Criminal Justice Research Guide
indicates some Full text,
Note: Off-campus access to some online sources is restricted
to current UCF students, faculty, and staff via Pegasus
or Proxy connection
Books and Multimedia
Use the online catalog to locate books and multimedia on theatre in the UCF Libraries. You
can search by author, title, keyword, or subject.
To search for a person, as AUTHOR or SUBJECT, search
by last name, first name without punctuation; for example:
Hoover J Edgar
- SUBJECT searching requires use of Library of Congress subject headings.
Here are some example subject headings:
- Capital punishment
- Criminal behavior
- Criminal investigation
- Criminal Justice, Administration of
- Criminal law
- Forensic medicine
- Hate crimes
- Juvenile delinquency
- Security systems
- White collar crimes
- If you are unsure of the exact title or unsure of the correct Library of Congress subject
heading, try an ANYWHERE search using two or three of the most significant
words from the title or subject you are trying to find.
return to top
Use the following print indexes and electronic databases to find articles related to criminal
justice or appearing in criminal justice periodicals. Once you have found the articles you want,
in some instances you will need to check the UCF Library Catalog
to determine if we own the periodicals you need.
Criminal Justice Abstracts
Extensive coverage of the major periodicals in the field, as well as citations to books
and reports from government and non-governmental agencies. Topics include crime trends,
prevention projects, corrections, juvenile delinquency, police, courts, offenders, victims,
Criminal Justice Periodical
Focuses primarily on practical issues in crime prevention and deterrence, juvenile delinquency,
police issues, and courtroom procedures.
A multilingual index to articles and book reviews published worldwide. Also analyzed
are the contents of legal essays, festschrifts, melanges, and congressional reports.
Covers international (public and private), comparative, and municipal law of countries
other than the United States, the U.K., Canada, and Australia.
Provides full text articles in nearly 200 periodicals. Also provides indexing of some
850 legal journals, law reviews, yearbooks, institutes, statutes, bar association publications,
university publications, and government publications, as well as some 1,400 monographs
per year. Preceded by the print index
Index to Legal Periodicals and Books
Index K 9 .N75 (1926+)
Citations to articles selected from more than 620 legal periodicals, including journals,
yearbooks, and annual reviews. Continued by the electronic database
Index to Legal Periodicals Full Text
The "Legal Research" feature of this database provides federal and state case law, codes,
regulations, legal news, law reviews, and international legal information, as well as
Shepard’s Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789.
Contains summaries of more than 170,000 criminal justice publications, including federal,
state, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, and
unpublished research. Many of the documents in this database are available on microfiche
in the Reference Department, covering the years 1968 through 1995 (NCJ 00001 -- NCJ
Includes citations to journal articles, government publications, and books addressing
issues of public policy and current social and political issues in the social sciences,
law, education, and social work.
Abstracts and indexes over 1,300 international journals covering all branches of the
field of psychology.
Covers over 550 English-language periodicals in a wide range of social science disciplines,
including social work and sociology. Abstracting of articles began in 1994. Preceded
by the print index Social Sciences Index
Social Sciences Citation Index
Indexes articles, books, and book reviews from approximately 2,000 journals representing
all fields of the social sciences. This database's primary use is to track citations
to the works of a specific author through the "Cited Ref Search" feature.
Index AI 3 .R492 (1974/75+)
Covers selected periodicals that have an emphasis on film studies. Continued by the
electronic database Social Sciences Full Text
(1983+) and preceded by the print indexes Social Sciences and Humanities
(1964-74) and International Index to Periodicals
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines
in the social and behavioral sciences. Contains citations to journal articles, book
review, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.
return to top
The following journals are devoted exclusively to criminal justice. Please note, however,
that many other journals not listed here may contain articles about the subject; thus, the need
to consult a periodical database or
index. Current print issues of periodicals to which the Library
subscribes are arranged by title on the third floor; print back issues are shelved in the general
collection by call number, while microform back issues are arranged by call number on the third
The British Journal of
Publishes scholarly articles dealing with the causes and prevention of delinquency and
crime, the treatment of offenders, and the principles of criminal justice processes
both in the United Kingdom and abroad. Lengthy book review section.
