Anthropology and Archaeology Research Guide
indicates some full text
Note: Off-campus access to most online sources is restricted to current UCF students, faculty,
and staff via Proxy connection.
Books and Multimedia
UCF Library Catalog
Use the online catalog to locate books in the UCF Libraries. You can search by author, title,
keyword, or subject.
- To search for a person, as AUTHOR or SUBJECT, search
by last name, first name without punctuation; for example:
SUBJECT searching requires use of Library of Congress subject headings. Here are
some example subject headings:
- Campbell Joseph
- Kroeber A L
- Levi-Strauss Claude
- Animal remains (Archaeology)
- Basket making
- Culture diffusion
- Excavations (Archaeology)
- Food habits
- Human evolution
- Physical anthropology
- If you are unsure of the exact title or unsure of the correct Library of Congress subject
heading, try an ANYWHERE search using two or three of the most significant
words from the title or subject you are trying to find.
- To limit by FORMAT in order to find multimedia and scores, go to the Advanced
Search in the Library Catalog and use the Limit Search By option.
return to top
Use the following print indexes and online databases to find articles related to anthropology
or archaeology or appearing in anthropology or archaeology periodicals. Once you have found
the articles you want, in some instances you will need to check the
UCF Library Catalog to determine if we own the periodicals you need.
Index GN 1 .A15 (1970+)
Arranged by anthropological sub-discipline, then by detailed subjects. Indexes many
journals in history, science, and the social sciences, in addition to the major anthropological
journals. Author and subject indexes.
Indexes periodical articles and sections of edited volumes (books, conference proceedings,
festschriften, etc.) in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic
anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary
"Fully searchable database of reviews of anthropological books, audiovisual materials,
software & multimedia, exhibits, tourist sites, conferences, and on-line resources."
Includes citations, some with full text, to articles on archaeological topics from about
400 periodicals. Preceded by the online database
Art Index Retrospective
Includes citations to archaeology articles from about 200 periodicals. Updated by the
online database Art Full Text
An electronic database of citations to articles appearing in more than 400 English-language
periodicals dealing with the humanities: folklore, history, language, literature, music,
philosophy, religion, and classical studies. Preceded by the print index
AI 3 .R493 (1974+)
Lists by subject and author articles from approximately 350 English-language journals
covering such subjects as folklore, history, language, literature, music, philosophy,
religion, and classical studies. Continued by the online database
Humanities Full Text
Bibliography of Social and Cultural Anthropology
Reference GN 1 .I593
Includes books, research reports, and periodical articles; excludes archaeology and
physical anthropology. Author and subject indexes.
Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
Index P 1 .L364 (1967+)
Covers over 550 English-language periodicals in a wide range of social science disciplines,
including psychology. Abstracting of articles began in 1994. Preceded by the print index
Social Sciences Index
Social Sciences Citation Index
Index H 61 .S65 (1982-91)
Indexes articles, books, and book reviews from approximately 2,000 journals representing
all fields of the social sciences. This database's primary use is to track citations
to the works of a specific author through the "Cited Ref Search" feature.
Index AI 3 .R492 (1974/75+)
Covers selected periodicals that have an emphasis on all areas of the social sciences,
including psychology. Continued by the online database
Social Sciences Full Text
(1983+) and preceded by the print indexes Social
Sciences and Humanities Index
(1964-74) and International Index to Periodicals
Index HM 1 .S67 (1953+)
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines
in the social and behavioral sciences. Contains citations to journal articles, book
review, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.
return to top
The following journals are devoted exclusively to anthropology and/or archaeology. Please
note, however, that many other journals not listed here may contain articles about these subjects;
thus, the need to consult a
periodical database or
index. Current print issues of periodicals to which the Library subscribes are arranged
by title on the third floor; print back issues are shelved in the general collection by call
number, while microform back issues are arranged by call number on the third floor.
General Collection GN 1 .A5 (1888+)
The flagship journal of the American Anthropological Association, publishes articles
that add to, integrate, synthesize, and interpret anthropological knowledge; commentaries
and essays on issues of importance to the discipline; and reviews of books, films, sound
recordings and exhibits.
