University of Central Florida Libraries
4/23/2014
http://library.ucf.edu/
UCF Website University of Central Florida Libraries
Log in now

Film

Sections

Icon Key

  • Audio Audio.
  • Books Books.
  • Brief Information Brief Information.
  • Citations or Abstracts Citations or Abstracts.
  • Full Text Full Text.
  • Images Images.
  • Journals Journals.
  • Top-pick Top-pick.
  • Video Video.

This is a list of some of the basic databases to find resources for your subject. For a more extensive guide to doing Film research please see the Film Research Guide

See also: Art | Theatre

*Best Resources

Full text of hundreds of scripts by writers together with detailed, fielded information on the scenes, characters and people related to the scripts.

The database includes over 430 original images of previously unpublished screenplays.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Alexander Street Press

Is a bibliographic database that provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 380 publications (and selected coverage of more than 300.)

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

Filmakers Library Online provides award-winning documentaries covering a multitude of topics, cultures and experiences.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Alexander Street Press

offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. The indexed materials coverage is international and includes almost 60 titles from JSTOR's language and literature collection as well as links to full text.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

Audio, Video, and Media

This database contains more than 3,000 items, including correspondence, photographs, early release fliers, full issues of rare periodicals, sheet music and movie star ephemera. It includes complete copies of more than 250 Academy publications,From the founding of the organization in 1927 todate, providing access to significant items including selections from the Alfred Hitchcock papers and the Cecil B. DeMille photographs, as well as the annual Academy Awards programs.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Free

A collections of full text classic media periodicals in the public domain, covering cinema, broadcasting, and related issues such as law, censorship, business, and economics.

Access: Free Vendor: Media History Project

The collection includes over 200 full-length feature films and 50 award winning short films from leading independent distributors such as Kino Lorber, First Run Features, Film Movement, MK2, and Global Lens.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Alexander Street Press

Theatre In Video contains more than 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video - more than 500 hours in all, representing hundreds of leading playwrights, actors and directors.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Alexander Street Press

A collection of documentaries that allow students and researchers to explore human history from the earliest civilizations to the late twentieth century.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Alexander Street Press

Other Resources

Photographs from as early as 1840's and other graphics spanning over 160 years of history. Includes a small selection of recent sound clips.

Access: Proxy Vendor: AccuWeather
Art Full Text 1929-Current Citations or Abstracts Full Text

This database offers full text plus abstracts and indexing of peer-selected publications with expanded coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian and other non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism. Full-text coverage for selected periodicals is also included. Previous vendor was Wilson.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

Citation index of the leading arts and humanities journals. Part of Web of Science

Access: Proxy Vendor: ISI

Indexes articles from communications publications, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost
Humanities Full Text 1984-Current Citations or Abstracts Full Text

Humanities Full Text contains full text plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as lesser-known but important specialized magazines. Previous vendor was Wilson.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCOhost

Digital images of music scores, selected by the Open Content Alliance, and cataloged by the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Library.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Open Content Alliance
Access: Free Vendor: Library of Congress

Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% full-text, affordable and user-friendly online access to over 300+ high quality humanities and social sciences journals from over 60 scholarly publishers.

Access: Proxy Vendor: John Hopkins U
Vogue Archive 1892-Current Full Text Images Journals

The Vogue Archive contains the full run of Vogue magazine (US edition), from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included, with indexing enabling you to find images by garment type, designer and brand names.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Proquest

 

Last Updated January 29, 2014

QR Code URL for Mobile Devices