Florida Documents OR.A3: C35/ (1975+)
The official newsletter of the Florida Department of Corrections.
The official publication of the American Correctional Association (ACA), providing a
forum for the presentation and discussion of issues in corrections. Each issue usually
contains articles on a central theme (e.g., female offenders, prison architecture and
design). Includes book reviews.
Crime and Delinquency
A professional journal that contains policy-oriented, well-documented articles on all
aspects of crime and the administration of justice, including etiology, prevention,
corrections, and rehabilitation.
Criminal Justice and
Behavior: An International Journal
Promotes scholarly evaluations of assessment, classification, prevention, intervention,
and treatment programs to help the correctional professional develop successful programs
based on sound and informative theoretical and research foundations.
Criminology: An Interdisciplinary Journal
Microfilm HV 6001 .C682 (1970-72)
General Collection HV 6001 .C682 (1973+)
The official journal of the American Society of Criminology presents scholarly, multidisciplinary
articles examining crime and deviant behavior as described in the fields of law, criminal
justice, and the social and behavioral sciences.
FBI Law Enforcement Bulletin
Features articles primarily on operations and management issues, such as current police
techniques, crime problems, equipment, and training. The "Bulletin Reports" covers criminal
justice studies, reports, and project findings.
Federal Probation: A Journal of Correctional Philosophy and Practice
General Collection HV 9261 .F4 (1937+)
A scholarly publication from the federal government with articles on all aspects of
preventive and correctional activities for both adults and juveniles. Although most
contributions are theoretical, practical applications are emphasized.
The Howard Journal of
Concerned with all major aspects of the criminal justice process, penal policy, and
crime prevention. Combines articles with comments and reviews, providing a thorough
coverage of both the theory and practice of criminal justice and the study of crime
and criminals. Each issue includes a "Penal Policy File" summarizing the latest developments
in criminal justice policy.
Journal of Criminal Justice:
An International Journal
(1973+ indexed; 1995+)
Microfiche HV 7231 .J62 (1973-76)
General Collection HV 7231 .J62 (1977+)
Covers all aspects of the criminal justice field, emphasizing new ideas, new information,
and new methods, both to practitioners and scholars.
Journal of Forensic Sciences
The official publication of the American Academy of Forensic Sciences, this refereed
journal publishes papers on original investigations, observations, scholarly inquiries,
and reviews. Its scope encompasses forensic toxicology, pathology, psychiatry, immunology,
jurisprudence, criminalistics, odontology, physical anthropology, and questioned documents
The Journal of Offender
An interdisciplinary journal dealing with all aspects of the treatment of offenders
and the reentry of ex-offenders into society.
Journal of Research in
Crime and Delinquency
Reports on original research in crime and delinquency, new theory, and the critical
analyses of theories and concepts especially pertinent to research development in this
Justice Quarterly: JQ
Microfilm HV 6001 .J65 (1984-85)
General Collection HV 6001 .J65 (1986+)
The official journal of the Academy of Criminal Justice Sciences. A refereed, multi-disciplinary
journal featuring articles on qualitative and quantitative research in the area of criminal
justice and book review essays.
The Police Chief
General Collection HV 7551 .P5 (1971+)
Published by the International Association of Chiefs of Police (IACP), this publication
focuses on the latest trends and practices in law enforcement, with each issue primarily
devoted to a theme of interest as determined by reader feedback.
The Prison Journal
Exploring broad themes of punishment and correctional intervention, this journal advances
theory, research, policy, and practice. Also publishes descriptive and evaluative accounts
of innovative programs and policies, state-of the-art surveys and reviews, and legal
and historical analysis.