"A Quarterly Review of American Archaeology
General Collection E 51 .A52 (1935+)
The journal of the Society of American Archaeologists presents articles on the archaeology
of the Americas and on worldwide archaeological method, theory, and practice.
General Collection GN 1 .A53 (1985+)
Publishes scholarly articles concerning any human group or society, addressing such
issues as social organization, politics, ethnicity, ritual, and economy. Substantial
book review section, averaging 20 to 50 reviews per issue.
Journal of Archaeology: The Journal of the Archaeological Institute of America
General Collection CC 1 .A6 (1897+)
Devoted to publishing scholarly articles on the art and archaeology of ancient Europe
and the Mediterranean world, including the Near East and Egypt, from prehistoric to
late antique times.
of Physical Anthropology
Microfilm GN 1 .A55 (1918-73)
General Collection GN 1 .A55 (1973+)
The major journal in the field of physical anthropology, with articles on human evolution,
behavior, genetics, primate physiology, and other topics.
General Collection GN 1 .A623 (1972, 1993, 1999+)
A standard source for an in-depth overview of recent and past developments in psychology.
Periodical Review of Archaeology
General Collection CC 1 .A7 (1927+)
Publishes 10 to 12 peer-reviewed articles in each issue, as well as a news section focusing
on current research developments.
General Collection GN 700 .A725 (1948+)
Published under the auspices of the Archaeological Institute of America, this title
a general-interest magazine on the subject.
Microfilm GN 1 .C8 (1960-67)
General Collection GN 1 .C8 (1968+)
A journal devoted to research in a wide variety of areas: social, cultural, and physical
anthropology, as well as ethnology, archaeology, folklore, and linguistics
General Collection E 78.F6 F58 (1948+)
The official journal of the Florida Anthropological Society.
The Journal of
General Collection CC 79 .E85 J68 (1986+)
"Devoted to the development of theory and, in a broad sense, methodology for the systematic
and rigorous understanding of the organization, operation, and evolution of human societies"
The Journal of Anthropological Research
General Collection GN1 .S642 (1973+)
Publishes research from all areas of anthropology, with a primary focus on the Americas.
The Journal of Field Archaeology
Microfilm CC 1 .J69 (1974-1976)
General Collection CC 1 .J69(1977-1981; 1983+)
An international, refereed quarterly serving the interests of archaeologists, anthropologists,
historians, scientists, and others concerned with the recovery and interpretation of
archaeological data. Its scope is worldwide and is not confined to any particular time
The Journal of
the Royal Anthropological Society
General Collection GN 1 .M25 (1966+)
Until 1995, originally titled Man. International in content, covering all areas
of anthropology. Large book review section.
General Collection CC 1 .W67 (1969+)
Deals with archaeology on a world-wide multi-period basis. Each issue is dedicated to
one theme of current interest and the papers adopt a broad comparative approach, looking
at important issues on a global scale. Recent issues have been devoted to such topics
as luxury foods, shipwrecks, archaeology of slavery, archaeology and aesthetics, and
ancient ecological disasters.
return to top
Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
Sources such as encyclopedias and dictionaries are good starting points for obtaining basic
information about issues, events, organizations, and the like. Below is a sampling of basic
The Dictionary of Human Geography
Reference GF 4 .D52 2000
Contains over 500 definitions of basic concepts, major topics, subfields of human geography
(e.g., urban, cultural, economic), and organizations. Definitions are followed by references
Encyclopedia of Human Evolution and Prehistory
Reference GN 281 .E53 2000
Has over 800 entries written by 54 scholars. Illustrations and bibliographies.
The Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics
Reference P 29 .E48 1994
Impressive collection of articles and appendices that includes much information of use
to anthropologists. Has nine volumes of alphabetically arranged topical entries and
biographies; the tenth volume has a 100 page glossary, a list of the languages of the
world, a classified list of entries (including anthropology and languages, and biographies
arranged by category), and indexes for names and subjects.
