Library Print Header Include
University of Central Florida Libraries
11/22/2009
http://library.ucf.edu/
UCF Website University of Central Florida Libraries
Log in now
Ask a Librarian Articles & Databases Online Journals Off-campus Access Interlibrary Loan

English Literature

Sections

Icon Key

  • Books Books.
  • Brief Information Brief Information.
  • Citations or Abstracts Citations or Abstracts.
  • Full Text Full Text.
  • Journals Journals.
  • Top-pick Top-pick.
  • Webpage Webpage.

*Best Resources

Literature Criticism Online Volume 1-Current Books Full Text

Full text of articles and essay providing critical interpretation and discussion of literary authors and their works.

Online versions of the following Gale criticism titles:

  • Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism
  • Contemporary Literary Criticism
  • Drama Criticism
  • Literature Criticism 1400-1800
  • Nineteenth Century Literary Criticism
  • Poetry Criticism
  • Shakespearean Criticism
  • Short Story Criticism
  • Twentieth Century Literary Criticism

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale

Indexes critical literary and language scholarship in journals and serials published worldwide.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCO

Children's Literature

Other Resources

An inventory of publications in post-secondary composition, rhetoric, technical writing, ESL, and discourse studies.

Access: Free Vendor: ComPile

Essay and General Literature Index is a bibliographic database that cites essays and articles contained in collections of essays and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Wilson

Extensive directory of academic literary resources on the web. By Jack Lynch, Rutgers University.

Access: Free
Literature Criticism Online Inception-Current Books Full Text

Excerpts and full text of articles and essays providing critical discussion of authors and their works.

  • Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism
  • Contemporary Literary Criticism
  • Drama Criticism
  • Literature Criticism 1400-1800
  • Nineteenth Century Literary Criticism
  • Poetry Criticism
  • Shakespearean Criticism
  • Short Story Criticism
  • Twentieth Century Literary Criticism

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale

Information on literary figures from all time periods of writing in such genres as fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, journalism, and more. Includes the Dictionary Of Literary Biography.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale

Categories of sites include general guides, bibliographies, individual authors, library catalogs, dictionaries, discussions, periodicals, style guides, electronic texts, and individual authors. By Louisiana State University.

Access: Free

Covering world literature and authors throughout history, LitFinder contains over 150,000 full-text poems and 800,000+ poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale

Critical analyses and brief plot summaries of the most studied works in the history of literature.

Access: Proxy Vendor: EBSCO

The largest dictionary of word descriptions and history of usage.

Also available in print in Main Library Reference -- PE1625.M7 1989.

Access: Proxy Vendor: OUP
Play Finder in Lit Finder Citations or Abstracts Full Text

Database of play citations as well as literature and poems. To search Play Finder, Search in LitFinder and set the Type of Work to Play.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale
Poem Finder in LitFinder Citations or Abstracts Full Text

Indexes 800,000 well-known, anthologized poems, plays and literature. To search Poem Finder, Search in LitFinder and set the Type of Work to Poem.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Gale

Full-text short stories plus explanations, biographies, pictures and more

Access: Proxy Vendor: Roth

Primary Sources-Articles and Books

A full text collection of American magazines and journals.

This collection contains digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals that originated between 1741, and 1900.

Access: Proxy Vendor: UMI

Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.

Access: Proxy Vendor: ProQuest
Evans Digital 1639-1800 Full Text

Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 consists of more than 37,000 books, pamphlets and broadsides.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Newsbank

Full text of 1000+ core research journals from the year of their inception, many dating back to the early 1900's, JSTOR offers researchers the ability to retrieve high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated.

Access: Proxy Vendor: JSTOR
Muse Full Text Journals
Access: Proxy Vendor: John Hopkins U

Full text of Pre-Victorian early modern women's writing.

Access: Proxy Vendor: Brown U

 

Last Updated September 30, 2009