University of Central Florida Libraries
10/21/2014
http://library.ucf.edu/
UCF Website University of Central Florida Libraries
Login now

Medicine

Sections

Icon Key

  • Books Books.
  • Brief Information Brief Information.
  • Citations or Abstracts Citations or Abstracts.
  • Data Data.
  • Full Text Full Text.
  • Government Resources Government Resources.
  • Images Images.
  • Journals Journals.
  • Top-pick Top-pick.
  • Webpage Webpage.

*Best Resources

Provides instant answers to clinical questions from the most trusted resources; includes clinical case files, self-assessment questions, and textbooks such as the Harrison Online, Hurst's The Heart, Principles of Critical Care and the Lange series.

Access: Proxy Vendor: McGraw-Hill
MEDLINE - EBSCOhost 1966-Current Citations or Abstracts Full Text

MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine with the capability to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost
MEDLINE - Ovid 1948-Current Citations or Abstracts

Includes:

  • Medline
  • In-Process Medline
  • Old Medline

Access: Proxy Vendor: Ovid

Full text of medical and nursing journals, books and Medline.

Access: Proxy Vendor: OVID

Full text medical journals.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Thieme

Online access to the FLEXIBOOK Atlases and Textbooks, the popular series of color atlases and pocket textbooks in anatomy, basic science, clinical science, and radiology.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Thieme

AIDS and Cancer Research

Bibliographic data from the worldwide scientific literature as related to AIDS, immunology, virology and cancer genetics.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Proquest
CancerLIT 1975-Current Citations or Abstracts Government Resources

Citations and abstracts pertaining to all aspects of cancer. A subset of PubMed.

Access: Free Vendor: PubMed

Access to information on all aspects of cancer.

Access: Free Vendor: NCI

Oncogenes and Growth Factors Abstracts covers every aspect of oncogene research into the molecular basis of malignant transformations.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ProQuest

Comprehensive information about specific types of cancer, updates on cancer treatments and news about research advances.

Access: Free Vendor: U Penn

Virology and AIDS Abstracts provides access to the literature on every aspect of virology in humans, animals, and plants with topics ranging from replication cycles to oncology to AIDS.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ProQuest

Complementary Medicine

Alt-HealthWatch 1990-Current Citations or Abstracts Full Text

This database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers libraries full text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

Index to a selection of journals in complementary medicine, palliative care and several professions allied to medicine.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Ovid
MANTIS 1890-Current Citations or Abstracts

A primary health care database which emphasizes health promotion, prevention and conservative care.

Emphasis on medical, osteopathic, physical therapy, chiropractic and other disciplines ; methods of conservative management such as acupuncture, biofeedback, exercise therapy, joint manipulation and physical therapy are extensively reviewed.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Ovid

Drugs & Pharmaceuticals

Provides instant answers to clinical questions from the most trusted resources; includes clinical case files, self-assessment questions, and textbooks such as the Harrison Online, Hurst's The Heart, Principles of Critical Care and the Lange series.

Access: Proxy Vendor: McGraw-Hill

Online curricular resource designed to meet the changing demands of pharmacy education ; includes core curriculum topics, ability to browse by organ systems, textbooks, drug monograph, lab tests, calculators, self-assessment and case studies

Access: Proxy Vendor: McGraw-Hill

An online search tool that provides physicians with fast clinical answers. To access book chapter PDF’s you must register for a free account.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Elsevier

provides patients, family members, health care professionals, and members of the public easy access to information on clinical trials for a wide range of diseases and conditions

Access: Free Vendor: NLM-NIH

Includes over 3,300+ brand and generic prescription drugs, prescribing information, pill pictures, pill identifier, 600+ alternative medicines, drug-herbal interaction tool and more.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Epocrates

Drug information and references including Drug Facts and Comparisons, Drug Interaction Facts, MedFacts patient information in English and Spanish, Review of Natural Products, A to Z Drug Facts, Nonprescription Drug Therapy, Off-Label Drug Facts, and Drug Identifier.

Access: Proxy Vendor: WoltersKluwer

The full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale/FEL

The Medical Letter, Inc. is a nonprofit organization that publishes critical appraisals of new prescription drugs and comparative reviews of previously approved drugs in its newsletters The Medical Letter on Drugs and Therapeutics and Treatment Guidelines from The Medical Letter.