Publishes articles, commentary, special reports, product reviews, and news of note aimed
at security professionals and managers in loss prevention in corporate, defense and
return to top
Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
Encyclopedias and dictionaries are excellent sources to find introductions and overviews
of topics or to begin a literature search. They will contain authoritative articles and, often,
Crime and the Justice System in America: An Encyclopedia
Reference HV 6789 .C6884 1997
Presents terminology, precedent-setting cases, key contemporary and historical figures,
notable policy initiatives, and significant studies and programs in the field of crime
Dictionary of American Criminal Justice: Key Terms and Major Supreme Court Cases
Reference HV 7411 .C53 1998
Divided into two sections. Part One is a dictionary that includes terms drawn from such
disciplines as criminology, criminal justice, corrections, probation/parole, juvenile
justice, and policing. Many definitions are accompanied by examples from the research
literature, illustrating how the terms apply in particular contexts. Also included are
listings of leading theorists of criminology, a synopsis of their major theoretical
contributions, and extracts from their written works. Part Two includes the most recent
and significant U.S. Supreme Court cases, with an account of the events leading to each
case, how the Supreme Court decided the case, and the rationale used in each decision.
Dictionary of American Penology
Reference HV 9304 .W54 1996
Short articles on various aspects of the American correctional system. Includes statistics.
The Encyclopedia of American Crime
Reference HV 6789 .S54 2001
Offers 2,000 alphabetical entries covering significant crimes, criminals, and law enforcement
figures and techniques. Entries were chosen based on their symbolic or historical relevance
and consist of biographies, definitions, and detailed accounts of criminal activities.
Encyclopedia of American Prisons
Reference HV 9471 .E425 1996
More than 160 essays on the history and current operations of American prison systems,
including individuals, facilities, procedures, modern prison issues, and program descriptions.
Encyclopedia of Crime
Reference HV 6017 .E52 2002
A four-volume set that contains scholarly articles on the causes of crime, criminal
behavior, criminal law, criminal procedure, criminal justice systems, and the prevention,
punishment, and treatment of crime.
Encyclopedia of Crime
Reference HV 6017 .E524 2002
The 493 articles cover such topics as corrections, crimes, forensics, law and justice,
organizations and institutions, punishment, special populations, and victimology. Appendixes
include information on criminal justice careers, Internet sources, and professional
and scholarly associations.
Encyclopedia of Criminology and Deviant Behavior
Reference HV 6017 .E53 2001
Comprehensive encyclopedia covering criminology and social deviance under four broad
categories: historical, conceptual, and theoretical issues; crime and juvenile delinquency;
sexual deviance; and self destructive behavior and disvalued identity.
Historical Dictionary of Law Enforcement
General Collection HV 7903 .R67 2001
Entries on the history of policing, with an international focus.
The Sage Dictionary of Criminology
Reference HV 12 .S34 2001
Contains 250 brief entries that encompass the categories of thought, methods, and practices
of contemporary criminological study.
Narrative descriptions of the criminal justice systems of more than forty countries
around the world, with links to the United Nations Criminal Justice Information Network.
The Book of Assassins: A Biographical Dictionary from Ancient Times to the Present
General Collection HV 6245 .F44 2001
Contains biographical sketches of assassins and an index of victims.
Encyclopedia of Capital Punishment
Reference HV 8694 .G76 1998
Examines capital punishment worldwide from the 17th century bce (Hammurabi's Code) to
1997. Entries include biographies, U.S. court cases, methods of execution throughout
history, statistics, and a variety of concepts and issues ranging from the use of the
Internet in the capital punishment debate to an account of Socrates' death scene. The
volume includes a chronology, a bibliography, and an index.
Encyclopedia of Capital Punishment in the United States
Reference HV 8694 .P35 2001
Contains entries on virtually every capital punishment decision rendered by the U.S.
Supreme Court from its beginning through 1999 and entries are also provided for each
Supreme Court justice who has ever rendered a capital punishment opinion. Entries on
jurisdictions that do or do not have capital punishment cite the present-day relevant
death penalty laws of each jurisdiction and its judicial structure, with synopses of
both their common and their unique features. Also features articles that summarize the
status of capital punishment in almost 200 nations of the world; famous U.S. capital
prosecutions; organizations that support and oppose capital punishment; capital punishment’s
impact on persons of African, Asian, Hispanic, and Native American backgrounds, on women,
and on foreign nationals; and the various methods of execution.