The Encyclopedia of World Cultures
Reference GN 307 .E53
A 10-volume encyclopedia, arranged by geographic region, providing descriptive summaries
on world cultures.
Guide to Fossil Man
"General Collection GN 282 .D39 1986
The standard reference work on hominid remains found at major paleolithic sites throughout
the world. Includes details of 49 sites worldwide.
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences
Reference H 41 .I58 2001
Contains authoritative articles on anthropology, archaeology, ethnography, ethnology,
folklore, linguistics, and related fields, and biographical essays on prominent social
scientists who are deceased.
International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences
Reference H 40 .F68
Includes comprehensive, authoritative articles on many aspects of anthropology, archaeology,
ethnology, folklore and linguistics, and lengthy biographies on over 70 anthropologists.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life
Reference GN 333 .W67 1998
Provides information on 500 cultures of the world, covering twenty different areas of
daily life including clothing, food, language, and religion.
Companion Encyclopedia of Anthropology
Reference GN 25 .C65 1997
Provides a comprehensive survey of contemporary thinking in biological, social, and
of Anthropology [Barfield]
Reference GN 307 .D485 1997
Consists of more than 500 individual entries. Aims to provide "clear and concise statements
laying out the important issues, significant concepts, methodologies, and theories in
anthropology along with a guide to the key literature on these topics" (preface).
Dictionary of Anthropology [Seymour-Smith]
Reference GN 11 .D48 1986
Contains some 950 entries for terms and concepts used primarily in cultural and social
anthropology. Specifically excludes the fields of linguistics, physical anthropology,
Dictionary of Anthropology [Winick]
Reference GN 11 .W5
Defines more than 5,000 terms in all subfields of the discipline. Entries are short,
and include ethnic groups and personal names.
Dictionary of Concepts in Cultural Anthropology
Reference GN 307 .W56 1991
Contains definitions, essays on historical origins and developments, and bibliographic
references for 80 key concepts in cultural anthropology.
Dictionary of Concepts in Physical Anthropology
Reference GN 50.3 .H57 1991
Consists of brief definitions, historical origins and developments, and sources of additional
information for 75+ concepts in physical anthropology.
Encyclopedia of Cultural Anthropology
Reference GN 307 .E52 1996
Ranging from the Wild Yam Question to the Mead-Freeman Controversy, the 340 articles
in this work cover the methods, perspectives and concepts of cultural anthropology.
Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology
Reference GN 307 .E648 1996
Contains more than 230 entries on ideas, individuals, and sub-disciplines in social
and cultural anthropology, brief biographies of leading figures in the history of anthropology,
and a glossary of more than 600 key terms.
History of Physical Anthropology: An Encyclopedia
Reference GN 50.3 .H57 1997
Entries include historical and contemporary biographical sketches, essays on the development
of physical anthropology in specific countries, and discussions of the history of key
concepts in the various subfields of physical anthropology (e.g., anthropometry, dental
anthropology, forensic anthropology, primate field studies).
Archaeological Method and Theory: An Encyclopedia
Reference 75 .A654 2000
Covers analytical technology, legislation, conservation techniques, and research from
prehistoric to contemporary periods throughout the world.
Blackwell Encyclopedia of Industrial Archaeology
Reference T 37 .B55 1992
Monuments, settlements, and landscapes of 31 countries in Europe, Canada, United States,
and Australasia from 1650 to 1950. Bibliography of almost 3,000 sources.
Cambridge Illustrated History of Archaeology
General Collection CC 100 .C28 1996
Explorations of the Middle Ages to the present in eight chapters: Archaeology of archaeology;
Old worlds and new, 1500-1760; antiquarians and explorers, 1760-1820; science and romanticism,
1820-1860; search for human origins, 1860-1920; archaeology comes of age, 1920-1960;
new techniques and competing philosophies, 1960-1990, and current controversies and
future trends. Chronology of archaeology from 1500 and bibliography. All illustrations
are original prints, manuscripts, artistic renderings, and photographs.
Collins Dictionary of Archaeology
Reference CC 70 .C58 1993
Over 500 pages of short-entry definitions and facts with cross-references. Includes
almost 100 pages of maps and lists of sites. Bibliography by topic. Limited illustrations.
