University of Central Florida Libraries 5/16/2008 http://library.ucf.edu/
Pegasus Logo
University Of Central Florida Libraries
Need help? Ask a Librarian Articles & Databases Online Journals Off-campus Access Interlibrary Loan
UCF Home UCF Home UCF Home

Catalog Search

Search

Website Search


Libraries UCF Web
Site Index
Diversity Home Teaching Resources Special Resources Desegregation & Civil Rights in FL

Brown v Board of Education

Articles Books Internet Sites Videos

Getting Started:

 Finding Books: Use the UCF catalog to locate books in our collection. The catalog is accessible though the UCF Libraries homepage: http://library.ucf.edu. Some relevant subject headings are listed below. Please feel free to browse our Brown vs. Education/ Affirmative Action Selected Book List.

 

Subject

Call Number Range

Affirmative Action Programs HF 5549.5.A34
De facto School Segregation LC 212.6-212.63
Discrimination in Education LC 212-212.863
Discrimination in Employment HD 4903-4903.5
Discrimination in Higher Education LC 212.86-212.863
 Diversity in the Workplace HF 5549.5.M5
Education, Bilingual LC 3701- 3743
Equal Pay for Equal Work HD 6061-6061.2
Multicultural Education LC 1099- 1099.5
Multiculturalism BD 175.5.M84 (epistemology)

HM 1272 (Social Psychology)

Racism in Textbooks LB 3045.64
Segregation in Education LC 212.5-212.73
Sex discrimination in Education LC 212.8-212.83
Sex discrimination in Higher Education LC 212.86-212.863
Special Education LC 3950-3990.4
Test Bias B 3060.62
Textbook Bias LB 3045.6

 

Subject Headings:

 

Related Subject Headings:

 

Back to Top

 

Finding Articles: Journal article citations may be located by using relevant databases listed on the UCF libraries homepage. Go to the “Database Titles A-L or M-Z” link on the library homepage to find the list of databases.  Click on the database name and type your terms in the search box/es.

Relevant databases:

 

Database Name

Abstract

Eric via EBSCOhost Indexes both current journals (CIJE) and Numerous other educational resources such as Resources in Education (RIE)
Education Abstract

Education Abstracts,  1983-Present.
Abstracts since 1994.

Indexes articles from over 400 educational journals Keep abreast of new concepts, trends and methodologies in curriculum, leadership and teaching methods. Full text is not included.
Education Index, 1924-present.

Index L11.e39

Indexes periodical articles, yearbooks, motion pictures, videotapes and computer programs by author and subject. Book reviews are indexed separately at the end of each issue.
LexisNexis Academic –Legal Research Contains the full text of U.S.  Supreme Court Briefs back to 1970, and U.S.  Supreme Court Cases back to 1790, as well as case law from many other levels of Federal and State courts. Cases are searchable by keyword, name, or citation. It also includes the full text of Law Review Publications
Professional Development Collection Provides a highly specialized collection of electronic information especially for professional educators. This collection offers information on everything from children’s health and development  to cutting-edge pedagogical theory and practice. The Professional Development Collection includes abstract and index coverage for nearly 450 well- known professional development titles, and searchable full text for nearly 360 journals covering the most current topics in the field of education.
Academic Index  1998-date and 1982-1997 Indexes articles in 1000 scholarly journals/popular magazines in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and science and technology. Some full-text.
Academic Search Premier Provides full text for nearly 1700 Journals covering the social sciences, humanities, general science, multicultural studies, education, and much more. This database is updated on a daily basis.
Expanded Academic ASAP (1980 - present) Indexes approximately 1000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in the arts, humanities, social sciences, science and technology. Provides access to full text of many articles.
InfoTrac Onefile Provides coverage of articles, many full-text, from more than 6,000 scholarly trade, and general-interest periodicals including 3,000 full text titles. Subject coverage includes humanities, social sciences, general sciences, and current events.
PsycINFO Indexes over 1,200 English language psychology journals including Educational Psychology. Some Full Text.
Social Sciences Abstracts. 1983-present

Abstracts since 1994

Indexes articles in the areas of anthropology, economics, geography, law, political science, psychology, and sociology.
Sociological Abstracts, 1963-present Covers sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences, with information from an international selection of over 2600 journals and other serials publications, plus conference papers, books, and dissertations.
Wilson Select Plus Indexes &abstracts plus full text for articles from 1,350+ general, humanities, business, science & social science periodicals. Subset of the Wilson Indexes to Journal Articles with full text for every article.
WorldCat Provides bibliographic citations and library locations and other materials worldwide. Click on WorldCat.

 

 

Back to Top

 

Books

Brown vs. Board of Education:

Armor, D. (1995). Forced justice : School desegregation and the law. New York : Oxford University Press.  KF4155 .A87 1995 .