The Encyclopedia of Child Abuse
Reference HV 6626.5 .C57 2001
Entries cover issues of child abuse from such fields as law, medicine, economics, psychology,
Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol, and Addictive Behavior
Reference HV 5804 .E53 2001
Contains overview essays and briefer entries on topics such as juvenile substance abuse,
mandatory sentencing, and organized crime and drug trafficking.
Encyclopedia of Forensic Science: A Compendium of Detective Fact and Fiction
General Collection HV 8073 .C595 2002
Covers all aspects of forensic science past and present, from types of crime and evidence,
to forensic scientists and officials, to the criminals they seek.
Encyclopedia of Forensic Sciences
Reference HV 8073 .E58 2000
A three-volume set that contains more than 200 articles written by international experts
in the field, outlining the most effective methods and techniques used in evidence collection,
analysis, and investigation. Most articles have a bibliography for further reading appended.
Includes a comprehensive glossary that defines nearly 900 forensic science terms.
Encyclopedia of Juvenile Justice
General Collection HV9104 .E58 2003
Provides more than 200 entries covering historical and contemporary theories, concepts,
and real-world practices of juvenile justice in the United States. Addresses a broad
range of issues and topics, such as alcohol and drug abuse, arson, the death penalty
for juveniles, computer and Internet crime, gun violence, gangs, missing children, school
violence, teen pregnancy, and delinquency theories.
Encyclopedia of Organized Crime in the United States: From Capone's Chicago to the New
Reference HV 6446 .K43 2000
Consists of more than 250 entries on major figures in organized crime, key criminal
events, and terms.
The Encyclopedia of Serial Killers
Reference HV 6245 .N49 2000
Arranged alphabetically, entries include case histories of individual serial killers
and essays on such topics as incarceration, the insanity defense, and motives for serial
Encyclopedia of Terrorism
Reference HV 6431 .K883 2003
Has more than 300 articles on all aspects of terrorism. The articles cover such topics
as Al-Qaeda, biological terrorism, extremism, Saddam Hussein, Jihad, Zacarias Moussaoui,
and suicide bombers. Also contains a detailed chronology, photographs, maps, and charts.
The Encyclopedia of Violence: Origins, Attitudes, Consequences
Reference HM 291 .D4857 1993
A listing of the varieties of violence in contemporary America and the relationship
between everyday violence and quality of life.
Encyclopedia of Women and Crime
Reference HV 6046 .E56 2000
Has 240 alphabetically arranged entries, covering the topic of women and crime, including
women as offenders, victims, criminologists, criminal lawyers, reformers, and workers
in the criminal justice system.
Encyclopedia of World Terrorism
Reference HV 6431 .E53 1997
A three-volume set. Volume 1 explores the historical background of different eras: from
ancient Greece through 1939; during WWII; and modern terrorist campaigns worldwide.
Volume 2 focuses on terrorist groups and campaigns, with emphasis on the Middle East
(including the 1996 peace process), and also covers radical Muslim terrorism, terrorism
in Latin America, post-Colonial Asia and Africa, and war and civil war since 1945. Volume
3 is devoted to terrorism in the industrialized world: the United States, Europe, Israel,
Britain, and Latin America, with a complete section on responses to terrorism.
The FBI: A Comprehensive Reference Guide
Reference HV 8144 .F43 F35 1999
Covers such topics as the history of the bureau, notable cases, physical facilities,
and the agency in popular American culture. Includes biographies, a chronology, and
an annotated bibliography.
The Mafia Encyclopedia
Reference HV 6441 .S53 1999
More than 450 entries cover the major personalities, events, and mores of organized
return to top
Handbooks and Manuals
There are a number of important handbooks and manuals in specific areas of criminal justice.
These are excellent sources to use for an overview of a topic, to begin a literature search,
and to find discussions about schools of thought, theoretical or practical approaches, and landmark
research studies. They provide a more in-depth and comprehensive treatment than encyclopedias
or dictionaries on a specific topic in the field.
The following titles are but a sampling of handbooks in criminal justice. Others can be identified
by conducting a KEYWORD search in the UCF Library
Catalog, combining the term for a topic or specialization with the words handbook
or manuals or methodology.