Access: Proxy Vendor: The Medical Letter

Free access to Medical news, FDA announcements, Drug and disease references and interaction checker, and Continuing Medical Education. Individual registration required for access to some content.

Access: Free Vendor: eMedicine

Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database is made up of multiple databases. The core database contains the detailed, evidence-based monographs on individual natural ingredients. There are currently almost 1,100 monographs on these individual natural ingredients.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Therapeutic Research

an "all-in-one" point of care medical reference tool

Access: Proxy

Provides prescribing recommendations featuring drug treatment of major indications, recommendations for first-choice and alternative drugs, and comparative assessment of drug effectiveness, safety and cost.

Access: Proxy Vendor: The Medical Letter

E-Books

Provides instant answers to clinical questions from the most trusted resources; includes clinical case files, self-assessment questions, and textbooks such as the Harrison Online, Hurst's The Heart, Principles of Critical Care and the Lange series.

Access: Proxy Vendor: McGraw-Hill

Provides full text content, including textbooks, about pediatrics covering the entire span of pediatric practice, from neonatology through adolescent medicine.

Access: Proxy Vendor: McGraw-Hill

An online search tool that provides physicians with fast clinical answers. To access book chapter PDF’s you must register for a free account.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Elsevier

See Clinical Key.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Elsevier

Information about and reviews of English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas. MMY provides coverage from Volume 9 to the present.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

A series of healthcare books for medical professionals and consumers that provides guidance on the diagnosis and treatment of medical conditions.

Access: Free Vendor: Merck

Full text of medical and nursing journals, books and Medline.

Access: Proxy Vendor: OVID

an "all-in-one" point of care medical reference tool

Access: Proxy

Online access to the FLEXIBOOK Atlases and Textbooks, the popular series of color atlases and pocket textbooks in anatomy, basic science, clinical science, and radiology.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Thieme

Evidence Based Medicine

An international compendium of the research and evidence on the treatment of various medical conditions, and synopses on the effectiveness of common clinical interventions.

Access: Proxy Vendor: BMJ

DynaMed is available as an application on iPhone, iPod touch, Blackberry, Microsoft Mobile and Palm OS. Requires a Skyscape User ID and Password and a DynaMed serial number available from the Health Sciences Library. It also provides evidence based clinical information on more than 3,000 topics for use at the point-of-care; includes ICD-9 Codes and levels of evidence.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

Fundamental tools for understanding and applying the medical literature and making clinical diagnoses ; includes the Users' Guide to the Medical Literature and The Rational Clinical Examination (access limited to 4 concurrent users).

Access: Proxy Vendor: McGraw-Hill

Free access to Medical news, FDA announcements, Drug and disease references and interaction checker, and Continuing Medical Education. Individual registration required for access to some content.

Access: Free Vendor: eMedicine

Provides physicians and other health professionals an accessible mechanism for obtaining objective, detailed information on clinical practice guidelines and to further their dissemination, implementation, and use.

Access: Free Vendor: AMA

an "all-in-one" point of care medical reference tool

Access: Proxy

Medical Literature

Abstracts in Social Gerontology includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to social gerontology, including the psychology of aging, elder abuse, society and the elderly, and other key areas of relevance to the discipline.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost
AgeLine

No longer free on the web.

Access: Proxy
Annual Reviews 1984-1996 Citations or Abstracts Full Text

Annual Reviews publishes authoritative, analytic reviews in 34 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Annual Reviews

Indexing of life science and biomedical research literature. Also available on [Ovid http://library.ucf.edu/Web/purl.asp?pid=960] from 1985-2007.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost
Biological Sciences 1971-Current Citations or Abstracts Journals

Database offers abstracts and citations to a wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Proquest

BioMed Central is an independent publishing house committed to providing immediate open access to peer-reviewed biomedical research.

Access: Free Vendor: OpenAccess Central
BioOne 2000-Current Citations or Abstracts

Full-texts of high-impact bioscience research journals, an innovative collaboration between scientific societies, libraries, academe and the private sector.