Atkinson, P. S. (1993). Brown vs. Topeka : an African American's view : desegregation and miseducation. Chicago. Ill.: African American Images. KF4155 .A93 1993 .

Balkin, Jack.  What Brown v. Board of Education should have said: The nation's top legal experts rewrite America's landmark civil rights decision.  New York University Press, 2001.  KF228.B76 W48 2001.

Beyond desegregation : the politics of quality in African-American schooling. (1996). Thousand Oaks, Calif.: Corwin Press. LC2717 .B49 1996 .

Ehrlander, M. F. (2002). Equal educational opportunity: Brown's elusive mandate. New York : LFB Scholarly Pub. LC214.2 .E57 2002 .

Fife, B. L. (1992). Desegregation in American schools : comparative intervention strategies. New York : Praeger, 1992. LC214.32 .F54 1992 .

Fife, B. L. (1997). School desegregation in the twenty-first century: the focus must change. Lewiston, N.Y.: E. Mellen Press. LC214.2 .F57 1997

Hill, Herbert and Jones, J. E. (1993). Race in America: The struggle for equality. Madison, Wisc:University of Wisconsin.  E185.615 .R2125 1993.

Kluger, Richard.  Simple justice : The history of Brown v. Board of Education and Black America's struggle for equality.  Knopf, 1976.  KF4155 .K55 1976.  

Lagemann, E. C. and Miller, L.  Brown v. Board of Education: The challenge for today’s schools.  Teachers College Press, 1996.  KF4155 .B76 1996. 

Martin, W. E.  Brown v. Board of Education : A brief history with documents. Boston: Bedford/St. Martin's. KF228.B76 B76 1998.

Orfield, Gary and Eaton, Susan. (1996).  Dismantling desegregation: The quiet reversal of Brown v Board of Education.  New York: New Press.  LC212.62 .O72 1996  

Patterson, James T. Brown v. Board of Education : A civil rights milestone and its troubled legacy. Oxford University Press, 2001.  KF4155 .P38 2001.  

Raffel, J. A. (1998). Historical dictionary of school segregation and desegregation : the American experience. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press. LC212.52 .R34 1998 .

Sarat, Austin. (1997)  Race, law and culture: Reflections on Brown v Board of Education. New York: Oxford University Press. KF4155.A2 R33 1997.

School desegregation in the 21st century. (2002). Westport, Conn.: Praeger. LC214.2 .S353 2002 .

Stave, S. A. Achieving racial balance : Case studies of contemporary school desegregation. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press. LC214.2 .S73 1995 .

Williams, J. B. (1997).  Race discrimination in public higher education: Interpreting federal civil rights enforcement, 1964-1996. Westport, Conn.: PraegerLC212.42 .W55 1997  

 

Civil Rights and Equal Opportunities:

Losen, D. and Orfield, G. (2002) Racial inequality in special education.  Cambridge, MA: Harvard Education Publishing Group. LC3981 .R29 2002  

(2001) Diversity challenged: Evidence on the impact of Affirmative Action.  Cambridge, MA: Harvard Education Publishing Group LC3727 .D54 2001

Orfield, G. and Kurlaender, M. (1998) Chilling Admissions. Cambridge, MA: Harvard Education Publishing Group.  LB2351.2 .C49 1998  

Orfield, G. and  Kornhaber, M.  Raising Standards or Raising Barriers?  Inequality and High Stakes Testing in Public Education.  Century Foundation Press, 2001.

 

Juvenile:

Fireside, H. and Fuller, S. B. (1994).  Brown v Board of Education: Equal Schooling for All.  Hillside, N.J.: Enslow Pub. 344.730798 Fir (CMC General Collection)

 

Back to Top

 

Articles

Brown v Board of Education and Diversity:

Ascher, C. (1993).  Changing face of racial isolation and desegregation in urban schools.  Washington, D.C.: Office of Educational Research and Improvement.  (ERIC Document Reproduction Service No. ED358199)

Brown, K. (1995). Revisiting the Supreme Court's opinion in Brown v Board of Education from a multiculturalist perspective, Teachers College Record, 96, 644-653.  Retrieved April 11, 2003 from the ERIC database.

Civil Rights Project, Harvard University.  (2001).  Constitutional requirements for race-conscious policies in K-12 education.  ED463369.

Clinchy, E. (2001).  Needed: A new educational Civil Rights Movement. Phi Delta Kappan, 82, 493-498. Retrieved April 11, 2003, from the ERIC database.

Contreras, A and Valverde, L.A.  (Summer, 1994).  The impact of Brown on the Education of Latinos, Journal of Negro Education, 63, 470-482.  Retrieved June 24, 2006, from the Professional Development Collection database.