Almanac of Modern Terrorism
General Collection HV 6431 .S465 1991
In five sections: a chronology of seminal terrorist incidents and milestones since World
War II; an encyclopedic compilation of individuals, organizations, and events popularly
associated with terrorism, arranged in alphabetical order; a sampling of statements
made by various political figures and analysts on terrorism today; a chronologically
organized selection of definitions of terrorism; and a bibliography of recommended readings.
Capital Punishment: A Reference Handbook
Reference HV 8699 .U5 K76 2001
Provides an overview of capital punishment, including its history, along with a chronology,
biographies, facts and figures, and a list of resources.
Childhood Sexual Abuse: A Reference Handbook
Reference HV 6570 .K55 1995
Contains an overview of child sexual abuse, recommendations for protecting victims,
discussions of treatments, statistics, documents, and a list of resources and organizations.
Handbook of Computer Crime Investigation: Forensic Tools and Technology
General Collection HV 8079.C65 H36 2002
Provides information for collecting and analyzing digital evidence in common situations,
starting with computers, moving on to networks, and culminating with embedded systems.
A "Case Examples" section illustrates the technical, legal, and practical challenges
that arise in real computer investigations.
Handbook of Family Violence
General Collection HQ 809.3 .U5 H35 1988
Has chapters on theoretical models, forms of family violence, and special issues such
as alcoholism and violence.
Handbook of Loss Prevention and Crime Prevention
General Collection HV 8290 .H345 1996
Deals with design, equipment, and operations inherent in crime and loss prevention.
Includes chapters on security surveys, locks, lighting, and closed circuit television.
Handbook of Organized Crime in the United States
General Collection HV 6446 .H345 1994
Discusses the definitions and historical background of organized crime, theories and
research, specific crime groups and their operations, and law enforcement strategies
to counter organized crime.
Police Misconduct in America: A Reference Handbook
General Collection HV 8141 .C44 2001
Includes a brief history of police misconduct, an overview of significant issues, a
chronology, biographical sketches, a directory of organizations, and a glossary of terms.
Rape and Sexual Assault: A Research Handbook
General Collection HV 6561 .R37
Rape and Sexual Assault II
General Collection HV 6561 .R368 1988
Contains lengthy bibliographic essays on the multidisciplinary aspects of rape and sexual
return to top
Below is a selected list of sources of criminal justice statistics and statistics relevant
to criminal justice.
U.S. Documents Microfiche J 29.1/2:
Statistics about crimes, victims, law enforcement, courts, sentencing, and corrections.
Crime in America's Top-Rated Cities: A Statistical Profile
Reference HV 6787 .C745
Includes statistics for the past 20 years in all major crime categories, arranged by
Crime State Rankings
Reference HV 6787 .C735 2000
Provides over 500 tables of state crime statistics and rankings on juvenile and adult
arrests, corrections, law enforcement personnel and expenditures, offenses, crime clearances,
courts, and drug and alcohol treatment.
Florida Statistical Abstract
Reference Desk HA 311 .F55 (latest edition)
Florida Documents UF .S3:S8/ (1967+)
A one-volume statistical compendium issued annually by the University of Florida Bureau
of Economic and Business Research. Chapters include population, income, housing, education,
health, and comparisons with other states.
Historical Corrections Statistics in the United States, 1850-1984
U.S. Documents J 29.2: C 81/ 850-984
Supplies annual data on the size of the prison population and the size of the general
population in the United States for the period 1850 to 1984. Includes tabulations for
prisons in each of the 50 states and the District of Columbia, as well as the federal
An online database covering almost all statistical publications produced by the U.S.
government, a large number of state and privately-published statistical publications,
and international and intergovernmental statistical publications. Use the "Power Tables"
feature to search 3,000 full-text statistical tables for current information. Use the
"Abstracts" feature to search for statistics as far back as 1970, some of which are
available full text. All of the documents in LexisNexis Statistics are available
in the microfiche collections American Statistics Index: ASI (U.S. Documents
Microfiche Z 7554 .U5 A46), Statistical Reference Index: SRI (U.S. Documents
Microfiche HA 155 .S72), and Index to International Statistics: IIS (U.S. Documents
Microfiche HA 155 .I5), located on the Library's 2d floor.