Access: Proxy Vendor: BioOne

Provides coverage of research across all areas of biotechnology and bioengineering, including medical, pharmaceutical, agricultural, environmental and marine biology.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Proquest

Provides bibliographic coverage of ground-breaking research, applications, regulatory developments and new patents across all areas of biotechnology and bioengineering, including medical, pharmaceutical, agricultural, environmental and marine biology.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ProQuest

Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature. Indexes nursing, allied health, biomedical, and consumer health journals.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

An online search tool that provides physicians with fast clinical answers. To access book chapter PDF’s you must register for a free account.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Elsevier

A bibliography of controlled trials providing an unbiased source of data for systematic reviews. Also available on OvidSP - EBM Reviews.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

Full text articles and protocols focusing on the effects of health care. Also available on OvidSP - EBM Reviews.

Data is evidence-based medicine and is often combined statistically (with meta-analysis) to increase the power of the findings of numerous studies, each too small to produce reliable results individually.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

Abstracts of published systematic reviews on the effects of health care from around the world. This database provides access to quality reviews in subjects for which a Cochrane review may not yet exist. Also available on OvidSP - EBM Reviews.

This database provides access to quality reviews in subjects for which a Cochrane review may not yet exist.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

This interdisciplinary database offers abstracts and citations to a wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science. This database is no longer actively updated and is an archive only file.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ProQuest
Genetics Abstracts 1982-Current Citations or Abstracts

This database provides a practical means for keeping up with wide-ranging findings, sifting the worldwide literature for significant advances as they happen and forging an essential link among different systems.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ProQuest

Information on behavioral measurement instruments gathered from hundreds of journals covering health sciences and psychosocial sciences.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

Topics in health and medicine, medications, and wellness. Includes encyclopedias, directories, medical dictionary, magazines, journals, and newspapers.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale

Provides full text for nearly 540 scholarly health journals, and over 190 consumer journals, as well as indexing and abstracting of  over 700 health-related journals and magazines.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

Provides details of completed and ongoing health technology assessments (studies of the medical, social, ethical and economic implications of health care interventions) from around the world. Also available on OvidSP - EBM Reviews.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

This interdisciplinary database offers abstracts and citations to a wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ProQuest
MEDLINE - PubMed 1966-Current Citations or Abstracts

Contains citations and abstracts from over 3700 journals in the medical and dental literature.

Access: Free Vendor: Pubmed

Natural Standard was founded by healthcare providers and researchers to provide high-quality, evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies. Grades reflect the level of available scientific data for or against the use of each therapy for a specific medical condition.

Access: Proxy

OpenDOAR is a comprehensive and authoritative list of international institutional and subject-based repositories, as well as archives set up by funding agencies - like the National Institutes for Health in the USA or the Wellcome Trust in the UK and Europe.

Access: Free
Top-pick PsycInfo 1887-Current Citations or Abstracts Top-pick

Covers scholarly literature in all aspects of psychology and related fields.

Materials are selected from more than 1,300 journals published in 50 countries and 28 languages.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost
Science Direct 1997-Current Full Text

Full text scientific, technical and medical research journals, eBooks, Reference works, handbooks and book series published by Elsevier.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Science Direct
SPORTDiscus 1975-Current Citations or Abstracts Full Text Journals

SPORTDiscus offers comprehensive, bibliographic database of full text for sports & sports medicine journals. The content also consists of international references from journal and magazine articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings and more.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

A cluster of databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals and related areas.

Access: Free Vendor: NIH
Web of Science 1965-current Citations or Abstracts

Citation Indexes for finding articles that cite a given author or citation.

  • Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present)
  • Science Citation Index Expanded (1965-present)
  • Social Sciences Citation Index (1965-present)

Access: Proxy Vendor: ISI

Full text of Wiley's scholarly journals covering a variety of disciplines.

Disciplines include:

  • Business
  • Chemistry
  • Computer Science
  • Earth and Environmental Science
  • Education
  • Engineering
  • Law
  • Life Sciences
  • Mathematics and Statistics
  • Medicine and Healthcare
  • Physics and Astronomy
  • Polymers and Materials Science
  • Psychology
  • Social Sciences

Access: Proxy Vendor: Wiley

Statistics

the U.S. Federal Government's principal vital and health statistics agency

Access: Free Vendor: NCHS

 

Last Updated September 22, 2014

QR Code URL for Mobile Devices