Diaz, I. (Dec 25, 1977). What's at stake: the court decisions affecting higher education and diversity. News Analysis, 14, 19-21. Retrieved April 11, 2003 from the ERIC database.

Grant, C. (Summer, 1995). Reflections on the promise of Brown and multicultural education, Teachers College Record, 96, 707-721.  Retrieved April 11, 2003, from the ERIC database.

Gregory, D. L.  (Summer, 1994).  The continuing validity of Affirmative Action diversity principles in professional and graduate school student admissions and faculty hiring. Journal of Negro Education, 63, 421-429.  Retrieved June 24, 2006, from Educational Abstracts.

Heubert, J. (1994). "Brown" at 40: The tasks that remain for educators and lawyers. San Diego, CA: National Organization on Legal Problems of Education. (ERIC Document Reproduction Service No. ED379769)

McDermott, K.A. (July, 2001). Diversity or desegregation? Implications of arguments for diversity in K-12 and higher education. Educational Policy, 15, 452-474. Retrieved June 24, 2006, from the Professional Development Collection database.

Miller, L. and Tanners, L. (Summer, 1995). Diversity and the new immigrants. Teachers College Record. 96, 671-680.

 Orfield, G.. Public opinion and school desegregation. Teachers College Record, 96, 654-670. Retrieved April 11, 2003, from the ERIC database.

 Orfield, G., Kahlenberg, Richard, G., Edmund, etc. (May, 2000). New Diversity.  Principal, 79, 6-32. Retrieved April 11, 2003, from the ERIC database.

Riley, R.  (1994).  Fulfilling the promise of Brown.. Washington, D.C.: Georgetown University Law Center.  Retrieved April 11, 2003, from the ERIC database.(ERIC Document Reproduction Service No. ED371104)

Riley, R. (Summer, 1994). U. S. Education Secretary Riley looks back at schools' benchmark '54 desegregation ruling Topeka, Kansas. Today's Minorities, 2, 6-9. Retrieved April 11, 2003 from the ERIC database.

Stephan, W. (1983).  Blacks and "Brown": the effects of school desegregation on black students. National Institute of Education Panel on the Effects of School Desegregation (ERIC Document Reproduction Service No. ED239001).

Thomas, D. and et al. (Summer, 1994), Multicultural education: Reflections on Brown at 40. Journal of Negro Education, 63, 460-469. Retrieved April 11, 2003 from the ERIC database.

Winston, J. A. (Summer, 1995). Fulfilling the promise of Brown. Teachers College Record, 96, 757-766.  Retrieved April 11, 2003, from the ERIC database.

 

  Recent Journal Articles on Affirmative Action and Higher Education:

Daniel, P.T. (Jan, 2003). Diversity in university admissions decisions: The continued support of Bakke. Discussion of diversity in the halls of academia. Journal of Law & Education, 32, 69-78. Retrieved June 24, 2006, from Education Abstract database.

Zirkel, P.. (Jan, 2003).  Filliping for and against Bakke, Journal of Law & Education, 32, 67-68. Retrieved June 24, 2006, from Education Abstract database.

 

Back to Top

 

Videos

Videos are searchable through the UCF catalog. Click on “Advanced Search”. Type in keywords or subject terms in search boxes. Under “Format,” select “video.”

Brown v. Education, Civil Rights,  and Affirmative Action Videos

Avanti Films (Producer). (198-?). Predudice: percieving and believing. [Videotape]. Culver City, CA: Zenger Video.   BF575.P9 P742 .

 Bailey, R., & Schurgin, R. (Producers) and Camp, J. (Director). (1996). Affirmative Action: The History of an idea. [Videotape]. Princeton, NJ : Distributed by Films for the Humanities.  HF5549.5.A34 A33 1996.

 Brandt, Y. (Producer) & Head, H. (Director). (1993). Simple justice. [Videotape]. Alexandria, VA : PBS Video.

 Dratt, J. (Producer) & Merdin, J. (Director). (1984) The constitution: That delicate balance. [Videotape]. New York : Media and Society Seminars.  KF4550 .C66 1984.

 Elwood, W. & Kuliah, M. (Producers). (1989). The road to Brown. [Videotape]. San Francisco, CA : California Newsreel.  KF373.H644 R63 1990.

 Isaacson, R., and Bergman, D. (Producers), & Walker, A. (Director). (1995). Women to women. . [Videotape]. New York : City University of New York.  HQ1123 .W65 1996.

 Vecchione, J. [et al] (1986) Eyes on the prize: America’s civil rights years.  Awakenings, 1954-1956. [Videotape]. Alexandria, VA:  PBS Video. E185.615 .E9

 

Back to Top

 

Internet Sites

Internet sites are numerous and can be located by using various search engines or subject directories. One list of potential Internet search tools can be located at the following URL: http://library.ucf.edu/Reference/instruction/Education/EDF6481/internet_tools.htm and is entitled “Internet Tools”.