Encyclopedia of Archaeology
Reference X CC 70 .C59 1999
Twenty-nine essays by individual authors are groups under three headings: origins, aims,
and methods; themes and approaches; and writing archaeological history. Each essay includes
an extensive list of references and a short "select bibliography." Photographs, drawings,
tables, and plans.
A Dictionary of Archaeology
Reference CC 70 .D53 1999
Includes short definitions and longer articles on recent archaeological theory and applications
with bibliographies of primary and recent sources. Some maps and drawings. China, Japan,
and Oceania are covered.
Dictionary of Concepts in Archaeology
Reference CC 70 .M45 1993
Provides analytical definitions and discussions of the key concepts in archaeology.
For each of the more than seventy terms covered, there is an examination of the development
of the term and an analysis of the key thinkers and writing involved in its development.
Each entry concludes with a bibliographical essay designed to cover the original sources
of vital importance in the development of the concept.
A Dictionary of Terms and Techniques in Archaeology
Reference CC 70 .C48
Covers terms used in the scientific and technical aspects of archaeology. No definitions
for cultures or artifacts.
Encyclopedia of Archaeology: History and Discoveries
Reference CC 100 .E54 2001
Comprehensive, world-wide coverage including article bibliographies, maps, and illustrations.
Index in Volume 3.
Encyclopedia of Historical Archaeology
Reference CC 77 .H5 E53 2002
Offers through over 370 entries a comprehensive guide to the essential sites, concepts,
and issues central to the study of historical archaeology, and at the same time helps
to define it as a field.
Encyclopedia of Underwater and Maritime Archaeology
Reference CC 77 .U5 E53 1998
Sites from prehistory to the modern era, legislation and legal issues, organizations,
research themes, technology, etc., are covered in 450 alphabetically arranged entries.
Worldwide coverage, illustrations, and extensive individual bibliographies.
Historical Dictionary of North American Archaeology
Reference E 77.9 .H57 1988
Contains information on prehistoric cultures, sites, and artifacts of North America.
Most entries are short and some include references to definitive works on the subject.
Use relies on the index to find all relevant entries. Not all entries are indexed.
Companion to Archaeology
Reference CC 70 .O96 1996
Covers entire spectrum of human existence from Australopithecines to modern New York
City. All aspects of archaeology from Acheulean tradition to zoology. Signed entries
with bibliographies and cross-references. No entries for individual archaeologists,
but those mentioned in the text are indexed. Maps and timelines included. Updates and
expands the Cambridge Encyclopedia of Archaeology (Reference CC 165 .C3), but
lacks its illustrations of artifacts, architectural forms, and art.
return to top
Handbooks and Manuals
There are a number of important handbooks and manuals in specific areas of anthropology and
archaeology. These are excellent sources to use for an overview of a topic, to begin a literature
search, and to find discussions about schools of thought, theoretical or practical approaches,
and landmark research studies. They provide a more in-depth and comprehensive treatment than
encyclopedias or dictionaries on a specific topic in the field.
The following titles are but a sampling of handbooks in anthropology and archaeology. Others
can be identified by conducting a KEYWORD search in the
UCF Library Catalog, combining the term for
a topic or specialization with the words handbook or manuals or methodology.
Anthropology of Religion: A Handbook
General Collection GN 470 .A55 1997
Intended as a practical guide for anthropologists and graduate students preparing to
undertake primary research in the anthropology of religion.
The Archaeology Handbook: A Field Manual and Resource GuideM
General Collection CC 76 M38 1991
Intended to be a guide for students, but it also serves a good ready reference source
since it lists addresses for museums, field schools, state archaeology offices, and
archaeological organizations. Mostly devoted to the nature of archaeology and excavations.
Includes suggested readings and an index.
