University of Central Florida Libraries 11/4/2009 http://library.ucf.edu/
UCF Website University of Central Florida Libraries
Log in now
Ask a Librarian Articles & Databases Online Journals Off-campus Access Interlibrary Loan

Modern Languages

Section Headings List

Citations or Abstracts- Citations or Abstracts. Full Text- Full Text. Images- Images. Journals- Journals. Top-pick- Top-pick. Webpage- Webpage.

*Best Resources

Indexes critical literary and language scholarship in journals and serials published worldwide.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCO

Linguistics

An encyclopedic reference work cataloging all of the world’s 6,912 known living languages, with a large bibliography of language-related books and articles.

Access: Proxy

The LINGUIST List is dedicated to providing information on language and language analysis. LINGUIST also hosts a peer-reviewed database of language and language-family information.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Eastern Michigan University

CSA Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences.

Covers phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics as well as descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.

Access: Proxy Vendor: CSA

Medieval Spanish

Index of publications on women, sexuality and gender in the Middle Ages.

Access: Proxy

Indexes over 2000 journals covering the history of the world from 1450 to the present. interface.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

A collection of electronic resources relevant to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).

Access: Proxy Vendor: Iter

Modern Spanish

Chicano Database 1960-Current Citations or Abstracts

Bibliographic resource for information on Mexican-Americans, Chicano and the broader Latino experience.

Access: Proxy Vendor: FirstSearch
Clasé / Periódica 1975-Current Citations or Abstracts

indexes documents published in Latin American journals specializing in the social sciences and humanities.

Access: Proxy Vendor: FirstSearch

Covers books, chapters, articles, and conference papers in the field of Latin American studies, Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities.

Access: Free Vendor: Library of Congress

journal article citations about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States.

Access: Proxy Vendor: HAPI
Informé! 1994-Current Citations or Abstracts Full Text Images Journals

this full-text electronic reference tool provides indexing, images and full text of popular Hispanic magazines -- not just translations.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale

Other Resources

Indexing and full text of articles for array of scholarly and popular topics.

Provides full text for over 3,460 scholarly journals covering the social sciences, humanities, science, cultural studies, education, and much more.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCO

Database of books, periodicals and articles on the Caribbean.

Access: Proxy Vendor: KITLV/Royal Netherlands Institute of Southeast Asian and Caribbean Studies

Produced by the University Complutense Madrid, this database searches over 4000 journals in all subject areas

Access: Proxy

Research Reports on various "hot" issues ranging from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology.

Access: Proxy Vendor: CQ

Dialnet es un portal de difusión de la producción científica hispana.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Universidad de La Rioja

Indexing and full text of to U.S. dissertations and thesis.

Search by author, title, school, year, and discipline. Full text available for most dissertations granted from 1997 forward. From 1980 forward, citations include a 350-word abstract. Citations for master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ProQuest

Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ProQuest

"The Latin American Periodicals Tables of Contents (LAPTOC) is a searchable Web database that provides access to the tables of contents of more than 950 journals, primarily in the humanities and social sciences, published in Latin America."

Access: Proxy

Information on literary figures from all time periods of writing in such genres as fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, journalism, and more. Includes the Dictionary Of Literary Biography.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale

RECOLECTA is a repository of open access publications from Spanish universities

Access: Proxy

Red de Revisitas Cientificas de America Latina, el Caribe, Espana y Portugal

Access: Proxy Vendor: Universidad Autonoma del Estado de Mexico

 

Last Updated January 22, 2009