University of Central Florida Libraries 5/17/2008 http://library.ucf.edu/
Pegasus Logo
University Of Central Florida Libraries
Need help? Ask a Librarian Articles & Databases Online Journals Off-campus Access Interlibrary Loan
UCF Home UCF Home UCF Home

Catalog Search

Search

Website Search


Libraries UCF Web
Site Index

Dissertations and Theses Research Guide

Full Textindicates some full text
Note: Off-campus access to most online sources is restricted to current UCF students, faculty, and staff via Proxy connection

*note - For official assistance with the requirements for writing/submitting your theses - contact the Department of Graduate Studies *

Browsing UCF Theses in the Library

All UCF theses from 1988-present are shelved by year on the 3rd floor of the library under the call number LD 1772 .F96 T45

You can also search for theses/dissertations via the libraries catalog. Just search as you would for a regular book.

Theses written before 1988 can be found using the library catalog. They are not shelved together.

Dissertations & Theses: Full Text

Offers full-text online versions of over 2 million doctoral dissertations and masters theses. If the dissertation you are looking for is not here, you will need to consult the databases listed below and place an Interlibrary Loan Request for the dissertation you need.

Non Full-Text Dissertation/Theses Databases

American Doctoral Dissertations
Index AS 30 .A43 (1955+)
An author, title, date, and institution listing of doctoral degrees granted in the U.S. and Canada, arranged by broad subject headings. No abstracts. Most of the dissertations also are listed in Dissertation Abstracts International and Dissertation Abstracts Online. Preceded by Doctoral Dissertations Accepted by American Universities, 1933-55 (Index AS 30 .M52).
Comprehensive Dissertation Index
Index AS 30 .X473 (1861+)
Keyword indexes within 24 broad subject areas. Lists author, title, date, granting institution, length, and Dissertation Abstracts International number so that the abstract may be retrieved.
Dissertation Abstracts International (DAI)
Index AS 30 .M5 (1938+)
Author-written abstracts of doctoral dissertations submitted to University Microfilms International (UMI) by over 500 participating institutions in North America. Includes Part A: Humanities and Social Sciences, and Part B: Sciences and Engineering.
The online version of Dissertation Abstracts International (above). Abstracts are available only from 1980 to the present. Includes selected masters theses as well as doctoral dissertations. From 1996 onward most dissertations and theses give the option of a free preview of the first 24 pages and the free preview is available selectively back to 1970. Free downloads of entire UCF dissertations are generally available to UCF students and faculty.
Doctoral Dissertations Accepted by American Universities
Index AS 30 .M52 (1933-55)
Continued by American Doctoral Dissertations (1955+), above.
Health, Physical Education and Recreation Microform Publications Index
Reference GV 201 .H4222 (1965+)
A subject and author index to microfiche copies of masters theses and doctoral dissertations in the field of health, physical education, and recreation. UCF Libraries own most indexed titles on microfiche from 1977 to current. All titles are accessible through the UCF Library Catalog and have specific subject headings and unique Library of Congress call numbers.
Masters Abstracts
Index LB 2385 .M42 (1969-82)
Author-written abstracts of selected masters theses available on microfilm from University Microfilms International (UMI).
Contains all the records of materials cataloged by OCLC (Online Computer Library Center) member libraries, including dissertations. The database currently contains over one billion records. There also is a new database, Dissertations in WorldCat, a subset of WorldCat.

Ask a Librarian

If you have questions or need additional assistance, Ask a Librarian, call the Reference Department Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. until 6 p.m. at (407) 823-2562, or e-mail the Department at askalibrarian@mail.ucf.edu.

Last Updated: March 07, 2008