Brown v. Board of Education Web Sites

Text of Decision

Brown vs. Board of Education of Topeka 344 U.S. 141 No. 8 November 24, 1952.  Fed World http://www.fedworld.gov/supcourt/index.htm  Search by case : brown v board education

 Brown vs. Board of Education of Topeka 344 U.S. 1 No. 8 October 8, 1952.   Fed World  http://www.fedworld.gov/supcourt/index.htm  Search by case : brown v board education

Brown vs. Board of Education of Topeka 349 U.S. 294 No. 1.  Fed World  http://www.fedworld.gov/supcourt/index.htm  Search by case : brown v board education

Brown vs. Board of Education of Topeka 347 U.S. 483 No. 1 December 9, 1952.  Fed World http://www.fedworld.gov/supcourt/index.htm  Search by case : brown v board education

US Supreme Court.  Brown v Board of Education, 347 U.S. 483 (1954) FindLaw for Legal Professionals. Retrieved February 14, 2005 from http://caselaw.lp.findlaw.com/scripts/getcase.pl?navby=case&court=us&vol=347&page=483
Includes the case with footnotes and links to Supreme Court cases that cite it as well as Circuit Court cases that cite it.  Intended for use by legal professionals.

50th Anniversary

Act to Establish a Commission for the Purpose of Encouraging and Providing for the Commemoration of the 50th Anniversary of the Supreme Court decision in Brown v. Board of Education.  Brown v. Board of Education 50th Anniversary Commission.  (2002).  Washington, D.C.: Supt. Of Docs.  Retrieved June 24, 2006 from http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS16522.

Boards and Commissions. Brown v. Board of Education 50th Anniversary Commission (2005). U.S. Department of Education. Retrieved June 24, 2006 from http://www.ed.gov/about/bdscomm/list/brownvboard50th/index.html.
 

Background:

Introduction to the court opinion on the Brown v Board of Education. Retrieved June 24, 2006 from http://usinfo.state.gov/usa/infousa/facts/democrac/36.htm.

 Modern History Sourcebook:  Brown v Board of Education.  Modern History Source Book.  Retrieved June 24, 2006 from http://www.fordham.edu/halsall/mod/1954brown.html.

Civil Rights Timeline: Milestones in the Modern Civil Rights Movement by Elissa Haney and Borgna Brunner for InfoPlease.  Retrieved June 22, 2006 from http://www.infoplease.com/spot/civilrightstimeline1.html.

Impact:

American Association of University Professors.  Diversity and Affirmative Action in higher education. Retrieved June 24, 2006 from http://www.aaup.org/Issues/AffirmativeAction/.

 Harvard University.  Civil rights project.  Retrieved on June 24, 2006. from http://www.civilrightsproject.harvard.edu/.

 University of California. Santa Barbara. Dept. of English. Affirmative Action and diversity project: a web page for research.”  Retrieved on June 24, 2006 from http://aad.english.ucsb.edu/.  

 UCLA.  Race conscious remedies resource cite: Education and diversity resource page.  Retrieved June 24, 2006 from  http://www.law.ucla.edu/faculty/bios/crenshaw/racerem/education-p1.htm.

 University of Michigan.  Race, gender, and Affirmative Action: Resource page for teaching.  Retrieved June 24, 2006 from http://www-personal.umich.edu/~eandersn/biblio.htm

 Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars.  Brown v. Board: It’s impact on education and what it left undone.  Retrieved June 24, 2006 from http://www.wilsoncenter.org/index.cfm?topic_id=1427&fuseaction=topics.publications&group_id=15803. This collection of papers is based on a 2002 seminar that examined the book “Brown v. Board of Education: A Civil Rights Milestone and Its Troubled Legacy” by James T. Patterson. An appendix presents significant state Supreme Court rulings that have struck down or upheld the existing school finance system. 

Sites for Schools:

Teachers:

Documents related to Brown v. Board of Education: Teaching with documents lesson plan.  Retrieved June 24, 2006 from  http://www.archives.gov/education/lessons/brown-v-board/.

Little Rock School integration crisis.  Retrieved June 24, 2006 from http://eisenhower.archives.gov/dl/LittleRock/littlerockdocuments.html.

Youth:

Rossville Junior High School. Brown v. Topeka Board of Education. Retrieved June 24, 2006 from http://www.kawvalley.k12.ks.us/brown_v_board/.

 

Back to Top    


 

Articles Books Internet Sites Videos
Diversity Home Teaching Resources Special Resources Desegregation & Civil Rights in FL


 

07 July 2006

Compiled by Terrie Sypolt and Andrew Todd