U.S. Documents J 29.9/6: (latest in Documents Ready Reference)
Contains statistics gathered from sources nationwide. Includes information on the criminal
justice system, public opinion, crimes, characteristics of persons arrested, judicial
processing of defendants, and information on prison and jail populations.
Reference Desk HA 202 (current edition)
Both printed single-volume work and online database updated annually that presents quantitative
summary statistics on the political, social, and economic organization of the United
States. Statistics in most tables cover a period of several years, usually 10, 15, or
20. The first source for statistics of national importance.
U.S. Documents J 1.14/7: (1966-88, 1990/91-1994, 1996+)
Crime statistics as reported from cities, counties, and states.
Florida Documents LE.A 3: C64/ (1973-82, 1986-87, 1989)
Standardized reports on crime statistics based on data gathered from across the state.
return to top
Directory, Juvenile and Adult Correctional Departments, Institutions, Agencies and Paroling
Reference HV 9463 .D57
Lists institutions and personnel involved in correctional services in the U.S. and Canada.
An introductory section provides statistics on expenditures, facilities, offender populations,
and personnel. Name index.
Law and Legal Information Directory
Reference KF190 .L35
Provides descriptions and contact information for institutions, services, and facilities
in the legal and criminal justice sectors.
Contains names, titles, addresses, and telephone and fax numbers for key elected and
appointed administrative, elective, and judicial officers at the federal, state, municipal,
and judicial levels.
National Jail and Adult Detention Directory
Reference HV 9463 .N37 1996-98
A state-by-state listing of city and county jails, providing addresses, telephone numbers,
names of sheriffs, and information on capacity, population, personnel, and expenditures.
return to top
There are literally hundreds of Internet (or World Wide Web) sites pertinent to sociology.
Most of the following are essentially "meta-sites," starting places for finding and linking
to a wide variety of information online.
Site from Florida State University. It includes links to numerous criminal justice sites.
A collection of links to Internet resources relating to criminology, part of the University
of Cambridge's Institute of Criminology, and maintained by the Radzinowicz Library.
The links are indexed according to broad subject area within the field of criminology.
Provides access to hundreds of criminal justice sources on the Internet. Each source
has been evaluated and categorized by type (e.g., articles, databases, discussion groups).
return to top
Style Manuals and Research Guides
The sources below include style manuals (offering assistance with the mechanics of paper
presentation, such as preparing bibliographies, footnoting, underlining, and using quotation
marks) and research guides (useful for determining how to write a paper or beginning research
in criminal justice).
Based at the Writing Center at the University of Wisconsin--Madison, this site provides
a quick resource for citing references in papers using the 5th edition of the Publication
Manual of the American Psychological Association
(2001). Gives examples which can
be used as templates for citing references. See also the
Manual of the American Psychological Association
The Bluebook: A Uniform System of Citation
Reference Desk KF 245 .B58
The style manual that governs how American legal documents are cited in legal briefs,
memoranda, court documents, and law journals. Published by the editors of the law journals
at Columbia University, Harvard University, the University of Pennsylvania and Yale
Criminal Justice Information: How to Find It, How to Use It
Reference HV 7419.5 .C75 1998
Includes Internet discussion groups, useful databases, government sources, and a number
of web sites as well as traditional reference books and periodicals in the field.
The Criminal Justice Student Writer's Manual
General Collection HV 7419.5 .C75 1998
A guide to writing criminal justice papers, this volume includes a handbook of style
for criminal justice; a section on how to conduct criminal justice research; and suggestions
for writing reaction papers, article critiques, book reviews, criminal justice agency
case studies, and criminal justice policy analysis papers.
Ready Reference BF 76.7 .P83 2001
The major style manual in the social sciences for students, scholars, editors, and authors.
The APA also has a guide for citing online sources at
return to top
Ask a Librarian
If you have questions or need additional assistance, Ask a Librarian, call
the Reference Department at (407) 823-2562, or e-mail the Department at
email@example.com. The library liaison
for Criminal Justice is Donna Goda, Associate Librarian,
July 19, 2010