University of Central Florida Libraries 9/6/2008 http://library.ucf.edu/
Pegasus Logo
University Of Central Florida Libraries
Need help? Ask a Librarian Articles & Databases Online Journals Off-campus Access Interlibrary Loan
UCF Home UCF Home UCF Home

Catalog Search

Search

Website Search


Libraries UCF Web
Site Index

Sociology

This is a list of some of the basic databases to find resources for your subject. For a more extensive guide to doing research in Sociology please see the Sociology Research Guide

Section Headings List

Citations or Abstracts- Citations or Abstracts. Full Text- Full Text.

*Best Resources

Sociological Abstracts 1963-Current Citations or Abstracts

Sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.

Includes information from an international selection of over 2,600 journals and other serials publications, plus conference papers, books, and dissertations.

Access: Proxy Vendor: CSA

Other Resources

AgeLine 1978-Current Citations or Abstracts

Detailed summaries of more than 90,000 publications about aging and the 50+ population. See also the AgeLine Thesaurus.

Indexes journal content related to social, psychological, health-related, and economic aspects of aging. Produced by the American Association of Retired Persons. Abstracts, 1978+ with selected coverage back to 1966. Indexes the SCAN Microfiche Collection (1966-1982) in UCF Government Documents, which provides approximately 4,000 microfiche documents distributed by the U.S. Administration on Aging in the late 1970s and early 1980s.

Access: Proxy Vendor: AARP
Alternative Press Index 1991-Current Citations or Abstracts

Indexes over 250 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines.

Access: Proxy Vendor: FirstSearch
ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts 1987-Current Citations or Abstracts

Covers health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education.

Access: Proxy Vendor: CSA
Contemporary Women's Issues Citations or Abstracts Full Text

Full text access to global information on women, including journals, newsletters, research reports from non-profit groups, government and international agencies, and fact sheets.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale
EconLit 1969-Current Citations or Abstracts Full Text

Citations and abstracts to articles from more than 400 economics journals, covering , capital markets, econometrics, economic forecasting, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCO
Ethnic NewsWatch Citations or Abstracts Full Text

Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ProQuest
Family Studies Abstracts Citations or Abstracts

Indexing of journals in family studies, including marriage, divorce, family and therapy.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost
GenderWatch Citations or Abstracts Full Text

GenderWatch is a full text database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ProQuest
Social Sciences Full Text 1982-Current Citations or Abstracts Full Text

Covers hundreds of core periodicals in the fields of anthropology, economics, geography, law and criminology, political science, social work, sociology, and international relations.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Wilson
Social Services Abstracts 1980-Current Citations or Abstracts

Research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.

Access: Proxy Vendor: CSA
Urban Studies Abstracts Citations or Abstracts

Indexing of journals in urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, and urban history.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts 1975-Current Citations or Abstracts

CSA Worldwide Political Science Abstracts provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy.

Access: Proxy Vendor: CSA

 

Last Updated April 21, 2008