Library Print Header Include
University of Central Florida Libraries
11/22/2009
http://library.ucf.edu/
UCF Website University of Central Florida Libraries
Log in now
Ask a Librarian Articles & Databases Online Journals Off-campus Access Interlibrary Loan

Mathematics Education

Section Headings List

See also: Mathematics Education Journals | Mathematics Education Web Sites | Government Document Sources for Education | Online Reference Sources for Education

Books- Books. Citations or Abstracts- Citations or Abstracts. Full Text- Full Text. Government Resources- Government Resources. Images- Images. Journals- Journals. Top-pick- Top-pick. Webpage- Webpage.

*Best Resources

Education Full Text 1983-Current Citations or Abstracts Full Text

Encompasses all areas of concern to today's educators, including administration, teaching methods, and curriculum.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Wilson
Top-pick ERIC - EBSCOhost 1966-Current Books Citations or Abstracts Full Text Government Resources Journals

ERIC is most complete index to articles and reports on educational topics.

ERIC is available from several database vendors. UCF students are advised to use ERIC in EBSCOhost, which provides many links to full text and allows users to search multiple education databases simultaneously. Users who are not UCF students are advised to use ERIC from DOE because no login is required.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCO

MathEduc (formerly MATHDI) is the only international reference database offering a world-wide overview of current and recent literature on mathematics education. This ranges from didactics in mathematics to text books and teaching material. MathEduc also covers education in computer science on the elementary level. The scope includes literature for all school levels up to university education, teachers' training, job training, and general educational and pedagogical issues. About 500 journals from all over the world are evaluated.

Access: Proxy

Additional Resources for Graduate Students

Indexing and full text of to U.S. dissertations and thesis.

Search by author, title, school, year, and discipline. Full text available for most dissertations granted from 1997 forward. From 1980 forward, citations include a 350-word abstract. Citations for master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ProQuest
Web of Science 1965-current Citations or Abstracts

Citation Indexes for finding articles that cite a given author or citation.

New Search Interface.

  • Science Citation Index Expanded (1965-present)
  • Social Sciences Citation Index (1965-present)
  • Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present)

Access: Proxy Vendor: ISI

Catalog of library collections from the U.S. and around the world.

The world's most comprehensive bibliography, with 36 million records for books and material in 370 languages and covering information from 4,000 years of knowledge.

Access: Proxy Vendor: FirstSearch

Legal Apects/Law Cases

Full text of news and legal sources, as well as company and industry data. LexisNexis Academic Research Guide

Limited coverage of business and health administration news. Sources include newspapers, wire services, magazines, SEC filings, law cases, state and federal codes, law review journals, and reference works.

Access: Proxy Vendor: LexisNexis

Mathematics Resources

Journals of the American Mathematical Society, devoted to research articles of the highest quality in all areas of pure and applied mathematics.

Access: Proxy Vendor: AMS

Full text of 1000+ core research journals from the year of their inception, many dating back to the early 1900's, JSTOR offers researchers the ability to retrieve high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated.

Access: Proxy Vendor: JSTOR
MathSciNet 1940-Current Citations or Abstracts Full Text

Access to over 55 years of of Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications from 1940 to the present.

Access: Proxy Vendor: AMS

Science Citation Index Expanded is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the sciences.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ISI
Science Direct 1997-Current Full Text

Full text scientific, technical and medical research journals, eBooks, Reference works, handbooks and book series published by Elsevier.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Science Direct

Full text of Springer's scholarly journals, covering a variety of disciplines including Architecture and Design, Behavioral Science, Biomedical and Life Sciences, Business and Economics, Chemistry and Materials Science, Computer Science, Earth and Environmental Science, Engineering, Humanities, Social Sciences and Law, Mathematics and Statistics, Medicine, Physics and Astronomy, and Professional Computing and Web Design.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Springer

Full text of Wiley's scholarly journals covering a variety of disciplines.

Disciplines include:

  • Business
  • Chemistry
  • Computer Science
  • Earth and Environmental Science
  • Education
  • Engineering
  • Law
  • Life Sciences
  • Mathematics and Statistics
  • Medicine and Healthcare
  • Physics and Astronomy
  • Polymers and Materials Science
  • Psychology
  • Social Sciences

Access: Proxy Vendor: Wiley

Other Resources

Indexing and full text of articles for array of scholarly and popular topics.

Provides full text for over 3,460 scholarly journals covering the social sciences, humanities, science, cultural studies, education, and much more.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCO

Offers directories of schools and colleges by district and name along with press releases, publications, statistics, and employment opportunities. By Florida DOE.

Access: Free

this database contains full text for more than 500 popular, high school magazines; also provides more than 360 full text reference books, 85,639 biographies, 104,481 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 285,912 photos, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCO

full text for over 100 magazines covering general topics appropriate for middle and jr. high school students

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCO

Primary government agency for collecting and analyzing educational data for the U.S. and its comparison to those of other countries.

Access: Free Vendor: NCES
OmniFile Full Text 1982-Current Citations or Abstracts Full Text

Multi-disciplinary source for citations and full text articles.

Includes the complete content from six Wilson database:

  • Business Index Full Text
  • Education Full Text
  • General Science Full Text
  • Humanities Full Text
  • Readers' Guide
  • Social Sciences Full Text

Access: Proxy Vendor: Wilson

Indexing and full text of magazines appropriate for elementary schools and children’s reading rooms.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCO

Provides a highly specialized collection of hundreds of full text journals, designed for professional educators.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCO

Reports policies on federal financial aid for education, collects and disseminates research, focuses national attention on key educational issues, and promotes equal access to education. By the DOE.

Access: Free

Psychological/Behavioral Aspects

PsycInfo 1887-Current Citations or Abstracts

Covers scholarly literature in all aspects of psychology and related fields.

Materials are selected from more than 1,300 journals published in 50 countries and 28 languages.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

Social Aspects

Covers hundreds of core periodicals in the fields of anthropology, economics, geography, law and criminology, political science, social work, sociology, and international relations.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Wilson
Sociological Abstracts 1963-Current Citations or Abstracts

Sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.

Includes information from an international selection of over 2,600 journals and other serials publications, plus conference papers, books, and dissertations.

Access: Proxy Vendor: CSA

 

Last Updated August 05, 2008