym.Kienzle, S. (1970). Modern world theater; a guide to productions in Europe and the United States since 1945. New York, Ungar. PN6112.5 .K513.
Play index 1993-1997: An Index to 4,617 plays. (1998). New York: Wilson. REF PN1620.A1 P53 1993-97.
Play index 1988-1992: An Index to 4,397 plays (1993). New York: Wilson. REF PN1620.A1 P53 1993-97.
Senior high school library catalog (16th ed.). (2002). New York: Wilson. REF Z 1037.W77.
Sprinchorn, E. (1966). 20th-century plays in synopsis. New York, T. Y. Crowell Co. PN6112.5 .S68
![]()
African American scenebook. (1999). New York : Falmer Press. PS628.N4 A37 1999.
Black drama in America: An anthology. (1994). Washington, D.C.: Howard University Press. PS628.N4 B53 1994.
Black theatre USA: Plays by African Americans 1847 to today. (1996). New York: Free Press. PS628.N4 B56 1996.
Classic plays from the Negro Ensemble Company. (1995). Pittsburgh : University of Pittsburgh Press. PS628.N4 C57 1995.
Colored contradictions : An Anthology of contemporary African-American plays. (1996). New York, N.Y. PS628.N4 C65 1996.
Contemporary plays by women of color : An anthology. (1996). New York : Routledge. PS627.M5 C66 1996.
A Sourcebook of African-American performance: Plays, people, movements. (1999). New York: Routledge. PN2270.A35 S68 1999. (Also available as an E-book)
The national black drama anthology : Eleven plays from America's leading African-American theaters. (1995). New York : Applause. PS628.N4 N38 1995.
Seventh generation : an anthology of Native American plays. (1999). New York: Theatre Communications Group. PS628.I53 S48 1999.
Stories of our way: An anthology of American Indian plays. (1999). Los Angeles:UCLA American Indian Studies Center. PS628.I53 S76 1999.
But still, like air, I'll rise : new Asian American plays. (1997). Philadelphia : Temple University Press. PS628.A85 S75 1997.
Unbroken thread : An anthology of plays by Asian American women. (1993). Amherst : University of Massachusetts Press. PS628.A85 U53 1993. (Also available as an E-book)
Gay and lesbian plays today. (1993). Portsmouth, NH : Heinemann. PS627.H67 G38 1993.
Staging gay lives: An anthology of contemporary gay theater. (1995). Boulder, Colo.: Westview Press. PS627.H67 S73 1995.
Tough acts to follow : One-act plays on the gay/lesbian experience. (1992). San Francisco : Alamo Square Press. PS627.H67 T68 1992.
Awake and Singing: 7 classic plays from the American Jewish Repertoire. (1995) New York, N.Y., U.S.A. : Mentor : Penguin Books USA, Inc. PS627.J48 A92 1995.
Making a Scene : The Contemporary Drama of Jewish-American women. (1997). Syracuse, N.Y. : Syracuse University Press. PS628.J47 M35 1997.
New Jewish voices: Plays produced by the Jewish Repertory Theatre. (1985)Albany :State University of New York Press. PS628.J47 N48 1985.
Cuban theater in the United States : A critical anthology. (1992). Tempe, Ariz. : Bilingual Press. PS628.C82 C834 1992.
Latins anonymous : Two plays. (1996). Houston, Tex: Arte Público Press. PS628.H57 L38 1996.
Out of the Fringe : Contemporary Latina/Latino theatre and performance. (2000). New York: Theatre Communications Group. PS628.H57 O78 2000.
Shattering the myth: Plays by Hispanic Women. (1992) Houston, Tex.: Arte Publico Press. PS628.H57 S5 1992.
Great scenes from minority playwrights : Seventy-Four Scenes of cultural diversity. (1997). Colorado Springs, Colo. : Meriwether Pub. PS627.M5 G65 1997.
Multicultural Theatre II : Contemporary Hispanic, Asian, and African-American Plays. (1998). Colorado Springs, Colo.: Meriwether Pub. PS627.M5 M85 1998.
Rowing to America : The Immigrant Project : A collection of nine one-act plays. (1999). Woodstock, Ill.: Dramatic Pub. PS627.I48 R69 1999.
African-Americans who made a difference: 15 plays for the classroom. (1996). New York: Scholastic Professional Books. 812 Afr. (Located in the Curriculum Materials Center (CMC) in the Education Building.)
Cootie Shots : Theatrical inoculations against bigotry for kids, parents, and teachers : Plays, poems & songs. (2001). New York : Theatre Communications Group. PS625.5 .C66 2001.
Multicultural plays for children: Volume I: GRADES K-3. (1996). Lyme, NH : Smith and Kraus. PS3557.E674 M85 1996.
Multicultural plays for children: Volume II: GRADES 4-6. (1996). Lyme, NH : Smith and Kraus. PS3557.E674 M85 1996.
Great Scenes from minority playwrights: Seventy-Four Scenes of Cultural Diversity. (1997). Colorado Springs, Colo. : Meriwether Pub. PS627.M5 G65 1997.
Language learning in intercultural perspective: approaches through drama and ethnography. (1998). Cambridge, U.K. ; New York: Cambridge University Press P53.45 .L357 1998.
![]()
Black Theatre: The making of a movement [videorecording]. (1978). San Francisco, CA : California Newsreel. PN2270.A35 B54 1978.
(1991) Panorama of African-American theatre [videorecording]. Lincoln, Neb.: GPN. PN2270.A35 P3 1991.
![]()
Database Name |
Features |
| Chicano Database | To find plays try using Subject=Teatro |
Humanities Abstracts
Index |
Contains citations and abstracts from over 465 sources in the humanities and other disciplines. To find plays use the Keyword "dramas" and limit the search to "play" as an Article Type. |
| E Server: Drama Collection http://www.eserver.org/drama/ |
Contains original plays and screenplays, criticism, and links to other theater related sites . |
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
|
Features citations and abstracts drawn from more than 500 scholarly journals. Books, bibliographies, catalogues, conference proceedings, discographies, dissertations, ethnographic recordings are also indexed. |
| WorldCat | To find plays, use: Subject= "diversity OR multiculturalism" AND Keyword= plays OR Drama |
![]()
Indexes | Books | Videos | Databases
| Diversity Home | Brown v Board of Ed. | Special Resources | Desegregation & Civil Rights in FL |
June 24, 2006
Compiled by Terrie Sypolt and Andrew Todd