A seven-volume set that gives a comprehensive overview of the ethnographic process,
including research design, data collection techniques, analytical strategies, and research
Volume 1: Designing and Conducting Ethnographic Research -- General Collection
GN 345 .S35 1999
Volume 2: Essential Ethnographic Methods: Observations, Interviews, and Questionnaires
-- General Collection GN 345 .S362 1999
Volume 3: Enhanced Ethnographic Methods: Audiovisual Techniques, Focused Group Interviews,
and Elicitation Techniques -- General Collection GN 345 .S36 1999
Volume 4: Mapping Social Networks, Spatial Data & Hidden Populations -- General
Collection GN 345 .S363 1999
Volume 5: Analyzing and Interpreting Ethnographic Data -- General Collection
GN 345 .L42 1999
Volume 6: Researcher Roles & Research Partnerships -- General Collection GN 345
Volume 7: Using Ethnographic Data: Interventions, Public Programming, and Public
Policy -- General Collection GN 345 .U85 1999
General Collection CC 76 .R67 2001
Discusses contemporary techniques, covering pre-excavation reconnaissance and site evaluation,
the preparations for full excavation, the actual process of excavation, and the recording
of photographic, spatial, stratigraphic and physical evidence. A final chapter discusses
the future of excavation.
Fieldwork in Developing Countries
General Collection HA 29 .D395 1993
Chapters address such issues as the context of fieldwork, issues in data collection,
random sampling and repeat surveys, fieldwork under time constraints, collecting life
histories, field methods for economic mobility, the role of politics on research, fieldwork
relationships and the nature of data, and ethics.
Handbook of Ethnography
General Collection GN 345 .H365 2001
Deals with the nature of ethnography, its historical grounding and substantive applications,
the variety of practices that constitute it, and its likely future directions.
Handbook of Methods in Cultural Anthropology
General Collection GN 345 .H37 1998
Provides descriptions of the methods that anthropologists use, the logic behind them,
and the complex problems of field research.
Handbook of Psychological Anthropology
General Collection GN 502 .H363 1994
Critical review of present & historical approaches to psychological anthropology.
Sampling in Archaeology
General Collection CC 80.6 .O78 2000
Offers a comprehensive account of the applications of statistical sampling theory in
modern archaeological practice at a range of scales.
return to top
Atlas of Ancient America
Reference E61 .C66 1986
Divided by region. Includes chronological table, bibliography by region, gazetteer and
Atlas of Early Man
Reference CB 311 .H35 1976
Compares contemporary prehistoric and ancient cultures, placing simultaneous developments
in art, religion, technology, science, government, and architecture in graphic perspective.
Over 1000 drawings, maps, diagrams and color photos. Chronologically arranged from 35,000
B.C.E. to 500 C.E.
Past Worlds: The Times Atlas of Archaeology
Reference G 1046 .E15 P3 1988
Has maps, photographs, charts, and drawings of "world history, from the beginnings of
human life down to the emergence of the modern world" (introduction).
The World Atlas of Archaeology
Atlas G 1046 .E15 W6 1985
Emphasizes social, economic, and cultural aspects. Maps, reconstructions, photographs.
Bibliography, glossary, and a topical index.
return to top
Chronologies in New World Archaeology
General Collection E 61 .C55
Covers the sequence of civilization in Mesoamerica before 900
Chronologies in Old World Archaeology
General Collection D 54.5 .E4 1965
A survey of geographic areas (e.g., Egypt, northwest Europe) from the "earliest settlements
down to a breaking point of between 2000 and 1500
B.C." The focus is on time sequences,
distribution and relationships, and radiocarbon and relative dates. Maps and bibliographies.
return to top
There are countless sources for biographical information. In addition to the sources cited
below, also check the sources listed under "Encyclopedias and Dictionaries."
Developed by the anthropology students at Minnesota State University, Mankato, as a
part of their EMuseum. The aim is "to produce brief descriptions of anthropologists
and other scientists that have direct influence on the discipline of anthropology."
Currently, there are over 600 profiles.
Contains biographical information on over one million individuals from all time periods,
geographical locations, and fields of endeavor. The "Biographical Facts Search" allows
searching for people based on one or more personal facts, such as occupation.
Encyclopedia of Archaeology: The Great Archaeologists
Reference CC 110 .E54 1999
Essays written by archaeologists on 58 archaeologists presented chronologically from
William Camden (1551-1623) to David Clarke (1938-1976). Portraits, illustrations, and
both primary and secondary references are included.
International Dictionary of Anthropologists
Reference GN 20 .I5 1991
Contains biographical entries for 725 anthropologists born before 1920, from more than
50 countries. Each sketch includes an explanation of the individual's significance to
the discipline, a list of major works written by, and a list of additional sources about,
the person. Indexed by personal names, institutions, place names, and ethnic groups.
Women Anthropologists: A Biographical Dictionary
Reference GN 20 .W63 1988
Has four- to six-page biographies of 58 anthropologists from the past 100 years, along
with two appendixes: fieldwork areas and chronology of birth dates.
return to top
AAA Guide: A Guide to Departments, A Directory of Members
Reference GN 43 .A2 G84 1996-97
Describes academic, museum, and research departments and government agencies in the
U.S., Canada, and a few other countries, lists American Anthropological Association
members, recent Ph.D. dissertations in anthropology, and student statistics.
The Official Museum Directory
Reference AM 10 .A2 O4
Provides information about American museums, historic sites, zoos and related institutions.
Listings: by state (alphabetically by city, then by institution), institutions by name
alphabetically, institution directors and department heads, and institutions by category.
return to top
There are literally hundreds of Internet (or World Wide Web) sites pertinent to anthropology
and archaeology. Most of the following are essentially "metasites," starting places for finding
and linking to a wide variety of information online.
Breaking news in anthropology from the Anthropology Department at Texas A & M University.
Stories originate with ABC News, CNN, USA Today, Washington Post, Archaeology,
university press releases, and other sources.
A useful site maintained by the American Anthropological Association.
Smithsonian Institution archives in ethnology, linguistics, archaeology, and physical
anthropology, including manuscripts, field notes, correspondence, photographs, maps,
sound recordings, film, and video created by Smithsonian anthropologists and other scholars.
High quality internet sources in the social sciences, including electronic journals,
reports and papers, education software, electronic newsletters and books, web sites,
scholarly mailing lists and archives, databases, data sets, and bibliographies. Sponsored
by the U.K. Economic and Social Research Council, Electronic Libraries Programme, and
the European Commission.
Internet resources on anthropology, economics, history, psychology, political science,
A directory of Internet sources on all aspects of anthropology, including applied anthropology,
linguistics, forensics, and biophysical anthropology. Also has career information.
General anthropology sites, including an extensive inventory of archaeology sources
and links to 40 research institutes.
return to top
Style Manuals and Research Guides
The style manuals listed below offer assistance with the mechanics of paper presentation,
such as preparing bibliographies, footnoting, underlining, and using quotation marks. As there
are several major style guides, check with your instructor as to which citation style you should
use. Research guides are helpful in identifying basic reference sources in anthropology and
An outline of style rules basic to the journals published under the auspices of the
American Anthropological Association.
The Chicago Manual of Style
Reference Desk Z 253 .U69 2003
A standard "how-to" book offering practical advice on all aspects of manuscript preparation.
Used by the American Anthropological Association (AAA) for editing its journals.
Fieldwork in the Library: A Guide to Research in Anthropology and Related Area Studies
Reference GN 42 .W47 1994
The first part of this work provides access to reference sources in cultural anthropology,
archaeology, linguistics, physical anthropology, and related disciplines. The second
section is arranged by geographic area and cultural area, providing access to empirical
research into specific peoples and sites.
Introduction to Library Research in Anthropology
Reference GN 42 .W44 1998
An introduction to the "mechanics and resources of library use" for undergraduates in
anthropology, this guide describes library-based resources in anthropology, the Human
Relations Area Files (HRAF), Library of Congress classification schemes, online databases,
and Internet sources.
return to top
Ask a Librarian
If you have questions or need additional assistance, Ask
a Librarian, or call the Reference Department at (407) 823-2562. The Library liaison for Anthropology is Meredith Semones,
Associate Librarian, email@example.com.
July 19, 2010